Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
diving_spots_hawaii
diving_spots_hawaii

Diving in Hawaii - the best underwater spots

You can observe tropical fish in the crystal clear water. turtles but also rays and sharks can be encountered here. The humpback whales come to Hawaii during the winter months and what can be more exciting than to meet with the biggest mammals? Diving and looking at them up close?

Divers love Hawaii's underwater world. | Image: Rich Carey - shutterstock.com
Divers love Hawaii's underwater world. | Image: Rich Carey - shutterstock.com

In Hawaii, there are many diving schools that offer Trial diving lessons for example. In this course, you will learn how to use a mask and a tank, practice a little in the pool and then go into the sea. You will be constantly accompanied while diving and the instructors will not let you out of their sight. You can of course also make a diving license and also take advanced diving courses at the schools. It is recommendable to bring the medical examination for the fitness testfrom Germany and have it ready in advance. Equipment and bottles are also available for rent in the dive shops. Whether you are a beginner or an advanced diver, in Hawaii, every diver will find exactly what they are looking for.

25 - 28 degrees, perfect water temperature! | Image: © CyberEak - shutterstock.com
25 - 28 degrees, perfect water temperature! | Image: © CyberEak - shutterstock.com

For Advanced Open Water Divers I recommend you a night dive with manta rays before the Kona coast at Big Island,. It is simply one of the most wonderful experiences you can have. It gets dark and it's just quiet underwater. Then, the giants swim past you very gently which is also a bit scary. You can shine on them from below with the diving lamp, then they look even more majestic. Wow! In addition, you can dive right in front of Big Island at about 50 different dive spots from incredible underwater lava formations. For quite professional divers with night experience, a black water dive in the open sea is offered. Two Step, Honokohau Harbor and Keahuhou are the most popular dive spots on Big Island.

On Oahu wreck divers get their money's worth. One of the most popular wrecks is the "Mahi Wreck" off the east coast. The Mahi is a famous wreck dive site and was used as a minesweeper during WWII. Today, it provides a habitat for thousands of beautiful Hawaiian fish species. The wreck is slowly decaying, however, it is also an attraction for eels and eagle ray. This area is recommended for wreck divers Another diver's paradise on Oahu is located just in front of Waikiki Beach. The "Sea Tiger" is also a shipwreck, which lies at a depth of 36 meters. This dive could also be interesting for wreck divers . Advanced Open Water Divers can also dive down there because you can reach the cab of the sunken ship already at about 21 meters of water depth. The Sea Tiger is, according to stories, a former smuggler ship. Who knows, maybe you will find a barrel of moonshine or other smuggled goods while diving. 🙂

Maui will offer you the beautiful Molokini Crater Even inexperienced divers and snorkelers will have fun here and discover many fish species. Molokini Crater can be reached by boat in 30 minutes. The inside of the crater is like a protected wall, which is home to many different species. The depth here is about 16-21 meters and is therefore suitable for diving even for Open Water Divers, who are allowed to dive to a depth of up to 18 meters. Experienced divers prefer the back side of Molokini Crater, dark depths up to 106 meters await you here which is only really something for Advanced Open Water Divers and especially for Deep Divers. The deep water and strong current attract sharks, manta rays and even whales.

Your constant companion under water :-) | Image: © Rich Carey - shutterstock.com
Your constant companion underwater 🙂 | Image: © Rich Carey - shutterstock.com

Imagine the light blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, the sun shining on your wetsuit... You dive down into the depths of the ocean, the visibility is brilliant up to 100 meters, the sun shines down on you from above. Below you are the Two Cathedrals, the "Cathedral 1" and "Cathedral 2" off the coast of Lanai. It is simply an indescribable underwater architecture. The cathedrals are lava tunnels, encased and decorated with black corals, some of which are very old. The black corals even hang from the ceilings as you dive through the tunnel. You can often meet spinner dolphins here which can become quite curious 🙂 Diving in this area is suitable for Advanced Open Water Divers and of course Cavern Divers.

Tip from me: From the coast of Lahaina on Maui, the divers are driven here to Cathedrals 1 & 2 by dive boats. So you don't necessarily have to start from Lanai to this dive spot.

On Kauai I would like to recommend Sheraton Caverns  to you. You can even dive here as a beginner 🙂 Sheraton Caverns is a cave formation that lies in the South Shore on Kauai, west of Poipu. The cave is a V-shaped lava well, with very good underwater light conditions. You dive through caves and under bridges here, which are formed from cooled lava. But the greatest thing here are all the turtles. You can see them in all positions, lying, eating, swimming and even sleeping in lava holes, madness! Sheraton Cave should be called turtle city 🙂 Dragon moray eels can be seen in the cracks of the rocks from time to time. Be sure to take a boat to get to the dive spot, because the way from the shore to the cave is very long. For Open Water Divers very suitable.

It is a little difficult to reach the Fish Bowl dive spot on Molokai, The currents of the Pailolo Channel,which flows between Maui and Molokai, can be very strong. But if you have eventually conquered it, you can encounter reef sharks in the Fish Bowl already at a depth of 16 meters. The water world is very diverse and you can also see lobster, squid and from 20 meters diving depth even hammerheads. Wow! Above the "Fish Bowl", a beautiful coral reef has settled over the years.

My Tip: Molokai is more of an advanced diving area and not for beginners, as the water conditions can be extremely rough. It is advisable to take a "Current Diving" - course.

Have you ever been to these dive spots or do you want to know more about great dive spots in Hawaii? We would love to hear from you! :)

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Even more reading material

Matsumoto Shave Ice Hawaii

Shave Ice with condensed milk from Matsumoto Today I would like to tell you again about a delicacy that has done it to me:...

9 Hawaiian words and meanings that you should know

Hey there, how nice that you are here! It's incredibly pleasant to listen to someone speaking Hawaiian. When I describe...

Alone as a woman in Hawaii

Hi, I'm Evy and I'd like to tell you about my trip to Hawaii to give you the opportunity to...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Eine Antwort

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

tauchspots_hawaii
Tommy

Tommy

Tauchen auf Hawaii – die besten Unterwasser Spots

Im kristallklaren Wasser kann man tropische Fische beobachten. Schildkröten aber auch Rochen und Haien kann man hier begegnen. In den Wintermonaten kommen die Buckelwale nach Hawaii und was kann es aufregenderes geben, wie mit den größten Säugetieren zu tauchen und sie sich aus nächster Nähe anzuschauen?

Taucher lieben Hawaiis Unterwasserwelt. | Bild: Rich Carey - shutterstock.com
Taucher lieben Hawaiis Unterwasserwelt. | Bild: Rich Carey – shutterstock.com

Auf Hawaii gibt es zahlreiche Tauchschulen, die z.B.: Schnupper-Tauchstunden anbieten. Bei diesem Kurs lernst du mit Maske und Flasche richtig umzugehen, übst ein bisschen im Pool und danach geht’s in das Meer. Du wirst beim Tauchen ständig begleitet und die Tauchlehrer lassen dich nicht aus den Augen. In den Tauchschulen kann man natürlich auch den Tauchschein machen und auch aufbauende Tauchkurse belegen. Hier bietet es sich an, die medizinische Untersuchung für den Tauglichkeitstest, vorab in Deutschland machen zu lassen und diese dann mitzubringen. Ausrüstungen und Flaschen werden auch in den Tauch Shops verliehen. Egal ob du Anfänger oder Fortgeschritten bist, auf Hawaii findet jeder Taucher genau das, was er sucht.

25 - 28 Grad, perfekte Wassertemperatur! | Bild: © CyberEak - shutterstock.com
25 – 28 Grad, perfekte Wassertemperatur! | Bild: © CyberEak – shutterstock.com

Für Advanced Open Water Diver empfehle ich euch einen Nachttauchgang mit Manta Rochen vor der Küste von Kona auf Big Island. Es ist einfach eines der wundervollsten Erlebnisse, die man machen kann. Es wird dunkel und unter Wasser ist es einfach nur still. Dann kommen die Riesen geschwommen, ganz sanft und auch ein bisschen unheimlich. Mit der Taucherlampe kann man sie von unten anstrahlen, dann wirken sie noch majestätischer. Wow! Außerdem kann man vor Big Island ca. 50 Tauchspots aus unglaublichen Unterwasser Lavaformationen betauchen. Für ganz erfahrene Taucher mit Nachterfahrung, bietet sich ein Schwarzwassertauchgang im offenen Meer an. Two Step, Honokohau Harbor und Keahuhou sind sie beliebtesten Tauchspots auf Big Island.

Auf Oahu kommen Wrack Taucher voll auf ihre Kosten. Eines der beliebtesten Wracks ist das „Mahi Wreck“ vor der Ostküste. Die Mahi ist ein berühmter Wrack Tauchplatz und war im zweiten Weltkrieg als Minenräumboot im Einsatz. Heute bietet es Lebensraum für tausende, wunderschöne Fischarten Hawaiis. Das Wrack zerfällt langsam, jedoch ist es Anziehungspunkt auch für Aale und Adlerrochen. Dieses Gebiet ist für Wreck Diver zu empfehlen. Ein anderer Tauchparadies auf Oahu befindet sich unmittelbar vor Waikiki Beach. Die „Sea Tiger“ ist ebenfalls ein Schiffswrack, was in 36 Metern Tiefe liegt. Dieser Tauchgang kann für Wreck Diver interessant werden. Advanced Open Water Diver können aber ebenfalls dort herab tauchen, da man das Fahrerhaus des gesunkenen Schiffes schon in ca. 21 Meter Wassertiefe erreichen kann. Die Sea Tiger ist Erzählungen nach, ein ehemaliges Schmugglerschiff. Wer weiß, vielleicht stoßt ihr beim Tauchen noch auf ein Fass Selbstgebrannten oder andere Schmugglerware? 🙂

Maui wird euch mit dem Molokini Crater verzaubern. Auch unerfahrene Taucher und auch Schnorchler werden hier ihren Spass haben und viele Fische entdecken können. Der Molokini Crater ist mit dem Boot in 30 Minuten zu erreichen. Das Innere des Kraters ist wie ein geschützter Wall, der vielen verschiedenen Fischarten ein Zuhause bietet. Die Tiefe hier liegt bei 16 – 21 Metern und ist somit zum Tauchen auch für Open Water Diver, die bis zu einer Tiefe bis 18 Metern tauchen dürfen, bestens geeignet. Erfahrene Taucher bevorzugen die Rückseite des Molokini Crater, dort erwarten einen dunkle Tiefen bis zu 106 Metern und sind wirklich nur etwas für Advanced Open Water Diver und vor allem für Deep Diver. Das tiefe Wasser und die starke Strömung locken Haie, Mantas und sogar Wale an.

Dein ständiger Begleiter unter Wasser :-) | Bild: © Rich Carey - shutterstock.com
Dein ständiger Begleiter unter Wasser 🙂 | Bild: © Rich Carey – shutterstock.com

Stellt euch hellblaues Wasser des Pazifiks vor, die Sonne scheint schön warm auf euren Anzug… Ihr taucht ab in die Tiefe des Ozeans, die Sicht ist brilliant und beträgt bis zu 100 Metern, die Sonne strahlt von oben auf euch herab, wie ein Schweif. Unter euch befinden sich die Zwei Kathedralen, die „Cathedrale 1“ und „Cathedrale 2“ vor der Küste Lanai’s. Es ist einfach eine unbeschreibliche Unterwasser Architektur. Die Kathedralen sind Lavatunnel, ummantelt und ausgeschmückt mit schwarzen Korallen, die zum Teil sehr alt sind.  Die schwarzen Korallen hängen sogar von den Decken, wenn man durch den Tunnel taucht. Hier kann man oft Spinner Delfinen begegnen, die ganz schön neugierig werden können 🙂  Das Tauchen in diesem Tauchgebiet eignet sich für Advanced Open Water Diver und natürlich Cavern Diver.

Tipp von mir: Auch von der Küste Lahaina auf Maui werden die Taucher hierher zu den Cathedralen 1 & 2 mit Tauchbooten gefahren. Man muss also nicht zwangsläufig von Lanai aus zu diesem Tauchspot starten.

Auf Kauai möchte ich euch Sheraton Caverns  empfehlen. Hier taucht man auch als Anfänger! 🙂 Sheraton Caverns ist eine Höhlen Formation und liegt im South Shore auf Kauai, westlich von Poipu. Die Höhle ist ein V -förmiger Lavatunnel, mit sehr guten Unterwasser Lichtverhältnissen. Man taucht hier durch Höhlen und unter Brücken her, die aus erkalteter Lava entstanden sind. Aber das tollste hier, es wimmelt hier an Schildkröten. Man sieht sie beim Tauchen in allen Positionen, liegend, fressend, schwimmend und sogar schlafend in Lava Löchern, Wahnsinn! Sheraton Cave sollte man besser Schildkrötenstadt nennen 🙂 Drachenmuränen lassen sich in den Spalten der Felsen auch hin und wieder blicken. Nehmt unbedingt ein Boot um zum Tauchspot zu gelangen, denn der Weg vom Shore aus zur Höhle ist sehr weit. Für Open Water Diver sehr gut geeignet.

Es ist etwas schwierig den Fish Bowl Tauchspot auf Molokai zu erreichen. Die Strömungen des Pailolo Kanal, der zwischen Maui und Molokai fließt, können sehr stark sein. Wenn man ihn aber dann bezwungen hat, kann man im Fish Bowl schon in 16 Metern Tiefe Riffhaien begegnen. Die Wasserwelt ist sehr vielfältig und man sieht außerdem Hummer, Tintenfische und ab 20 Metern Tauchtiefe sogar auch Hammerhaie. Wow! Über der „Fisch – Schüssel“ hat sich über die Jahre ein schönes Korallenriff angesiedelt.

Mein Tipp: Molokai ist eher ein Tauchgebiet für fortgeschrittene Taucher und nichts für Anfänger, da die Wasserbedingungen extrem rau sein können. Es ist ratsam, einen „Strömungs-Tauchen“ – Kurs zu belegen.

Wart ihr auch schonmal an diesen Tauchspots unterwegs oder wollt ihr noch mehr über tolle Tauchspots auf Hawaii erfahren? Dann helfen wir euch gerne weiter. 🙂

Hier gehts weiter:

Surfen auf Hawaii – Welche Spots auf welcher Insel?

Hawaii und Surfen – das gehört einfach zusammen. Und das nicht von ungefähr. Die Ureinwohner von Hawaii haben das Su ...
Jessi
Jessi

Sommerliche Ahi Tuna Poke Bowl – Unser Original-Rezept

Der Sommer naht und daher möchten wir euch heute eine sommerlich, erfrischende Version der Ahi Poke Bowl präsentiere ...
Tommy
Tommy

Heiraten auf Hawaii – auf zu eurer Traumhochzeit!

Heiraten in Flip Flops | Bild: ©Mark Skalny - shutterstock.com hau'oli male 'ana eia ho'iola loa - glückliche Hochz ...
Jessi
Jessi

Eine Antwort

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.