Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Lanikai Beach

Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lovers, families, couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
06:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lovers, families, couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
06:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 24. November 2022, 02:55:03
weather
83° Fahrenheit
Overcast
Wind: East at 9.2 MPH (8 KT)
Surf Conditions
3-5 feet
Nearshore: na
Offshore: low

Lanikai Beach - Description

Oahu's paradise in the east of the island

Turquoise waters and endless fine white sandy beach, which slopes gently into the sea. Oahu has many breathtaking beaches. The beach in Lanikai is without question one of the best among them and also one of the most beautiful in the world.

Lanikai means heavenly sea and the beach lives up to its name. Originally, the beach was much wider, but was significantly reduced by private houses and the construction of a wall, which stands directly on the beach. Exactly between these private houses is also the access to Lanikai Beach. If you don't know that the beach exists, you will quickly overlook the small alley that forms the entrance to the beach and the beauty will remain hidden. However, if you are looking for the beach intentionally, you will find the access. Lanikai Beach is one of the quiet beaches and there are no signs to guide the way. Once the entrance is spotted between residential buildings, only a few meters separate you from the shimmering sea. Turquoise, crystal clear water washes in gentle waves onto the fine sandy beach. It is hard not to drop everything to jump into the cool water.

Some might have the idea to bring snorkelling equipment, but Lanikai is not suitable for this at all. There is no offshore reef and which is why only a few fish swim close to the beach. If you are looking for a change of pace and can't stand lying lazy in the sun all day, you have another option. Many visitors at Lanikai Beach rent canoes from the neighbouring beach park to paddle to one of the two offshore islands. It is fascinating seeing the beach from a different perspective. Together with the backdrop of the Koolau Mountains in the background, it makes for a unique and beautiful picture.

If you are looking for spectacular sunrises, this is the place to be. The sun appears on the horizon in breathtaking hues, rising up the sky as a ball of fire colouring the sea and sand in orange colours. Note: Before deciding to get up very early for the sunrise, check the weather for the next day. On cloudy days, it is not worth setting an alarm clock.

Mokulua Islands (The Twin Islands)

From Lanikai Beach, you can see the Mokulua Islands (Nā Mokulua), which are well known for Oahu. The two offshore islands of Moku Nui and Moku Iki are also called The Twin Islands Moku Nui is about 70 meters high and 300 x 250 meters in size. Moku Iki, on the other hand, is only about 45 meters high and measures about 265 x 215 meters.

Good to know

Beach facilities:

Lanikai Beach is one of the beaches that have retained their naturalness. This is why little to no facilities are offered to visitors. The beach itself offers no possibility to buy food. If you want to spread out a picnic on the beach, it is best to bring a cooler with enough snacks.

There is no supervision or lifeguards here. The waves at Lanikai Beach are gentle and calm but those who want to swim in the sea should do so with a healthy dose of caution. Also, there are neither washrooms nor toilets. Those who do not want to miss a shower after bathing in crystal clear water can stop at Kailua Beach Park. All facilities are available there.

Directions and parking:

The best option is to arrive with your car or a rental car. Alternatively, the beach is also accessible by bus. However, this is associated with some effort and from Waikiki, you have to change buses two or three times. Those who drive to the beach with their car should pay attention to where the car is parked. Parking lots are not available here and many visitors choose the roadside in front of the beach because parking on the street between the residential buildings is prohibited and strictly monitored by officials.

What we say

Tommy
Super beach for the whole family, young and old will have fun in the crystal clear water. It is worth going to the beach here early in the morning for a wonderful sunrise.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Pack food
  • Enjoy sunrise
  • Shallow entry into calm water
  • No toilets & changing rooms
  • No lifeguards

How did you like Lanikai Beach?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -157.71508692901733
Latitude: 21.392351739138096

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Wai...

Kailua Beach

A wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and spend a quiet beach day. The sea and the ...

Paradise Cove Beach

Hidden paradise on the west coast of Oahu Powder sugar white sand, green coconut palms and turquoise blue sea. The paradi...

Nānākuli Beach Park

Nānākuli Beach is one of the top beaches on the west coast of Oahu. The sea is turquoise blue and crystal clear, the sand soft and...

Lanikai Pillbox Hike (Kaiwa Ridge)

The Pillbox Hike (also called the Kaiwa Ridge Trail) is a 2.9-kilometer, heavily traveled hiking trail near Kaiwa...

Waikiki Beach

Dreamlike long sandy beaches, sparkling turquoise water and the backdrop of the famous Diamond Head in the background. ...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
06:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
06:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 29. November 2022, 02:55:04
Wetter
77° Fahrenheit
Overcast
Wind: Southeast at 4.6 MPH (4 KT)
Surf-Conditions
2-4 feet
Nearshore: na
Offshore: low

Lanikai Beach - Beschreibung

Oahu’s Paradies im Osten der Insel

Türkisblaues Wasser und endloser feiner weißer Sandstrand, welcher flach ins Meer abfällt. Oahu hat viele atemberaubende Strände, der Strand in Lanikai zählt ohne Frage zu den besten unter ihnen und auch zu den schönsten der Welt.

Lanikai bedeutet zu Deutsch übersetzt himmlisches Meer und der Strand macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Ursprünglich war der Strand wesentlich breiter, wurde allerdings durch Privathäuser und dem Errichten einer Mauer, welche unmittelbar am Strand steht, deutlich verkleinert. Genau zwischen diesen Privathäusern befindet sich auch der Zugang zum Lanikai Beach. Wer nicht weiß, dass der Strand existiert, übersieht die kleine Gasse, welche den Zugang zum Strand bildet schnell und die Schönheit bleibt verborgen. Wer den Strand allerdings gewollt sucht, wird auch den Zugang finden. Lanikai Beach ist einer der ruhigen Strände und es gibt keine Schilder oder ähnliches, welche den Weg weisen. Ist der Zugang zwischen Wohnhäusern erspäht, trennen einen nur noch wenige Meter vom schimmernden Meer. Türkisblaues, kristallklares Wasser wird in sanften Wellen an den feinen Sandstrand gespült und es fällt schwer, nicht alles stehen und liegen zu lassen, um in das kühle Nass zu springen.

Manch einer könnte auf die Idee kommen Schnorchelausrüstung mitzubringen, hierfür ist Lanikai allerdings überhaupt nicht geeignet. Es gibt kein vorgelagertes Riff und dementsprechend verirren sich auch nur wenige Fische in Strandnähe. Wer trotzdem die Abwechslung sucht und es nicht aushält den ganzen Tag faul in der Sonne zu liegen, hat noch eine weitere Option. Viele Besucher vom Lanikai Beach leihen sich im benachbarten Beach Park Kanus aus, um zu einer der beiden vorgelagerten Inseln zu paddeln. Ebenso ist es ein faszinierender Anblick, den Strand aus einer anderen Perspektive zu sehen. Gemeinsam mit der Kulisse der Koolau Mountains im Hintergrund bietet sich ein einmaliges, wunderschönes Bild.

Wer spektakuläre Sonnenaufgänge sucht, ist hier an der richtigen Stelle. In atemberaubenden Farben erscheint die Sonne am Horizont, taucht das Meer und den Sand in tiefe orangerote Farbtöne und steigt als Feuerball den Himmel hinauf. Achtung: Bevor man sich entscheidet, sehr früh für den Sonnenaufgang aufzustehen, sollte das Wetter für den nächsten Tag nachgeschaut werden. An bewölkten Tagen lohnt es sich nicht einen Wecker zu stellen.

Mokulua Islands (The Twin Islands)

Von Lanikai Beach aus sieht man die für Oahu bekannten Mokulua Islands (Nā Mokulua). Die zwei vorgelagerte Inseln Moku Nui und Moku Iki werden auch The Twin Islands genannt. Moku Nui ist dabei ca. 70 m hoch und 300 x 250 Meter groß. Moku Iki hingegen nur ca. 45 Meter hoch und etwa 265 x 215 Meter groß.

Gut zu Wissen

Einrichtungen am Strand:

Lanikai Beach ist einer der Strände, welche ihre Natürlichkeit behalten haben. Dementsprechend werden wenig bis gar keine Einrichtungen für Besucher geboten. Der Strand selber bietet keine Möglichkeit Verpflegung zu kaufen. Wer am Beach ein Picknick ausbreiten mag, sollte sich am besten eine Kühltruhe mit ausreichend Proviant mitbringen.

Eine Aufsicht oder Rettungsschwimmer gibt es hier nicht. Die Wellen am Lanikai Beach sind sanft und ruhig, wer im Meere baden möchte, sollte dies trotzdem mit einer gesunden Portion Vorsicht tun. Ebenso gibt es weder Waschräume noch Toiletten. Wer nach dem Baden im kristallklaren Wasser nicht auf eine Dusche verzichten möchte, hat die Möglichkeit, im Kailua Beach Park zu halten. Dort stehen alle Einrichtungen zur Verfügung.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Die beste Option ist, mit dem eigenen Auto oder einem Mietwagen anzureisen. Alternativ ist der Strand auch per Bus erreichbar. Dies ist allerdings mit etwas Aufwand verbunden und von Waikiki aus sind immer zwei oder drei mal Umsteigen nötig. Wer mit dem eigenen Wagen an den Strand fährt, sollte gut darauf achten, wo das Auto abgestellt wird. Parkplätze stehen hier nicht zu Verfügung und viele Besucher wählen den Straßenrand vor dem Strand. Denn das Parken an der Straße zwischen den Wohnhäusern, ist an den meisten Stellen verboten und wird von Beamten auch strikt überwacht.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Super Strand für die ganze Familie, Groß und Klein werden im glasklaren Wasser ihre Freude haben. Es lohnt sich, hier früh morgens zu einem wundervollen Sonnenaufgang an den Strand zu fahren.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Verpflegung einpacken
  • Sonnenaufgang genießen
  • Flacher Einstieg ins ruhige Wasser
  • Keine WC's & Umkleiden
  • Keine Rettungsschwimmer

Wie gefiel dir Lanikai Beach?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -157.71508692901733
Latitude: 21.392351739138096

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Duke Kahanamoku Statue

Die Statue von Hawaii´s bekanntestem Surfer, Duke Kahanamoku dem König der Wellen, liegt inmitten von Waikiki, am berühm…

Kualoa Regional Park

Idyllische Ruhe abseits der Stadt - der Kualoa Regional Park Ein schmaler Streifen voll mit weißem Sandstrand, gesäumt v…

Sharks Cove

Die schillernde Unterwasserwelt der berühmten Sharks Cove Im Winter das Surferparadies schlechthin, im Sommer ein belieb…

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Hiking, Wale und Bodyboarden im Makapuu Beach Park Bodyboarder in den gewaltigen Wellen beobachten, faul in der warmen S…

Ko Olina Lagoons

Lagunen Strandparadies mit gehobenen Standards Feiner weißer Sandstrand und ruhiges geschütztes Wasser mit einer Prise M…

Ala Moana Beach Park

Ruhe und Entspannung inmitten der Stadt - der Ala Moana Beach Park Gegenüber der größten Shopping Mall auf Hawaii und di…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos