Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Ala Moana Beach Park

Suitable for:
Everyone, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free

Details of the beach

Amenities at Ala Moana Beach Park
(Available: Showers, Toilets, Picnic tables, Lifeguard)
The beach is popular for:
(Known for: Sunset, Chill, Swimming, Snorkeling)
Beach material
Sand fine
Sand color
White
Area
230000 sqm
Entry into the sea
flat
Sight in the sea
Very clear

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 4. July 2022, 02:43:46
Weather
82° Fahrenheit
Mostly Cloudy
Wind: from the Northeast at 16.1 gusting to 24.2 MPH (14 gusting to 21 KT)
Surf Conditions
1-3 feet
Nearshore: low
Offshore: low

Ala Moana Beach Park - Description

Rest and relaxation in the middle of the city - Ala Moana Beach Park

Across from the largest shopping mall in Hawaii and right next to Ala Wai Harbor, Ala Moana Beach Park attracts visitors and locals alike. The long white sand beach offers an ideal alternative to the often crowded beaches on the Waikiki coast.

Located in the Ala Moana State recreation area between Honolulu and Waikiki, the popular Ala Moana Beach Park provides needed respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. The wide, endless sandy beach literally invites you to spread out a blanket, lie lazily in the sun and occasionally jump into the clear water. From the beach and equally from the water, in addition to the backdrop of Honolulu, there is also the spectacular backdrop of Diamond Head in the background. Originally, the beach was artificially created in 1950 to dispose of excess dredge soil. This was done near the coast and thus in an ideal location to create another beach. Sand was piled up and Ala Moana Beach was created. The fact that the beach is of artificial origin, however, does not dampen the swimming pleasure at all.

The turquoise waters are shallow and perfect for pursuing water sports activities. Many locals and visitors go canoeing, try stand-up paddling, or snorkel over the reef, which is very shallow. The reef is not ideal due to the shallow water depth, but this does not prevent visitors from exploring the dazzling underwater world. Leaving the outer reef behind, Ala Moana Beach has ideal conditions for surfing, the waves here are suitable for beginners as well as advanced or professional surfers and are easy to conquer. At the very western end of the beach, the beach reaches only waist deep into the water and attracts a particularly large number of visitors at this point. However, those who jump into the cool water here and let off steam should not disregard the white buoys and signs. After only a few meters in the shallow water, the seabed drops abruptly 6 meters into the depth and depending on the weather, strong currents prevail here. Ala Moana Beach Park is not only for water sports enthusiasts, there is also a 4 kilometer long jogging track and 10 lighted tennis courts. Likewise, beautiful sunsets can be admired here in the evening. The glowing sun bathes the ocean and the sky in magnificent red-orange colors every day until it finally sinks into the horizon and night falls over Honolulu.

Good to know

Beach Park Facilities:

The family-friendly Ala Moana Beach Park has a lot to offer visitors. In addition to the tennis courts and jogging track, there is the McCoy Pavilion, which is used for music events. Visitors also have access to picnic tables and barbecue areas, and washrooms with showers and restrooms are also part of the beach park. Lifeguards are present at the beach daily to ensure the safety of the park's guests.

Directions and parking:

Whether you are coming from Waikiki or Honolulu, getting to the beach park is easy by car or bus. Coming from either direction, you can reach the beach by car within 5 minutes and use the free parking spaces at Ala Moana Beach Park. Getting there by bus takes only a few minutes longer and visitors need about 15 minutes to get there.

What we say

Tommy
A super beach for the whole family. From splashing to surfing, shopping and gastronomy, no wishes remain open here. Due to the spaciousness, it is not crowded here.
Our checklist & tips:
  • free parking spaces
  • Variety of activities
  • Pack parasol
  • The quiet alternative to the busier Waikiki Beach

How did you like Ala Moana Beach Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -157.850000000000
Latitude: 21.289400000000

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Hiking, whales and bodyboarding at Makapuu Beach Park Watching bodyboarders in the massive waves, lazing in the warm s...

Duke Kahanamoku statue

The statue of Hawaii's most famous surfer, Duke Kahanamoku the King of the Waves, is located in the middle of Waikiki, on the famous...

Pokai Beach

Pokai Beach is located between Wai'anae Harbor and Kane'ilio Point, a peninsula on which Ku'ilioloa Heiau, an a...

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Hidden treasure of Oahu - the secluded Kawela Bay Coconut trees, calm waters and fine white sand beach. The Kawe...

Sandy Beach Park

Dream beach for experienced bodyboarders and surfers. The surfer's paradise par excellence. Sandy Beach is especially for two thing...

Ko Olina Lagoons

Lagoon beach paradise with upscale standards Fine white sand beach and calm protected water with a pinch of m...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Ala Moana Beach Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 19. Mai 2022, 02:43:47
Wetter
78° Fahrenheit
Overcast
Wind: South at 9.2 MPH (8 KT)
Surf-Conditions
4-6 feet
Nearshore: low
Offshore: high

Ala Moana Beach Park - Beschreibung

Ruhe und Entspannung inmitten der Stadt – der Ala Moana Beach Park

Gegenüber der größten Shopping Mall auf Hawaii und direkt neben dem Ala Wai Hafen lockt der Ala Moana Beach Park Besucher und Einheimische gleichermaßen an. Der lange weiße Sandstrand bietet eine ideale Alternative zu den oftmals überfüllten Stränden an der Küste von Waikiki.

Der beliebte Strand des Ala Moana Beach Parks liegt im Erholungsgebiet Ala Moana State zwischen Honolulu und Waikiki und bietet die benötigte Erholung vom hektischen Trubel der Stadt. Der breite, unendlich lange Sandstrand lädt förmlich dazu ein, eine Decke auszubreiten, sich faul in die Sonne zu legen und ab und an in das klare Wasser zu springen. Vom Strand und gleichermaßen vom Wasser aus bietet sich neben der Kulisse Honolulus auch die spektakuläre Kulisse des Diamond Head im Hintergrund. Ursprünglich wurde der Strand 1950 künstlich erzeugt, um überflüssige Baggererde zu entsorgen. Dies geschah in Küstennähe und somit in idealer Lage, um einen weiteren Strand zu schaffen. Es wurde Sand aufgeschüttet und der Ala Moana Beach war geschaffen. Die Tatsache, dass der Strand von künstlicher Herkunft ist, trübt das Badevergnügen aber keineswegs.

Das türkise Wasser ist flach und bietet sich hervorragend an, um Wassersportaktivitäten nachzugehen. Viele Einheimische und Besucher fahren Kanu, versuchen sich an Stand-up-Paddling oder schnorcheln über das Riff, welches sehr flach ist. Das Riff ist aufgrund der niedrigen Wassertiefe nicht ideal, doch dies hindert Besucher nicht, die schillernde Unterwasserwelt zu erkunden. Wer das Außenriff hinter sich lässt, hat am Ala Moana Beach ideale Bedingungen zum Surfen, die Wellen hier sind sowohl für Anfänger als auch Fortgeschrittene oder Profis geeignet und gut zu bezwingen. Ganz am westlichen Ende des Strandes reicht der Strand nur hüfttief ins Wasser und zieht an dieser Stelle besonders viele Besucher an. Wer hier ins kühle Wasser springt und sich austobt, sollte allerdings die weißen Bojen und Hinweisschilder nicht außer Acht lassen. Nach nur wenigen Metern im flachen Wasser fällt der Meeresboden abrupt 6 Meter in die Tiefe und je nach Wetter herrschen hier starke Strömungen. Der Ala Moana Beach Park bietet nicht nur Wassersportlern Freizeitvergnügen, im Park wurde eine 4 Kilometer lange Laufstrecke für Jogger errichtet und es stehen 10 beleuchtete Tennisplätze zur freien Verfügung. Ebenso lassen sich hier am Abend wunderschöne Sonnenuntergänge bestaunen. Die glühende Sonne taucht den Ozean und den Himmel tagtäglich in prächtig rotorangene Farben, bis sie letztendlich am Horizont versinkt und die Nacht über Honolulu hereinbricht.

Gut zu wissen

Einrichtungen des Beach Parks:

Der familienfreundliche Ala Moana Beach Park gibt einiges für Besucher her. Neben den Tennisplätzen und der Joggingstrecke gibt es den McCoy Pavillon, welcher für Musikveranstaltungen genutzt wird. Besuchern stehen auch Picknicktische und Grillbereiche zur Verfügung und ebenso gehören Waschräume mit Duschen und Toiletten zum Beach Park. Für die Sicherheit der Gäste des Parks sind täglich Rettungsschwimmer am Strand anwesend.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Egal ob von Waikiki oder von Honolulu aus, die Anfahrt zum Beach Park ist sowohl mit dem Auto als auch mit dem Bus denkbar einfach. Aus beiden Richtungen kommend erreicht man den Beach mit dem Auto innerhalb von 5 Minuten und kann die kostenfreien Parkplätze des Ala Moana Beach Parks nutzen. Die Anfahrt mit dem Bus dauert nur wenige Minuten länger und Besucher benötigen etwa 15 Minuten, um dorthin zu gelangen.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Ein super Strand für die ganze Familie. Von Plantschen bis Surfen, Shopping und Gastronomie, bleiben hier keine Wünsche offen. Durch die Weitläufigkeit, ist es hier nicht überfüllt.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • kostenlose Parkplätze
  • Vielfalt an Aktivitäten
  • Sonnenschirm einpacken
  • Die ruhige Alternative zum belebteren Waikiki Beach

Wie gefiel dir Ala Moana Beach Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -157.850000000000
Latitude: 21.289400000000

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's Paradies im Osten der Insel Türkisblaues Wasser und endloser feiner weißer Sandstrand, welcher flach ins Meer abf…

Haleʻiwa Beach Park

Sportlich unterwegs - Wassersport Paradies am Hale'iwa Beach Hale'iwa Beach Park lässt die Herzen von Wassersportfreunde…

Waimanalo Beach

Etwa eine halbe Autostunde entfernt vom Trubel des Waikiki Beach, liegt dieser wunderschöne, langläufige, breite und dur…

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Versteckter Schatz Oahu's - die abgelegene Kawela Bay Kokospalmen, ruhiges Wasser und feiner weißer Sandstrand. Die Kawe…

Chun’s Reef

Chun's Reef ist ein Break, ungefähr in der Mitte der 7 Meilen an Surf Breaks am North Shore Oahu's. Seinen Name erlangte…

Paradise Cove Beach

Verstecktes Paradies an der Westküste Oahu's Puderzuckerweißer Sand, grüne Kokospalmen und türkisblaues Meer. Die Paradi…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos