Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Kailua-Kona Town

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Expensive
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Expensive

Kailua-Kona Town - Description

Kailua-Kona has become world-famous for several things. First and foremost probably due to the triathlon "Ironman", which takes place every year in October since 1978 and in which the world's best athletes swim 3.8 km, cycle 180 km and 42 km still complete a marathon. And all this in the heat of the Hawaiian sun. On the other hand, through Kona coffee, which is known for its distinctive flavours. In addition, Kona is home to the Kona Brewery, which offers a variety of beers. Kona is a small town of 12,000 people on the west coast of the Big Island. Hulihee Palace, built in 1838, once served as a vacation home for the royal family. The 19th-century Mokuaikaua Church is the oldest Christian church in Hawaii. At Kailua Bay, the Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark with reconstructed houses recalls the residence of King Kamehameha I. Colorful coral reefs lie off Kamakahonu Beach. There are moorings for boats at Kailua Pier. Since there is also a Kailua on Oahu, we usually only speak of Kona here.

The coast off Kona is protected from the wind by the Maunaloa volcano and, with its calm, clear waters, is the ideal place for water sports such as diving, snorkelling and sailing. A boat trip to the manta rays promises experiences of a special kind: Get up close and personal with these gentle, peaceful sea creatures on a dive or snorkel. At night, many manta rays go in search of nutrient-rich microplankton off the coast of Keauhou. On a night snorkelling or diving trip, you can swim with the manta rays and marvel at the gentle giants up close. Tours are offered from various locations in Kona.

The sunny Kona District occupies nearly two-thirds of the west side of Big Island and stretches south from Anaehoomalu Bay to Manuka Park. The extensive area offers all kinds of sights and attractions - from coffee plantations to historic Hawaiian sites. King Kamehameha also spent his last years in Kailua-Kona.
Here, numerous stores, restaurants and nightlife are guaranteed not to let boredom arise. History buffs can follow the footsteps of Kona's history with an easy hike to places like Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.

Nearby are Kealakekua Bay, Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park, and a lot of coffee plantations and other attractions. So it is well worth spending 2-3 nights on the west coast.

What we say

Florian
Kona is a hotspot for sun worshippers and is considered a sun-safe vacation destination. If you like it a bit more lively and also value evening entertainment, this is the place for you. However, it is very touristy. Scenically, the east side around Hilo is much more interesting with many waterfalls, jungle-like scenery and volcanic landscapes. Nevertheless, a few days in and around Kona are worthwhile. Especially Kealakekua Bay or some beaches north of Kona are worth a trip. Certainly, the Ironman is also a great pleasure, but I have not experienced it myself yet.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Accommodations outside Kona are cheaper and less crowded
  • Good to combine with beer testing in the beer garden of Kona Brewery and/or a visit to a coffee plantation

How did you like Kailua-Kona Town?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -155.99519390217438
Latitude: 19.645726827060034

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Breathtaking and at the same time easy to reach: On the northeast coast of Big Island in Hilo and on the Hamakua Coast ...

Pu'uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

In the "City of Refuge," as the Hawaiian tongue twister is also known, visitors will find one of the most authentically...

Hilo Town

Hilo is the largest city on the Big Island with a population of over 47,000. It is also the capital of Hawaii County and thus...

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
teuer
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
teuer

Kailua-Kona Town - Beschreibung

Kailua-Kona ist für mehrere Dinge weltbekannt geworden. Allem voran vermutlich durch den Triathlon „Ironman“, der seit 1978 jedes Jahr im Oktober stattfindet und bei dem die weltbesten Athleten 3,8 km schwimmen, 180 km Radfahren und mit 42 km noch einen Marathon absolvieren. Und das in der Hitze des hawaiianischen Sonne. Zum anderen durch den Kona-Kaffee, der für seine unverwechselbaren Aromen bekannt ist. Außerdem ist Kona Sitz der Kona Brewery, die unterschiedliche Biere anbietet. Kona ist eine Kleinstadt mit 12.000 Einwohnern an der Westküste der Insel Big Island. Der 1838 erbaute Hulihee Palace diente früher der Königsfamilie als Urlaubsdomizil. Die Mokuaikaua Church aus dem 19. Jahrhundert ist die älteste christliche Kirche Hawaiis. An der Kailua Bay erinnert das Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark mit rekonstruierten Häusern an die Residenz von König Kamehameha I. Vor dem Kamakahonu Beach liegen bunte Korallenriffe. Am Kailua Pier gibt es Ankerplätze für Boote. Da es auf Oahu auch ein Kailua gibt, wird hier meistens nur von Kona gesprochen.

Die Küste vor Kona wird vom Vulkan Maunaloa vor Wind geschützt und ist mit ihrem ruhigen, klaren Wasser der ideale Ort für Wassersport wie Tauchen, Schnorcheln und Segeln. Erlebnisse der besonderen Art verspricht eine Bootstour zu den Mantarochen: Gehe bei einem Tauch- oder Schnorchelgang mit den sanften, friedlichen Meerestieren auf Tuchfühlung. In der Nacht begeben sich viele Mantarochen auf die Suche nach nährstoffreichem Mikroplankton vor der Küste von Keauhou. Bei einem nächtlichen Schnorchel- oder Tauchausflug kannst du mit den Mantas schwimmen und die sanften Riesen aus nächster Nähe bestaunen. Die Touren werden von verschiedenen Standorten in Kona aus angeboten.

Der sonnige Kona District nimmt knapp zwei Drittel der Westseite von Big Island ein und erstreckt sich südlich der Anaehoomalu Bay bis zum Manuka Park. Dabei wartet das weitläufige Areal mit allerlei Sehenswürdigkeiten und Attraktionen auf – von Kaffeeplantagen bis hin zu historischen hawaiianischen Stätten. Außerdem verbrachte König Kamehameha seine letzten Jahre in Kailua-Kona.
Hier lassen zahlreiche Geschäfte, Restaurants und ein interessantes Nachtleben garantiert keine Langeweile aufkommen. Geschichtsinteressierte können bei einer bequemen Wanderung zu Orten wie dem Hulihee Palace, der Mokuaikaua Church und dem Ahuena Heiau auf den Spuren von Konas Geschichte wandeln.

In der Nähe befinden sich die Kealakekua Bay, der Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park, und eine Menge Kaffeplantagen und weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten. Es lohnt sich also durchaus, 2-3 Nächte an der Westküste zu verbringen.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Kona ist ein Hotspot für Sonnenanbeter und gilt als sonnensicheres Urlaubs-Domizil. Wer es etwas trubeliger mag und auch Wert auf abendliche Unterhaltung legt, ist hier genau richtig. Allerdings ist es sehr touristisch. Landschaftlich ist die Ostseite rund um Hilo mit vielen Wasserfällen, dschungelartiger Szenerie und Vulkanlandschaften wesentlich interessanter. Trotzdem lohnen sich einige Tage in und rund um Kona. Besonders die Kealakekua Bay oder einige Strände nördlich von Kona sind eine Reise wert. Sicherlich ist auch der Ironman ein großes Vergnügen, ich habe ihn selbst allerdings noch nicht erlebt.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Unterkünfte außerhalb von Kona sind günstiger und weniger überlaufen
  • Gut zu verbinden mit Bier-Testing im Biergarten der Kona-Brewery und/oder der Besichtigung einer Kaffee-Plantage

Wie gefiel dir Kailua-Kona Town?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -155.99519390217438
Latitude: 19.645726827060034

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Pololū Valley Hike

Im Norden von Big Island befinden sich 7 tief eingeschnittene Täler. Die einzigen, die erwandert werden können, ist das …

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)

Vorab: Diese Ausflugsziele lohnen sich eigentlich nur, wenn man länger auf der Insel ist und von der Ostseite zur Westse…

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

Eine kleine Bucht südlich von Kona, die gerade zum Schnorcheln und durch ihre so bunte Unterwasserwelt zu einem beliebte…

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Über diesen Wanderweg scheiden sich die Geister. Darf man ihn nun laufen, oder nicht? Im „Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla…

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Der Halemaumau-Krater ist das Herzstück von Big Island und ein MUSS bei einem Besuch auf der größten der Hawaii-Inseln. …

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

In der „City of Refuge“, wie der hawaiianische Zungenbrecher auch genannt wird, findet der Besucher eine der authentisch…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos