Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Suitable for:
Active vacationer, Nature lover, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
10 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
05:30 Clock
Cost:
favorable
Suitable for:
Active vacationer, Nature lover, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
10 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
05:30 Clock
Cost:
favorable

Profile of the hike

Distance total
18,76 Kilometer
Distance uphill
4,79 Kilometer
Distance downhill
11,21 Kilometer
Altitude meters uphill
616 Meter
Altitude meters downhill
- 1164 Meter

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail) - description

Also as "Keoneheehee Trail" known, this trail leads up to the valley floor of the Haleakala Craters on Mauiwhich last erupted in 1790. Haleakala is a dormant volcano and is therefore considered not yet extinct. It is the birthplace of fire goddess Pele. Banished from Haleakala Crater by her sister of water, Na-maka-o-Kahaʻi, because of a great dispute, she has since lived in Halemaumau Crater on Big Island.

The Sliding Sands Trail lives up to its name, it leads on volcanic ash through the largest volcanic crater in the world. Sliding Sands because you always slide back a little on the volcanic ash when going uphill.

This trail is probably the most impressive in all of the Hawaiian Islands because it is so different and unique.

With 19 km and 600 meters of elevation gain, this hike is no walk in the park and requires good fitness and preparation. The trail is very well known, but many do not run it to the Halemauu trailhead because of the long distance. So at most it gets a bit crowded at the beginning. Most then turn around, so that you have the most beautiful parts of the crater almost for yourself.

Scenically, the Haleakala Crater can best be seen with a Lunar landscape compare. Numerous crater cones, such as the Pu'u o Maui and the Pu'u o Pele, but also the collapsed colorful crater cauldron of the Ka Lu'u o ka O'o are of an almost indescribable beauty. One is not allowed to walk to the latter since spring 2013, as it was found out that the colorful crater is sacred for the Hawaiians. Even moon landings have been tested there. The most beautiful view is probably "Pele's Painting Pot." a path through the colorful paint box of the fire goddesswhich can only be seen if you venture the complete 19 km round trip to the Halemauu Trailhead.

Besides, in the crater there is "Nene" ,the state goose of Hawaii, which you should please not feed. And you will find another miracle: the "Silver Sword" - a cactus-like plant. It thrives only in the Haleakala crater at an altitude of 2000 to 3000 meters and under conditions that would be disastrous for any other plant: Desert-like aridity prevails within the crater. At night, the temperature often falls below freezing, while during the day the sun burns down mercilessly. The Silver sword takes up to 20 years, to produce a magnificent inflorescence. After this effort, the plant dies.

Depending on where you start from on Maui, it can take you up to two hours to drive up the Haleakala Highway (HI 37) and then the winding Haleakala Crater Road that leads to the summit of Haleakala. You have to get up early for this, but it's worth it!

Drive past the Park Visitors Center and reach the Haleakala Visitors Center at 3000 m altitude. Try to reach the Haleakala Visitors Center at least half an hour before sunrise. In summer the sun rises at 5:30 a.m., in winter not until 6:50. The color of the sky and clouds before daybreak are breathtaking as the clouds flow over the crater walls as if by magic. Not for nothing is the sunrise described as the most beautiful in the world.

One should dress warmly. The temperature drops 10 degrees for every 1000 meters of altitude, so at the Haleakala Visitor Center at an altitude of just under 3000 meters it is is about 30 degrees colder than at sea level. Unfortunately, there are no public buses to take us there.

If you have not rented a car, you still have the option to book a tour. You should not miss the sunrise or sunset! It's best to plan your trip so that you don't miss it. Even with accommodation in the nearest town of Kula, it still takes us an hour by car to get to the summit with short photo breaks.

However, Haleakala Crater also has some dangers that you need to be aware of before starting a hike, so proper equipment is necessary.

Inside the crater it is usually hotter than at the crater rim when the sun is shining, the strong UV radiation can quickly lead to sunburn. Sudden weather changes and sub-zero temperatures are not uncommon.
Hikers who want to do the entire Sliding Sands Trail, including part of the Halemauu Trail and the subsequent Kaupo Trail, need a permit for overnight stay(s) in the crater. For example, it is just under 13 km to Holua Cabin, a camping hut equipped with the bare necessities. However, there is no electricity or anything like that there. All information regarding obtaining permits in cabins and wilderness areas, as well as the costs, can be found on the Haleakala National Park website. (linked below)

The day tour ends at Halemauu Trailhead. From there, however, you have to go back up to the top because that's where the car is. If you are alone or in pairs, hitchhiking should work. From 16.00 o'clock enough tourists drive up to the sunrise, which can take you. If you are in a larger group, you can park one car at the summit and the other at the Halemauu trailhead.

What we say

Florian
I have run the trail 2x and would do it again at any time. Unfortunately, so far without an overnight stay. The best combination to explore Haleakala in all its facets is certainly the sunrise, then the Sliding Sands Trail and on the way back still the sunset (if you are already up there anyway). The colors and moods of the moon-shaped volcanic landscape and craters is an unforgettable and breathtaking experience. With a little luck a ranger sings Hawaiian songs at sunrise. One has the feeling that she is singing up the suns. Not only because of the temperatures a true goose bumps moment. This hike is one of the most impressive experiences of a Hawaii trip (provided you are in good shape). If you plan this combination of sunrise - hike - sunset, you will be on the road for at least 12 hours, including the drive, and you will be exhausted afterwards.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Enough liquid (at least 3 liters) and picnic
  • Sturdy footwear (preferably proper mountain boots with a solid sole)
  • Possibly hiking poles
  • Sunscreen and sun milk
  • Warm clothes

How did you like Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Haleakala Visitors Center, Maui, HI 96790
Longitude: -156.2509489717
Latitude: 20.714212120148

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Baldwin Beach Park

If you drive south from Paia and turn into Alawai Road, after a short time you will arrive at a long white beach.

Kula Botanical Gardens

Somewhat hidden in the higher region of Kula, is this privately owned garden. It is a true oasis...

Haleakalā Crater & Haleakalā National Park

Who is on Maui, should see and experience in one day at least what formed this island: the volcano Haleakala. Everh...

Wailea Beach

Dream beach with hustle and bustle - Wailea Beach A long sandy beach lined with palm trees and crystal clear sea water make Wa...

Īao Valley State Monument (State Park)

Iao Valley translates as "Valley of the Kings". Iao was considered the god of all gods and the "highest light". E...

Kanaha Beach Park

At Kanaha Beach, right next to the Kahului Airport, you will hardly meet any tourists. This is one of the most...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)

Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
05:30 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig
Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
05:30 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig

Profil der Wanderung

Distanz Gesamt
18,76 Kilometer
Distanz Bergauf
4,79 Kilometer
Distanz Bergab
11,21 Kilometer
Höhenmeter Bergauf
616 Meter
Höhenmeter Bergab
- 1164 Meter

Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail) - Beschreibung

Auch als „Keoneheehee Trail“ bekannt, führt dieser Trail bis auf die Talsohle des Haleakala Craters auf Maui, der zuletzt 1790 ausbrach. Der Haleakala ist ein schlafender Vulkan und gilt somit als noch nicht erloschen. Es ist der Geburtstort von Feuergöttin Pele. Von ihrer Schwester des Wassers, Na-maka-o-Kahaʻi, ist sie wegen eines großen Streits vom Haleakala Krater verbannt worden und lebt seitdem im Halemaumau-Krater auf Big Island.

Der Sliding Sands Trail macht seinem Namen alle Ehre, führt er doch auf Vulkanasche durch den größten Vulkankrater der Welt. Sliding Sands deswegen, weil man bei Steigungen auf der Vulkanasche immer etwas zurückrutscht.

Dieser Wanderweg ist vermutlich die beeindruckendste auf allen Hawaii-Inseln, weil er so anders und einzigartig ist.

Mit 19 km und 600 Höhenmetern ist dieser Hike aber auch kein Spaziergang und benötigt eine gute Kondition und Vorbereitung. Der Trail ist sehr bekannt, allerdings laufen ihn viele wegen der langen Strecke nicht bis zum Halemauu Trailhead. Es wird also höchstens am Anfang etwas voll. Die meisten drehen dann um, so dass man die schönsten Teile des Kraters fast für sich alleine hat.

Landschaftlich kann man den Haleakala Crater am besten mit einer Mondlandschaft vergleichen. Zahlreiche Kraterkegel, wie z. B. der Pu’u o Maui und der Pu’u o Pele, aber auch der eingebrochene bunte Kraterkessel des Ka Lu’u o ka O’o sind von einer nahezu unbeschreiblichen Schönheit. Zu letzterem darf man seit dem Frühjahr 2013 nicht mehr laufen, da man herausfand, dass der bunte Krater für die Hawaiianer heilig ist. Es sind sogar schon Mondlandungen dort erprobt worden. Der schönste Ausblick ist wohl „Pele´s Painting Pot“, ein Pfad durch den bunten Malkasten der Feuergöttin, den man nur sehen kann, wenn man den kompletten, 19 km langen Rundweg bis zum Halemauu Trailhead wagt.

Außerdem gibt es im Krater „Nene“ ,die Staatsgans von Hawaii, die man bitte nicht füttern sollte. Und man findet ein weiteres Wunder: Das „Silberschwert” – eine kakteenähnliche Pflanze. Sie gedeiht einzig und allein im Haleakala-Krater in einer Höhe von 2000 bis 3000 Metern und unter Bedingungen, die für jede andere Pflanze verhängnisvoll wären: Innerhalb des Kraters herrscht wüstenartige Trockenheit. Nachts fällt die Temperatur häufig unter den Gefrierpunkt, während tagsüber die Sonne unbarmherzig niederbrennt. Das Silberschwert benötigt bis zu 20 Jahre, um einen prächtigen Blütenstand hervorzubringen. Nach dieser Anstrengung stirbt die Pflanze ab.

Je nachdem, wo du von Maui aus startest, kannst du bis zu zwei Stunden benötigen, um den Haleakala Highway (HI 37) und dann die kurvenreiche Haleakala Crater Road, die zum Gipfel des Haleakala führt, hinauf zu fahren. Dazu muss man früh aufstehen, aber es lohnt sich!

Fahre am Park Visitors Centre vorbei und erreiche das Haleakala Visitors Center in 3000 m Höhe. Versuche, das Haleakala Visitor Center spätestens eine halbe Stunde vor Sonnenaufgang zu erreichen. Im Sommer steht die Sonne schon um 5:30 Uhr auf, im Winter erst um 6:50 Uhr. Die Farbe des Himmels und der Wolken vor Tagesanbruch sind atemberaubend, wenn die Wolken wie von Geisterhand über die Kraterwände fließen. Nicht umsonst wird der Sonnenaufgang als der schönste der Welt beschrieben.

Man sollte sich warm anziehen. Die Temperatur sinkt um 10 Grad für jede 1000 Höhenmeter, so dass es auf dem Haleakala Visitor Center auf einer Höhe von knapp 3000 Meter etwa 30 Grad kälter ist als auf Meereshöhe. Leider gibt es keine öffentlichen Busse, die uns dorthin bringen.

Solltest du kein Auto gemietet haben, bleibt dir noch die Möglichkeit, eine Tour zu buchen. Den Sonnenaufgang oder Sonnenuntergang solltest du dir nicht entgehen lassen! Plane deinen Trip am besten zeitlich so ein, dass du ihn nicht verpasst. Selbst mit einer Unterkunft im nächstgelegenen Ort Kula brauchen wir trotzdem mit kurzen Fotopausen immer noch eine Stunde mit dem Auto, um zum Gipfel zu kommen.

Der Haleakala Crater birgt jedoch auch einige Gefahren, über die man sich vor Beginn eines Hikes im Klaren sein muss, daher ist eine entsprechende Ausrüstung nötig.

Im Inneren des Kraters ist es bei Sonnenschein meist heißer als am Kraterrand, die starke UV-Strahlung kann rasch zum Sonnenbrand führen. Plötzliche Wetteränderungen und Minusgrade sind keine Seltenheit.
Hiker, die den gesamten Sliding Sands Trail, inklusive eines Teils des Halemauu Trails sowie den anschließenden Kaupo Trail gehen möchten, benötigen ein Permit für die Übernachtung(en) im Krater. Es sind beispielsweise knapp 13 km bis zur Holua Cabin, einer Camping-Hütte, die mit dem nötigsten ausgestattet ist. Es gibt dort allerdings keinen Strom oder ähnliches. Alle Informationen bezüglich der Beschaffung von Permits in Cabins und Wilderness Areas sowie die Kosten dafür finden sich auf der Website des Haleakala National Parks. (weiter unten verlinkt)

Die Tagestour endet am Halemauu Trailhead. Von dort muss man allerdings wieder hoch zum Gipfel, weil dort das Auto steht. Wenn man alleine oder zu zweit unterwegs ist, sollte es mit Trampen funktionieren. Ab 16.00 Uhr fahren genug Touristen zum Sonnenaufgang hoch, die einen mitnehmen können. Ist man in größeren Gruppen unterwegs, kann man ein Auto am Gipfel und das andere am Halemauu Trailhead parken.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Ich bin den Trail 2x gelaufen und würde es jederzeit wieder tun. Leider bisher ohne Übernachtung. Die beste Kombination, um den Haleakala in all seinen Facetten zu erkunden, ist sicherlich der Sonnenaufgang, danach der Sliding Sands Trail und auf dem Rückweg noch den Sonnenuntergang (wenn man eh schon oben ist). Die Farben und Stimmungen der mondförmigen Vulkanlandschaft und Krater ist ein unvergessliches und atemberaubendes Erlebnis. Mit ein wenig Glück singt eine Rangerin zum Sonnenaufgang hawaiianische Gesänge. Man hat das Gefühl, sie würde die Sonnen herauf singen. Nicht nur wegen den Temperaturen ein wahrer Gänsehaut-Moment. Diese Wanderung gehört (gute Kondition vorausgesetzt) zu den beeindruckendsten Erlebnissen einer Hawaii-Reise. Plant man diese Kombi aus Sonnenaufgang – Wanderung – Sonnenuntergang, so ist man inkl. Fahrt mindestens 12 Stunden unterwegs und danach dementsprechend erschöpft.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Genug Flüssigkeit (mindestens 3 Liter) und Picknick
  • Festes Schuhwerk (am besten richtige Bergstiefel mit fester Sohle)
  • Eventuell Wanderstöcke
  • Sonnenschutz und Sonnenmilch
  • Warme Kleidung

Wie gefiel dir Sliding Sands Trail (Keoneheehee Trail)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Haleakala Visitors Center, Maui, HI 96790
Longitude: -156.2509489717
Latitude: 20.714212120148

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Wailea Beach Path

Vorbei an edlen Resorts und traumhaften Stränden - Wailea Beach Path Entlang an traumhaften Stränden und vorbei an edle…

Wailea Beach

Traumstrand mit Trubel - Wailea Beach Ein langer Sandstrand, gesäumt von Palmen und kristallklarem Meerwasser machen Wa…

Hoʻokipa Beach Park

Surfparadies am North Shore in Maui Als ein wahres Paradies für Surfer ist der Ho'okipa Beach Park unter Wassersportler…

Maui Ocean Center (The Aquarium of Hawaii)

Wer sich für die Unterwasserwelt Hawaii's interessiert und mehr über die heimischen Fische und weitere Meeresbewohner er…

Pipiwai Trail

Die Gegend von Kipahulu an der Road to Hana im Haleakala National Park bietet extrem viele Attraktionen: Wasserfälle, ds…

Keawakapu Beach

Die vielen Facetten des Keawakapu Beach Ein schier endlos langer Sandstrand mit atemberaubenden Sonnenuntergängen. Der …
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos