Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
shopping-hawaii
shopping-hawaii

Great Tips for Shopping in Hawaii - O'ahu and Maui

ala-moana-shopping-center
The open air shopping center on Oahu | Image: © Jeff Whyte - shutterstock.com

To say it up front, Hawaii, is an expensive shopping paradise. T-shirts, pants and everything else you should rather buy on the mainland because Hawaii is 15% more expensive. Obviously everything has to be imported by plane or by ship and then stored. Nevertheless, you will find enough shopping opportunities on Hawaii. In addition to many souvenir stores on all islands that sell handmade goods, there are of course many chains that are also represented on all islands.

Typical souvenirs to bring home are for example the Macadamia nuts. There are chocolate, salted or roasted ones. You can get this souvenir everywhere and since it is a local product, I can recommend you to buy them directly from the plantation. It can't get fresher!

Coffee is also a nice souvenir. The Kona Coffee comes from Hawaii and is roasted with the macadamia nut - you have to try it! Be sure to check that it says 100% Kona coffee on the package and that it was not mixed with cheaper coffee.

There are also many types of jewellery to buy in Hawaii. Very popular are pearls, corals or gemstones that were processed into jewellery. Volcanic glass, the rhyolite, is a wonderful material for necklaces and earrings because volcanic rock has many colours and patterns. Great souvenirs are also flower necklaces (the Leis) and orchids. Koa wood, which is a very strong wood, is carved and sold here too.

On each of the Hawaiian Islands, you will stumble across the ABC Stores. You can't miss them and you will often find them every 100m. In Waikiki, you will find ten ABC stores over one kilometre along the beach promenade. In the ABC Store, you can buy everything. Souvenirs, postcards, sunscreen, towels and food. Refrigerated counters with breakfast toppings, coffee and tobacco products. You can get everything here. There is also a cash machine. Chains that are on all islands are ABC Stores, Woolworth, Sears, Sunglass Hut, Crazy Shirts and Liberty House. If you've been to one store of this chain, you will know them all.

ala-moana-shopping center-1
A shopping experience in the fresh air | Image © Theodore Trimmer - shutterstock.com

The largest shopping center is located in Honolulu on O'ahu. It is the world's largest open-air shopping mall. It is called Ala Moana Shopping Center, with 290 stores and a huge food court over a whole floor. With free valet parking and free internet, you can shop here from 9:30 am - 9:00 pm Monday through Saturday and 10:00 am - 7:00 pm on Sundays. In addition to stores for women, men and children, there are opticians, drugstores, jewellers, pharmacies, shoe stores, decorations and accessories, sports stores, electronics stores, toys and and and... In the food court, it's hard to decide what to eat. From Thai to Mexican or fast food, everyone will find something here!

Ala Moana Center

1450 Ala Moana Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
808 955-9517

On Maui recommend the Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center . It is not as big as the Ala Moana shopping paradise but it has its charm. The mall is also open-air and invites you to enjoy a coffee and simply observe people. This shopping center is a mix of local stores and the typical brand stores, such as Macy's and Forever 21. There are 100 stores and restaurants in the Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center. In addition, the Farmers Market is held there every Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday from 8:00 am - 4:00 pm. On these three days, the market offers seasonal products from Maui. Including fresh fruits and vegetables, flowers and freshly baked goods. Make sure to go! The opening hours are Monday - Saturday from 9:30 am - 9:00 pm and Sundays from 10:00 am - 5:00 pm.

Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center

275 West Ka'ahumanu Avenue
Kahului, HI 96732

As you can see, there are many shopping opportunities. If you have any questions, we are happy to help you.

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Even more reading material

Made In Hawaii. Domestic products of the islands

The brown gold from Hawaii... is also called the coffee on the island. "Its aroma is dreamlike and better than...

My Hawaii, Manuela reports part 3: Maui and the Road to Hana

In part 3 Manuela reports about her trips on Maui. Missed part 1 and 2? Then quickly back to the Hawaii Blog...

Hawaii? Yes, if it's on the way - World Trip Report

Once around the world. That was our dream after graduation or between two jobs, which we decided to...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

ala-moana-shopping-center
Jessi

Jessi

Tolle Tipps zum Einkaufen auf Hawaii – O’ahu und Maui

ala-moana-shopping-center
Das Freiluft Shopping Center auf Oahu | Bild: © Jeff Whyte – shutterstock.com

Um es vorab zu sagen, Hawaii ist ein teures Shoppingparadies. T-Shirts, Hosen und alles andere kauft man doch besser auf dem Festland, da Hawaii 15% teurer ist. Klar, es muss ja alles eingeflogen, mit dem Schiff importiert werden und eingelagert werden. Trotzdem findet man genügend Einkaufsmöglichkeiten vor Ort. Neben vielen Souvenirläden auf allen Inseln, die handgemachtes verkaufen, gibt es natürlich viele Ketten, die auch auf allen Inseln vertreten sind.

Typische Souvenirs zum mitbringen sind beispielsweise die Macadamia Nüsse. Es gibt sie überzogen mit Schokolade, gesalzen oder geröstet. Dieses Souvenir bekommt man überall und da es ein einheimisches Produkt ist, kann ich empfehlen direkt auf der Plantage zu kaufen. frischer geht nicht mehr!

Auch Kaffee ist ein schönes Mitbringsel. Der Kona Kaffee kommt von Hawaii und wird mit der Macadamia Nuss geröstet, muss man probieren. Unbedingt darauf achten, dass 100% Kona Kaffee auf der Verpackung steht und nicht mit günstigerem Kaffee vermischt wurde.

Schmuck gibt es zahlreich auf Hawaii zu kaufen. Besonders beliebt sind Perlen, Korallen oder Halbedelsteine die zu Schmuck verarbeitet werden. Besondere Schmuckstücke gewinnen die Hawaiianer aus flüssiger Lava.Vulkanisches Glas, das Rhyolit, ist ein wunderbares Material für Ketten und Ohrringe, da das Vulkanische Gestein viele Farben und Muster aufweist. Mitbringsel sind aber auch Blumenketten (die sogenannten Leis) und Orchideen. Aus Koa Holz, welches ein sehr festes Holz ist, wird hier geschnitzt und verkauft.

Auf jeder der Hawaii Inseln wird man über die ABC Stores stolpern. Diese sind nicht übersehbar und es gibt sie oft alle 100 Meter. In Waikiki findet man an der Strandpromenade auf einem Stück von einem Kilometer zehn ABC Läden auf einer Straßenseite. Im ABC Store kann man alles kaufen. Souvenirs, Postkarten, Sonnencreme, Handtücher und Lebensmittel. Kühltheken mit Frühstücksbelag,Kaffee und Tabakwaren. Hier bekommt man alles. Außerdem gibt es hier einen Geldautomaten. Klar! Ketten, die es auf allen Inseln gibt, sind ABC Stores, Woolworth,Sears, Sunglass Hut, Crazy Shirts und Liberty House. Wenn man in einer Filiale dieser Kette war, kennt man sie alle.

ala-moana-shopping center-1
Ein Einkaufserlebnis an der frischen Luft | Bild © Theodore Trimmer – shutterstock.com

Das größte Shopping Zentrum befindet sich in Honolulu auf O’ahu. Es ist das weltgrößte Freiluft Einkaufszentrum. Es ist das Ala Moana Shopping Center,mit 290 Geschäften und einem riesigen Food Court über eine ganze Etage. Mit kostenlosem Valet Parken und kostenlosem Internet kann man hier von Montags bis Samstags von 9:30 – 21:00 Uhr und Sonntags von 10:00 – 19:00Uhr shoppen gehen. Neben Geschäften für Damen, Herren und Kindermoden gibt es Optiker, Drogerien, Juweliere, Apotheken, Schuhläden, Dekorationen und Accessoires, Sportläden, Elektronik Geschäfte, Spielsachen und und und… Im Foodcourt kann man sich nur schwer entscheiden, was man Essen soll. Von Thailändisch bis Mexikanisch oder Fast Food, jeder findet hier etwas oder etwas mehr!

Ala Moana Center

1450 Ala Moana Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
808 955-9517

Auf Maui kann ich das Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center empfehlen. Es ist zwar nicht so groß, wie das Ala Moana Shoppingparadies aber es hat Charme, ist auch offen gehalten und läd ein, um einen Kaffee zu genießen und einfach mal Menschen zu beobachten. Dieses Einkaufszentrum ist ein Mix aus Lokalen Geschäften und den typischen Marken Läden, wie zum Beispiel Macy’s und Forever 21. Im Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center gibt es 100 Geschäfte und Restaurants. Zudem findet der Farmers Market jeden Dienstag, Mittwoch und Freitag von 8:00 – 16:00 Uhr dort statt. An diesen drei Tagen in der Woche werden auf dem Markt saisonales von Maui angeboten. Darunter frisches Obst und Gemüse, Blumen und frisch gebackenes.Unbedingt hingehen! Es darf von Montag bis Samstag von 9:30 – 21:00 Uhr und Sonntags von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr im Shopping Zentrum eingekauft werden.

Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center

275 West Ka’ahumanu Avenue
Kahului, HI 96732

Du siehst also Einkaufsmöglichkeiten gibt es viele, und wenn du einmal nicht weiter kommst sind wir gerne für dich da.

Hier gehts weiter:

Heiraten auf Hawaii – auf zu eurer Traumhochzeit!

Heiraten in Flip Flops | Bild: ©Mark Skalny - shutterstock.com hau'oli male 'ana eia ho'iola loa - glückliche Hochz ...
Jessi
Jessi

Made In Hawaii – heimische Produkte der Inseln

Kona Kaffee mit Güteklasse "extra fancy" | Bild: © Keith Levit - shutterstock.com Das braune Gold aus Hawaii...&nbs ...
Tommy
Tommy

Mein Hawaii, Manuela berichtet Teil 1: Wie alles begann und mein Ausflug nach Lanikai

Wie alles begann: Ich gebe es zu, ich bin ein Fan der Magnum Serien. Die tolle Landschaft, die in der Serie zu sehen ...
Gastautor
Gastautor

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.