Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Suitable for:
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
6 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
ok
Suitable for:
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
6 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
ok

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater - Description

Halemaumau Crater is the heart of Big Island and a MUST when visiting the largest of the Hawaiian Islands.
The name is derived from the word for house (hale) and the Hawaiian name of the Sadleria fern, meaning fern house.
In Hawaiian religion, Halemaumau is considered the home of the volcano goddess Pele and therefore especially sacred. Hawaiians often place colorful flower necklaces (lei) or a bottle of gin at the crater rim to appease Pele.

In Hawaii Volcanoes National Park you will witness a fascinating wonder that nature has in store for us. Located 48 km southwest of Hilo, this park is home to two volcanoes, including Kilauea, one of the most active volcanoes in the world. The unique spectacle of destruction and re-creation makes the park not only a sacred place, but also one of Hawaii's most popular visitor attractions.

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park covers an area of 135 hectares from the summit of Mauna Loa to the sea. A 240-km network of trails invites visitors to hike extensively through volcanic craters, desert lava fields, and rainforests, passing a museum, petroglyphs, a walk-through lava tube, and two active volcanoes: Mauna Loa, which erupted for the last time in 1984, and Kilauea, which has been continuously active since January 3, 1983.

Until 1924, there was an active lava lake in Halemaumau, but it cooled before a major eruption of Kīlauea. In March 2008, the cooled lava erupted again after 84 years, and since then a lava lake in the crater floor of Halemaumau was continuously active until May 2018.
For safety reasons, it was not possible to enter the Kīlauea caldera for a long time and the Halemaumau could only be observed from some distance from the rim of the Kīlauea crater. The activity of the lava lake could be observed for several years through public webcams. The lava lake (about 250 m long and 180 m wide) had sunk into the floor of Halemaumau crater with nearly vertical walls. The distance of the surface of the lava lake from the floor of Halemaumau crater fluctuated between 60 m to 150 m in recent years as the lava lake rose and fell.
After several weeks of volcanic activity and subsidence of the lava lake, a large ash cloud formed over Halemaumau on May 15-17, 2018, partly after explosions. Subsequently, subsidence of the caldera around the crater of Halemaumau enlarged it by several times its previous size. After a green lake had formed at the bottom of the crater from 2018 to the end of 2020, a lava lake has been visible again since the beginning of 2021. The extent to which the crater is accessible, or whether the glow of the lava lake can be observed from the Jagger Museum, is left to the whims of the fire goddess. At the moment the national park is closed, but will surely reopen as soon as the situation has calmed down.

Kilauea is sometimes referred to as "the world's only drive-in volcano". In active times, the volcano produces about 200,000-500,000 m³ of lava per day. This volume would be enough to resurface a 32 km long, two-lane road every day.
Since January 1994, lava has created 200 hectares of new land on Big Island. Scientists can only make vague guesses about the future of volcanic activity - the current eruption could last another 100 years or be over tomorrow. According to many locals, the strong fluctuations of the volcanoes are subject to the mood of Pele, the goddess of fire who lives here. If during your visit the lava of Kilauea meets the sea, you should not miss this unique natural spectacle.

The park was awarded for its unique landscape and diverse nature by UNESCO in 1980 as a World Biosphere (Biosphere Reserve ) and in 1987 as a World Heritage Site.

The entrance fee for the park is 30$ and is valid for 7 days. Those interested in volcanoes are recommended to stay in Volcano Village for a few days. To explore the national park in all its facets (and also to hike), you can easily spend 2 or 3 days here. The accommodations in the rainforest on the volcano alone are an experience in themselves.

Kilauea Visitor Center

Open daily: From 7:45 to 17:00.

Pay a visit to the Kilauea Visitor Center at the beginning of your exploration to see the introductory film about the park, which is shown every hour from 9 am to 4 pm. In addition, there is an opportunity to speak with one of the rangers and book a guided tour with a ranger. Here you can also get maps to take home, interesting facts about the trails in the park and the latest information about current eruptions.

Sulphur Banks

The sulfur banks are on the other side of the road. It only takes 5-10 minutes and the path is beautiful, a recommendation to stretch your legs and have your first experience with the activity of the volcano.

Crater Rim Drive

The Crater Rim Drive is a 17 km long road that leads around the crater area of Kilauea Caldera. Following this ring road will take you directly to the main attractions of the park: the Kilauea Overlook, Jaggar Museum, Halemaumau Crater, Devastation Trail, Kilauea Iki Crater Overlook and the Thurston Lava Tube.

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum

Open daily: From 08:30 to 17:00

Thomas A. Jaggar pioneered volcano research on Kilauea. Here you will find geological exhibits, maps and videos of scientific studies of volcanoes. At night, there is an impressive view of the smoking vent of Halemaumau crater.

Halemaumau Crater

Steam and smoke rise from this massive crater, home to the fire goddess Pele according to legend. Especially at night, the glowing lava coming out of the crater is an awe-inspiring sight. There is also a great viewpoint at the Jaggar Museum. In the mid-19th century, this crater was still filled with lava, but it gradually drained away. Today, the lava lake in the bottom of the crater is continuously active again. This place is considered a sacred site, so you should treat it with respect. Also note that temperatures can drop relatively quickly with increasing altitude. If you want to visit the crater after the beach and are only wearing shorts and a t-shirt, be sure to pack a light jacket as well.

Thurston Lava Tube (Nahuku)

Walk through a 500 year old lava cave. These lava tunnels are created by the outer areas of a lava river cooling faster, and over time this causes a crust to form on the edges of the river. At the end of the tunnel, a tropical rainforest awaits.

Chain of Craters Road

The Chain of Craters Road branches off to the south from Crater Rim Drive. The end point of the 1 km long road is finally the place where the lava ran over the road.

Volcano House

Built in 1846 as a grass hut, the Volcano House Hotel has been in operation ever since, offering magnificent views of Halemaumau Crater. At the time, no less a person than Mark Twain stayed here during his visit to Hawaii.

What we say

Florian
For me as a volcano-interested person, the national park is a MUST on every Hawaii trip. Also because the conditions change again and again. If one could still drive by car around the crater in 2007, I had the luck to observe the glowing lava lake from the Jagger Museum a few years later. Also at night one may and should drive into the park. On starry nights, when the Milky Way can be seen above the crater and shooting stars seem to fall into the crater, it is an unforgettable experience. Then in 2016, I ventured on a forbidden adventure and approached the active lava lake to get a glimpse of Pele's bubbling cauldron directly from the rim of the crater. This will probably remain my most exciting experience at Kilauea.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Enough liquid (at least 2-3 liters)
  • Sturdy shoes for hikes around the volcano
  • Possibly hiking poles
  • Sunscreen
  • Rainwear/warm jacket
  • Early start recommended
  • Overnight stay possible in Volcano Village

How did you like Halemaʻumaʻu Crater?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, HI 96718
Longitude: -155.25880514511536
Latitude: 19.431273838796166

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kīlauea Iki Trail

Kīlauea Iki is a crater on the rim of the caldera (crater) of Kīlauea volcano located on the Big Island. In the hawaii...

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Akaka Falls State Park

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. An et...

Spencer Beach Park

A half-hour drive north from Kona International Airport, Spencer Beach Par...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Geeignet für:
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
6 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
ok
Geeignet für:
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
6 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
ok

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater - Beschreibung

Der Halemaumau-Krater ist das Herzstück von Big Island und ein MUSS bei einem Besuch auf der größten der Hawaii-Inseln.
Der Name leitet sich vom Wort für Haus (hale) und dem hawaiischen Namen des Sadleria-Farns ab und bedeutet Farnhaus.
In der hawaiischen Religion gilt der Halemaumau als Zuhause der Vulkangöttin Pele und daher als besonders heilig. Oft legen Hawaiianer bunte Blumenketten (lei) oder eine Flasche Gin am Kraterrand ab, um Pele zu besänftigen.

Im Hawaii Volcanoes National Park wirst du Zeuge eines faszinierenden Wunders, die die Natur für uns bereithält. Dieser 48 km südwestlich von Hilo gelegene Park beheimatet zwei Vulkane, darunter den Kilauea, einen der aktivsten Vulkane der Welt. Das einmalige Schauspiel von Zerstörung und Neuerschaffung macht den Park nicht nur zu einem heiligen Ort, sondern auch zu einer der beliebtesten Besucherattraktionen von Hawaii.

Der Hawaii Volcanoes National Park erstreckt sich auf einer Fläche von 135 ha vom Gipfel des Mauna Loa bis zum Meer. Ein 240 km langes Wegenetz lädt zu ausgedehnten Wanderungen durch Vulkankrater, wüstenartige Lavafelder und Regenwälder ein und führt an einem Museum, Felszeichnungen, einer begehbaren Lavaröhre und zwei aktiven Vulkanen vorbei: dem Mauna Loa, der 1984 zum letzten Mal ausgebrochen ist, und dem Kilauea, der seit dem 3. Januar 1983 ununterbrochen aktiv ist.

Bis 1924 befand sich im Halemaumau ein aktiver Lavasee, der aber vor einem großen Ausbruch des Kīlauea erkaltete. Im März 2008 brach die erkaltete Lava nach 84 Jahren wieder auf, seitdem war ein Lavasee im Kraterboden des Halemaumau bis zum Mai 2018 ununterbrochen aktiv.
Aus Sicherheitsgründen war es längere Zeit nicht möglich, die Caldera des Kīlauea zu betreten und der Halemaumau konnte nur aus einiger Entfernung vom Rand des Kīlauea-Kraters beobachtet werden. Die Aktivität des Lavasees ließ sich einige Jahre lang durch öffentliche Webcams beobachten. Der Lavasee (ca. 250 m lang und 180 m breit) war in den Boden des Halemaumau-Kraters mit nahezu senkrechten Wänden eingesunken. Der Abstand der Oberfläche des Lavasees vom Boden des Halemaumau-Kraters schwankte in den letzten Jahren zwischen 60 m bis 150 m, da sich der Lavasee hob und senkte.
Nach mehreren Wochen vulkanischer Aktivität und Absinken des Lavasees bildete sich, zum Teil nach Explosionen, am 15. und 17. Mai 2018 eine große Aschewolke über dem Halemaumau. In der Folgezeit vergrößerten Absenkungen der Caldera rings um den Krater des Halemaumau diesen um ein mehrfaches seiner vorherigen Größe. Nachdem sich von 2018 bis Ende 2020 ein grüner See am Boden des Kraters gebildet hatte, ist seit Anfang 2021 wieder ein Lavasee zu sehen. Inwieweit der Krater zugänglich ist, bzw. ob man das Glühen des Lavasees vom Jagger-Museum aus beobachten kann, ist den Launen der Feuergöttin vorbehalten. Zur Zeit ist der Nationalpark gesperrt, wird aber sicher wieder öffnen, sobald sich die Lage beruhigt hat.

Der Kilauea wird manchmal auch als „der einzige Drive-in-Vulkan der Welt“ bezeichnet. Dabei erzeugt der Vulkan in aktiven Zeiten etwa 200.000–500.000 m³ Lava pro Tag. Dieses Volumen würde ausreichen, um täglich eine 32 km lange, zweispurige Straße mit neuem Belag zu versehen.
Seit Januar 1994 hat die Lava auf Big Island 200 ha neues Land geschaffen. Über die Zukunft der vulkanischen Aktivität können Wissenschaftler nur vage Vermutungen anstellen – der jetzige Ausbruch könnte weitere 100 Jahre andauern oder morgen schon vorbei sein. Nach Auffassung vieler Einheimischer sind die starken Schwankungen der Vulkane der Gemütslage von Pele unterworfen, der hier lebenden Feuergöttin. Sollte während deines Besuchs die Lava des Kilaueas auf das Meer treffen, darfst du dir dieses einmalige Naturschauspiel nicht entgehen lassen.

Der Park wurde für seine einzigartige Landschaft und vielfältige Natur von der UNESCO 1980 als World Biosphere (Biosphärenreservat ) und 1987 als Weltkulturerbe ausgezeichnet.

Der Eintritt für den Park liegt bei 30$ und ist für 7 Tage gültig. Vulkan-Interessierten sei empfohlen, für einige Tage eine Unterkunft in Volcano Village zu beziehen. Um den Nationalpark in all seinen Facetten zu erkunden (und auch zu erwandern), kann man hier gut und gerne 2 oder 3 Tage verbringen. Alleine die Unterkünfte im Regenwald auf dem Vulkan sind ein Erlebnis für sich.

Kilauea Visitor Center

Täglich geöffnet: Von 7:45 bis 17:00 Uhr.

Statte zu Beginn Ihrer Entdeckungsreise dem Kilauea Visitor Center einen Besuch ab, um sich den Einführungsfilm über den Park anzusehen, der von 9 bis 16 Uhr stündlich gezeigt wird. Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit, mit einem der Ranger zu sprechen und eine geführte Tour mit einem Ranger zu buchen. Hier erhältst du auch Karten zum Mitnehmen, Wissenswertes zu den Wanderwegen im Park und die neuesten Informationen zu aktuellen Ausbrüchen.

Sulphur Banks

Die Schwefelbänke befinden sich auf der anderen Seite der Straße. Man benötigt nur 5-10 Minuten und der Weg ist schön, eine Empfehlung, um sich die Beine zu vertreten und um erste Erfahrungen mit der Aktivität des Vulkans zu machen.

Crater Rim Drive

Der Crater Rim Drive ist eine 17 km lange Straße, die rund um das Kratergebiet der Kilauea Caldera führt. Wenn du dieser Ringstraße folgst, gelangst du direkt zu den Hauptattraktionen des Parks: dem Kilauea Overlook, Jaggar Museum, Halemaumau Crater, Devastation Trail, Kilauea Iki Crater Overlook und der Thurston Lava Tube.

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum

Täglich geöffnet: Von 08:30 bis 17:00 Uhr

Thomas A. Jaggar leistete mit seiner Vulkanforschung am Kilauea Pionierarbeit. Hier findest du geologische Ausstellungen, Karten und Videos zu wissenschaftlichen Studien von Vulkanen. Bei Nacht bietet sich von hier eine beeindruckende Aussicht auf den rauchenden Schlot des Kraters Halemaumau.

Halemaumau Crater

Dampf und Rauch steigen aus diesem gewaltigen Krater, in dem die Feuergöttin Pele einer Legende zufolge zuhause ist. Insbesondere bei Nacht bietet die glühende Lava, die aus dem Krater austritt, einen ehrfurchtgebietenden Anblick. Beim Jaggar Museum befindet sich außerdem ein großartiger Aussichtspunkt. Mitte des 19. Jahunderts war dieser Krater noch mit Lava gefüllt, die jedoch nach und nach abfloss. Heute ist der im Kraterboden befindliche Lavasee wieder ununterbrochen aktiv. Dieser Ort gilt als heilige Stätte, daher solltest du ihm mit Respekt begegnen. Beachte auch, dass die Temperaturen mit zunehmender Höhe relativ schnell absinken können. Wenn du dem Krater nach dem Strand einen Besuch abstatten möchten und nur eine Shorts und ein T-Shirt tragen, solltest du unbedingt auch eine leichte Jacke mit im Gepäck haben.

Thurston Lava Tube (Nahuku)

Wandere durch eine 500 Jahre alte Lavahöhle. Diese Lavatunnel entstehen dadurch, dass die äußeren Bereiche eines Lavaflusses schneller erkalten und sich mit der Zeit dadurch eine Kruste an den Rändern des Flusses bildet. Am Ende des Tunnels erwartet einen ein tropischer Regenwald.

Chain of Craters Road

Die Chain of Craters Road zweigt in Richtung Süden vom Crater Rim Drive ab. Den Endpunkt der 1 km langen Straße bildet schließlich die Stelle, an der die Lava über die Straße gelaufen ist.

Volcano House

Das 1846 als Grashütte erbaute Volcano House Hotel ist seither in Betrieb und gewährt herrliche Blicke auf den Halemaumau Crater. Damals hat hier kein Geringerer als Mark Twain während seines Besuchs in Hawaii übernachtet.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Für mich als Vulkan-Interessierten ist der Nationalpark bei jeder Hawaii-Reise ein MUSS. Auch deswegen, weil sich die Begebenheiten immer wieder ändern. Konnte man 2007 noch mit dem Auto um den Krater fahren, so hatte ich einige Jahre später das Glück den glühenden Lavasee vom Jagger Museum aus zu beobachten. Auch nachts darf und sollte man in den Park fahren. Wenn bei sternenklaren Nächten über dem Krater die Milchstraße zu sehen ist und Sternschnuppen in den Krater zu fallen scheinen, ist das ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. 2016 wagte ich dann ein verbotenes Abenteuer und näherte mich dem aktiven Lavasee, um direkt vom Rand des Kraters einen Blick in den brodelnden Kessel von Pele zu werfen. Das wird vermutlich mein aufregendstes Erlebnis am Kilauea bleiben.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Genug Flüssigkeit (mindestens 2-3 Liter)
  • Festes Schuhwerk für Wanderungen rund um den Vulkan
  • Eventuell Wanderstöcke
  • Sonnenschutz
  • Regenkleidung/warme Jacke
  • Früher Start empfehlenswert
  • Übernachtung in Volcano Village möglich

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, HI 96718
Longitude: -155.25880514511536
Latitude: 19.431273838796166

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos