Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Sharks Cove

Suitable for:
Nature lovers, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Nature lovers, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Sharks Cove - Description

The dazzling underwater world of the famous Sharks Cove

A surfer's paradise in winter and a popular snorkelling destination in summer. Crystal clear water and a colourful underwater world with a variety of sea creatures invite visitors to explore the famous Sharks Cove on the North Shore of Oahu.

In the north of Hawaii lies a cove that few places in Hawaii can compete with. The famous Sharks Cove is equally known for surfing and snorkelling. During the summer months, the water becomes calmer and is a great place to explore the underwater world while snorkelling. Don't worry, despite the name, the chances of actually sighting a shark are very slim. There are different theories about how the name came about, some say the cove looks on aerial photos as if a shark had bitten out a piece of land, other theories say the complete shape should describe a shark. Everyone may decide for themselves what the truth is.

During snorkelling in the summer months, visitors are fascinated by the colourful underwater spectacle and the visibility is amazing except on rainy days. Corals are seldom but rock formations and ledges are abundant. Reason enough for countless schools of fish to cavort in Sharks Cove. Here you will find all colours, such as blue and yellow surgeonfish or colourful parrotfish. Moray eels and green sea turtles also cross the paths of adventurous snorkelers. Special attention should be paid to sea urchins, which sit in all the small holes in the rocks. At the edge of the bay, the water depth is two to four meters deep and inside the bay, it is four to six meters deep.

Once the summer months are over, Sharks Cove turns into a paradise for surfers who plunge into the gigantic waves and conquer them. In general, snorkelling is still possible then, but due to the strong swell, it is much more dangerous and not advisable. The waves have enormous power and throw you quickly onto the rock formations or the reef. This does not stop risk-taking surfers from throwing themselves into the gigantic waves. Those who come to snorkel should rather postpone this to another day in case of bad conditions for the sake of safety.

Good to know, information for visitors

Facilities at Sharks Cove:

Visitors here have the option of using washrooms with showers and toilets. A picnic area with benches and a barbeque is not given here. Nevertheless, you can quickly grab one or two delicacies at the snack bars or restaurants nearby.

Since there are no lifeguards on site at Sharks Cove, visitors should take care of themselves and others both in the water and on the beach.

Directions and parking:

The easiest way to get to the North Shore is by car. It is about an hour's drive from Waikiki. Always follow the signs to Haleiwa/North Shore on the highway and from Haleiwa keep east. After a short while, there are already signs about the famous Sharks Cove and it doesn't take long to reach the associated parking lot. Since only a few parking spaces are provided, you should be there early to get one.

Those who do not have a car can resort to the public bus, but this requires a large time investment of over two hours each way.

What we say

Tommy
One of the most beautiful snorkelling spots on the island and is absolutely recommended. Unfortunately, no longer an insider tip. Being there early is worth it.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Check weather forecast beforehand
  • Food trucks on site
  • Possibly water shoes
  • Child friendly

How did you like Sharks Cove?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -158.06282273315819
Latitude: 21.64980241105211

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Sunset Beach Park

Surfing, snorkeling and lazing on Sunset Beach A breathtaking beach of Oahu, a paradise for surfers in winter and...

Haleʻiwa Beach Park

Sporty on the way - water sports paradise at Hale'iwa Beach Hale'iwa Beach Park makes the hearts of water sports lovers...

Diamond Head

Hike to Honolulu State Monument Diamond Head offers a sensational view of the capital Hon...

Waikiki Beach

Dreamlike long sandy beaches, sparkling turquoise water and the backdrop of the famous Diamond Head in the background. ...

Bellows Field Beach Park

This beach, similar to Lanikai Beach, fascinates with the snow-white and fine sand and the bright blue color...

Nānākuli Beach Park

Nānākuli Beach is one of the top beaches on the west coast of Oahu. The sea is turquoise blue and crystal clear, the sand soft and...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Sharks Cove

Sharks Cove

Geeignet für:
Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Sharks Cove - Beschreibung

Die schillernde Unterwasserwelt der berühmten Sharks Cove

Im Winter das Surferparadies schlechthin, im Sommer ein beliebtes Ziel zum Schnorcheln. Kristallklares Wasser und eine farbenfrohe Unterwasserwelt mit einer Vielzahl an Meeresbewohnern laden Besucher förmlich ein, die berühmte Sharks Cove an der North Shore von Oahu zu erkunden.

Im Norden von Hawaii liegt eine Bucht, mit der es nur wenige Plätze auf Hawaii aufnehmen können. Die berühmte Sharks Cove ist gleichermaßen zum Surfen, aber auch zum Schnorcheln bekannt. In den Sommermonaten wird das Wasser ruhiger und die Sharks Cove eignet sich hervorragend, um beim Schnorcheln die Unterwasserwelt zu erkunden. Keine Angst, trotz des Namens sind die Chancen sehr gering, wirklich einen Hai zu sichten. Es gibt verschiedene Theorien, wie der Name zustande kam, die einen besagen, die Bucht sieht auf Luftaufnahmen aus, als hätte ein Hai ein Stück Land herausgebissen, andere Theorien besagen die komplette Form soll einen Hai beschreiben. Wie es nun wirklich ist, darf jeder für sich selbst entscheiden.

Während dem Schnorcheln in den Sommermonaten wird Besuchern ein farbenfrohes Unterwasserspektakel geboten und die Sicht ist außer an Regentagen einwandfrei. Korallen sind hier nur wenige vorzufinden, Felsformationen und Vorsprünge dafür umso mehr. Grund genug für unzählige Fischschwärme, sich in der Sharks Cove zu tummeln. Hier trifft man alle Farben an, etwa blaue sowie gelbe Doktorfische oder auch bunte Papageifische. Auch Muränen und grüne Meeresschildkröten kreuzen hier gerne mal die Wege der abenteuerlustigen Schnorchler. Besonders acht geben sollte man auf Seeigel, welche in allen kleinen Löchern der Felsen sitzen. Am Rand der Bucht ist eine Wassertiefe von zwei bis vier Metern gegeben, im Inneren sind es vier bis sechs Meter.

Sind die Sommermonate vorüber, verwandelt sich die Sharks Cove zu einem Paradies für Surfer, welche sich in die gigantischen Wellen stürzen und diese bezwingen. Generell ist schnorcheln dann noch möglich, durch den starken Wellengang ist es aber viel gefährlicher und nicht ratsam. Die Wellen verfügen über eine enorme Kraft und schleudern einen schnell auf die Felsformationen oder das Riff. Risikofreudige Surfer hält dies nicht davon ab, sich in die gigantischen Wellen zu stürzen. Wer zum Schnorcheln kommt, sollte dies bei schlechten Bedingungen der Sicherheit zuliebe lieber auf einen anderen Tag verschieben.

Gut zu Wissen, Informationen für Besucher

Einrichtungen an der Sharks Cove:

Besucher haben hier lediglich die Möglichkeit zur Verfügung gestellte Waschräume mit Duschen und Toiletten in Anspruch zu nehmen. Ein Picknickbereich mit Bänken, Grill und sonstigen Annehmlichkeiten ist hier nicht gegeben. Nichtsdestotrotz ergattert man an den gegenüberliegenden Imbissbuden oder Restaurants schnell den ein oder andern Leckerbissen.

Da an der Sharks Cove keine Aufsichten oder Rettungsschwimmer vor Ort sind, sollten Besucher sowohl im Wasser als auch am Strand auf sich selbst und andere achten.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Am einfachsten gestaltet sich die Anreise an die North Shore mit einem Auto. Von Waikiki aus sind es rund eine Stunde Fahrt. Am Highway immer den Schildern nach Haleiwa/North Shore folgen und ab Haleiwa gilt es sich östlich zu halten. Nach kurzem ist die berühmte Sharks Cove bereits ausgeschildert und es dauert nicht mehr lange, bis der zugehörige Parkplatz erreicht ist. Da nur wenig Parkplätze zur Verfügung gestellt werden, sollte man früh da sein, um einen zu ergattern.

Wer kein Auto hat, kann auf den öffentlichen Bus zurückgreifen, dies erfordert allerdings einen hohen Zeitaufwand von über zwei Stunden pro Strecke.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Einer der schönsten Schnorchelspots der Insel an den Tagen und absolut empfehlenswert. Leider kein Geheimtipp mehr. Früh dasein lohnt sich.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Wetterbericht vorher checken
  • Foodtrucks vor Ort
  • Eventuell Wasserschuhe
  • Kinderfreundlich

Wie gefiel dir Sharks Cove?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -158.06282273315819
Latitude: 21.64980241105211

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surferparadies und beliebter Badestrand - der facettenreiche Strand der Waimea Bay Surferspot oder ideale Badebucht? Wai…

Pearl Harbor

Neben den reinen Informationen zu der Sehenswürdigkeit auf Oahu möchten wir euch auch wichtige Hintergrundinformationen …

Ala Moana Beach Park

Ruhe und Entspannung inmitten der Stadt - der Ala Moana Beach Park Gegenüber der größten Shopping Mall auf Hawaii und di…

Waikiki Beach

Traumhafte lange Sandstrände, glänzend türkisfarbenes Wasser und die Kulisse des berühmten Diamond Head im Hintergrund. …

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Versteckter Schatz Oahu's - die abgelegene Kawela Bay Kokospalmen, ruhiges Wasser und feiner weißer Sandstrand. Die Kawe…

King Kamehameha I. Statue

Es gibt zahlreiche Statuen zu Ehren Kamehameha I. Ihr findet weiter unten dazu alles Wichtige (nutzt gerne das Inhaltsve…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos