Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Pearl Harbor

Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
4.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
4.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Pearl Harbor - Description

Besides the information about the sight on Oahu, we would also like to give you important background information about the attack on Pearl Harbor in this article.

You can quickly switch back and forth between the contents via the table of contents:

The devastating attack on Pearl Harbor

The surprise attack of the Japanese on the headquarters of the US Navy 'Pearl Harbor' remains in the memory of the whole world. An event with devastating consequences, which demonstrably changed the course of history. It cost thousands of lives and resulted in the entry of the USA into the Second World War.

The natural harbour of Pearl Harbor near Honolulu was once one of the largest harbours in all of Hawaii. Almost in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, Pearl Harbor is located about 4000 miles from Japan and about 2000 miles from the U.S. mainland. Because of its strategic location, it has been used as a U.S. Navy base over the years. Pearl Harbor became the scene of a terrible surprise attack on December 7, 1941, launched by Japanese forces. Without any warning, hundreds of Japanese fighter planes gathered over the U.S. Navy base that Sunday morning and destroyed quite a few naval ships. In addition to nine damaged battleships, more than 300 military aircraft were destroyed. However, the Japanese attack destroyed much more than the military arsenal. Over 1000 Americans were injured and about 2500 Americans lost their lives in the attack, including civilians. Immediately after the attack on December 8, 1941, under President Franklin D. Roosevelt, congress was asked to declare war on Japan immediately.

Even today, five memorials at Pearl Harbor remind us of the fateful and tragic events. Visitors are given the opportunity to see the scene of horror and the remains of the battleships and aircraft hangars with their own eyes. Survivors talk about the horrific and chaotic scenes that unfolded at Pearl Harbor on December 7, and visitors will remember the visit for a long time.

The Japanese Attack on Pearl Harbor

The U.S. and Japan had already been on the path to war for several decades and when no peaceful and satisfactory solution could be negotiated with the United States, the Japanese decided to take the only option that promised success. A surprise attack on the Pearl Harbor military base. The drafting of the plan and also the exercises of the Japanese forces took several months.

The plan was very simple - it was to destroy the entire Pacific fleet of Pearl Harbor. The Japanese turned this devastating plan into reality on Sunday morning, December 7, 1941. It was around 8 a.m. when the skies above the U.S. Navy base filled with countless Japanese aircraft and a literal rain of bullets and bombs pelted down on the Pearl Harbor military base and all the anchored ships. Just 10 minutes after opening fire, an armour-piercing bomb weighing nearly 800 kilograms struck the battleship USS Arizona. It hit the ship's ammunition magazine and caused a catastrophic explosion that sank the battleship with over 1500 men inside within 9 minutes.

Another 400 crewmen died when torpedoes hit the USS Oklahoma and the battleship went off balance. It fell on one side, filled with water and sank.

After a time of fewer than two hours, the surprise attack by the Japanese was over and all battleships in the harbour off Honolulu suffered considerable damage. After the attack, all but two of the sunk battleships were salvaged and fully repaired.

Effects of the attack on Pearl Harbor

More than 300 aircraft and nearly 20 ships were destroyed and deformed in the surprise Japanese attack. In addition to that, military facilities on land and associated airfields were destroyed and more importantly, 1000 people were injured in the attack and over 2400 marines as well as civilians lost their lives.

However, the Japanese plan did not work out completely. The goal of putting the fleet out of action could not be achieved. Purely by chance, all the aircraft carriers were not at the base in Pearl Harbor that day. Some were on the mainland, while others were delivering aircraft to surrounding forces. The base's main facilities, such as repair shops, oil storage and even submarine docks were also unharmed. These facts helped the U.S. Navy to be operational again relatively quickly.

On December 8, 1941, one day after the attack, the United States declared war against Japan and equally this event is responsible for the U.S. entry into World War II.

The background of the attack on Pearl Harbor

Although relations between Japan and the USA had already been strained since the Japanese-Chinese War, the attack came as a complete surprise to the Americans and without any warning. Negotiations on the further expansion of raw material extraction in Southeast Asia had been going on for a long time but had repeatedly failed. No peaceful solution could be found. Thus, the Japanese Empire decided on the only option with the potential for success. An attack on the naval base Pearl Harbor should put the US fleet out of action for a limited period. This was to give Japan enough time to gain the upper hand over the needed raw material areas in Southeast Asia.

Pearl Harbor - the movie

The action movie Pearl Harbor was directed by Michael Bay and stars famous actors such as Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett and Kate Beckinsale.

The war movie is based on the true events of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. It shows the dark events linked with the romance of two navy soldier friends who have fallen in love with the same woman. Due to the surprise attack of the Japanese, the love story comes to an abrupt end, as thousands of soldiers are killed within just a few minutes.

The movie was released in cinemas and it was nominated for two Golden Globes as well as four Oscars. It also received an Oscar for sound editing.

Pearl Harbor Memorials

In modern times, visitors have the opportunity to tour five historic memorial sites in Pearl Harbor, all places of silent remembrance, covered in sombre beauty. Sites in Pearl Harbor that are open to the public and show the horrific side of what happened are the USS Arizona Memorial, the USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park, the Battleship Missouri Memorial, the Pacific Aviation Museum and the USS Oklahoma Memorial. Each of the memorials tells a part of the dark events and brings visitors closer to World War II. The Visitor Center is the best entry point. Visitors are shown a film that talks about the attack. Also, plaques commemorate the victims of the attack.

USS Arizona Memorial (Pacific National Monument)

After leaving the Visitor Center, a boat takes visitors to the final resting place and memorial to the victims of the destroyed battleship USS Arizona. A floating memorial has been created above the sunken hull of the ship. The names of the deceased are immortalized on marble plaques. An emotional moment for visitors.

A visit to the memorial is possible to do free of charge but the crossing by boat should be reserved in advance. Alternatively, 1300 tickets are issued every morning at the Visitor Center. Visitors who come without a reservation should be at the Visitor Center early in the morning, as the Memorial is visited by about 4000 visitors every day.

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum including park

One of about 250 submarines is the USS Bowfin, also known as Pearl Harbor Avenger. Visitors discover fascinating facts and amazing submarine technology during a visit to the museum. On a tour of the grounds, visitors will see the Waterfront Memorial, which was built to honour the fallen submariners of World War II. Probably the most interesting part of Submarine Park is the tour of the USS Bowfin. Visitors get an authentic impression of the submarine below deck and visit, among other things, the torpedo room or the crew's quarters.

Battleship Missouri Memorial

The battleship played a significant role in World War II. General Macarthur accepted Japan's surrender on the deck of the Missouri Battleship, which ended World War II.

The battleship functions nowadays as a museum and offers visitors insight into three wars of contemporary history. During the tour of the museum, visitors will see the massive battleship which weighs over 60000 tons. The Surrender Deck provides an opportunity to view the original documents that declared World War II. Over an area of three soccer fields and a height of 20 floors, it is possible to see battle ordnance, such as cannons and shells. Visitors who take part in a tour get to see closed-off areas and learn about impressive parts of the battleship.

Pacific Aviation Museum

Over 50 aircraft, such as propeller planes as well as jet fighters and the remains of the Ni'ihau Zero, can be seen here. The Ni'ihau Zero crashed over Ni'ihau Island after the attack on Pearl Habor and was one of the most famous military aircraft in the United States. Furthermore, the Pacific Aviation Museum features two hangars and the Ford Island Control Tower that survived the December 7, 1941 attack. Bullet holes and marks on the buildings are still visible today.

USS Oklahoma Memorial

Nine torpedoes hit the USS Oklahoma battleship on December 7, 1941, sinking the 35000 ton battleship in just 12 minutes. Over 400 marines sank with the ship. The USS Oklahoma Memorial was built in their honor. 32 other soldiers were trapped in their watertight cabins, drew attention to themselves by screaming and banging, and were rescued by rescue workers after two days.

Good to know - Pearl Harbor Memorial Information

Duration:

The five historical monument sites in Pearl Harbor can be visited within a full or half day. Depending on your historical interest, it takes between one and three hours at each of the monuments and the museums.

Entrance fee:

  • Visitors who wish to visit all five memorials should use the Passport to Pearl Harbor. This allows access to all sites. (Arizona Audio Narration, Missouri Battleship, Bowfin Submarine, Aviation Museum, Oklahoma Memorial, Visitors Center, Multiple Audio Tours, Ford Island).
    • Prices are $72 for adults and $35 for children. Note: Children under 4 years of age are not admitted to Pearl Harbor.
  • Admission to the USS Arizona Memorial is free.
  • Parking at the Pearl Harbor Visitor Center is also free.

Tickets and Visitor Center:

If you want to visit different memorials, you should book a boat ride in advance. It is recommended to start at the Visitor Center to purchase the tickets there.

Opening hours:

  • Visitor Center: Open daily from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year's Day).
  • USS Arizona Memorial: Daily from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Battleship Missouri Memorial: Daily from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: Daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
  • USS Oklahoma Memorial: daily from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (or 5:00 p.m. daylight saving time).
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park Daily from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Luggage:

The Pearl Harbor Naval Port is still an active naval base. Therefore, visitors are not permitted to bring bags of any kind, such as backpacks, diaper bags, or camera bags. Visitors who do not wish to arrive without luggage may use the luggage storage facilities at the Visitor Center.

What we say

Tommy
Certainly a different kind of "sight" (which I wouldn't call it...) on Oahu, but still so important to keep the devastating attack on Pearl Harbor from being forgotten and to make it even clearer to every visitor that war and greed is never a solution.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Parking is available free of charge at the main entrance of the Visitor Center
  • Visitor Center opening hours: 07:00 to 17:00
  • Reserve USS Arizona Memorial boat tickets in advance
  • Children under 4 years do not get access
  • Bags of any kind are prohibited
  • Parking at the Pearl Harbor Visitor Center and admission to the USS Arizona Memorial are free!
  • Allow for sufficient time!

How did you like Pearl Harbor?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Pearl Harbor National Memorial1, Arizona Memorial Place, Honolulu, HI 96818
Longitude: -157.93883654454814
Latitude: 21.367778330071197
Phone: 808-422-3399 or to make a reservation: 1-877-444-6777
Email address: [email protected]

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Popoiʻa Island (Flat Island)

Located only about 400 meters from the coast of Kailua Beach, this tiny island, also known as Flat Island, is a...

Mā'ili Beach,

Anyone driving along the Leeward coast of Oahu will be overwhelmed by the beauty of the mountains and the turquoise blue ...

Laniakea Beach

Green Sea Turtle Habitat - Laniakea Beach at the North Shore White sandy beach, coconut palms, turquoise blue...

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Hidden treasure of Oahu - the secluded Kawela Bay Coconut trees, calm waters and fine white sand beach. The Kawe...

Keawaʻula Beach

The long drive from Honolulu to Keawa'ula Beach, the last beach on Oahu's northeastern coast, is worth every trip.

Makaha Beach

On Oahu's west coast, Makaha Beach is one of the most popular, yet uncrowded beaches with great waves for su...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Pearl Harbor - Beschreibung

Neben den reinen Informationen zu der Sehenswürdigkeit auf Oahu möchten wir euch auch wichtige Hintergrundinformationen zum Angriff auf Pearl Harbor in diesem Artikel anhand geben.

Über das Inhaltsverzeichnis könnt ihr schnell zwischen den Inhalten hin und her wechseln:

Der verheerende Angriff auf Pearl Harbor

Der Überraschungsangriff der Japaner auf das Hauptquartier der US-Navy ‘Pearl Harbor’ bleibt der ganzen Welt in Erinnerung. Ein Ereignis mit verheerenden Folgen, welches den Lauf der Geschichte nachweislich verändert hat. Es kostete Tausende Menschen das Leben und hatte den Kriegseintritt der USA in den Zweiten Weltkrieg zur Folge.

Der Naturhafen Pearl Harbor in der Nähe von Honolulu war einst einer der größten Häfen in ganz Hawaii. Nicht ganz in der Mitte des Pazifischen Ozeans liegt Pearl Harbor, etwa 4000 Meilen von Japan und etwa 2000 Meilen vom amerikanischen Festland entfernt. Aufgrund seiner strategisch guten Lage wurde er im Lauf der Zeit als Stützpunkt der US-Marine genutzt. Pearl Harbor wurde am 7. Dezember 1941 Szenarium eines schrecklichen Überraschungsangriffs, ausgelöst durch japanische Streitkräfte. Ohne jegliche Vorahnung sammelten sich an diesem Sonntagfrüh Hunderte der japanischen Kampfflieger über dem Stützpunkt der US-Navy und zerstörten etliche Marineschiffe. Neben neun beschädigten Schlachtschiffen wurden mehr als 300 Militärflugzeuge zerstört. Der Angriff der Japaner zerstörte allerdings weitaus mehr als Militärarsenal. Über 1000 Amerikaner wurden verletzt und rund 2500 Amerikaner verloren bei diesem Angriff ihr Leben, unter ihnen auch Zivilisten. Unmittelbar nach dem Angriff am 8. Dezember 1941 wurde unter dem damaligen Präsident Franklin D. Roosevelt der Kongress aufgefordert, Japan sofort den Krieg zu erklären.

Noch heute erinnern fünf Gedenkstätten in Pearl Harbor an die verhängnisvollen und tragischen Ereignisse. Besuchern wird es ermöglicht, den Schauplatz des Grauens und die Überreste der Schlachtschiffe und Flugzeughangar mit eigenen Augen zu besichtigen. Überlebende berichten von den schrecklichen und chaotischen Szenen, welche sich am 7. Dezember in Pearl Harbor abspielten und Besuchern wird die Besichtigung lange im Gedächtnis bleiben.

Der Angriff Japans auf Pearl Harbor

Die USA und Japan befanden sich bereits seit mehreren Jahrzehnten auf dem Weg zum Krieg und als keine friedliche, zufriedenstellende Lösung mit den Vereinigten Staaten verhandelt werden konnte, entschieden die Japaner die einzige Option zu wählen, die erfolgversprechend war. Ein Überraschungsangriff auf den militärischen Stützpunkt Pearl Harbor. Das Entwerfen der Planung und auch die Übungen der japanischen Streitkräfte beanspruchten mehrere Monate.

Der ausgearbeitete Plan war denkbar einfach, es sollte schlicht und einfach die komplette Pazifikflotte von Pearl Harbor zerstört werden. Umgesetzt haben die Japaner diese verheerende Tat am Sonntagmorgen des 7. Dezember 1941. Es war gegen 8 Uhr am Morgen, als sich der Himmel über dem US-Navy Stützpunkt mit unzähligen japanischen Flugzeugen füllte und ein wortwörtlicher Regen aus Kugeln und Bomben auf den Militärstützpunkt Pearl Harbor und alle auf Anker gelegten Schiffe herab prasselte. Nur 10 Minuten nach der Eröffnung des Feuers schlug eine fast 800 Kilogramm schwere panzerbrechende Bombe in das Schlachtschiff USS Arizona ein. Sie traf das Munitionsmagazin des Schiffes und verursachte eine katastrophale Explosion, welche das Schlachtschiff mit über 1500 Mann in ihrem Innern innerhalb von 9 Minuten sinken lies.

Weitere 400 Besatzungsmitglieder starben, als Torpedos die USS Oklahoma trafen und das Schlachtschiff außer Gleichgewicht geriet. Es fiel auf eine Seite, füllte sich mit Wasser und sank.

Nach einer Zeit von weniger als zwei Stunden war der Überraschungsangriff der Japaner beendet und alle Schlachtschiffe im Hafen vor Honolulu erlitten erhebliche Schäden. Nach dem Angriff konnten bis auf Ausnahme der zwei gesunkenen Schlachtschiffe, alle weiteren geborgen und vollständig instandgesetzt werden.

Auswirkungen des Angriffs auf Pearl Harbor

Mehr als 300 Flugzeuge und fast 20 Schiffe wurden bei dem Überraschungsangriff der Japaner zerstört und deformiert. Ebenso wurden Militäreinrichtungen an Land und zugehörige Flugplätze vernichtet und viel wichtiger, 1000 Menschen wurden bei dem Angriff verletzt und über 2400 Marinesoldaten sowie Zivilisten verloren ihr Leben.

Der Plan der Japaner ging allerdings nicht komplett auf. Das Ziel, die Flotte außer Gefecht zu setzen, konnte nicht erreicht werden. Rein aus Zufall waren an diesem Tag alle Flugzeugträger nicht in der Basis in Pearl Harbor. Einige befanden sich auf dem Festland, andere lieferten Flugzeuge an umliegende Truppen aus. Auch die wichtigsten Einrichtungen der Basis, etwa Reparaturwerkstätten, Öllager oder auch U-Boot Docks, blieben unversehrt. Diese Tatsachen halfen der US-Marine verhältnismäßig schnell wieder einsatzbereit zu sein.

Am 8. Dezember 1941, einen Tag nach dem Angriff, erklärten die Vereinigten Staaten den Krieg gegen Japan und gleichermaßen ist dieses Ereignis verantwortlich für den Kriegseintritt der USA in den Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Die Hintergründe des Angriffs auf Pearl Harbor

Obwohl die Beziehungen zwischen Japan und den USA bereits seit dem Japanisch-Chinesischen Krieg angespannt waren, kam der Angriff für die Amerikaner völlig überraschend und ohne Vorahnung. Es galt seit Längerem, Verhandlungen über die weitere Ausdehnung für Rohstoffgewinnung in Südostasien zu führen, welche immer wieder scheiterten. Es konnte keine friedliche, einvernehmliche Lösung gefunden werden. So entschied sich das japanische Reich für die einzige Option mit Erfolgspotenzial. Ein Angriff auf den Flottenstützpunkt Pearl Harbor, welcher die US-Flotte für einen begrenzten Zeitraum außer Gefecht setzen sollte. Somit sollte Japan genügend Zeit verschafft werden, um die Oberhand über die benötigten Rohstoffareale in Südostasien zu gewinnen.

Pearl Harbor – der Film

Der Actionfilm Pearl Harbor wurde unter der Regie von Michael Bay gedreht und spielt unter anderem mit berühmten Schauspielern etwa Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett und Kate Beckinsale.

Der Kriegsepos basiert auf den wahren Begebenheiten des Angriffs der Japaner auf Pearl Harbor. Zeigt die dunklen Geschehnisse verknüpft mit einer Romanze zweier befreundeter Marinesoldaten, welche sich in die gleiche Frau verliebt haben. Durch den überraschenden Angriff der Japaner findet die Liebesgeschichte ein jähes Ende, indem Tausende Soldaten innerhalb nur weniger Minuten getötet werden.

Der im Kino erschienene Film wurde für zwei Golden Globes sowie vier Oscars nominiert und bekam ebenso einen Oscar für die Bearbeitung des Tons.

Pearl Harbor Gedenkstätten

In der heutigen Zeit haben Besucher die Möglichkeit, fünf historische Denkmalstätten in Pearl Harbor zu besichtigen, allesamt Orte zum stillen Gedenken, überzogen von düsterer Schönheit. Orte in Pearl Harbor, welche der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind und die schrecklichen Seiten der Vorkommnisse zeigen, sind das USS Arizona Memorial, das USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park, das Battleship Missouri Memorial, das Pacific Aviation Museum und das USS Oklahoma Memorial. Jede der Gedenkstätten erzählt einen Teil der dunklen Geschehnisse und bringt den Besuchern den Zweiten Weltkrieg näher. Das Visitor Center ist der beste Einstiegspunkt. Besuchern wird ein Film gezeigt, welcher über den Angriff berichtet. Ebenso erinnern Gedenktafeln an die Opfer des Schicksals.

USS Arizona Memorial (Pacific National Monument)

Nach dem Verlassen des Visitor Centers bringt ein Boot Besucher zu der letzten Ruhe- und Gedenkstätte der Opfer des zerstörten Schlachtschiffes USS Arizona. Über dem versunkenen Rumpf des Schiffes wurde eine schwimmende Gedenkstätte errichtet. Auf Marmortafeln sind die Namen der Verstorbenen verewigt. Ein ergreifender Moment für Besucher.

Der Besuch des Memorials ist kostenfrei möglich, allerdings sollte im Voraus die Überfahrt mit dem Boot reserviert werden. Alternativ werden jeden Morgen im Visitor Center 1300 Tickets herausgegeben. Besucher, welche ohne Reservierung kommen, sollten früh am Morgen im Besucherzentrum sein, da das Memorial tagtäglich von rund 4000 Besuchern aufgesucht wird.

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum inklusive Park

Eines von rund 250 U-Booten ist die USS Bowfin oder auch bekannt als Pearl Harbor Avenger. Besucher entdecken faszinierende Fakten und die erstaunliche Technik von U-Booten bei einem Besuch des Museums. Bei einer Tour über das Gelände sehen Besucher das Waterfront Memorial, welches zu Ehren der gefallenen Submarinesoldaten des Zweiten Weltkrieges errichtet wurde. Der wohl interessanteste Teil des Submarine Parks ist die Besichtigung der USS Bowfin. Besucher bekommen unter Deck einen authentischen Eindruck des U-Bootes und besichtigen unter anderem den Torpedoraum oder auch die Quartiere der Besatzung.

Battleship Missouri Memorial

Das Schlachtschiff spielte eine bedeutende Rolle im Zweiten Weltkrieg. General Macarthur akzeptierte auf dem Deck des Missouri Battleships Japans Kapitulation, welche den Zweiten Weltkrieg beendet.

Das Kampfschiff fungiert heutzutage als Museum und bietet Besuchern Einblick in drei Kriege der Zeitgeschichte. Während der Tour durch das Museum besichtigen Besucher das gewaltige Schlachtschiff mit einem Gewicht von über 60000 Tonnen. Auf den Surrender Deck bietet sich die Gelegenheit, die Originaldokumente einzusehen, welche den Zweiten Weltkrieg als beendet erklärte. Auf einer Fläche von drei Fußballfeldern und einer Höhe von 20 Etagen können Kampfgeschütze, etwa Kanonen oder Granaten besichtigt werden. Besucher, welche an einer Tour teilnehmen, bekommen Einblicke in abgesperrte Bereiche und lernen beeindruckende Teile des Schlachtschiffes kennen.

Pacific Aviation Museum

Über 50 Flugzeuge, etwa Propellermaschinen sowie Düsenjäger und die Überreste der Ni‘ihau Zero sind hier zu sehen. Die Ni‘ihau Zero stürzte nach dem Übergriff auf Pearl Habor über Ni‘ihau Island ab und zählte zu den berühmtesten Militärflugzeugen der USA. Des Weiteren sind im Pacific Aviation Museum zwei Hangars und der Ford Island Control Tower zu sehen, welche den Angriff am 7. Dezember 1941 überstanden haben. Noch heute sind Einschusslöcher und Spuren an den Gebäuden sichtbar.

USS Oklahoma Memorial

Neun Torpedos trafen das USS Oklahoma Schlachtschiff am 7. Dezember 1941 und ließen das 35000 Tonnen schwere Kampfschiff innerhalb nur 12 Minuten sinken. Mit dem Schiff sanken über 400 Marinesoldaten. Ihnen zu Ehren wurde das USS Oklahoma Memorial erbaut. 32 weitere Soldaten waren in ihren wasserdichten Kabinen gefangen, machten durch Schreie und Klopfen auf sich aufmerksam und wurden nach zwei Tagen von Rettungskräften geborgen.

­Gut zu wissen – Informationen zur Pearl Harbor Gedenkstätte

Dauer:

Die fünf historischen Denkmalstätten in Pearl Harbor können innerhalb eines ganzen oder eines halben Tages besichtigt werden. Je nachdem, wie groß das eigene historische Interesse ist, benötigt man an den einzelnen Denkmälern und den Museen zwischen einer und drei Stunden.

Eintrittskosten:

  • Besucher die alle fünf Gedenkstätten besichtigen möchten, sollten den Passport to Pearl Harbor erwerben. Dieser gestattet Zugang zu allen Stätten. (Arizona Audio Narration, Missouri Battleship, Bowfin Submarine, Aviation Museum, Oklahoma Memorial, Visitors Center, Multiple Audio Tours, Ford Island)
    • Die Preise belaufen sich auf 72 Dollar für Erwachsene und 35 Dollar für Kinder. Achtung: Kinder unter 4 Jahren haben keinen Zugang zu Pearl Harbor.
  • Eintritt zum USS Arizona Memorial ist frei.
  • Parken am Pearl Harbor Visitor Center ist ebenso frei.

Tickets und Visitor Center:

Wer verschiedene Gedenkstätten besuchen möchte, benötigt vorab eine Bootsfahrt. Hier ist es empfehlenswert, im Visitor Center zu beginnen, um die Tickets dort zu erwerben.

Öffnungszeiten:

  • Visitor Center: Täglich von 7:00 bis 17:00 Uhr geöffnet (Ausnahme: Thanksgiving, Weihnachten & Neujahr)
  • USS Arizona Memorial: Täglich von 7:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
  • Battleship Missouri Memorial: Täglich von 7:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: Täglich von 9:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr
  • USS Oklahoma Memorial: Täglich von 8:00 Uhr bis 16:00 Uhr (oder zur Sommerzeit 17:00 Uhr)
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park Täglich von 7:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr

Gepäck:

Der Marine Hafen Pearl Harbor ist noch immer ein aktiver Stützpunkt der Marine. Daher sind für Besucher Taschen aller Art, etwa Rucksäcke, Wickeltaschen oder Kamerataschen nicht erlaubt. Besucher, welche nicht ohne Gepäck ankommen möchten, können die Gepäckaufbewahrungsmöglichkeiten im Besucher Zentrum in Anspruch nehmen.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Sicherlich eine andere Art der "Sehenswürdigkeit" (die ich nicht als solche bezeichnen würde...) auf Oahu, aber dennoch so wichtig um den verheerenden Angriff auf Pearl Harbor nicht in Vergessenheit geraten und jedem Besucher noch klarer werden zu lassen, dass Krieg und Gier niemals eine Lösung ist.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Parkplätze stehen kostenlos am Haupteingang des Visitor Centers zur Verfügung
  • Öffnungszeiten Visitor Center: 07:00 Uhr bis 17:00 Uhr
  • Boottickets für das USS Arizona Memorial vorab reservieren
  • Kinder unter 4 Jahren bekommen keinen Zugang
  • Taschen aller Art sind verboten
  • Parken am Pearl Harbor Visitor Center und Eintritt zum USS Arizona Memorial sind frei!
  • Ausreichend Zeit einplanen!

Wie gefiel dir Pearl Harbor?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Pearl Harbor National Memorial1, Arizona Memorial Place, Honolulu, HI 96818
Longitude: -157.93883654454814
Latitude: 21.367778330071197
Telefon: 808-422-3399 oder zum Reservieren: 1-877-444-6777

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Koko Head Crater Hike

Über Eisenbahnschienen auf den Gipfel des Koko Head Craters Über 1000 Treppenstufen erklimmen, auf Eisenbahnschienen …

Sunset Beach Park

Surfen, schnorcheln und faulenzen am Sunset Beach Ein atemberaubender Strand Oahus, ein Paradies für Surfer im Winter un…

Ko Olina Lagoons

Lagunen Strandparadies mit gehobenen Standards Feiner weißer Sandstrand und ruhiges geschütztes Wasser mit einer Prise M…

Aliʻi Beach Park (Haleʻiwa)

Wenige Minuten fußläufig von Hale’iwa Town entfernt, befindet sich der Ali’i Beach Park, eine Rasenparkanlage mit schmal…

Duke Kahanamoku Statue

Die Statue von Hawaii´s bekanntestem Surfer, Duke Kahanamoku dem König der Wellen, liegt inmitten von Waikiki, am berühm…

North Shore Hike

Die Wanderung führt durch die wilden Wälder des Pūpūkea Paumalū Forest Reserve. Um dorthin zu gelangen, fährt man die St…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos