Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Waimea & Parker Ranch

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
10 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:00 Clock
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
10 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:00 Clock
Cost:
free

Waimea & Parker Ranch - Description

Waimea is located on the north coast of Big Island and is a real cowboy town. Since Waimea also exists on Oahu and Kauai, the place is also known as Kamuela.
The village is located at an altitude of 825 meters in the valley of Waikōloa Stream between the Kohala Mountains to the northwest and Mauna Kea to the southeast. This region is often visited mainly because of the Waipio Valley, which is located in the immediate vicinity.
Waimea is an important transportation hub, as State Routes 19 and 190 meet here. In addition, the Waimea-Kohala Airport is located south of the town, although it is only important for regional traffic.

The rain-fed region was once used for agriculture. With the arrival of the Europeans, the area around Waimea was mainly used for the breeding of cattle, which is still of supraregional importance today. Due to the cattle breeding, a culture rather untypical for Hawaii, corresponding to the West of the United States, has developed in Waimea; thus, the most significant rodeo of the entire state takes place here annually on the 4th of July and is a great spectacle.
Further untypical for Hawaii is the size: The Parker Ranch is one of the largest ranches in the USA with 900 km² of land area and about 60,000 cattle.

John Palmer Parker founded the Parker Ranch in 1847 after marrying the daughter of a Hawaiian tribal leader. The ranch is one of the oldest in the U.S. and owes its vast pastures to the fertile volcanic soil. After the death of the last owner, Richard Smart, the Parker Ranch, along with Smart's art collection, became the Parker Ranch Foundation Trust in 1992.

Here work numerous Hawaiian "paniolos" (cowboys), paniolos. Until 2015, there were guided tours and horseback riding on the ranch. Unfortunately, these insights are now no longer possible. Still open to vacationers, however, are the two historic homes, Puuopelu and Mana Hale, which trace the history of the Parker family from John Palmer Parker's arrival on Big Island to the present. Here you will find numerous photographs, everyday items and antique furniture from the ranch's founding days. In addition, a very interesting film deals with the history of the ranch and the emergence of the paniolo culture. The "historic houses" can be visited free of charge from Monday to Friday.

What we say

Florian
Just driving through the area is quite nice. You no longer feel as if you were in Hawaii, but rather as if you were in the Allgäu or Montana. The vegetation here is not, as down at the sea, with coconut palms and lush jungle, but more like in the mountains. Often cacti grow as well. If you want to explore the north (among other things with Waipio Valley, etc.) in peace, an overnight stay in Waimea is recommended. In addition, you can enjoy the Western feeling with a little more time. Sitting in a rustic steak place in the evening (often with live music) has something special. I even went to a small Oktoberfest there once. But to keep up with the original, the residents still have to practice. There was nothing more than small plastic cups. And the Hawaiians didn't know how to tap beer either. When the party guests realized that we were "real Germans," we stood behind the bar and gave a crash course.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Shopping at Parker Ranch Store
  • Breakfast, lunch or dinner in a rustic pub (often with live music)

How did you like Waimea & Parker Ranch?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -155.66861994065408
Latitude: 20.02096475500778

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Carlsmith Beach Park

At a distance of about 5 km from Hilo airport, you would hardly expect such a wonderful place. The bathing p...

Leleiwi Beach Park

Leleiwi Beach Park (Wai'uli) on Kalanianaole Avenue is a popular, yet uncrowded snorkeling spot,...

Akaka Falls State Park

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. An et...

Punaluʻu Black Sand Beach

Big Island is especially known for its black lava beaches, which are constantly being rebuilt by years of volcanic ...

Kalapana Town

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana is not to be missed.

Honoliʻi Beach Park

Just a few miles north of Hilo is this surf beach popular among locals. Surfing has become very popular on H...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Waimea & Parker Ranch

Waimea & Parker Ranch

Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Waimea & Parker Ranch - Beschreibung

Waimea liegt an der Nordküste von Big Island und ist ein echtes Cowboystädtchen. Da es Waimea auch auf Oahu und Kauai gibt, ist der Ort auch unter dem Namen Kamuela bekannt.
Die Ortschaft liegt auf einer Höhe von 825 Metern im Tal des Waikōloa Stream zwischen den Kohala Mountains im Nordwesten und dem Mauna Kea im Südosten. Oft wird diese Region hauptsächlich wegen dem Waipio Valley angefahren, welches in unmittelbarer Nähe liegt.
Waimea ist ein bedeutsamer Verkehrsknotenpunkt, da hier die State Routes 19 und 190 aufeinandertreffen. Darüber hinaus befindet sich südlich der Ortschaft der Waimea-Kohala-Airport, der allerdings nur im Regionalverkehr von Bedeutung ist.

Die regenreiche Region wurde früher für Landwirtschaft genutzt. Mit dem Eintreffen der Europäer wurde das Gebiet rund um Waimea hauptsächlich für die heute noch überregional bedeutsame Zucht von Rindern genutzt. Bedingt durch die Rinderzucht hat sich in Waimea eine für Hawaii eher untypische, dem Westen der Vereinigten Staaten entsprechende Kultur herausgebildet; so findet hier jährlich am 4. Juli das bedeutsamste Rodeo des gesamten Bundesstaates statt und ist ein großes Spektakel.
Weiter untypisch für Hawaii ist die Größe: Die Parker Ranch ist eine der größten Ranches der USA mit 900 km² Landfläche und ca. 60.000 Rindern.

John Palmer Parker gründete 1847 die Parker Ranch, nachdem er die Tochter eines hawaiianischen Stammesführers heiratete. Die Ranch gehört zu den ältesten der USA und verdankt die riesigen Weideflächen dem fruchtbaren vulkanischen Boden. Nach dem Tode des letzten Besitzers Richard Smart wurde die Parker Ranch zusammen mit der Kunstsammlung Smarts 1992 in den Parker Ranch Foundation Trust umgewandelt.

Hier arbeiten zahlreiche hawaiianische „paniolos“ (Cowboys), paniolos. Bis 2015 gab es geführte Touren und Reitausflüge auf der Ranch. Leider sind diese Einblicke inzwischen nicht mehr möglich. Weiterhin offen für Urlauber sind allerdings die beiden historischen Häuser, Puuopelu and Mana Hale, in denen die Geschichte der Parker-Familie von der Ankunft John Palmer Parkers auf Big Island bis heute nachgezeichnet wird. Hier findet man zahlreiche Fotografien, Dinge des täglichen Alltags und antike Möbel aus der Ranchgründungszeit, zudem beschäftigt sich ein sehr interessanter Film mit der Geschichte der Ranch und der Entstehung der paniolo-Kultur. Die „historic houses“ sind montags bis freitags kostenlos zu besichtigen.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Alleine die Durchfahrt der Gegend ist ganz nett. Man fühlt sich nicht mehr, als wäre man auf Hawaii, sondern eher, als wäre man im Allgäu oder in Montana. Die Vegetation ist hier nicht, wie unten am Meer, mit Kokospalmen und üppigem Dschungel bestückt, sondern mehr wie in den Bergen. Oft wachsen auch Kakteen. Wenn man den Norden (u.a. mit Waipio Valley, etc.) in Ruhe erkunden möchte, empfiehlt sich eine Übernachtung in Waimea. Außerdem kann man dann das Western-Feeling mit etwas mehr Zeit genießen. Abends in einem urigen Steak-Lokal zu sitzen (oft mit Live-Musik), hat schon etwas Besonderes. Sogar auf einem kleinen Oktoberfest war ich dort mal. Um mit dem Original mithalten zu können, müssen die Bewohner aber noch üben. Mehr als kleine Plastikbecher gab es dort nicht. Und des Bierzapfens waren die Hawaiianer auch nicht mächtig. Als die Partygäste mitbekamen, dass wir „real Germans“ sind, standen wir kurzerhand hinter der Theke und gaben einen Crashkurs.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Shopping im Parker Ranch Store
  • Frühstück, Lunch oder Abendessen in einem urigen Pub (oft mit Live-Musik)

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -155.66861994065408
Latitude: 20.02096475500778

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos