Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

Suitable for:
Everyone, active traveller
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, active traveller
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 24. November 2022, 02:55:03
weather
82° Fahrenheit
Partly Cloudy
Wind: North at 8.1 MPH (7 KT)
Surf Conditions
20-25 feet
Nearshore: extreme
Offshore: extreme

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline) - Description

The multi-faceted Ehukai Beach and the famous Banzai Pipeline

During the summer months a beautiful beach, during winter the place to watch professional surfers riding the waves. Ehukai Beach in the north of Oahu is the origin of the Banzai Pipeline and is one of the world's most famous beaches among surfers. However, it is equally one of the most dangerous beaches for surfers.

Ehukai Beach in northern Oahu attracts both adventurers and sun lovers. It owes its name to its spectacular sunsets. Directly translated, the Hawaiian word Ehukai means red water. With the setting of the sun, the ocean is bathed in brilliant deep red colours every day, which are reflected in the roaring waves of the ocean. In the summer months from March to October, the weather conditions are ideal to enjoy a perfect beach day. The long, wide sandy beach invites you to spend hours relaxing in the sun or having a picnic. The turquoise sea provides much-needed cooling on hot days and is great for both swimming and snorkelling. If you want to experience the underwater world at Ehukai Beach, don't forget to bring your snorkelling gear.

In winter, however, from November to February, the beach attracts adventurers and friends of risk. The beach owes its second name, Banzai Pipeline, to the huge waves. Every year, well-known and famous surfing contests take place at Ehukai Beach, such as Billabong Pipeline Masters, the Volcom Pipe Pro or the Triple Crown of Surfing. Pipeline waves, along with Teahupoo waves, are among the most violent and unpredictable wave types in the world. As gigantic waves, they roll in the roaring ocean and break on the shallow reef of the beach. They can break in over 300 different ways depending on conditions, such as the direction, size or condition of the sandbar, and are popular among surfers worldwide because of this diversity. In addition to ideal conditions for surfing, however, unseen dangers lurk at Ehukai Beach, which have already cost lives. Not only the usual conditions, such as a rough ocean or giant waves of five to ten meters high, represent danger. At Ehukai Beach, there is also the danger of the offshore reef where the waves break. Even for experienced surfers this, this is an additional risk which often ends with broken bones. Those who are not gifted surfers or who legitimately have too much respect for the waves but still don't want to miss the spectacle can visit the beach every day to see surfers in action. If you want to dive into the cool water not only when the waves are gentle in the summer but also during the winter months, you should definitely ask a lifeguard about the current wave conditions before swimming.

Helpful information

Facilities for visitors to the beach:

Especially in the winter months when the water is full of surfers, lifeguards are very important. Lifeguards are on the beach daily from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., specializing in broken bones in addition to the familiar first aid measures.

Arrival and parking:

Visitors who want to visit the beach can easily reach it by car. The beach is located in the north of the island on Highway 83 between Sharks Cove and Sunset Beach. Those arriving by car can use the parking spaces provided free of charge. If you want, you can also take the public bus to the beach. However, this is only possible with a lot of time and a few times changing the bus.

What we say

Tommy
If you want to watch the world's best surfers perform spectacular manoeuvres, this is the place to be. But the beach is also a nice spot for sunbathing due to the yellow-golden, fine sand.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Free parking
  • In winter "The" surf spot on the North Shore
  • Fantastic sunsets
  • Pack binoculars to observe the surfers easier

How did you like Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -158.050003051760
Latitude: 21.666000366211

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kualoa Regional Park

Idyllic peace away from the city - Kualoa Regional Park A narrow strip full of white sandy beach, lined by...

Diamond Head

Hike to Honolulu State Monument Diamond Head offers a sensational view of the capital Hon...

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's Paradise in the East of the Island Turquoise waters and endless fine white sandy beach, which slopes gently into the sea....

Koko Head Crater Hike

Over railroad tracks to the top of Koko Head Craters Climbing over 1000 steps, on railroad tracks ...

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot of the whole island will make you vers...

Waimanalo Beach

About a half-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki Beach, this beautiful, long, wide and dur...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 29. November 2022, 02:55:04
Wetter
76° Fahrenheit
Light Rain
Wind: Southeast at 6.9 MPH (6 KT)
Surf-Conditions
7-10 feet
Nearshore: extreme
Offshore: extreme

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline) - Beschreibung

Der facettenreiche Ehukai Beach und die berühmte Banzai Pipeline

In den Sommermonaten ein wunderschöner Strand, im Winter der Spot, um professionelle Surfer beim Reiten der Wellen zu beobachten. Ehukai Beach im Norden Oahu’s, ist der Ursprung der Banzai Pipeline und gehört zu den weltweit bekanntesten Stränden unter Surfern. Gleichermaßen ist er allerdings auch einer der gefährlichsten Strände für Surfer.

Ehukai Beach im Norden von Oahu zieht Abenteurer und Sonnenanbeter gleichermaßen an. Seinen Namen hat er seinen spektakulären Sonnenuntergängen zu verdanken. Genau genommen bedeutet das hawaiianische Wort Ehukai zu Deutsch rotes Wasser. Mit dem Untergang der Sonne wird der Ozean jeden Tag aufs Neue in leuchtend tiefrote Farben getaucht, welche sich in den tosenden Wellen des Ozeans wieder spiegeln. In den Sommermonaten, von März bis Oktober, herrschen ideale Wetterbedingungen, um einen perfekten Strandtag zu genießen. Der lange breite Sandstrand lädt förmlich dazu ein sich stundenlang in der Sonne zu aalen oder ein ausgiebiges Picknick zu veranstalten. Das türkisblaue Meer bietet an heißen Tagen die dringend benötigte Abkühlung und ist sowohl zum Schwimmen als auch zum Schnorcheln hervorragend geeignet. Wer die Unterwasserwelt am Ehukai Beach erleben möchte, sollte nicht vergessen, sich seine Schnorchelausrüstung mitbringen.

Im Winter hingegen, von November bis Februar zieht der Strand Abenteurer und Freunde des Risikos an. Den riesigen Wellen hat der Beach seinen zweiten Namen Banzai Pipeline zu verdanken. Jährlich finden bekannte und berühmte Surfercontest am Ehukai Beach, etwa Billabong Pipeline Masters, der Volcom Pipe Pro oder der Triple Crown of Surfing statt. Pipeline Wellen gehören neben Teahupoo Wellen zu den heftigsten und unberechenbarsten Wellenarten der Welt. Als gigantische Wellen rollen sie im tosenden Ozean heran und brechen am seichten Riff des Strandes. Sie können je nach Bedingungen, etwa der Richtung, der Größe oder der Beschaffenheit der Sandbank auf über 300 verschiedene Arten brechen und sind aufgrund dieser Vielfältigkeit weltweit unter Surfern beliebt. Neben idealen Bedingungen zum Surfen lauern am Ehukai Beach allerdings unsichtbare Gefahren, welche schon Leben gekostet haben. Nicht nur die üblichen Bedingungen, etwa ein rauer Ozean oder Riesenwellen von fünf bis zehn Metern höhe, stellen die Gefahr dar. Viel mehr kommt am Ehukai Beach die Gefahr des vorgelagerten Riffs hinzu, an dem die Wellen brechen. Selbst für erfahrene Surfer stellt dies ein zusätzliches Risiko dar und endet oft mit Knochenbrüchen. Wer selbst kein begnadeter Surfer ist oder berechtigter Weise zu viel Respekt vor den Wellen hat und sich das Spektakel trotzdem nicht entgehen lassen möchte, kann den Strand tagtäglich besuchen, um Surfer in Action zu sehen. Wer nicht nur bei sanften Wellen im Sommer, sondern auch in den Wintermonaten ins kühle Nass eintauchen möchte, sollte vor dem Baden auf jeden Fall einen Rettungsschwimmer zwecks der aktuellen Wellenbedingungen ansprechen.

Hilfreiche Informationen

Einrichtungen für Besucher des Beaches:

Vor allem in den Wintermonaten, wenn es vor Surfern nur so wimmelt, sind Rettungsschwimmer ein enorm wichtiger Punkt. Täglich von 9 Uhr am Morgen bis 17:30 Uhr am Abend sind Rettungsschwimmer am Strand, welche neben den bekannten Erste-Hilfe-Maßnahmen auf Knochenbrüche spezialisiert sind.

Anreise und Parken:

Besucher, welche den Strand aufsuchen möchten, erreichen ihn am besten mit dem Auto. Der Strand liegt im Norden der Insel am Highway 83 zwischen der Sharks Cove und dem Sunset Beach. Wer mit dem Auto anreist, kann die zur Verfügung gestellten Parkplätze kostenfrei nutzen. Wer möchte, kann als Alternative auch mit dem öffentlichen Bus an den Strand gelangen. Dies ist allerdings nur mit viel Zeitaufwand und einigen Malen umsteigen möglich.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Wenn ihr die weltbesten Surfer bei spektakulären Manövern beobachten wollt, seid ihr hier genau richtig. Der Strand ist aber auch zum Sonnenbaden durch den gelbgoldenen, feinen Sand ein schöner Spot zum Verweilen.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Kostenlose Parkplätze
  • Im Winter "Der" Surfer-Spot am North Shore
  • Traumhafte Sonnenuntergänge
  • Fernglas einpacken, um die Surfer besser beobachten zu können

Wie gefiel dir Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -158.050003051760
Latitude: 21.666000366211

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Ka’au Crater Trail

Der Ka'au Crater Trail ist ein etwa 8 Kilometer langer Wanderweg mit 560 Höhenmetern. Klingt nicht wahnsinnig anstrengen…

North Shore Hike

Die Wanderung führt durch die wilden Wälder des Pūpūkea Paumalū Forest Reserve. Um dorthin zu gelangen, fährt man die St…

Ala Moana Beach Park

Ruhe und Entspannung inmitten der Stadt - der Ala Moana Beach Park Gegenüber der größten Shopping Mall auf Hawaii und di…

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's Paradies im Osten der Insel Türkisblaues Wasser und endloser feiner weißer Sandstrand, welcher flach ins Meer abf…

Haleʻiwa Beach Park

Sportlich unterwegs - Wassersport Paradies am Hale'iwa Beach Hale'iwa Beach Park lässt die Herzen von Wassersportfreunde…

Koko Head Crater Hike

Über Eisenbahnschienen auf den Gipfel des Koko Head Craters Über 1000 Treppenstufen erklimmen, auf Eisenbahnschienen …
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos