Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Waipi'o Valley

Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
3 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
09:00 Clock
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
3 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
09:00 Clock
Cost:
free

Waipi'o Valley - Description

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and plays a major role in Hawaiian mythology. Even Wakea, the creator of the islands, had a fondness for this region. According to history, the Hawaiian demigod Maui met his end here in the valley when he tried to steal fried bananas. Around the turn of the century, Chinese and Japanese settled in the valley to grow the crop taro and rice. With the onset of World War 2, many left the valley to live in Hawaii, which had become more modern, and in 1946 a 17-meter tsunami wave almost destroyed the entire valley. As a result, most people left Waipio Valley. Today, about 40 Hawaiian hippies still live here beyond civilization among taro fields, waterfalls and creeks. Hiilawe Falls, the largest waterfall on the Big Island, cascades nearly 400 meters in the Waipio backcountry. As far as I know, there is no official path to get there without walking through private land. The fertile valley with a width of 1.6 km and a depth of 8.1 km is surrounded by 800 m high cliffs. Waipiʻo means in the Hawaiian language curved water.

You can overlook the valley from the coastal Waipio Valley Overlook at the end of the Hamakua Heritage Corridor. Coming from Kailua-Kona, Highway 19 runs along the Mauna Kea north slope through wide sugar cane fields. Once you pass the town of Waimea, you reach a turnoff in the town of Honokaa on the left that leads to Waipio Valley - Highway 240.
Honokaa is a town of about 2,200 people and was one of the largest towns in Hawaii in the early 20th century, the center of sugar cane and cattle ranching. However, the largest plantation, Hamakua Sugar Co. closed down in 1994. Today, sugar cane only grows wild here and the area is surrounded by huge macadamia nut tree plantations, giving Honokaa the nickname Macadamia Nut Capitol of the World brought in.
Highway 240 is a one-way road, so you have to drive the same way back to Honokaa. So you can't miss the big lava tunnel, which is on the left side on the way there. However, you can't go in without the necessary equipment.

There is a small trail from the lookout down into the valley, and on the opposite cliff you can see a steep trail that winds up in switchbacks, taking you several miles into the neighboring Waimanu Valley.

The road leading down from the Lookout into the valley is steep, narrow, and only accessible by off-road vehicles. 25% slopes want to be mastered. However, organized descents are offered almost every hour, with all-terrain vehicles or with carts pulled by mules. Or you can explore the valley on foot. Below, a lonely black sand beach, lush jungle and wild horses await. The surf here can be very dangerous. So you should only swim on calm days. The "Private Property" signs of the few inhabitants should be taken seriously if you want to hike further into the valley. In the Waipio Valley parts of Kevin Costner's movie Waterworld shot, it now belongs to 60% the Bishop Museum of Honolulu.

What we say

Florian
Waipio Valley is probably one of the most beautiful and lush valleys in the Hawaiian Islands. It is so beautifully pristine and deserted that I have visited it several times. Visiting the valley only from the lookout at the top of the road is nice, but you miss wild Hawaiian beauty if you don't venture the short but very steep way down. With a normal car you have no chance here and especially no insurance coverage. On foot is the best and cheapest choice! To get to the black sand beach, you may have to cross the Waipio creek, which flows into the sea and can have a strong current after rains. Hiking poles may help here.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Enough liquid (at least 2-3 liters)
  • Sturdy shoes or hiking sandals for short hikes in the valley.
  • Think of rainwear
  • Early start recommended
  • Be sure to explore the valley extensively and don't just stop at the lookout!

How did you like Waipi'o Valley?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

48-5561A Waipio Valley Rd, Honokaa, HI 96727
Longitude: -155.58439730202414
Latitude: 20.118032750499292

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument)

Kealakekua Bay with Captain's Cook Monument is probably one of the most historic sights in Hawaii and is located in the...

Kailua-Kona Town

Kailua-Kona has become world famous for several things. First and foremost probably by the triathlon "Ironman", which since 1...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Kalapana Town

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana is not to be missed.

Akaka Falls State Park

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. An et...

Pohoiki Beach (Isaac Hale Beach Park)

In the Puna District on Big Island, in the Pohoiki Bay, lies the Isaac Hale Beach Park. It is known for its strong ...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Waipi’o Valley

Waipi’o Valley

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
09:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
09:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Waipi’o Valley - Beschreibung

Waipio Valley ist ein bedeutender Ort für die hawaiianischen Bewohner. Das Tal ist seit über 1.000 Jahren bewohnt und spielt eine große Rolle in der hawaiianischen Mythologie. Schon Wakea, der Schöpfer der Inseln, hatte eine Vorliebe für diese Region. Der hawaiianische Halbgott Maui soll der Geschichte nach hier im Tal sein Ende gefunden haben als er versuchte, gebratene Bananen zu stehlen. Um die Jahrhundertwende ließen sich Chinesen und Japaner im Tal nieder, um die Kulturpflanze Taro und Reis anzubauen. Mit Beginn des 2. Weltkriegs verließen viele das Tal, um im inzwischen moderner gewordenen Hawaii zu leben und im Jahr 1946 zerstörte eine 17 Meter hohe Tsunamiwelle fast das ganze Tal. Daraufhin verließen die meisten Menschen Waipio Valley. Heute leben hier noch etwa 40 hawaiianische Hippies jenseits der Zivilisation zwischen Taro-Feldern, Wasserfällen und Flüsschen. Die Hiilawe Falls, der größte Wasserfall auf Big Island, stürzt im Hinterland von Waipio kaskadenartig fast 400 m in die Tiefe. Einen offiziellen Weg dorthin gibt es meines Wissens nicht, ohne Privatgelände zu durchwandern. Das fruchtbare Tal mit einer Breite von 1,6 km und einer Tiefe von 8,1 km ist von 800 m hohen Klippen umgeben. Waipiʻo bedeutet in der hawaiianischen Sprache gebogenes Wasser.

Du kannst das Tal vom küstennahen Waipio Valley Overlook am Ende des Hamakua Heritage Corridor überblicken. Der Highway 19 führt von Kailua-Kona kommend entlang des Mauna Kea Nordhanges durch weite Zuckerrohrfelder. Wenn man den Ort Waimea passiert, dann erreicht man im Ort Honokaa auf der linken Seite eine Abzweigung, die zum Waipio Valley führt – der Highway 240.
Honokaa ist ein Ort mit ca. 2.200 Einwohnern und war Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts eine der größten Städte auf Hawaii, das Zentrum von Zuckerrohr und Viehzucht. Die größte Plantage, die Hamakua Sugar Co. hat allerdings 1994 dicht gemacht. Heute wächst Zuckerrohr hier nur noch wild und die Gegend ist von riesigen Macadamia-Nussbaumplantagen umgeben, was Honokaa den Beinamen Macadamia Nut Capitol of the World einbrachte.
Der Highway 240 ist eine Einbahnstraße, man muss also die gleiche Strecke zurück nach Honokaa fahren. So kann man auch den großen Lavatunnel nicht verpasssen, der bei der Hinfahrt auf der linken Seite liegt. Hereingehen kann man allerdings ohne nötige Ausrüstung nicht.

Es gibt einen kleinen Trail vom Lookout hinunter ins Tal und auf der gegenüberliegenden Klippe kann man einen steilen Pfad erkennen, der sich in Serpentinen hinaufwindet und über den man einige Kilometer weit ins benachbarte Waimanu Valley gelangt.

Die Straße, die vom Lookout ins Tal hinabführt, ist steil, eng, und nur mit Geländewagen zu befahren. 25% Gefälle wollen bewältigt werden. Es werden aber auch fast stündlich organisierte Abfahrten angeboten, mit Geländefahrzeugen oder mit von Maultieren gezogenen Wagen. Oder aber man erkundet das Tal zu Fuß. Unten warten ein einsamer schwarzer Sandstrand, üppiger Dschungel und wilde Pferde. Die Brandung kann hier sehr gefährlich werden. Baden sollte man also nur an ruhigen Tagen. Die „Private Property“-Schilder der wenigen Bewohner sollte man ernst nehmen, wenn man weiter ins Tal wandern möchte. Im Waipio Valley wurden Teile von Kevin Costners Film Waterworld gedreht, es gehört heute zu 60% dem Bishop Museum von Honolulu.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Das Waipio Valley gehört wohl zu den schönsten und üppigsten Tälern der Hawaii-Inseln. Es ist so schön ursprünglich und verlassen, dass ich es schon mehrmals besucht habe. Das Tal nur vom Lookout oben an der Straße zu besichtigen ist nett, aber man verpasst wilde hawaiianische Schönheit, wenn man nicht den kurzen, aber sehr steilen Weg nach unten wagt. Mit einem normalen PKW hat man hier keine Chance und vor allem keinen Versicherungsschutz. Zu Fuß ist die beste und günstigste Wahl! Um an den schwarzen Sandstrand zu kommen, muss man eventuell das Waipio-Flüsschen durchqueren, welches im Meer mündet und nach Regenfällen eine starke Strömung haben kann. Eventuell helfen hier Wanderstöcke.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Genug Flüssigkeit (mindestens 2-3 Liter)
  • Festes Schuhwerk oder Wandersandalen für kleine Wanderungen im Tal.
  • An Regenkleidung denken
  • Früher Start empfehlenswert
  • Unbedingt das Tal ausgiebig erkunden und nicht nur am Lookout halten!

Wie gefiel dir Waipi’o Valley?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

48-5561A Waipio Valley Rd, Honokaa, HI 96727
Longitude: -155.58439730202414
Latitude: 20.118032750499292

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Punaluʻu Black Sand Beach

Big Island ist besonders bekannt für seine schwarzen Lavastrände, die durch jahrelange Vulkanausbrüche immer wieder neu …

Pohoiki Beach (Isaac Hale Beach Park)

Im Puna Distrikt auf Big Island, in der Pohoiki Bucht, liegt der Isaac Hale Beach Park. Er ist bekannt für seine starke …

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Atemberaubend und gleichzeitig leicht zu erreichen: An der Nordostküste von Big Island in Hilo und an der Hamakua Coast …

Hilo Town

Hilo ist mit über 47.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt auf Big Island. Sie ist auch Hauptstadt des Hawaii County und damit…

Nāpau Crater Trail

Dieser Trail zeigt vielleicht am eindrucksvollsten die Kräfte des Kilauea-Vulkans. Man wird Zeuge der großen Ausbrüche d…

Kealakekua Bay (Captain´s Cook Monument)

Die Kealakekua Bay mit Captain´s Cook Monument gehört wohl du den historischsten Sehenswürdigkeiten auf Hawaii und befin…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos