Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Pu'uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

Pu'uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
3 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
favorable
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
3 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
favorable

Pu'uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park - description

In the "City of Refuge", as the Hawaiian tongue twister is also called, the visitor finds one of the most authentic cultural sites in Hawaii. The 73-acre facility with its attached Visitor Center provides interesting insights into the culture and way of life of ancient Hawaii. The park is open daily from 7:00 am - 8:00 pm and the Visitor Center is open daily from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Admission is $5 per vehicle. The park is located on the west side of the island, about 20 minutes from Kona.
From Sunday to Thursday, cultural demonstrations also take place on the grounds. Often Hawaiian handicraft techniques are offered - from weaving nets to weaving baskets. To avoid large crowds of tourists, it is recommended to visit either in the morning or in the evening hours. Then the site is particularly attractive at sunset.

In Hawaii there were many sacred laws, so-called "Kapu". For example, women and men were not allowed to eat together or certain foods were forbidden. If these laws were broken, they were sometimes even punished with the death penalty. Unless you managed to lose your pursuers and make it to a sacred place of refuge (puuhonua). There, one was given absolution in a ceremony and could then return to society. By the way, the word "taboo" was derived from "kapu" in German.

Armed with a map, embark on a solo exploration of the park and discover sights such as the Great Wall, a 3-meter high and 5-meter wide wall. Fierce wooden "kiis" guard the Hale o Keawe Heiau, a sacred temple that houses the bones of 23 tribal chiefs. The coastline, made of black lava rock, forms a natural barrier - so the site was inaccessible by sea to those who broke the kapu. From the site, on the right, you will also discover Honaunau Beach, one of the best snorkeling spots on the islands.

What we say

Florian
You should plan your visit to combine a visit to the historic site with some snorkeling at nearby Honaunau Beach. The rocky shoreline is one of the best snorkeling spots in all of Hawaii. Access to the ocean is via 2 naturally grown steps made of lava rock, called "Two Step". The underwater world with colorful fish and Green Sea Turtles is magnificent. Because of this, however, it is also relatively crowded. Just like the park itself. It is already very touristy and crowded. Therefore, you should plan outside the rush hours, then you escape large crowds, even in the water!
Our checklist & tips:
  • Do not forget snorkeling equipment
  • Very charming to the sunset
  • Water sandals protect from sea urchins and sharp lava rocks
  • Do not visit during peak hours!

How did you like Pu'uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

State Hwy 160, Hōnaunau, HI 96726
Longitude: -155.91093299574226
Latitude: 19.422955061522913

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...

White Sands Beach Park (Magic Sands)

At White Sands Beach Park, the sand is magical, as it sometimes disappears completely overnight, leaving only the black la...

Kalapana Town

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana is not to be missed.

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

A small bay south of Kona, which is just for snorkeling and by its so colorful underwater world a popular...

Hāpuna Beach Park

This beach park is one of the most attractive swimming beaches on the Big Island, ranking among Hawaii's top 10 most beautiful beaches....

Pohoiki Beach (Isaac Hale Beach Park)

In the Puna District on Big Island, in the Pohoiki Bay, lies the Isaac Hale Beach Park. It is known for its strong ...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
günstig
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
3 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
günstig

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park - Beschreibung

In der „City of Refuge“, wie der hawaiianische Zungenbrecher auch genannt wird, findet der Besucher eine der authentischsten Kulturstätten auf Hawaii. Die 73 ha große Anlage mit dem angeschlossenen Visitor Center eröffnet interessante Einblicke in die Kultur und Lebensweise des alten Hawaiis. Der Park ist täglich von 7:00 – 20:00 und das Visitor Center täglich von 8:00 – 17:00 geöffnet. Der Eintritt beträgt $5 pro Fahrzeug. Der Park befindet sich an der Westseite der Insel, etwa 20 Minuten von Kona entfernt.
Von Sonntag bis Donnerstag finden auf dem Gelände auch kulturelle Vorführungen statt. Oft werden auch hawaiianische Handwerkstechniken angeboten – vom Netze knüpfen bis hin zum Körbe flechten. Um großen Touristenmassen zu entgehen, empfiehlt sich entweder ein Besuch am Morgen oder in den Abendstunden. Dann ist die Anlage zum Sonnenuntergang besonders reizvoll.

Auf Hawaii gab es viele heilige Gesetze, sogenannte „Kapu“. Beispielsweise durften Frauen und Männer nicht gemeinsam essen oder bestimmte Speisen waren verboten. Wurden diese Gesetze gebrochen, wurden sie manchmal sogar mit der Todesstrafe geahndet. Es sei denn, man schaffte es, seine Verfolger abzuhängen und es bis zu einem heiligen Zufluchtsort (puuhonua) zu schaffen. Dort wurde einem in einer Zeremonie die Absolution erteilt und man konnte daraufhin in die Gesellschaft zurückkehren. Übrigens: Aus „Kapu“ wurde im Deutschen das Wort „tabu“ abgeleitet.

Begebe dich mit einer Karte gewappnet im Alleingang auf eine Erkundungs-Tour durch die Parkanlage und entdecke Sehenswürdigkeiten wie die Great Wall, eine 3 m hohe und 5 m breite Mauer. Kämpferische „kiis“ aus Holz bewachen den Hale o Keawe Heiau, einen heiligen Tempel, der die Gebeine von 23 Stammeshäuptlingen beherbergt. Die aus schwarzem Lavagestein bestehende Küstenlinie bildet eine natürliche Barriere – über das Meer war der Ort für jene, die die kapu brachen, also nicht zu erreichen. Von der Anlage aus entdeckst du rechterhand auch den Honaunau Beach, einen der besten Schnorchelplätze auf den Inseln.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Man sollte seinen Besuch so planen, dass man einen Besuch der historischen Anlage mit einigen Schnorchelgängen am nahegelegenen Honaunau Beach verbindet. Die felsige Küste gehört zu den besten Schnorchelplätzen von ganz Hawaii. Der Zugang zum Meer findet über 2 natürlich gewachsene Treppenstufen aus Lavagestein statt, genannt „Two Step“. Die Unterwasserwelt mit bunten Fischen und Green Sea Turtles ist grandios. Deswegen ist sie allerdings auch relativ voll. Genauso wie die Parkanlage selbst. Es ist schon sehr touristisch und überlaufen. Deswegen sollte man außerhalb der Stoßzeiten planen, dann entgeht man großen Menschenmassen, auch im Wasser!
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Schnorchel-Equipment nicht vergessen
  • Sehr reizvoll zum Sonnenuntergang
  • Wassersandalen schützen vor Seeigeln und scharfem Lavagestein
  • Nicht zu den Stoßzeiten besuchen!

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

State Hwy 160, Hōnaunau, HI 96726
Longitude: -155.91093299574226
Latitude: 19.422955061522913

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos