Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Akaka Falls State Park

Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
1 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
favorable
Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
1 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
favorable

Akaka Falls State Park - Description

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. A stretch of coastline about 83 kilometers long, full of waterfalls, picturesque plantation towns, scenic drives (small crossroads off the main road through enchanted and lush jungle) and fabulous wild nature with views of the Pacific Ocean. Nature lovers will get their money's worth on a trip along this impressive route. A perfect route for a day trip from Hilo is the so-called Hamakua Heritage Corridor Drive, which starts at Akaka Falls and Kahuna Falls and ends at Waipio Valley in the north.
Your first stop on Heritage Drive should be the Big Island's most famous waterfall - Akaka Falls. The parking lot to the loop trail is located on Highway 220, about 6 km southwest of Homomua. The park is open daily from 8:30 am to 6:00 pm. There is a parking fee of 5$ at the parking lot.

The entire circular path to both waterfalls is easy to walk and is about a little less than a kilometer long. After a few hundred meters, along a rainforest landscape of orchids, ferns and bamboo, with ginger, ti perennials and climbing plants, and all this right along the way, you reach the first waterfall of the region, the 30 meter high Kahuna Falls.

At the next bend you will see the gigantic 135-meter-high Akaka Waterfall, whose water plunges into a gorge with tremendous force, surrounded by dreamlike green jungle scenery. Both waterfalls can be visited via a viewing platform and offer great postcard motifs. Those interested in botany can inform themselves about the various tropical plants on various display boards in the park. For the round trip you need no more than an hour.

If you are adventurous and want to combine adrenaline with nature, after visiting Akaka Falls State Park, drive a little further on Highway 19 to Milemarker 16. On Old Mamalahoa Highway in Hakalau is the World Botanical Garden, which is open daily from 09:00-17:30. Over 5000 tropical plants await you here. You can explore the park by Segway or you can book a ride in the Zipline Park with different lines that take you through the jungle.

What we say

Florian
I have seen the waterfalls on each of my Hawaii trips. The beauty of Hawaii is that nature and conditions are constantly changing. So also here. Sometimes the waterfalls have more water due to heavy rains, sometimes less and the sun shines for it. The tropical environment and the variety of plants are unique. Such waterfalls can of course be admired on all Hawaiian Islands with fewer tourists and without entrance fee, but then mostly on hikes. Nevertheless, the Akaka Falls belong to a visit to the Big Island. They look like you would imagine waterfalls on Hawaii to look like. :-) As with all tourist magnets, the earlier you visit them, the more deserted they are.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Visit in the morning (less people, better weather)
  • Take rain jacket or umbrella
  • Pack mosquito spray
  • Camera tripod for long exposure of the waterfalls

How did you like Akaka Falls State Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

875 Akaka Falls Rd, Honomu, HI 96728
Longitude: -155.1522717306833
Latitude: 19.853879817734736

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Halemaumau Crater is the heart of Big Island and a MUST when visiting the largest of the Hawaiian Islands. ...

Hilo Town

Hilo is the largest city on the Big Island with a population of over 47,000. It is also the capital of Hawaii County and thus...

Ahalanui Park

Was unfortunately destroyed in 2018 by the then volcanic eruption / lava flow....

Kailua-Kona Town

Kailua-Kona has become world famous for several things. First and foremost probably by the triathlon "Ironman", which since 1...

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Akaka Falls State Park

Akaka Falls State Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig

Akaka Falls State Park - Beschreibung

Im Nordosten der Insel, erstreckt sich zwischen der Hauptstadt Hilo und dem Örtchen Kukuihaele die Hamakua Coast. Ein etwa 83 Kilometer langes Küstenstück, voll mit Wasserfällen, malerische Plantagenstädtchen, Scenic Drives (kleine Querstraßen abseits der Hauptstraße durch verwunschenen und üppigen Dschungel) und sagenhafter wilder Natur mit Blicken auf den Pazifik. Naturliebhaber kommen an einem Ausflug entlang dieser eindrucksvollen Strecke voll auf ihre Kosten. Eine perfekte Route für einen Tagesausflug von Hilo aus ist der sogenannte Hamakua Heritage Corridor Drive, der bei den Akaka Falls und den Kahuna Falls startet und am Waipio Valley im Norden endet.
Ihre erste Station auf dem Heritage Drive sollte der berühmteste Wasserfall Big Islands sein – die Akaka Falls. Der Parkplatz zum Rundweg befindet sich am Highway 220, etwa 6 km südwestlich von Homomua. Der Park ist täglich von 8.30 bis 18.00 Uhr geöffnet. Am Parkplatz ist eine Parkgebühr von 5$ fällig.

Der gesamte Rundweg zu beiden Wasserfällen ist leicht zu begehen und etwa einen knappen Kilometer lang. Nach einigen hundert Metern, entlang einer Regenwaldlandschaft aus Orchideen, Farnen und Bambus, mit Ingwer, Ti-Stauden und Schlingpflanzen, und das alles direkt am Wegesrand, erreichen Sie den ersten Wasserfall der Region, die 30 Meter hohen Kahuna Falls.

An der nächsten Biegung erblicken Sie dann den gigantischen 135 Meter hohen Akaka Wasserfall, dessen Wasser mit gewaltiger Macht in eine Schlucht stürzt, umgeben von traumhaft grüner dschungelartiger Szenerie. Beide Wasserfälle können über eine Aussichtsplattform besichtigt werden und bieten tolle Postkarten-Motive. Botanik-Interessierte können sich im Park an diversen Schautafeln über die verschiednen Tropen-Pflanzen informieren. Für den Rundweg brauchen Sie nicht länger als eine Stunde.

Wer abenteuerlustig ist und Adrenalin mit Naturerlebnis verbinden will, fährt nach dem Besuch des Akaka Falls State Parks noch ein Stückchen weiter auf dem Highway 19 bis zum Milemarker 16. Am Old Mamalahoa Highway in Hakalau befindet sich der World Botanical Garden, der täglich von 09:00-17:30 Uhr geöffnet ist. Über 5000 tropische Pflanzen erwarten einen hier. Den Park kann man u.a. mit dem Segway erkunden oder man bucht sich eine Fahrt im Zipline Park mit unterschiedlichen Lines, die einen durch den Dschungel fahren.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Ich habe die Wasserfälle auf jedem meiner Hawaii-Reisen gesehen. Das Schöne an Hawaii ist, dass sich Natur und Gegebenheiten ständig ändern. So auch hier. Mal haben die Wasserfälle mehr Wasser durch starke Regenfälle, mal weniger und es scheint dafür die Sonne. Die tropische Umgebung und die Pflanzenvielfalt sind einzigartig. Solche Wasserfälle kann man natürlich auf allen Hawaii-Inseln auch mit weniger Touristen und ohne Eintritt bestaunen, dann allerdings meistens auf Wanderungen. Trotzdem gehören die Akaka-Falls zu einem Big Island-Besuch unbedingt dazu. Sie sehen so aus, wie man sich eben Wasserfälle auf Hawaii vorstellt. :-) Wie bei allen Touristen-Magneten gilt: Je früher man sie besucht, umso menschenleerer sind sie.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Besuch am Morgen (weniger Menschen, besseres Wetter)
  • Regenjacke oder Regenschirm mitnehmen
  • Moskitospray einpacken
  • Kamera-Stativ für Langzeitbelichtung der Wasserfälle

Wie gefiel dir Akaka Falls State Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

875 Akaka Falls Rd, Honomu, HI 96728
Longitude: -155.1522717306833
Latitude: 19.853879817734736

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Kīlauea Iki Trail

Der Kīlauea Iki ist ein Krater am Rande der Caldera (Krater) des auf Big Island liegenden Vulkans Kīlauea. In der hawaii…

Carlsmith Beach Park

In einer Entfernung von ca. 5 km zum Flughafen Hilo würde man wohl kaum einen so wundervollen Platz erwarten. Der Badesp…

Kailua-Kona Town

Kailua-Kona ist für mehrere Dinge weltbekannt geworden. Allem voran vermutlich durch den Triathlon „Ironman“, der seit 1…

Punaluʻu Black Sand Beach

Big Island ist besonders bekannt für seine schwarzen Lavastrände, die durch jahrelange Vulkanausbrüche immer wieder neu …

Ahalanui Park

Wurde leider 2018 durch den damaligen Vulkanausbruch / Lavafluss zerstört.…

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Atemberaubend und gleichzeitig leicht zu erreichen: An der Nordostküste von Big Island in Hilo und an der Hamakua Coast …
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos