Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Molokini Crater

Suitable for:
Everyone, Active vacationer, Nature lover, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
4 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, Active vacationer, Nature lover, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
4 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free

Molokini Crater - Description

Located between the south coast of Maui and the island of Kaho'olawe, a very small, unusually shaped island rises from the Pacific Ocean. Uninhabited by humans, it and the ocean around it are teeming with birds and colorful sea creatures. Molokini is the name of this famous volcanic atoll, and excursions here are only possible with booked (about half-day) tours. In many Hawaii travel guides Molokini is considered one of the top things to do during a Maui vacation.
However, the reports about trips to Molokini are very different. Many describe their trip there as one of the best of their vacation, others are disappointed because of the many other people or not optimal conditions. It is therefore all the more important to get a comprehensive overview in advance and to know what to expect there. For those who plan well, Molokini with its crystal clear water and rare, colorful biodiversity will remain unforgettable in your memory.

Good to know
Molokini is just seven hectares in size and about 50 meters high at its greatest elevation. Below the water surface, Molokini rises about 90 meters into the depths of the Pacific Ocean.

Also submerged in the water is one half of this former volcanic crater. What protrudes from the island resembles a crescent. Within this crescent are wonderful conditions for marine life: protected from the open ocean, natural enemies are kept away.

During the Second World War, bombs were dropped on Molokini for training purposes. Fortunately, in recent decades, many bird species have reestablished themselves here. The island is a State Seabird Sanctuary. It is not allowed to enter.

Mythology
According to a Hawaiian legend, the fire goddess Pele is responsible for the creation of Molokini. She made a rival, who is said to have been in love with the same prince, turn to stone in anger. And as if that were not enough, the petrified Maui was then also crushed in two. Molokini is her body, the head hurled up to the main island and forms there Pu'u Olai, better known as the Little Beach.

Colorful underwater world
Snorkelers and scuba divers come for the clear water that provides wide and deep visibility in the earlier hours of the day. More than 30 species of corals live here, reef sharks, tube eels, octopuses, manta rays, colorful and strange fish like the Picasso triggerfish or the trumpet fish.

Snorkeling and diving tours
Many different providers drive to Molokini - whether for diving or snorkeling. And even if they promise you to start with a small group - at the latest when you arrive at Molokini, you will no longer be among yourselves.
Most tours also include a stop at another snorkeling spot called Turtle Town. Here the chance to see the famous green sea turtles is very high. They can also be found in other bays of Maui.

To book a great, custom-fit experience, here are a few tips for planning:

-Even if it is difficult: You should book one of the early tours (from 6 o'clock). In the morning the water is still particularly clear and the visibility is best.
-Tours depart from Maalae, Kihei, Lahaina or Makena.
-Equipment: You should take towels, a backpack, reef-friendly sunscreen, a shirt so as not to burn your back while snorkeling. Snorkeling and diving equipment is provided by the operators. A change of clothes (at least in the car) can't hurt.
-Very different boats go to Molokini, they differ in size, but also in equipment (showers, slides) and catering (breakfast, lunch drinks).

What is important to you? A family-friendly excursion, smaller groups, very good guides who explain Maui's underwater world to you in detail? We are happy to help you book a tailor-made tour that fits your ideas and needs!

View of Molokini
You can round off a trip to Molokini by taking another look at the crescent after snorkeling or diving. This is fantastic from Makena Beach (Big Beach). The 2.4 kilometer wide and up to 30 meter wide beach is a sight in itself anyway. It is often quiet here and there is more than enough space to relax, sunbathe and swim. The surf here can be dangerous! Signs and lifeguards indicate when swimming is not recommended. Molokini rises about four kilometers away.

What we say

Tommy
Unfortunately, there are many tours to Molokini, so that every day there are lots of people and boats at the crater at the same time. Nevertheless, the small island and its underwater world are simply impressive.
Our checklist & tips:
  • There are tours between 2-6 hours (with food)
  • Pack underwater camera
  • Most vendors stop at Molokini Crater and Turtle Town for snorkeling
  • Different boats usually depart from Maalaea Harbor or Lahaina

How did you like Molokini Crater?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -156.496781
Latitude: 20.630949

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Also known as the "Keoneheehee Trail," this trail leads up to the valley floor of Haleakala Crater on Maui, the penultimate...

Wailea Beach

Dream beach with hustle and bustle - Wailea Beach A long sandy beach lined with palm trees and crystal clear sea water make Wa...

Pipiwai Trail

The area of Kipahulu on the Road to Hana in Haleakala National Park offers extremely many attractions: Waterfalls, ds...

Hoʻokipa Beach Park

Surf paradise at the North Shore in Maui A true surfer's paradise, Ho'okipa Beach Park is known among water sports enthusiasts as...

Haleakalā Crater & Haleakalā National Park

Who is on Maui, should see and experience in one day at least what formed this island: the volcano Haleakala. Everh...

Kaanapali Beach

The varied facets of Ka'anapali Beach A beach in absolute perfection. For kilometers meanders...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Molokini Crater

Molokini Crater

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Molokini Crater - Beschreibung

Zwischen der Südküste Mauis und der Insel Kaho’olawe gelegen erhebt sich eine sehr kleine, ungewöhnlich geformte Insel aus dem Pazifik. Von Menschen unbewohnt, wimmelt es doch auf ihr und im Ozean um sie herum von Vögeln und bunten Meeresbewohnern. Molokini heißt dieser berühmte vulkanische Atoll, Ausflüge hierher sind nur mit gebuchten (etwa halbtägigen) Touren möglich. In vielen Hawaii-Reiseführern gilt Molokini als eines der Top things to do während eines Maui-Urlaubs.
Die Erfahrungsberichte über Ausflüge nach Molokini gehen allerdings sehr auseinander. Viele beschreiben ihren Trip dorthin als einen der schönsten ihres Urlaubs, andere sind enttäuscht ob der vielen anderen Menschen oder nicht optimalen Bedingungen. Umso wichtiger ist es, sich vorab einen umfassenden Überblick zu verschaffen und zu wissen, was einen dort erwartet. Denn wer gut plant, dem und der wird Molokini mit dem glasklaren Wasser und der seltenen, bunten Artenvielfalt unvergessen in Erinnerung bleiben.

Gut zu wissen
Molokini ist gerade einmal sieben Hektar groß und an der größten Erhebung etwa 50 Meter hoch. Unter der Wasseroberfläche ragt Molokini etwa 90 Meter in die Tiefe des Pazifik.

Ebenfalls im Wasser versunken liegt die eine Hälfte dieses einstigen Vulkankraters. Das, was von der Insel herausragt, erinnert an eine Sichel. Innerhalb dieser Sichel herrschen wunderbare Bedingungen für Meeresbewohner: geschützt vorm offenen Ozean werden natürliche Feinde ferngehalten.

Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs wurden auf Molokini, aus Übungsgründen, Bomben abgeworfen. In den letzten Jahrzehnten haben sich hier aber glücklicherweise viele Vogelarten wieder angesiedelt. Die Insel ist ein State Seabird Sanctuary, ein Vogelschutzgebiet. Sie darf nicht betreten werden.

Mythologie
Nach einer hawaiianischen Sage ist die Feuergöttin Pele verantwortlich für die Entstehung Molokinis. Sie ließ eine Rivalin, die in denselben Prinzen verliebt gewesen sein soll, vor Wut zu Stein erstarren. Und als ob das nicht genug wäre, wurde die versteinerte Maui daraufhin auch noch in zwei Teile zerstoßen. Molokini ist ihr Körper, der Kopf schleuderte bis zur Hauptinsel und bildet dort Pu’u Olai, besser bekannt als den Little Beach.

Bunte Unterwasserwelt
Schnorchler und Taucherinnen kommen wegen des klaren Wassers, das in den früheren Stunden des Tages eine weite und tiefe Sicht ermöglicht. Über 30 Korallenarten leben hier, Riffhaie, Röhrenaale, Oktopusse, Mantarochen, kunterbunte und merkwürdige Fische wie der Picasso-Drückerfisch oder der Trompetenfisch.

Schnorchel- und Tauch-Touren
Viele verschiedene Anbieter fahren Molokini an – ob zum Tauchen oder zum Schnorcheln. Und auch wenn sie einem versprechen, mit einer kleinen Gruppe zu starten – spätestens bei Molokini angekommen, wird man nicht mehr unter sich sein.
Die meisten Touren beinhalten auch das Anfahren eines weiteren Schnorchel-Spots, Turtle Town genannt. Hier ist die Chance sehr hoch, die bekannten grünen Meeresschildkröten zu sehen. Die findet man aber auch in anderen Buchten Mauis.

Um ein tolles, individuell passendes Erlebnis zu buchen, gibt es ein paar Tipps für die Planung:

-Auch wenn es schwer fällt: Man sollte eine der frühen Touren (ab 6 Uhr) buchen. Am Morgen ist das Wasser noch besonders klar und die Sicht am Besten.
-Touren starten von Maalae, Kihei, Lahaina oder Makena aus.
-Ausrüstung: Mitnehmen sollte man Handtücher, einen Rucksack, riff-freundliche Sonnencreme, ein Shirt, um sich beim Schnorcheln den Rücken nicht zu verbrennen. Schnorchel- und Tauchequipment stellen die Anbieter. Wechselkleidung (zumindest im Auto) kann nicht schaden.
-Ganz unterschiedliche Boote fahren nach Molokini, sie unterscheiden sich in ihrer Größe, aber auch in der Ausstattung (Duschen, Rutschen) und der Verpflegung (Frühstück, Lunch Drinks).

Was ist dir wichtig? Ein familienfreundlicher Ausflug, kleinere Gruppen, sehr gute Guides, die dir Mauis Unterwasserwelt ausführlich erklären? Beim Buchen einer maßgeschneiderten Tour, die genau zu deinen Vorstellungen und Bedürfnissen passt, helfen wir gerne!

Blick auf Molokini
Abrunden kann man einen Ausflug nach Molokini, in dem man nach dem Schnorcheln oder Tauchen noch einmal einen Blick aus der Weite auf die Sichel wirft. Das geht fantastisch vom Makena Beach (Big Beach). Der 2,4 Kilometer weite und bis zu 30 Meter breite Strand ist sowieso eine Sehenswürdigkeit für sich. Hier ist es oft ruhig und es gibt mehr als genug Platz zum Entspannen, Sonnenbaden und Schwimmen. Die Brandung hier kann gefährlich sein! Schilder und lifeguards weisen darauf hin, wenn schwimmen nicht empfohlen wird. Molokini erhebt sich in etwa vier Kilometern Entfernung.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Leider gibt es viele Touren nach Molokini, so dass sich täglich jede Menge Menschen und Boote gleichzeitig am Krater befinden. Dennoch sind die kleine Insel und ihre Unterwasserwelt einfach beeindruckend.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Es gibt Touren zwischen 2-6 Stunden (mit Verpflegung)
  • Unterwasserkamera einpacken
  • Die meisten Anbieter machen am Molokini Krater und bei Turtle Town Halt zum Schnocrcheln
  • Unterschiedliche Boote starten meist vom Maalaea Harbor oder von Lahaina

Wie gefiel dir Molokini Crater?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -156.496781
Latitude: 20.630949

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Hoʻokipa Beach Park

Surfparadies am North Shore in Maui Als ein wahres Paradies für Surfer ist der Ho'okipa Beach Park unter Wassersportler…

Kula Botanical Gardens

Etwas versteckt in der höher gelegenen Region Kula's, befindet sich dieser privat geführte Garden. Es ist eine wahre Oas…

Lahaina Front Street & Banyan Court Park

Wem nach Geschichte, Kultur oder einfach etwas städtischem Flair ist, kann einen halben Tag in Lahaina einplanen, einer …

Nakalele Blowhole

Rundum die West Maui Mountains, den Kahekili Highway (30) entlang, gibt es immer wieder gute Ausblicke und überhaupt ein…

Maui Ocean Center (The Aquarium of Hawaii)

Wer sich für die Unterwasserwelt Hawaii's interessiert und mehr über die heimischen Fische und weitere Meeresbewohner er…

Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum

Ein paar Meilen von Paia entfernt, befindet sich neben der seit 2017 eingestellten letzten Zuckerrohrplantage, das Alexa…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos