Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
lani-hawaii-with-kids
lani-hawaii-with-kids

Hawaii with children - countless possibilities

Points of interest in this article

Before we start, a quick note about this magazine article: If you would like to know more about the sights in detail (tips, contacts, photos, map), click on "Overview". You can return to the article by clicking on "Read article".
Read article
Overview

We receive many inquiries from parents and families who are concerned about travelling to Hawaii on a vacation with children. That means it is time for me to report on this beautiful topic in this blog 🙂

If the long flight of about 19 hours would be pure flying time, you could say that Hawaii is the perfect destination for families with children The flight itself is already very long - with or without children. At some point, you want nothing more than to finally arrive 🙂 However, the flight is also very exciting for the little ones. Seeing how many different cultures and people are on their way to foreign countries, flying above the clouds, the hustle and bustle on board of a plane and having their own TV at every seat - that's probably the most exciting thing about flying for kids!

It is important, depending on the age of the child/children, to look for an entertainment program in advance. Colouring books, magazines, a new little game, audiobooks, a downloaded app or even 2-3 movies are a good idea. A pillow, a cosy blanket and toys are also very important. During an overnight flight, it's also a good idea to take your pyjamas with you and let the kids put them on so that the evening bedtime rhythm is maintained.

maui sunset with kids Big Island

Many airlines offer the possibility to book "Baby Baskets".I've been thinking about borrowing small baby cribs for the flight, which you can put the little ones in for a better night's sleep. These baby cribs can be hung on the airplane wall in front of you 🙂 Children usually cope with jet lag much better than adults do.

Hawaiians, who call children "Keiki", love the little ones very much. Wherever you go, children are greeted in a friendly manner and a conversation about them comes up quickly. In the restaurants, there are "Kids Menus" on the menu almost everywhere, special drinking cups, small toys and colouring materials to help the kids pass the time while waiting for their meal. On the promenades and at the refreshment stops, there are often performances by Hawaiian musicians or dancers, who inspire the children with their show and often encourage them to join in.

Most hotel rooms have a sofa bed and/or a baby crib (for a small extra fee). Many hotels, especially the larger ones, offer babysitting services and great childcare. Sometimes there are even children's camps, where the children can do many exciting activities such as making your own blumenleis building a bodyboard, hula courses and much more. At the Hilton Hawaiian Village / Oahu, the children's program is quite extensive.

There are many great attractions and places that make children's eyes sparkle. Besides interesting museums, zoos, water parks and numerous playgrounds, it is especially the unique Hawaiian nature, with its fascinating flora and fauna which inspires young and old alike.

black sand beach kids Big Island

Hawaii's beaches are very diverse. It is recommended to visit shallow waters with babies and toddlers, such as Lanikai Beach on Oahu. There are hardly any waves here, so it's lovely to cool off in the ocean with your baby in your arms and get them used to the fresh water. For older kids, of course, the waves on their own are an adventure. There are always lifeguardson the public beaches. They watch out that nothing happens and inform about the waves and currents. The flags on the beach indicate the degree of waves or the current and warn of too dangerous water conditions. Hawaii has made surfing popular. How could it be otherwise that you will find surfboard rentalsalmost everywhere, where surfboards, body boards, boogie boards and stand-up paddles can be rented.

I have listed a few more tips on what to experience with children in Hawaii. In addition to that, I have listed hotels that offer great deals especially for children.

Snorkeling is also very popular with the older ones. Get them one of the "cool" swimming shirtsfor longer snorkeling session to prevent the risk of sunburn on the back.

Oahu 

Dole Pineapple Center

Delicious pineapple ice cream! The largest maze in the world, even in the Guinness Book of Records! To practice at home beforehand, there is a maze here with us. | Every day 9-17h | Entry fee 6$, Children 4$ | Intersection Hwy. 80/99 | Wahiawa

Hanauma Bay Marine Education Center

The modern centre at the most beautiful snorkelling bay in Hawaii is mainly aimed toward children and explains the ecology of a coral reef, followed by snorkelling (Wed-Mon 6-18h | Entry fee 5$, children under 13 for free | Hwy. 72 | Honolulu | click here for more info). Half day guided tours with introductory courses in snorkelling or scuba diving (12 years and older) are offered by Hanauma Bay Dive Tours (60-110$) | Tel. 808/256-8956 | www.hanaumabayhawaii.com).

Wet'n'Wild Waterpark

A 100.000 m² amusement park with impressive water slides, swimming with mermaids, a long drift channel, a wave pool and lots of activities for kids. | Daily in summer, otherwise Sat/Sun 10.30-17 h | Entry fee 36$, children 26$ | 400 Farrington Hwy. | Kapolei, near Makakilo City on western Oahu | www.hawaiianwaters.com

raised on aloha Big Island

Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo Big Island

1400 animals in natural pens, a petting zoo for children (Keiki Zoo) and adventurous Twilight Tours for kids 5 years and older every Saturday evening. | Daily 9-16.30h | Entry fee 8$, children 1$ | Kapiolani Park | Honolulu | Great website with animal games and videos: www.honoluluzoo.org

Sea Life Park Hawaii

Sea Life Park Oahu Big Island

Oahu's Aquarium, the Sea Life Park Hawaii, is all about preserving the world's oceans. Children can learn a lot about the sea and its inhabitants through exhibitions. There is also a great playground for the little ones. In a so-called Discovery Touch Tank , children can get close to the underwater creatures. For an additional fee, it is possible to help feed the green sea turtles. A highlight is certainly the underwater panoramic tunnel. Address: 41-202 Kalanianaʻole Hwy, Waimānalo. More info under https://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com.

Polynesian Cultural Centre

Polynesian Cultural Center Big Island

If you would like to get in touch with the culture of Hawaii, its inhabitants and its ancestors, you will get a very lively taste at the Polynesian Cultural Centre. For example, you can learn how to catch a fish without a net, how the Hawaiian hula is danced and how traditional cooking was done. Visitors are offered numerous impressive shows with fire dances and history. Those who book in advance save 10%. Address: 55-370 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie. More info under https://www.polynesia.com/.

Children's Discovery Center.

There is a lot for kids to discover at the Children's Discovery Center. The interactive learning centre promotes experience with all the senses. There are permanent exhibitions that aim to make kids more aware of experiencing things with their different senses. For example, children can get to know and explore the human body more closely here in "Fantastic You," and in the "Tot Spot" for children up to 5 years old, the little ones will find plenty of toys that stimulate their senses. But the place also has areas to offer that bring children closer to Hawaiian history and nature in an interactive way. Address: 111 Ohe St, Honolulu. More information at http://discoverycenterhawaii.org/.

Small hikes with kids on Oahu

Lulumahu Falls Big Island

Lulumahu Falls Trail (Honolulu) - The Lulumahu Waterfalls are not far from Waikiki. The trail is about 2 miles long and the same distance must be walked back, it is not a loop trail. (Total walking time is about 90 minutes). The hike is manageable even with small children. It is best to pack enough food and water because there is only nature on-site ;) Sturdy shoes should also be worn in any case. The hike starts at the Old Pali Road parking lot, before the Pali Lookout on the Pali Highway, and it will take you through a bamboo forest, past Honolulu's water supply company and a water reservoir called Nu'uanu Reservoir. Since the waterfall is on private government land, you will need a day use permit, which must be paid for in advance. More information under: https://trails.ehawaii.gov/camping/welcome.html.

Likeke Falls Trailhead (Kaneohe) - An approximately 1.5 mile hike (round trip 3 miles). Parking is available at the Ko'olau Golf Club, near a church. At the beginning of the trail, you will pass a fence and a graffiti-covered water tank. This waterfall is easy to reach even with small children, but sturdy shoes and enough food are a necessity.

hotels

The Aulani Disney Resort is located a bit off-track in southwest Oahu in a more exclusive residential area called Ko Olina. Every evening, there is a program, e.g. live music, a hula show or disney movies. For children, this hotel is the BOMB. It offers seven different pools, a cave, a salt water pool and lagoons. There are waterslides and pool parties for the kids. Snorkeling equipment, kayaks or paddle boats can be rented at "Makiki Joe's".

The Sheraton is located directly in Waikiki. It is central and it is not far from one of the many restaurants in the evening. The hotel offers two water slides, a large pool and not to forget, the sea right at the door 😉 There is the Helumoa playground and a children's camp. The hotel has a program for children regularly, for example making a bodyboard, going on excursions and so on.

Feel free to take a look at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. There are water slides, animals on the premises and Camp Penguin. A visit to the zoo, an excursion to the aquarium or the sandcastle battle are offered by the childcare workers.

pillbox hike lanikai with kids Big Island

Maui

Maui Ocean Center

A large aquarium with coral reefs, turtles, rays and sharks. A lot to learn. Children can touch and try out many things. | Daily 9-17h| Admission 23 $, Children 12 $ | Hwy. 30 | Maalaea Harbor | www.mauioceancenter.com

Maui Golf & Sports Park

Whether it's mini-golf, rock climbing, bungee trampoline or bumper boating, this park offers fun outdoor activities for the whole family and is open daily. The park is connected to the Wailuku Resort. Address: 80 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku. More info under https://www.mauigolfsportspark.com/.

Fishpipe Hawaii at Kihei Resort

It gets quite original with the Fishpipe Hawaii. You can have the experience of moving around in a giant inflatable polymer ball filled with a little water here too. Fun for young and old. Address: 777 S Kihei Rd, Kihei.

Boo Boo Zoo (The East Maui Animal Refuge)

This petting zoo is a farm where typical farm animals such as horses, goats, geese and chickens live. It also takes in old or sick animals to take care of them and give them a safe place to live. At the farm, visitors are allowed to feed and pet the animals. There are excursions once a week where children are taught how to take care of animals and to make them feel comfortable. Address: 25 Maluaina Pl, Haiku. More info under: https://www.eastmauianimalrefuge.org/.

Hikes with children

Waihou Spring Trail (also called Nā Ala Hele Trail) - In Upcountry Maui (Makawao), where the climate is more temperate, you can take this 2-mile loop trail through eucalyptus forests even with little children. It is best to stock up on food and drinks in one of the numerous restaurants in Makawao. At the springs themselves, it can be slippery and too dangerous for the kids. Older children can certainly discover a lot while climbing here. Address: 2463 Olinda Rd, Makawao.

About the hotels

The Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Resort, is a great water park, with 4 different water slides. An 1800-square-meter children's camp offers PlayStations and a video arcade.

The Hyatt Regency has a beautiful outdoor area to offer. Waterfalls, rope bridges and a 45m slide make children's eyes shine. Flamingos and colorful parrots are always encountered here.

Kauai

Kamalani Playground

A large adventure playground with a lovely wooden bridge, colourful tile art and an ocean pool. | Lydgate Park | Kapaa | www.kamalani.org

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens Big Island

Private botanical garden with sculptures. There's a train, maze, jungle tunnels and slides for children. | Mon-Fri from 8h | entry fee 25$ | 4101 Wailapa Rd. | Kilauea | Registration for families with kids under 13 years: Tel. 828/0525 | www.naainakai.org

There is a lot for kids to discover at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa. For example, a water slide and a saltwater lagoon, where you can even go canoeing. The pool area covers a whole five hectares.

At Kalapaki Beach on Kauai is the Marriot Kauai. The waves are small and the water is perfect for snorkelling with kids. There is a mini club at the hotel and a 26.000 square foot pool, impressive not only for the little ones 🙂

Big Island,

Kahaluu Beach Park

Keauhou Bay is ideal for snorkelling with kids: shallow, with lots of colourful fish and turtles. | free entrance | at the south end of Alii Dr. | Kailua-Kona. Click here for more information.

Pana'ewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens

Panaewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens Big Island

A true paradise for children as well as adults is the Pana'ewa Rainforest Zoo. The huge property in the middle of the tropical rainforest is home to about 150 animals and 75 different species. Water buffalo, peacocks, rhinos, monkeys and much more live here. A special highlight is the Bengal white tiger called "Namaste". Open daily from 10-15h. The entrance is free. Address: 800 Stainback Highway, Hilo. Current info under: https://www.hilozoo.org/.

Hikes with kids on Big Island

Ala Kahakai National Historical Trail - The section between Hapuna Beach and Mauna Kea Beach is an almost 4km long trail in total, which is classified as easy in terms of difficulty. It is more of a hike than a walk along the coast over the rocks. Sturdy shoes are a must. Parking is available at each of the beaches and associated parking spots are offered.

For children, Big Island is just great, there is something to discover everywhere. Due to the many hiking trails and paths, the kids can also walk a few meters alone and discover without you having to worry. For the older ones, the volcano adventures are of course priceless. A tour to the Mount Kea, Mount Loa and Kilauea is a must-do.

The Hilton Waikoloa Village near Kailua-Kona is called the "Disneyland" on Big Island. There is a huge pool area and since the village is so large, you move around by streetcar and canal boats.

But no matter how and where... Hawaii also enchants children. The pleasant climate and friendliness of the people, Hawaii's nature and wildlife on land and in the sea. Children are stimulated in their natural joy of discovery and can see and experience things on the islands that they otherwise only know from books.

surf with kids sunset Big Island

If you have been to Hawaii with kids and have any tips that we can add, tell us about it!

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Summary of all sights

Maui Ocean Center (The Aquarium of Hawaii)

If you are interested in Hawaii's underwater world and want to learn more about the local fish and other marine life, you will find...

Hāpuna Beach Park

This beach park is one of the most attractive swimming beaches on Big Island, it is one of Hawaii's top 10 most beautiful beaches. In the...

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

A small bay south of Kona, which is just for snorkeling and by its so colorful underwater world a popular destination...

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot on the whole island is promised. The talk is of...

Dole pineapple plantation

Halakahiki, the tropically sweet fruit of Hawaii. Many hundreds of years ago, the globally popular pineapple came to Europe through Christopher Columbus...

Kīlauea Iki Trail

The Kīlauea Iki is a crater on the rim of the caldera (crater) of the Kīlauea volcano located on Big Island. In the...

Mauna Kea

At over 4200 meters, Mauna Kea is one of the highest elevations in the Hawaiian archipelago. When it comes to naming, the...
Even more reading material

My Hawaii, Manuela reports part 3: Maui and the Road to Hana

In part 3 Manuela reports about her trips on Maui. Missed part 1 and 2? Then quickly back to the Hawaii Blog...

Diving in Hawaii - the best underwater spots

In the crystal clear water you can observe tropical fish. Turtles but also rays and sharks can be encountered here. In the...

Hawaii? Yes, if it's on the way - World Trip Report

Once around the world. That was our dream after graduation or between two jobs, which we decided to...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan
lani-hawaii-mit-kids
lani-hawaii-mit-kids

Hawaii mit Kindern – Hawaii bietet euch unzählige Möglichkeiten

Sehenswürdigkeiten in diesem Artikel

Bevor es losgeht, ein kurzer Hinweis zu diesem Magazin-Artikel: Möchtest du mehr über die Sehenswürdigkeiten im Einzelnen erfahren (Tipps, Kontakte, Fotos, Karte), klicke auf "Übersicht". Zurück zum Artikel kommst du mit "Artikel lesen".
Artikel lesen
Übersicht

Wir bekommen viele Anfragen von Eltern und Familien, die sich um das Thema Reisen bzw. Urlaub auf Hawaii mit Kindern drehen. Somit wird es Zeit für mich, über dieses schöne Thema in meinem Blog zu berichten 🙂

Wenn nicht der lange Flug von ca. 19 Stunden reiner Flugzeit wäre, könnte man sagen, dass Hawaii das perfekte Reiseziel für Familien mit Kindern ist. Der Flug an sich ist schon sehr lang – ob mit oder ohne Kinder. Irgendwann wünscht man sich nichts sehnlicher, als endlich anzukommen 🙂 Jedoch ist der Flug auch sehr aufregend für die Kleinen. Zu sehen, wie viel verschiedene Kulturen und Menschen unterwegs in ferne Länder sind, das Fliegen über den Wolken und das Treiben an Board eines Passagierflugzeugs und an jedem Sitzplatz ein eigener Fernseher – das ist wohl das spannendste am Fliegen für die Kids!

Wichtig ist hier, sich im Vorfeld je nach Alter des Kindes/ der Kinder, um Entertainment Programm zu kümmern. Malbücher, Zeitschriften, ein neues kleines Spiel, Hörbücher, eine heruntergeladene App oder “ausnahmsweise” mal 2-3 Filme sollten dabei sein. Auch das Kuschelkissen, Decke und Kuscheltiere sind ganz wichtig. Bei einem Nachtflug ruhig auch den Schlafanzug mitnehmen und anziehen lassen, so bleibt der abendliche Zubettgeh-Rhythmus erhalten.

maui sunset with kids Big Island

Bei vielen Airlines gibt es die Möglichkeit, sogenannte “Baby Baskets”, kleine Babybettchen für den Flug auszuleihen, in die man die Zwerge zum besseren Schlaf hineinlegen kann. Diese Babybetten kann man an die Flugzeugwand vor sich aufhängen. 🙂 Den Jetlag verkraften Kinder meist viel besser, als wir Erwachsenen.

Hawaiianier, die Kinder liebevoll “Keiki” nennen, sind sehr froh mit dem Nachwuchs. Wo auch immer man sich aufhält, werden Kinder freundlich begrüßt und ein Gespräch über die Kleinen kommt schnell auf. In den Restaurants gibt es fast überall “Kids Menüs” auf der Speisekarte, besondere Trinkbecher und kleine Spiel- und Malsachen, die den Kleinen die Wartezeit aufs Essen vertreiben. An den Promenaden und in den Einkehrmöglichkeiten gibt es oft Auftritte von hawaiianischen Musikern oder Tänzern, die die Kinder mit ihrer Show begeistern und oft auch zum Mitmachen animieren und motivieren.

Die meisten Hotelzimmer verfügen über eine Schlafcouch und oder ein Babybett (gegen kleinen Aufpreis). Viele Hotels, vor allem die großen, bieten Babysitter Service und eine super Kinderbetreuung an. Es gibt teilweise richtige Kindercamps, die tolle Aktivitäten planen, viel unternehmen und z.B. Blumenleis selber herstellen, Bodyboard bauen, Hula Kurse und vieles mehr. Im Hilton Hawaiian Village / Oahu ist das Kinderprogramm recht ausgedehnt.

Auf allen Inseln gibt es viele tolle Sehenswürdigkeiten und Plätze, die Kinderaugen zum Staunen bringen. Neben interessante Museen, Zoos, Wasserparks und zahlreicher Spielplätze, ist es vor allem die einzigartige Natur Hawaiis, mit ihrer Flora, Fauna und der faszinierenden Tierwelt, die Groß und Klein gleichwohl begeistert.

black sand beach kids Big Island

Hawaii’s Strände sind sehr vielfältig. So empfiehlt es sich, mit Baby und Kleinkindern seichte Gewässer aufzusuchen, wie z:B. Lanikai beach auf Oahu. Hier gibt es kaum bis gar keine Wellen, sodass man toll mit Baby auf dem Arm etwas Abkühlung im Meer erhält und die kleinen an das kühle Nass gewöhnen kann. Für ältere Kids sind natürlich gerade die Wellen ein Abenteuer. An den öffentlichen Stränden gibt es immer Lifeguards, die aufpassen, dass nichts passiert und über Wellengang sowie Strömung informieren. Die Flaggen am Strand zeigen den Grad der Wellen bzw. Strömung an und warnen vor zu gefährlichen Wasserbedingungen. Hawaii hat den Surfsport populär gemacht. Wie sollte es demnach auch anders sein, man findet fast überall Surfboard Rentals, an denen Surfboards, Body- und Boogie Boards sowie Stand-Up-Paddles gemietet werden können.

Hier habe ich euch noch ein paar Tipps aufgelistet, was man mit Kindern auf Hawaii so alles erleben kann. Zusätzlich sind Hotels aufgezählt, die besonders für Kinder tolle Angebote machen.

Auch das “Schnorcheln” kommt bei den Großen gut an. Besorgt Ihnen auf jeden Fall eines der “coolen” Schwimmshirts, denn gerade beim längeren Schnorcheln sollte man der Gefahr eines Sonnenbrandes am Rücken vorbeugen.

Oahu 

Dole Pineapple Center

Köstliches Ananaseis! Das größte Labyrinth der Welt, sogar im Guinness-Buch der Rekorde! Zum Üben vorab Zuhause gibt es ein Labyrinth im bei uns hier. | Tgl. 9-17 Uhr | Eintritt 6 $, Kinder 4 $ | Kreuzung Hwy. 80/99 | Wahiawa

Hanauma Bay Marine Education Center

Das moderne Center an der schönsten Schnorchelbucht Hawaiis ist vor allem auf Kinder ausgerichtet und erläutert die Ökologie eines Korallenriffes, danach wird geschnorchelt (Mi-Mo 6-18 Uhr | Eintritt 5 $, Kinder unter 13Jahren frei | Hwy. 72 | Honolulu | hier gehts zu weitere Infos). Halbtägige geführte Touren mit Einführungskursen im Schnorcheln oder Tauchen (Kinder ab 12 Jahren) werden von Hanauma Bay Dive Tours angeboten (60-110$) | Tel. 808/256-8956 | www.hanaumabayhawaii.com).

Wet´n´Wild Waterpark

Ein 100000m² großer Vergnügungspark mit imposanten Wasserrutschen, mit Meerjungfrauen schwimmen, langem Drift-Kanal, Wellenpool und viel Action für die Kids. | Im Sommer tgl., sonst Sa/So 10.30-17 Uhr | Eintritt 36 $, Kinder 26 $ | 400 Farrington Hwy. | Kapolei, nahe Makakilo City im Westen von Oahu | www.hawaiianwaters.com

raised on aloha Big Island

Honolulu Zoo

Honolulu Zoo Big Island

1400 Tiere in naturnahen Gehegen, Streichelzoo für Kinder (Keiki Zoo) und abenteuerliche Twilight Tours für Kids ab 5 Jahren jeden Samstagabend. | Tgl. 9-16.30 Uhr | Eintritt 8$, Kinder 1$ | Kapiolani Park | Honolulu | gute Website mit Tierspielen und Videos: www.honoluluzoo.org

Sea Life Park Hawaii

Sea Life Park Oahu Big Island

Oahu’s Aquarium, der Sea Life Park Hawaii, steht ganz im Zeichen der Erhaltung der Weltmeere. Die Kleinen können hier so einiges über das Meer und dessen Bewohner lernen. Es gibt sowohl Shows bspw. mit Delphinen, als auch Ausstellungen. Auf dem Gelände befindet sich auch ein toller Spielplatz für die Kleinen. In einem sogenannten Discovery Touch Tank können die Kinder den Unterwasserbewohnern nahe kommen. Gegen einen Aufpreis ist es im Park möglich mit Delphinen zu schwimmen oder aber auch bei der Fütterung der grünen Meeresschildkröten zu helfen. Ein Highlight dort ist mit Sicherheit, der Unterwasser-Panorama-Tunnel. Adresse: 41-202 Kalanianaʻole Hwy, Waimānalo. Nähere Infos unter https://www.sealifeparkhawaii.com.

Polynesian Cultural Centre

Polynesian Cultural Center Big Island

Wer gerne etwas in die Kultur Hawaii’s und deren Bewohnern und Vorfahren eintauchen möchte, bekommt im Polynesian Cultural Centre einen sehr lebhaften Einblick. Hier kann man beispielsweise lernen, wie man ohne ein Netz Fische fangen kann, wie der hawaiianische Hula getanzt wird und wie traditionell gekocht wurde. Es werden den Besuchern zahlreiche und beeindruckende Shows mit Feuertänzen und nachgespielter Geschichte geboten Wer im Voraus bucht, spart 10%. Adresse: 55-370 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie. Nähere Infos unter https://www.polynesia.com/.

Children’s Discovery Center

Im Children’s Discovery Center gibt es jede Menge zu entdecken für die Kleinen. Das interaktive Lernzentrum fördert das Erfahren mit allen Sinnen. So gibt es dort dauerhafte Ausstellungen, die darauf abzielen, den Kids das Erleben mit den verschiedenen Sinnen stärker ins Bewusstsein zu rufen. Die Kinder können hier beispielsweise im “Fantastic You” den menschlichen Körper näher kennenlernen und erkunden, im “Tot Spot” für Kinder bis 5 Jahren finden die Kleinen jede Menge Sinne anregendes Spielzeug. Der Ort hat aber auch Bereiche zu bieten, die den Kindern Hawaiis Geschichte und dessen Natur erlebbar näher bringen. Adresse: 111 Ohe St, Honolulu. Nähere Infos unter http://discoverycenterhawaii.org/.

Kleine Hikes mit Kids auf Oahu

Lulumahu Falls Big Island

Lulumahu Falls Trail (Honolulu) – Nicht weit von Waikiki entfernt, liegen die Lulumahu Wasserfälle. Der Wanderweg ist ca. 2 Meilen lang, dieselbe Distanz muss wieder zurückgelaufen werden (insgesamt ca. 90 Minuten Gehzeit). Es ist kein Rundweg. Der Hike ist auch mit kleinen Kindern durchaus machbar. Am besten ist es, genug Verpflegung und Wasser einzupacken, denn vor Ort gibt es nur die Natur;-) Auch festes Schuhwerk sollte in jedem Fall getragen werden. Der Wanderweg beginnt am Parkplatz Old Pali Road, noch vor dem Pali Lookout am Pali Highway, führt euch durch einen Bambuswald, vorbei an Honolulus Wasserversorgungsunternehmen und einem Wasserreservoir namens Nu’uanu Reservoir. Da der Wasserfall sich auf privaten Regierungsgelände befindet, braucht ihr eine Erlaubnis (day use permit), die vorher eingeholt werden muss. Nähere Informationen unter: https://trails.ehawaii.gov/camping/welcome.html.

Likeke Falls Trailhead (Kaneohe) – ein ca. 1,5 Meilen langer Wanderweg (Hin- und Rückweg 3 Meilen). Parkmöglichkeiten gibt es am Ko’olau Golf Club, nahe einer Kirche. Am Anfang des Trails geht es an einem Maschendrahtzaun und einem mit Graffiti besprühten Wassertank vorbei. Dieser Wasserfall ist auch mit kleinen Kindern einfach zu erreichen, festes Schuhwerk und Verpflegung, dürfen jedoch nicht fehlen.

Hotels

Also, das Aulani Disney Resort liegt etwas Abseits im Südwesten Oahu. Es liegt in einer etwas exklusiveren Wohngegend Ko Olina. Hier gibt es jeden Abend ein Programm, z.B Live Musik oder eine Hula Show. Allabendlich werden Disney Filme gezeigt. Für Kinder ist dieses Hotel der HAMMER. Es bietet sieben verschiedene Pools, eine Grotte, ein Salzwasserbecken zum Schnorcheln und Lagunen. Es gibt dort Wasserrutschen und Pool Partys für die Kids. Bei “Makiki Joe’s” können Schnorchelausrüstung, Kajaks oder Paddelboote gemietet werden.

Das Sheraton befindet sich direkt in Waikiki. Es liegt Zentral und ihr habt es abends nicht weit zu den vielen Restaurants. Es hat zwei Wasserrutschen und einen großen Pool zu bieten; und nicht zu vergessen, das Meer vor der Türe 😉 Es gibt den Helumoa Spielplatz und ein Kindercamp. Regelmäßig findet dort ein Programm statt, z.B. Herstellung eines Bodyboards, Ausflüge usw.

Schaut euch aber auch gerne mal das Hilton Hawaiian Village an. Hier gibt es Wasserrutschen, Tiere auf dem Gelände und Camp Penguin. Ein Zoobesuch, die Exkursion ins Aquarium oder das Sandburgen Battle werden von den Kinderbetreuern angeboten.

pillbox hike lanikai with kids Big Island

Maui

Maui Ocean Center

Großes Aquarium mit Korallenriffen, Schildkröten, Rochen und Haien. Sehr lehrreich aufgebaut. Die Kinder dürfen hier viel anfassen und ausprobieren. | Tgl. 9-17 Uhr| Eintritt 23 $, Kinder 12 $ | Hwy. 30 | Maalaea Harbor | www.mauioceancenter.com

Maui Golf & Sports Park

Ob Minigolf, Klettern, Bungee Trampolin oder Bumperboat fahren – dieser Park bietet spaßige Aktivitäten im Freien für die ganze Familie und ist täglich geöffnet. Der Park ist angebunden an das Resort Wailuku. Adresse: 80 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku. Nähere Infos unter https://www.mauigolfsportspark.com/.

Fishpipe Hawaii am Kihei Resort

Ziemlich originell wird es beim Fishpipe Hawaii. Hier könnt ihr die Erfahrung machen, euch in einer riesigen aufblasbaren Polymerkugeln, gefüllt mit ein wenig Wasser, zu bewegen. Ein Spaß für Groß und Klein. Adresse: 777 S Kihei Rd, Kihei.

Boo Boo Zoo (The East Maui Animal Refuge)

Der sogenannte “Zoo” ähnelt den Streichelzoos, die wir aus Deutschland kennen. Es ist ein Hof, auf dem typische Nutztiere wie Pferde, Ziegen, Gänse und Hühner gehalten werden. Der Hof ist eine Art Gnadenhof, der auch alte oder gebrechliche Tiere aufnimmt, um sich um sie zu kümmern und ihnen einen schönen Platz zum leben zu bieten. Am Hof ist es den Besuchern gestattet die Tiere zu füttern und zu streicheln. Einmal wöchentlich finden Exkursionen statt, an denen die Kinder nahegelegt bekommen, wie man die Tiere versorgt und ihnen wohl tut. Adresse: 25 Maluaina Pl, Haiku. Nähere Infos unter: https://www.eastmauianimalrefuge.org/.

Hikes mit Kindern

Waihou Spring Trail (auch Nā Ala Hele-Trail genannt) – In Upcountry Maui (Makawao), wo das Klima gemäßigter ist, könnt ihr diesen ca. 2 Meilen langen Rundweg durch Eukalyptuswälder auch mit den ganz Kleinen bestreiten. Am besten ist es, euch vorher in einem der zahlreichen Lokalitäten in Makawao mit Proviant und Getränken zu versorgen. An den Springs selbst, kann es rutschig werden und zu gefährlich für die ganz Kleinen. Größere Kinder können hier mit Sicherheit so einiges beim Klettern entdecken. Adresse: 2463 Olinda Rd, Makawao.

Zu den Hotels

Das Grand Wailea, a Waldorf Resort ist ein richtiger Wasserpark, mit 4 verschiedenen Wasserrutschen. Ein 1800 Quadratmeter großes Kindercamp bietet sogar Playstations an und eine Videospielhalle.

Ein wunderschönes Außengelände hat das Hyatt Regency zu bieten. Wasserfälle und Seilbrücken und eine 45m Rutsche lassen Kinderaugen leuchten. Flamingos und bunten Papageien begegnet man hier immer.

Kauai

Kamalani Playground

Ein großer Abenteuerspielplatz mit niedlicher Holzbrücke, bunter Kachelkunst und einem Meerespool. | Lydgate Park | Kapaa | www.kamalani.org

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens Big Island

Privater botanischer Garten mit Skulpturen. Für die Kinder gibt es eine Eisenbahn, ein Labyrinth sowie Dschungeltunnel und -rutschen. | Mo-Fr ab 8 Uhr | Eintritt 25$ | 4101 Wailapa Rd. | Kilauea | Anmeldung für Familien mit Kids unter 13 Jahren: Tel. 828/0525 | www.naainakai.org

Im Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa gibt es eine Wasserrutsche und eine Salzwasser Lagune, in der man sogar Kanu fahren kann. Der Poolbereich umfasst ganze fünf Hektar.

Am Kalapaki Strand auf Kauai liegt das Marriot Kauai. Hier sind die Wellen klein und das Wasser ist perfekt, um mit Kindern zu schnorcheln. Es gibt einen Miniclub im Hotel und einen 26.000 Quadratmeter großen Pool, wow nicht nur für die “Kleinen” was 🙂

Big Island

Kahaluu Beach Park

Die Keauhou Bay ist ideal zum Schnorcheln für Kids: seicht, mit vielen bunten Fischen und Schildkröten. | Eintritt frei | am Südende des Alii Dr. | Kailua-Kona. Hier gehts zu weiteren Infos.

Pana’ewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens

Panaewa Rainforest Zoo and Gardens Big Island

Ein wahres Paradies für Kinder sowie Erwachsene ist Pana’ewa Rainforest Zoo. Das riesige Anwesen inmitten des tropischen Regenwaldes beherbergt ca. 150 Tiere und 75 verschiedene Arten. Hier leben Wasserbüffel, Pfauen, Nashörner, Affen und viele weitere mehr. Ein besonderes Highlight ist der Bengalische weiße Tiger namens “Namaste”. Täglich von 10-15 h geöffnet. Der Eintritt ist frei. Adresse: 800 Stainback Highway, Hilo. Aktuelle Infos unter: https://www.hilozoo.org/.

Hikes mit Kindern auf Big Island

Ala Kahakai National Historical Trail – Der Abschnitt zwischen Hapuna Beach und Mauna Kea Beach ist ein knapp 4km langer Hin- und Rückweg, der vom Schwierigkeitsniveau her als einfach einzustufen ist. Es ist mehr eine Wanderung als ein Hike und führt an der Küste entlang über die Felsen. Festes Schuhwerk ist ein Muss. Geparkt werden kann jeweils bei den den Stränden und den dazugehörigen Parkspots.

Für Kinder ist Big Island einfach toll, es gibt überall etwas zu entdecken. Durch die vielen Wanderwege und Pfade können die Kleinen auch mal ein paar Meter alleine vorlaufen, ohne dass man sich Sorgen machen muss. Für die Größeren sind die Vulkanabenteuer natürlich unbezahlbar. Unbedingt eine Tour zum Mount Kea, Mount Loa und Kilauea machen.

Das “Disneyland” auf Big Island, diesen Namen hat das Hilton Waikoloa Village bei Kailua-Kona. Es gibt einen riesigen Poolbereich und da das kleine Dorf so groß ist, bewegt man sich dort mit Straßenbahn und Kanalbooten durch die Anlage.

Aber ganz gleich, wie und wo… Hawaii verzaubert auch Kinder. Das angenehme Klima und die Freundlichkeit der Menschen, Hawaiis Natur und die Tierwelt zu Land und im Meer. Kinder werden in ihrer natürlichen Entdeckerfreude angeregt und können auf den Inseln die Dinge sehen und erleben, die sie sonst nur aus Büchern kennen…

surf with kids sunset Big Island

Seid ihr auch schon mit Kindern auf Hawaii gewesen und habt noch Tipps, die wir ergänzen können, erzählt uns davon…

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen?

Danke

Zusammenfassung aller Sehenswürdigkeiten​

Maui Ocean Center (The Aquarium of Hawaii)

Wer sich für die Unterwasserwelt Hawaii’s interessiert und mehr über die heimischen Fische und weitere Meeresbewohner erfahren möchte, wird hier…

Hāpuna Beach Park

Dieser Strandpark ist einer der attraktivsten Badestrände auf Big Island, er zählt zu Hawaii’s Top 10 der schönsten Strände. Im…

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

Eine kleine Bucht südlich von Kona, die gerade zum Schnorcheln und durch ihre so bunte Unterwasserwelt zu einem beliebten Besuchsziel…

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Eine schillernde Unterwasserwelt, feiner weißer Sandstrand und der beste Schnorchelspot der ganzen Insel wird einem versprochen. Die Rede ist von…

Dole Ananas Plantage

Halakahiki, die tropisch süße Frucht Hawaii’s. Vor vielen hundert Jahren kam die weltweit beliebte Ananas durch Christoph Kolumbus nach Europa…

Kīlauea Iki Trail

Der Kīlauea Iki ist ein Krater am Rande der Caldera (Krater) des auf Big Island liegenden Vulkans Kīlauea. In der…

Mauna Kea

Mit über 4200 Metern gehört der Mauna Kea zu den höchsten Erhebungen des hawaiianischen Archipels. Bei der Namensvergabe sind die…
Noch mehr Lesestoff

Die Ukulele – Soundtrack von Hawaii

Den Sound der Ukulele kennt wohl jeder. Ob durch Israel Kamakawiwoʻole´s „Somewhere over the rainbow“ oder durch Stefan Raab´s Rabigramme?…

Vom Traum zur Wirklichkeit: Hawai’i | Reisebericht

Diesen Moment werde ich nie wieder vergessen. Den Moment, als ich die grünen Hänge und schwarzen Lavasteine während des Landeanflugs…

Hawaii für ganze 3 Monate – meine 3. Reise

3 Tage Reise… Die Nachteile eines Standby-Tickets 2010 bin ich beruflich am Anschlag. Stress, Mobbing und Unzufriedenheit führen dazu, dass…
Hinweis zu Werbe-Links
Die mit Sternchen (*) gekennzeichneten Links sind Provisionslinks auf externe Angebote. Wenn du auf einen solchen Link klickst und über diesen Link einen Kauf tätigst, erhalten wir vom Anbieter eine Provision. Der Preis verändert sich hierbei nicht.
Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos