Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Kalapana Town

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Hardly known and not much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Hardly known and not much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Kalapana Town - Description

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, you should not miss a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana. In 1990, lava from the Kilauea volcano buried Kalapana and the famous black sand beach of Kaimu. Pele, Hawaii's fire goddess, also destroyed the oldest Hawaiian heiau (temple), two housing developments, and several miles of interstate highway. There were no deaths, but over 180 houses were engulfed by the lava. Today, a completely new coastal strip has been created here, which in some places is still painfully reminiscent of the once thriving city. Kaimua Black Sand Beach, with its fine sand and magnificent coconut trees, was considered one of the most beautiful beaches of all the islands, and the residents miss it very much. So they planted palm trees again on the new coastline to create a new beach. A visit to Kalapana reveals in a sobering way the destructive power of nature. The inhabitants, however, deal calmly with the whims of Pele. They feel like visitors on Pele's land. Now and then she takes it again and the inhabitants have to cope with it. During eruptions, when houses fall victim to the lava, everyone sticks together and helps each other.
From Pahoa, take Highway 130 south, which meets Highway 137. At the end of the road you reach the few remaining houses of the fishing town.

When lava runs down the slopes of the Royal Gardens Subdivision and flows into the sea, it's one of the most exciting experiences on the Big Island. And relatively safe. Nowhere else in the world can you be so close to the forces of nature. If you don't dare to go alone, you can book a Guided Lava Tour with the residents. The "Kalapana Cultural Tours" offer tours on foot or by boat and can be booked at Kalapana Village Cafe, or Uncle Awa's Bar. The residents are very knowledgeable about lava and will guide adventurous people equipped with GPS into the active areas. However, the last lava flows in the Kalapana area percolated in 2010. When Pele will send her lava flows towards the sea again to fight with her sister Namaka (goddess of the sea) is not known. It can and probably will happen again and again. But even without active lava, a visit is definitely recommended. The residents also offer other cultural tours, such as to MacKenzie State Park and the like.
Due to the largest fissure eruption in Leilani in 2018, this region is highly recommended to all volcano enthusiasts.

Visitors on foot must strictly observe all warnings and are not allowed to leave the designated areas for safety reasons. New lava shores are unsafe terrain and could slide into the sea at any time. There is also a risk of lava gases escaping. This dangerous chemical reaction of hydrochloric acid and seawater occurs when extremely hot lava hits the sea (ocean entries), causing the water to boil in seconds and evaporate again in plumes of white smoke. Since it is difficult to predict where and how fast the lava will continue to flow, the area can be closed at any time.

What we say

Florian
Even without active volcanism, a visit to the quaint Uncle Awa's Bar is worthwhile. Especially on Wednesday markets with local products take place there. In the evenings, the residents play Hawaiian music with guitars and ukulele and everyone is peacefully celebrating. A great experience. If you have accommodation in the area, you should walk to the coast for sunrise. There are magical sunrises there.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Sturdy shoes or hiking sandals for short hikes across the lava fields
  • Think of rainwear
  • Accommodation in Kalapana recommended
  • Tip: Visit Uncle Awa's Bar ;) (from 4 pm)

How did you like Kalapana Town?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

12-5038 Kalapana - Kapoho Rd, Pāhoa, HI 96778
Longitude: -154.97089543437977
Latitude: 19.361238665120954

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Richardson Ocean Park

If you want to snorkel on the east coast of Big Island, you should definitely stop here. The beach, which is characterized by black sand and the f...

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

A small bay south of Kona, which is just for snorkeling and by its so colorful underwater world a popular...

Honoliʻi Beach Park

Just a few miles north of Hilo is this surf beach popular among locals. Surfing has become very popular on H...

Punaluʻu Black Sand Beach

Big Island is especially known for its black lava beaches, which are constantly being rebuilt by years of volcanic ...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Mauna Kea

At over 4200 meters, Mauna Kea is one of the highest elevations in the Hawaiian archipelago. In the naming...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Kalapana Town

Kalapana Town

Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Kaum bekannt und kaum was los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Kaum bekannt und kaum was los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Kalapana Town - Beschreibung

Wer ein Stück ursprüngliches Hawaii erleben möchte, sollte sich einen Besuch des ehemaligen Fischerstädtchen Kalapana nicht entgehen lassen. Im Jahre 1990 begrub Lava des Vulkans Kilauea Kalapana und den berühmten schwarzen Sandstrand von Kaimu unter sich. Pele, die Feuergöttin Hawaiis, zerstörte außerdem den ältesten hawaiianischen heiau (Tempel), zwei Wohnsiedlungen und mehrere Kilometer der Fernverkehrsstraße. Es gab zwar keine Toten, jedoch wurden über 180 Häuser von der Lava verschlungen. Heute ist hier ein komplett neuer Küstenstreifen entstanden, der an einigen Stellen noch schmerzlich an die ehemals florierende Stadt erinnert. Der Kaimua Black Sand Beach galt mit feinem Sand und prächtigen Kokospalmen zu den schönsten Stränden aller Inseln und die Bewohner vermissen ihn sehr. So setzten sie an der neuen Küstenlinie erneut Palmen, um einen neuen Strand zu schaffen. Bei einem Besuch in Kalapana wird auf ernüchternde Weise deutlich, welche zerstörerische Kraft die Natur besitzt. Die Bewohner gehen aber gelassen mit den Launen von Pele um. Sie fühlen sich als Besucher auf Pele´s Land. Dann und wann nimmt sie es sich wieder und die Bewohner müssen damit klarkommen. Bei Ausbrüchen, bei denen Häuser der Lava zum Opfer fallen, halten alle zusammen und helfen gegenseitig.
Von Pahoa aus nimmt man den Highway 130 Richtung Süden, der auf den Highway 137 trifft. Am Ende der Straße erreicht man die wenigen übrig gebliebenen Häuser des Fischerstädtchens.

Wenn Lava die Hänge der Royal Gardens Subdivision hinunter laufen und ins Meer fließen, dann ist das eine der aufregendsten Erlebnisse auf Big Island. Und relativ ungefährlich. Nirgends auf der Welt kann man so nah an den Kräften der Natur mit dabei sein. Wer sich alleine nicht traut, kann eine Guided-Lava-Tour mit den Bewohnern buchen. Die „Kalapana Cultural Tours“ bieten Touren zu Fuß oder mit dem Boot an und können im Kalapana Village Cafe, bzw. Uncle Awa´s Bar gebucht werden. Die Bewohner kennen sich bestens mit Lava aus und führen Abenteuerlustige mit GPS ausgestattet in die aktiven Gebiete. Die letzten Lavaflüsse in der Kalapana-Gegend sind allerdings im Jahre 2010 versickert. Wann Pele ihre Lavaflüsse wieder Richtung Meer schicken wird, um mit ihrer Schwester Namaka (Göttin des Meeres) zu kämpfen, weiß man nicht. Es kann und wird vermutlich immer mal wieder passieren. Aber auch ohne aktive Lava ist ein Besuch unbedingt empfehlenswert. Die Bewohner bieten auch andere kulturelle Touren an, wie zum MacKenzie State Park u.ä.
Durch die größte Spaltenerruption in Leilani im Jahre 2018 ist diese Region allen Vulkan-Interessierten wärmstens zu empfehlen.

Besucher, die zu Fuß unterwegs sind, müssen alle Warnhinweise strengstens beachten und dürfen die vorgegebenen Areale aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht verlassen. Neue Lavaküsten sind unsicheres Gelände und könnten jederzeit ins Meer abrutschen. Außerdem besteht die Gefahr, dass Lavagase ausströmen. Diese gefährliche chemische Reaktion von Salzsäure und Meerwasser findet statt, wenn extrem heiße Lava auf das Meer trifft (ocean entrys), das Wasser in Sekundenschnelle zum Kochen bringt und in weißen Rauchfahnen wieder verdampft. Da sich nur schwer vorhersagen lässt, wohin und wie schnell die Lava weiterfließen wird, kann das Areal jederzeit geschlossen werden.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Auch ohne aktiven Vulkanismus lohnt sich ein Besuch der urigen Uncle Awa´s Bar. Speziell am Mittwoch finden dort Märkte mit einheimischen Produkten statt. Abends spielen die Bewohner mit Gitarren und Ukulele hawaiianische Musik und alle sind friedlich am Feiern. Ein tolles Erlebnis. Wer in der Gegend eine Unterkunft hat, sollte zum Sonnenaufgang an die Küste spazieren. Dort gibt es magische Sonnenaufgänge.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Festes Schuhwerk oder Wandersandalen für kleine Wanderungen über die Lavafelder
  • An Regenkleidung denken
  • Unterkunft in Kalapana empfehlenswert
  • Tipp: Besuch von Uncle Awa´s Bar ;) (ab 16 Uhr)

Wie gefiel dir Kalapana Town?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

12-5038 Kalapana - Kapoho Rd, Pāhoa, HI 96778
Longitude: -154.97089543437977
Latitude: 19.361238665120954

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Mauna Kea

Mit über 4200 Metern gehört der Mauna Kea zu den höchsten Erhebungen des hawaiianischen Archipels. Bei der Namensvergabe…

Ahalanui Park

Wurde leider 2018 durch den damaligen Vulkanausbruch / Lavafluss zerstört.…

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

In der „City of Refuge“, wie der hawaiianische Zungenbrecher auch genannt wird, findet der Besucher eine der authentisch…

Carlsmith Beach Park

In einer Entfernung von ca. 5 km zum Flughafen Hilo würde man wohl kaum einen so wundervollen Platz erwarten. Der Badesp…

Kealakekua Bay (Captain´s Cook Monument)

Die Kealakekua Bay mit Captain´s Cook Monument gehört wohl du den historischsten Sehenswürdigkeiten auf Hawaii und befin…

Waimea & Parker Ranch

Waimea liegt an der Nordküste von Big Island und ist ein echtes Cowboystädtchen. Da es Waimea auch auf Oahu und Kauai gi…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos