Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
eddie-would-go-souvenirs
eddie-would-go-souvenirs

Eddie would go. To the roots of Hawaii's surfing legend Eddie Aikau

Points of interest in this article

Before we start, a quick note about this magazine article: If you would like to know more about the sights in detail (tips, contacts, photos, map), click on "Overview". You can return to the article by clicking on "Read article".
Read article
Overview

North Shore. The desire of all surfers. For all those who love golden beaches. Birthplace of Jack Johnson. Venue of many surf competitions like the "Vans Triple Crown of Surfing" or the "Eddie".

The Aloha spirit can be felt here the most.

Even if my mood is not the best, the North Shore makes me feel better every time. As the name suggests, the North Shore is located in the north of Oahu. There is no place with a greater density of surf spots. It takes nine miles to drive the Kamehameha Highway from Haleiwa to Sunset Beach, the eastern tip of the North Shore. Nine miles of the same picture: on one side the gently sloping green flanks of the Koolau Range, on the other side the beach, white as a sheet, lined with palm trees and surrounded by waves. Each of these spots has its characteristics. It is impossible for a surfer not to find the right spot here. Haleiwa, "the world's famous surf capital", with its 2,500 inhabitants is a tiny hippie village not far from the dream beaches, where waves up to 20 meters high break in winter. The surf elite meets at Haleiwa Market Place to enjoy Mexican nachos or tacos at Cholos and a mocha freeze at Caffaine. By the way, the best iced coffee you can get on the island. Even the opening hours of the surf stores show that the clock ticks differently here. During "high surf" they often remain completely closed. I have a weakness for Hawaii souvenirs and buy an "Eddie Aikau" T-shirt from Quicksilver.

eddie aikau t shirt Oʻahu

Eddie Aikau - The Legend!

Eddie Aikau was a famous lifeguard in the early 1970s and a big wave surfer at the legendary Waimea Bay. He was born in Maui on May 4, 1946, and moved with his family to Oahu as a child in 1959 because the working conditions were better for his father. As a 22-year-old lifeguard, he had already saved the lives of 500 people. He was the first one to dare the 30 feet waves No matter how much rough the ocean was, Eddie always paddled out.

In 1978, the Polynesian Voyaging Society conducted a repeated research trip along an ancient Polynesian migration route between the islands of Hawaii and Tahiti. For the 30-day, 2500 mile (4000 km) trip, the society searched for volunteers and Aikau signed on as a crew member. The research vessel Hōkūlea left the Hawaiian Islands on March 16, 1978, and the twin-hulled canoe got a leak in one of the hulls and sinked about twelve miles south of Molokai Island. Aikau tried to get help and paddled with his surfboard towards Lānai. He was never seen again. The search that followed was the largest aerial search in Hawaiian history.

The Eddie Aikau Contest

After he died in the ocean in 1978 his brother Clyde organized the "Quicksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau-Contest" where the world surf elite including Kelly Slater pays respect to the legend. However, this contest only takes place when the waves reach at least 30 feet. Just in time for the Eddie season from the beginning of December to the end of February, where you will find "Eddie would go" stickers on the cars of the locals and their own Quicksilver collections on the well-trained tanned bodies. Mine, too. However, it rather belongs to the category of the pale untrained.

"Eddie went" souvenirs, on the other hand, are only available if the contest has actually taken place.

Since the first event on Sunset Beach In 1985, Eddie Aikau's younger brother Clyde Aikau won the competition in 1987 when the "Eddie" was held in Waimea Bay for the first time. In February 2016, waves reached 30 to 50 ft (15 m). Only 28 big-wave surfers are invited to the competition for two rounds of competition.

The slogan was created during the first "Eddie Contest". The waves were high and the conditions extremely dangerous. While the organizers were discussing whether the contest should take place, surfer Mark Foo commented "Eddie would go". The phrase stayed and the "Eddie" was on.

More from me

Book: Hawaii Lights *

My book "Hawaii Lights" shows you the most beautiful hikes and experiences in the fabulous nature of Hawaii....
Florian
Florian

Hawaii, dreamy islands in the Pacific - My first Hawaii Trip

The association of paradise par excellence. The sweet smell of the South Seas. Dream beaches and palm trees, well-trained surfers, w...
Florian
Florian

PuuOo - The hike of my lifetime - the 4th and 5th Hawaii trip

BIG ISLAND 2 weeks after the wedding I am again on the islands in 2013. This time I have Yvonne with me in the luggage, my...
Florian
Florian

When "The Eddie" calls

In summer, the ocean around Hawaii is relatively calm. As already suspected, the waves are "like a pancake", as a surf store owner tells me. I drive my rental car into the parking bay of Waimea Bay and because everything is always taken up, treat myself to the handicapped parking space. The jump from the 8-meter-high lava rock into the green-blue water is a pleasure. Slowly, I started to feel guilty because of my car, since they like to tow in America. The car is still standing. But there is a ticket on the windshield. I expect 50 $ and can't believe my eyes when I pull the ticket for 260 $ out of the windshield wiper. Parking on the meadow would have cost me 35 $. You never stop learning.

On my first trip with Yvonne, we choose the end of the year 2011 and the beginning of 2012 as travel time. On the website surfnewsnetwork.com I learn daily surf conditions.

For our departure day to Big Island, 20 to 30 feet waves are predicted. I decide spontaneously to rebook the flight for a heavy fee and we set off early in the morning for the 1-hour drive from Kailua to the North Shore. The obligatory traffic ticket above the legendary Waimea Bay is of little concern to me on this day. It's hazy and the surfing elite has already been sitting out at the for a long time. Unfortunately, the conditions are not quite enough to let the "Eddie" take place. It has been cancelled in the early hours. Nevertheless, we see the biggest waves of the season. The face of the wave (front) measures about 10 meters today.

The Kamehameha Highway is already full of cars and trucks at 8:30 a.m.; professional photographers with huge lenses and an interested audience are all on the road. I won't get very far with my 300mm zoom lense. Nevertheless, I manage to get a few decent shots. Jet skis are out in the water fishing the fallen surfers out of the water after their "wipe-outs", even a helicopter circles over the bay to shoot photos for surf magazines or to shoot footage and trailers for companies like Quicksilver. Big wave surfing in Waimea Bay requires unconditional devotion. They live for that one perfect ride, sitting on their boards for countless hours, studying the swells, currents and tricks of the Pacific. They get up with the waves and go to bed with them.

This time, the contest did not take place and yet it was an unforgettable experience with many photos I would like to share with you!

Image gallery


Photos (c) Florian Krauss

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Summary of all sights

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Waimea Bay captivates its guests...

Sunset Beach Park

Surfing, snorkeling and lazing at Sunset Beach A breathtaking beach of Oahu, a paradise for surfers in winter and a dream beach...
Even more reading material

Whale and dolphin watching in Hawaii

Today I would like to report about the great marine mammals around Hawaii. Due to the former whaling the population of marine mammals was...

Summer Ahi Tuna Poke Bowl - with lime

Summer is coming and therefore we would like to present you today a summery, refreshing version of the Ahi Poke Bowl. Just looking at the...

Yoga in Hawaii - definitely different & intense!

Anyone who has ever been to Hawaii knows exactly what I am talking about when I say that Hawaii has a very special energy....
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan
eddie-would-go-souvenirs
eddie-would-go-souvenirs

Eddie would go. Auf den Spuren von Hawaii´s Surflegende Eddie Aikau

North Shore. Die Sehnsucht aller Surfer. All derer, die goldene Strände lieben. Geburtsort von Jack Johnson. Austragungsort vieler Surf-Wettkämpfe wie dem “Vans Triple Crown of Surfing” oder dem “Eddie”.

Der Aloha-Spirit macht sich hier am meisten bemerkbar.

Auch wenn meine Laune nicht auf dem Höhepunkt ist, die North Shore kriegt mich jedes Mal. Wie der Name schon sagt, liegt die North Shore im Norden von Oahu. Nirgends ist die Dichte an Surf-Spots größer. Neun Meilen sind es auf Kamehameha Highway von Haleiwa bis Sunset Beach, dem östlichen Zipfel der North Shore. Neun Meilen lang das immer gleiche Bild: auf der einen Seite die sanft abfallenden, grünen Flanken der Koolau Range, auf der anderen Seite Strand, blütenweiß, palmengesäumt, wellenumtost. Jeder dieser Spots hat seine eigene Charakteristik. Unmöglich für einen Surfer, hier nicht das Richtige zu finden. Haleiwa, “the worlds famous surf capital of the world” ist mit seinen 2.500 Bewohnern ein winziges Hippie-Dorf unweit der Traumstrände, wo im Winter bis zu 20 Meter hohe Wellen brechen. Am Haleiwa Market Place trifft sich die Surf-Elite, um im Cholos mexikanische Nachos oder Tacos zu genießen und im “Coffeine” einen Mocca freeze zu schlürfen. Nebenbei bemerkt der beste Eiskaffee, den man auf der Insel bekommen kann. Schon an den Öffnungszeiten der Surf-Shops merkt man, dass die Uhr hier anders tickt. Bei “high surf” bleiben sie oft auch ganz geschlossen. Ich verfalle meiner Schwäche für Hawaii-Souvenirs und kaufe mir aus lauter Überzeugung ein „Eddie Aikau“-T-Shirt von Quicksilver.

Eddie Aikau – The Legend!

Eddie Aikau war in den frühen 70er Jahren ein berühmter Rettungsschwimmer und Big Wave-Surfer an der legendären Waimea Bay. Er wurde am 4. Mai 1946 auf Maui geboren und siedelte als Kind mit seiner Familie 1959 nach Oahu über, weil dort die Arbeitsbedingungen für seinen Vater besser waren. Als 22-jähriger Rettungsschwimmer rettete er 500 Menschen das Leben. Er war der erste, der sich an die 30 Feet-Wellen herantraute. Egal wie sehr der Ozean tobte, Eddie ging immer raus.

1978 führte die Polynesian Voyaging Society zum wiederholten Mal eine Forschungsreise auf einer alten polynesischen Wanderungsroute zwischen den Inseln von Hawaii und Tahiti durch. Für die dreißigtägige, 2500 Meilen (4000 km) lange Fahrt suchte die Gesellschaft Freiwillige und Aikau heuerte als Crew-Mitglied an. Das Forschungsschiff Hōkūlea verließ die Inseln von Hawaii am 16. März 1978. Das Doppelrumpf-Kanu schlug Leck in einem der Rümpfe und kenterte etwa zwölf Meilen südlich der Insel Molokai. Aikau versuchte Hilfe zu holen und paddelte mit seinem Surfbrett Richtung Lānai. Er ward nie wieder gesehen. Die folgende Suche war die größte Luft-Suche der hawaiianischen Geschichte.

Der Eddie Aikau-Contest

Nach seinem Tod auf dem Ozean 1978 organisierte sein Bruder Clyde den “Quicksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau-Contest” bei dem die Weltelite um Kelly Slater der Legende huldigt. Allerdings findet dieser Contest nur statt, wenn die Wellen mindestens 30 Fuß erreichen. Rechtzeitig zur Eddie-Saison von Anfang Dezember bis Ende Februar schmücken “Eddie would go”-Aufkleber die Autos der Einheimischen und eigene Quicksilver-Kollektionen die durchtrainierten braungebrannten Oberkörper. Meinen auch. Allerdings gehört der eher zur Kategorie der bleichen untrainierten.

“Eddie went”-Souvenirs gibt es hingegen nur, wenn der Contest auch stattgefunden hat.

Seit der Erstaustragung am Sunset Beach 1985 hat 1987 Eddie Aikaus jüngerer Bruder Clyde Aikau einmal den Wettbewerb gewonnen, als der “Eddie” das erste Mal in Waimea Bay ausgetragen wurde. Im Februar 2016 erreichten die Wellen 30 bis 50 ft (15 m). Zum Wettbewerb werden nur 28 big-wave-Surfer zu zwei Wettkampfrunden eingeladen.

Der Slogan entstand während des ersten “Eddie Contest”. Die Wellen waren hoch und die Bedingungen extrem gefährlich. Während die Organisatoren diskutierten, ob der Wettbewerb stattfinden könne, kommentierte der Surfer Mark Foo „Eddie would go“. Die Phrase blieb und der „Eddie“ lief.

Mehr von mir

Hawaii, Inseltraum im Pazifik – Meine 1. Hawaii-Reise

Die Assoziation des Paradieses schlechthin. Der süße Duft der Südsee. Traumstrände und Palmen, durchtrainierte Surfer, w…
Florian
Florian

PuuOo – The hike of my lifetime – die 4. und 5. Hawaii-Reise

BIG ISLAND 2 Wochen nach der Hochzeit bin ich 2013 erneut auf den Inseln. Diesmal habe ich Yvonne mit im Gepäck, mein…
Florian
Florian

Die Ukulele – Soundtrack von Hawaii

Den Sound der Ukulele kennt wohl jeder. Ob durch Israel Kamakawiwoʻole´s „Somewhere over the rainbow“ oder durch Stefan …
Florian
Florian

Wenn “Der Eddie” ruft

Im Sommer zeigt sich der Ozean rund um Hawaii von seiner ruhigen Seite. Wie schon vermutet sind die Wellen „like a pancake“, wie mir ein Surfshop-Besitzer erzählt. Ich lenke meinen Mietwagen in die Parkbucht der Waimea Bay und gönne mir, weil immer alles ausgebucht ist, den Behindertenparkplatz. Der Sprung vom 8 Meter hohen Lavafelsen ins grünblaue Wasser ist ein Vergnügen. Langsam bekomme ich ein schlechtes Gewissen wegen meines Autos, weil in Amerika gerne abgeschleppt wird. Das Auto steht noch. Dafür klebt an der Windschutzscheibe ein Strafzettel. Ich rechne mit 50 $ und traue meinen Augen nicht, als ich den Zettel über 260 $ aus dem Scheibenwischer ziehe. Die Wiese hätte mich 35 $ gekostet. Man lernt nie aus.

Auf meiner ersten Reise mit Yvonne wählen wir den Jahreswechsel 2011/2012 als Reisezeit. Über die Internetseite surfnewsnetwork.com erfahre ich täglich die Surf-Konditionen.

Für unseren Abreisetag nach Big Island sind 20 bis 30 Fuß-Wellen vorhergesagt. Ich entschließe mich kurzerhand, den Flug gegen eine saftige Gebühr umzubuchen und wir machen uns früh morgens auf die 1-stündige Fahrt von Kailua zur North Shore. Der obligatorische Strafzettel oberhalb der legendären Waimea Bay kümmert mich an diesem Tag wenig. Es ist diesig und die Surfelite schaukelt längst weit draußen in den Wellen. Leider reichen die Konditionen nicht ganz aus, um den “Eddie” stattfinden zu lassen, in den frühen Morgenstunden ist er abgesagt worden. Trotzdem sehen wir die größten Wellen der Saison. Das “Face” der Welle, die aufgerichtete Vorderseite, misst heute etwa 10 Meter.

Der Kamehameha Highway ist schon um 8.30 Uhr gesäumt von Autos und Trucks; Profifotografen mit riesigen Objektiven und Schaulustige tummeln sich auf der Straße. Mit meinem 300mm-Zoom komme ich hier nicht weit. Trotzdem gelingen mir ein paar ordentliche Aufnahmen. Jet-Skis sind im Wasser unterwegs, die die gestürzten Surfer nach ihren “Wipe-outs” aus dem Wasser fischen, ja sogar ein Hubschrauber kreist über der Bucht, um Fotos für Surf-Magazine zu schießen oder um Filmmaterial und Trailer für Firmen wie Quicksilver zu drehen. Für die Big Wave Surfer ist Waimea Bay bedingungslose Hingabe. Sie leben für den einen perfekten Ritt, sitzen unzählige Stunden auf ihren Brettern, studieren die Dünungen, die Strömungen und Tücken des Pazifiks. Sie stehen mit den Wellen auf und gehen mit ihnen ins Bett.

Dieses Mal fand der Contest nicht statt und dennoch für mich ein unvergessliches Erlebnis, mit vielen Fotos die ich mit euch teilen möchte!

Bildergalerie


Fotos (c) Florian Krauss

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen?

Danke

Noch mehr Lesestoff

Sommerliche Ahi Tuna Poke Bowl – mit Limette

Der Sommer naht und daher möchten wir euch heute eine sommerlich, erfrischende Version der Ahi Poke Bowl präse…
Tommy
Tommy

Heiraten auf Hawaii – auf zu eurer Traumhochzeit!

hau'oli male 'ana eia ho'iola loa - glückliche Hochzeit und ein langes Leben So wird auf Hawaii nach einer Eheschließ…
Jessi
Jessi

Made In Hawaii. Heimische Produkte der Inseln

Das braune Gold aus Hawaii... nennt man auch den Kaffee auf der Insel. "Sein Aroma ist traumhaft und besser wie bei…
Tommy
Tommy
Hinweis zu Werbe-Links
Die mit Sternchen (*) gekennzeichneten Links sind Provisionslinks auf externe Angebote. Wenn du auf einen solchen Link klickst und über diesen Link einen Kauf tätigst, erhalten wir vom Anbieter eine Provision. Der Preis verändert sich hierbei nicht.
Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos