Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
3 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
3 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park - Beschreibung

Forest fires 2023 - Lahaina and Banyan Tree destroyed?

Historically, Lahaina has experienced many changes and challenges, but the events of August 8, 2023 left a deep wound: On this tragic day, forest and bush fires raged across the island, and the charming harbor town of Lahaina was at the center of the devastation. Almost the entire town was in flames, about 3000 buildings were destroyed and more than 100 people lost their lives.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Amid the inferno, the 150-year-old Banyan Tree, one of Lahaina's landmarks, also caught on fire, and it was initially assumed that it was completely destroyed. But the latest findings show: Although it suffered severe damage, experts are confident that it can recover from the damage.

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

And yet, Lahaina is looking ahead to an immense challenge: the reconstruction, which will require many billions of dollars and countless hours of work.

You can help too!

The Maui community needs all the support it can get to get back on its feet. There are several ways in which you can help:

Habitat for Humanity – Maui: This organization offers a variety of donation options, from individual donations over planned donations to donations of goods. Volunteer opportunities are also available to help locally and rebuild the community.

In addition, Maui County (https://www.mauicounty.gov/CivicAlerts.aspx?AID=12656) recommends these institutions for monetary donations:

Every donation, big or small, is a step towards healing and helps to restore the beauty and sense of the Maui community, and Lahaina in particular. In this way, we can all contribute to overcoming this crisis and create hope for a better future.


Lahaina before the inferno

For historical reasons, and in the hope that through the generosity of donations and the efforts of helping hands, Lahaina's pristine beauty can be rebuilt, we keep our previous content about Lahaina online:

If you're in the mood for history, culture or just some urban flair, you can plan half a day in Lahaina, an interesting historic town at the foot of the West Maui Mountains. In the days of whaling, all hell broke loose here. Even today, Lahaina is a bustling city with about 11,700 inhabitants. However, the hustle and bustle in the streets and along the harbour is no longer caused by drunken sailors but by tourists. Economically and administratively, Kahului and Wailuku are more important, but Lahaina is culturally the most important city in Maui and an American National Historic Landmark.
Many visit the city for that reason. Many tourists also shop on the famous Front Street. Cruise ships dock here and many tours (to Lanai, Molokai or whale watching) also start from Lahaina.

Good to know
Lahaina was once the capital of the Kingdom of Hawaii. Since 1846, it is Honolulu.

Hermann Melville spent a few months in Lahaina in 1843. What he experienced here was incorporated into his novel "Moby Dick".

Not all houses here are from the pioneer era, they just look like they are from the 19th century. New buildings are obliged to have an old-looking "mask".

In Lahaina, it is often hot and dry. However, it rains frequently in the West Maui Mountains, which are not far away. That is why there are often magnificent rainbows above the city.

Banyan Court Park
The name of this park comes from the fact that the largest banyan tree in Hawaii is located here. At first, it may look like you're in a small forest. But no: everything that grows here over an area of almost 3,000 square meters is a single tree.
Banyan is a species of fig that spreads to other trees until its aerial roots reach the earth, the banyan grows stronger and its host tree cannot survive under the load. Its proportions here in Lahaina are mighty.
There is always something going on around and under the Banyan Tree. Markets and cultural events take place here and people relax in its soothing shade from the "merciless sun" (that's what Lahaina means).
Towards the harbour, the Old Lahaina Court House is located. The courthouse was built in 1859. Conveniently, at that time the building housed not only the court but also a jail. Today it houses a visitor centre, the Lahaina Heritage Museum and two galleries of the Lahaina Arts Society.
Directly behind the Banyan Tree is the harbour. The Pioneer Inn on Wharf Street is the oldest hotel on the island.

Highlights on Front Street
Cafés, bars, stores, galleries - along Front Street, visitors bustle about. They are looking for postcards or paintings, jewelry, a delicious lunch or simply a bottle of water.

At the corner of Front Street and Dickons Street in the middle of a lush green park stands the Baldwin House. Dwight Baldwin lived in this house which was built in 1834. He was a well-known natural scientist and Protestant missionary. It is interesting to visit (the entrance fee is only 3 $) this building because it also offers insight into the history of missionary work in Hawaii.

Among galleries and clothing stores, another building stands out: at 858 Front Street is the Wo Hing Temple, a temple built by Chinese in 1912 that is now a museum of Chinese culture and history in Hawaii. By the way, the ticket to Baldwin House is also valid here. At the end of Front Street is a Japanese Buddhist temple.
These and other cultural and historical sights are summarized in the so-called Lahaina Historical Trail. More than 60 sites can be visited and explored on your own. The tour takes about an hour. The city guide is available at the visitor centre in the Courthouse at the Banyan tree.

Directions and parking
Lahaina is located on Highway 30, a very well developed road. From Kahului, it is less than 25 miles to Lahaina. You should plan about 45 minutes by car. Public buses (the Lahaina Islander) also drive this route.
Highway 3000 is a bypass road. It leads around Lahaina to merge back onto Highway 30 north of the town. Despite the bypass, however, there can be heavy car traffic in Lahaina at rush hour, as many explore Frontstreet with their rental cars.
Free (and much sought-after) parking is available, for example, at the corner of Front Street and Prison Street. At the shopping centre "Outlets of Maui" there are more, however costly, parking spaces.

Around Lahaina
If you want to combine the trip to Lahaina with a day at the beach, you can do that at Ka'anapali Beach or Baby Beach.
But Lahaina can also be combined well with a day trip on and around Highway 30. Along the spectacular coastline, there are beautiful bays, great viewpoints and great short hikes, for example to the famous Nakalele Blowhole.

What we say

Tommy
A stroll along Lahaina Front Street takes you past both historic and modern buildings. Besides a lot of souvenirs, there are also handicrafts, clothes, paintings and jewellery to admire. A shopping trip is worthwhile.
Our checklist & tips:
  • If you are interested in arts and crafts, you will find something here
  • Versatile small stores and boutiques
  • Lots of bars, restaurants and ice cream vendors
  • Definitely look at the huge Banyan tree, which you can only fit on a panorama picture because of its size

Wie gefiel dir Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Address: 671 Front St, Lahaina, HI 96761
Longitude: -156.677602
Latitude: 20.871789

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kula Botanical Gardens

Somewhat hidden in the higher region of Kula, is this privately owned garden. It is a true oasis...

Molokini Crater

Located between the south coast of Maui and the island of Kaho'olawe rises a very small, unusually shaped island a...

Nakalele Blowhole,

Around the West Maui Mountains, along the Kahekili Highway (30), there are always good views and in general a...

Road to Hāna

The most beautiful street of Maui On the northeast coast of Maui, the most spectacular road on Hawaii Island winds en...

Haleakalā Crater & Haleakalā National Park

Who is on Maui, should see and experience in one day at least what formed this island: the volcano Haleakala. Everh...

Mākena State Park

A beach paradise out of a picture book - Maui's Big Beach Golden sandy beach, breathtaking lava cliffs in the background...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park - Beschreibung

Waldbrand 2023 – Lahaina und Banyan Tree zerstört?

Historisch betrachtet hat Lahaina schon viele Veränderungen und Herausforderungen erlebt, doch die Ereignisse des 8. August 2023 haben eine tiefe Wunde hinterlassen: An diesem tragischen Tag wüteten Wald- und Buschbrände über die Insel, und das charmante Hafenstädtchen Lahaina stand im Zentrum der Verwüstung. Fast die gesamte Stadt stand in Flammen, ca. 3000 Gebäude wurden zerstört und mehr als 100 Menschen verloren ihr Leben.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Inmitten des Infernos wurde auch der 150-jährige Banyan-Tree, eines der Wahrzeichen von Lahaina, erfasst und man ging zunächst davon aus, dass auch dieser vollständig zerstört wurde. Doch die neusten Erkenntnisse zeigen: Obwohl er schweren Schaden erlitten hat, sind Experten zuversichtlich, dass er sich erholen kann.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Und dennoch: Lahaina blickt auf einer Herausforderung von gewaltigem Ausmaß: dem Wiederaufbau, der viele Milliarden Dollar und unzählige Arbeitsstunden erfordern wird.

Auch du kannst helfen!

Die Gemeinschaft auf Maui benötigt jetzt jede erdenkliche Unterstützung, um wieder auf die Beine zu kommen. Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, wie du helfen kannst:

Habitat for Humanity – Maui: Diese Organisation bietet eine Vielzahl von Spendenmöglichkeiten an, von Einzelspenden über geplante Spenden bis hin zu Sachspenden. Auch Freiwilligenarbeit wird angeboten, um vor Ort zu helfen und die Gemeinschaft wieder aufzubauen​.

Darüber hinaus empfiehlt Maui County (https://www.mauicounty.gov/CivicAlerts.aspx?AID=12656) für Geldspenden diese Institutionen:

Jede Spende, ob groß oder klein, ist ein Schritt in Richtung Heilung und hilft dabei, die Schönheit und das Gemeinschaftsgefühl, das Maui und insbesondere Lahaina auszeichnet, wiederherzustellen. So können wir alle einen Beitrag zur Überwindung dieser Krise leisten und die Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft nähren.


Lahaina vor dem Inferno

Aus historischen Gründen, und in der Hoffnung, dass durch die Großzügigkeit von Spenden und den Einsatz helfender Hände Lahaina in seiner ursprünglichen Schönheit wiederaufgebaut werden kann, halten wir unseren damaligen Beitrag zu Lahaina online:

Wem nach Geschichte, Kultur oder einfach etwas städtischem Flair ist, kann einen halben Tag in Lahaina einplanen, einer interessanten historischen Stadt am Fuße der West Maui Mountains. Zu Zeiten des Walfangs war hier die Hölle los. Auch heute ist Lahaina mit seinen etwa 11.700 Einwohnern eine belebte Stadt. Den Trubel in den Straßen und am Hafen entlang verursachen allerdings keine betrunkenen Seemänner mehr, sondern die vielen Touristinnen und Touristen. Wirtschaftlich und verwaltungstechnisch sind Kahului und Wailuku wichtiger, Lahaina ist aber die kulturell bedeutendste Stadt Mauis und amerikanisches National Historic Landmark.
Viele kommen deswegen. Viele auch, um in der bekannten Front Street zu shoppen. Kreuzfahrtschiffe legen hier an und auch viele Touren (nach Lanai, Molokai oder zum Whale Watching) starten von Lahaina aus.

Gut zu wissen
Lahaina war einst die Hauptstadt des Königreichs Hawaii. Seit 1846 ist das Honolulu.

Hermann Melville verbrachte 1843 ein paar Monate in Lahaina. Was er hier erlebte, floss in seinen Roman „Moby Dick“ mit ein.

Nicht alle Häuser hier sind aus der Pionierzeit, sie sehen nur aus, wie aus dem 19. Jahrhundert geschlüpft. Neubauten sind verpflichtet, sich eine alt anmutende „Maske“ zu verpassen.

In Lahaina ist es oft heiß und trocken. In den wenig entfernten West Maui Mountains dagegen regnet es häufig. Darum erhebt sich nicht selten ein prächtiger Regenbogen über der Stadt.

Banyan Court Park
Den Namen hat dieser Park, weil hier der größte Banyan Baum Hawaiis steht. Auf den ersten Blick mag es aussehen, dass man sich in einem kleinen Wald befindet. Aber nein: Alles, was hier über eine Fläche von fast 3.000 Quadratmetern wächst, ist ein einziger Baum.
Banyan ist eine Feigenart, die sich auf anderen Bäumen ausbreitet, bis ihre Luftwurzeln die Erde erreichen, der Banyan kräftiger wird und sein Wirtsbaum unter der Last nicht überleben kann. Seine Ausmaße hier in Lahaina sind mächtig.
Rund um und unter dem Banyan Tree ist immer etwas los. Hier finden Märkte und kulturelle Veranstaltungen statt und Menschen erholen sich in seinem wohltuenden Schatten vor der „gnadenlosen Sonne“ (das bedeutet Lahaina nämlich).
Richtung Hafen steht das Old Lahaina Court House. Das Gerichtsgebäude wurde 1859 erbaut. Praktischerweise war damals in dem Gebäude nicht nur das Gericht, sondern gleich auch ein Gefängnis untergebracht. Heute befinden sich hier ein Besucherzentrum, das Lahaina Heritage Museum sowie zwei Galerien der Lahaina Arts Society.
Direkt hinter dem Banyan Baum liegt der Hafen. Das Pioneer Inn an der Wharf Street ist das älteste Hotel der Insel.

Highlights auf der Front Street
Cafés, Bars, Geschäfte, Galerien – entlang der Front Street tummeln sich Besucherinnern und Besucher. Sie sind auf der Suche nach Postkarten oder Gemälden, Schmuck, einem leckeren Lunch oder auch einfach einer Flasche Wasser.

An der Ecke Front Street / Dickons Street steht, mitten in einem saftig grünen Park, das Baldwin House. Dwight Baldwin lebte in diesem 1834 erbauten Haus, er war ein bekannter Naturwissenschaftler und protestantischer Missionar. Interessant ist ein Besuch (der Eintritt kostet lediglich 3 $) dieses Gebäudes, weil es auch Einblick in die Geschichte der Missionierung Hawaiis bietet.

Zwischen Galerien und Bekleidungsgeschäften sticht ein weiteres Gebäude hervor: in der Front Street 858 steht der Wo Hing Tempel, ein 1912 von Chinesen erbauter Tempel, der heute ein Museum zur chinesischen Kultur und Geschichte in Hawaii ist. Hier gilt übrigens auch das Ticket zum Baldwin House. Am Ende der Front Street steht ein japanisch-buddhistischer Tempel.
Diese und weitere kulturelle und historische Sehenswürdigkeiten werden übrigens im sogenannten Lahaina Historical Trail zusammengefasst. Auf eigene Faust können über 60 Stätten besucht und erkundet werden. Der Rundgang dauert etwa eine Stunde. Den Stadtführer gibt’s im Besucherzentrum im Courthouse am Banyan Baum.

Anfahrt und Parken
Lahaina liegt am Highway 30, einer sehr gut ausgebauten Straße. Von Kahului sind es keine 25 Meilen bis nach Lahaina, für den Weg sollte man eine knappe Dreiviertelstunde mit dem Auto einplanen. Öffentliche Busse (der Lahaina Islander) fahren diese Strecke auch.
Der Highway 3000 ist eine Umgehungsstraße. Sie führt um Lahaina herum, um nördlich des Ortes wieder in den Highway 30 überzugehen. Trotz der Umgehung kann es zu den Stoßzeiten allerdings starken Autoverkehr geben in Lahaina, denn viele erkunden die Frontstreet aus ihren Mietwagen heraus.
Kostenfreie (und heiß begehrte) Parkplätze gibt es zum Beispiel an der Ecke Front Street / Prison Street. Am Shoppingcenter „Outlets of Maui“ gibt es mehr, wenn auch kostenpflichtige, Parkplätze.

Um Lahaina
Wer den Ausflug nach Lahaina mit einem Strandtag kombinieren möchte, kann das ausgezeichnet am Ka’anapali Beach oder auch am Baby Beach.
Lahaina lässt sich aber auch gut mit einem Tagestrip auf und um den Highways 30 kombinieren. Entlang der spektakulären Küste gibt es traumhafte Buchten, tolle Aussichtspunkte und gute kleine Wanderungen, zum Beispiel zum bekannten Nakalele Blowhole.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Ein Bummel an der Lahaina Front Street führt an historischen wie auch modernen Gebäuden vorbei. Neben jeder Menge Souvenirs, finden sich auch Kunsthandwerk, Kleidung, Gemälde und Schmuck zum Bestaunen. Ein Einkaufsbummel lohnt sich.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Wer sich für Kunst und Kunsthandwerk interessiert, wird hier fündig
  • Vielseitige kleine Geschäfte und Boutiquen
  • Jede Menge Bars, Restaurants und Eisverkäufer
  • Unbedingt den riesigen Banyan-Tree anschauen, den man aufgrund seiner Größe höchstens auf eine Panoramabild bekommt

Wie gefiel dir Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Adresse: 671 Front St, Lahaina, HI 96761
Longitude: -156.677602
Latitude: 20.871789

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Auch als „Keoneheehee Trail“ bekannt, führt dieser Trail bis auf die Talsohle des Haleakala Craters auf Maui, der zuletz…

Auau Kanal | Lahaina Roads (Walbeobachtung)

Das hawaiianische Wort Au'au bedeutet übersetzt soviel wie "ein Bad nehmen". Diesen Namen hat der Auau Channel aufgrund …

Road to Hāna

Die schönste Straße Mauis An der Nord-Ost-Küste Mauis schlängelt sich die spektakulärste Straße der Hawaii Insel en…

Maui Ocean Center (The Aquarium of Hawaii)

Wer sich für die Unterwasserwelt Hawaii's interessiert und mehr über die heimischen Fische und weitere Meeresbewohner er…

Molokini Crater

Zwischen der Südküste Mauis und der Insel Kaho’olawe gelegen erhebt sich eine sehr kleine, ungewöhnlich geformte Insel a…

Napili Beach

Goldene Bucht im Westen Maui's Eine wunderschöne goldene Bucht inmitten eines Resort- und Wohnviertels lädt zum Sonnenb…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos