Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Iolani Palace (Honolulu)

Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
4 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Ok
Suitable for:
Everyone
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
4 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Ok

Iolani Palace (Honolulu) - Description

On the traces of Hawaii's past

Once the official residence of Hawaii's monarchs, the royal palace is visited by thousands of visitors each year. It stands in the middle of downtown Honolulu, surrounded by state-of-the-art skyscrapers in the Hawaii Capital Historic District. It represents the country's independence.

King David Kalakaua had the palace built in 1847 and it was only after the fall of the monarchy in 1893 that the palace was no longer used as a residence but for Hawaiian government purposes. After the attack on Pearl Harbor, for example, the palace served as the headquarters of the U.S. Army. It was not until 1959 that government and state offices were relocated and the first governor of Hawaii arranged for a $7.5 million restoration of the palace.

In modern times, the Iolani Palace is a well-known museum. It is open to the public and attracts locals as well as visitors from all over the world, inviting them to explore the two floors full of historical background and immerse themselves in the events with the help of various tours.

The history of the Iolani Palace

Strictly speaking, the magnificent Iolani Palace in Downtown is not the first royal palace. When King Kamehameha III moved his royal residence from Maui to Oahu (Honolulu) in 1845, he chose this magnificent palace in a coral block building, which was also named Iolani Palace.

The Iolani Palace we know was not built until the reign of King David Kalakaua in 1847. With him taking over the throne, Kalakaua originally wanted to move into the already built Iolani Palace. But here time left its mark too: the coral block building was in the worst possible condition and prompted Kalakaua to build a new one instead of renovating it.

He chose a style called American Florentine, which was characterized by unique features of Italian Renaissance architecture. He had elements incorporated that were significant to Hawaiian culture and represented its character. It was to have four magnificent corner towers, with two central towers in between, as well as covered porches that circled the entire building on the first and second floors.

The interior was also pompous and advanced for the age. Some installations were complex for the time, such as a flush toilet, and the palace had electricity before other buildings, such as the White House in Washington. The walls, furniture, and decorative items were elaborate and the reception area, suites, dining and living rooms shone with splendour.

The fall of the kingdom of Hawaii

King Kalakaua died only 2 years after moving in and Lili'uokalani, his sister, was the heiress and became ruler of the Hawaiian kingdom. She mastered her royal duties well and was born for the reign. But Lili'uokalani had plans that not everyone agreed with; she planned to replace a constitution adopted in 1887 that would return considerable power and authority to the monarchy and indigenous peoples. She made these plans about amending the constitution right after the passage of a tariff bill that crippled the Hawaiian sugar industry.

The consequences: economic problems and loss of power, which did not go unnoticed by the outside world. American and European politicians seriously considered overthrowing the Hawaiian monarchy. A first attempt was made by a group of American and European subjects in 1893. Thanks to the support of the U.S. government and also the U.S. Army, the overthrow of the Hawaiian monarchy was successful and Queen Lili'uokalani was forced to relinquish her authority. Thus, Lili'uokalani served as the first and last queen in the history of Hawaii.

The imprisonment of Queen Lili'uokalani after the fall of the monarchy

Lili'uokalani did not let the overthrow stand and tried to restore the Hawaiian monarchy in the following years. While implementing her plans, she lived in her private residence, was subsequently arrested there and returned to the throne room of Iolani Palace for her trial. She denied all charges of counterrevolution but was nevertheless declared guilty. A fine of $5,000 and five years of hard labour were the original sentences. However, after deliberations by the counterrevolution, it was amended and she was imprisoned in the Iolani Palace for about eight months.

After this, the building was designated an executive building and used purely for governmental purposes. The furnishings and belongings were completely unsuitable for governmental purposes and were auctioned off to the public. Thus, the time of kings and monarchs in the Iolani Palace was over.

The palace was used as the headquarters of the provisionally appointed government in 1893 and 1894 and it served for purposes of the Territory of Hawaii in the years from 1898 to 1959. Additionally, it served as the headquarters of the U.S. Army in times after the attack on Pearl Harbor. After those years, the palace was no longer of interest for both private and government purposes. The building fell into disrepair over the years.

It was not until 1959 that state offices were moved by the first governor of Hawaii and renovations were arranged. The palace regained its former glory, becoming a museum of Hawaii's historical events and welcoming visitors since 1978.

Iolani Palace - Museum of Hawaiian History

Since 1978 and even in today's modern age, Iolani Palace has served as a museum. It is open to the public and visitors can walk in the footsteps of Hawaiian history.

Guests enter the reception hall, the dining room and also the Great Hall on the second floor. In the Great Hall, there is an impressive staircase made from the wood of the koa tree. There are also ten portraits of Hawaiian kings to admire.

The highlight of the second floor: the throne room. The royal family used this room for diplomatic and formal affairs throughout Hawaii's history. In addition to that, this is the room where the trial of Queen Lili'uokalani was held. Visitors walk up the Koa Staircase to the second floor and marvel at the magnificent suites of the king and queen, as well as the music room and also the room where Queen Lili'uokalani was imprisoned for eight months.

One of the other highlights: access to the basement gallery. Visitors will find an exhibition of historical photographs and artefacts as well as royal Hawaiian jewels. Visitors will also be able to look at the restoration records.

Spirit or history

Everyone may answer this question for themselves. Over the many years of historical events, the Iolani Palace was always guarded by security forces and was not left out of sight.

According to the statements of the security, every day in the early morning hours, spooky events take place at the palace. Some guards report seeing outlines of a person at the windows of the imprisoned Lili'uokalani's room, while others report hearing delicate sounds of the piano from the "Blue Room" during the morning hours.

Locals who were distant relatives to King Kalākaua or Kings Kapi'olani throughout history, report hearing voices, singing, or Hawaiian music as soon as they enter the room of the imprisoned Lili'uokalani.

In 2006, on a Sunday evening, some Hawaii vacationers participated in a guided tour. This tour took them to the monument of King Kamehameha, which is located directly across from Iolani Palace. Some of the participants said afterwards to have seen a silhouette in the window of Lili'uokalani's.

Visitors who want to get to the bottom of the mysterious happenings can visit the palace anytime in the early morning hours and see for themselves if it is illusion or reality, truth or history.

Museum tours

The museum offers visitors a variety of tours to immerse themselves as authentically as possible in the events of long ago. From audio tours to guided tours to tours that give access to closed-off areas or deeper insights into history. Admission prices vary depending on the tour. Children under 5 get in free (currently). Please check before you go and reserve a tour in advance.

Guided tours with lecturers

During this tour, visitors will get deep insights into the history and former inhabitants of the palace. The tour includes all levels of the building and ends with a self-guided tour of the basement galleries.

Prices:

  • Adults: $27
  • Children aged 5 to 12: $6

Audio Tour

Visitors who prefer audio tours have Wednesdays from 13:30 to 14:30 and Fridays and Saturdays from 09:00 to 15:00 to explore the premises on their own.

Costs for this are:

  • Adults: $20
  • Children: $6

Chamberlain's Tour

The newest and most exclusive of the tours at Iolani Palace. The Chamberlain Tour gives visitors a glimpse behind closed doors for one hour on Thursdays and Fridays at 3:00 p.m. and opens new perspectives and backgrounds of life at Iolani Palace.

Small groups of up to four people, for example, are allowed to visit rooms such as the chamberlain's office suite in the basement. Here, visitors can experience the exciting stories of the former monarchs of the Iolani Palace. Furthermore, insight is provided into the royal library and also the palace galleries.

Admission:

  • Adults: $49.95
  • Children: $24.95

Special tour - the royal connections with Japan

If you want to learn more about Hawaii's deep historical background and political connections, this is the place to be. The 45-minute special tour is limited to four participants, takes visitors through restricted areas throughout the palace and unravels the connections to the Asian nation.

Tickets:

  • Adults: $49.95
  • Children: $24.95

Royal Legacy Tour

Visitors get to know the historic building from a completely new perspective on a 90-minute private tour. The guest director of the Iolani Palace personally welcomes his guests before the private tour and reveals insights about happenings and numerous political and private backgrounds.

The royal library, the throne room and the royal dining room are just a few of the rooms that will be visited. The tour ends in the Palace Gallery. You can see the enchanting crown jewels and other treasures from days gone by.

Attention: Appointments for this are only available with a reservation made beforehand.

Ticket:

  • $550

Good to know - important information for visitors

Clothes:

Swim shorts and beachwear are out of place here. Visitors are requested to dress moderately and appropriately. Anyone who does not comply will be denied entry.

Photographs:

There is nothing against recording exciting experiences of historical events. Photos, selfies, both indoors and outdoors, are allowed. However, a few guidelines and prohibitions must be observed:

  • No flash
  • No audio recordings
  • No selfie sticks

Personal Items:

For security reasons, personal items such as large bags, backpacks, or food and drinks are not allowed in the Iolani Palace.

Directions:

The palace in Honolulu's downtown can be reached easily and conveniently by rental car from Waikiki via Kapiolani Boulevard. For your own journey, we have also listed below the address and the GEO data.

A few parking spaces are available on the grounds of the Iolani Palace, alternatively, surrounding parking garages can be used.

If you prefer the bus, you can take bus number 2 or 13 from Kuhio Ave + Walina Street close to the doors of the palace. The exit stop is S Hotel Street + Alakea Street.

What we say

Jessi
If you want to immerse yourself in Hawaii's history, you will find exactly what you are looking for when you visit the ʻIolani Palace. But don't forget to make a reservation in advance! You will find the appropriate email address below.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Partial tours only with reservation, so best to book in advance
  • Bags, backpacks and food and drinks are not allowed
  • Limited parking spaces are available on the premises
  • Opening hours: 09:30 till 16:00

How did you like Iolani Palace (Honolulu)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Iolani Palace 364 South King Street Honolulu, Hawaii
Longitude: -157.85873751612877
Latitude: 21.306807163352634
Phone: +1 (808) 522-0832
Email address: [email protected]

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Hiking, whales and bodyboarding at Makapuu Beach Park Watching bodyboarders in the massive waves, lazing in the warm s...

Duke Kahanamoku statue

The statue of Hawaii's most famous surfer, Duke Kahanamoku the King of the Waves, is located in the middle of Waikiki, on the famous...

Popoiʻa Island (Flat Island)

Located only about 400 meters from the coast of Kailua Beach, this tiny island, also known as Flat Island, is a...

Laniakea Beach

Green Sea Turtle Habitat - Laniakea Beach at the North Shore White sandy beach, coconut palms, turquoise blue...

Aliʻi Beach Park (Haleʻiwa)

A few minutes' walk from Hale'iwa Town is Ali'i Beach Park, a lawn park with narrow...

Ala Moana Beach Park

Rest and relaxation in the middle of the city - Ala Moana Beach Park. Opposite the largest shopping mall in Hawaii and di...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Iolani Palace (Honolulu)

Iolani Palace (Honolulu)

Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
ok
Geeignet für:
Jedermann
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
ok

Iolani Palace (Honolulu) - Beschreibung

Auf den Spuren der Vergangenheit Hawaii’s

Einst die offizielle Residenz von Hawaiis Monarchen, wird der königliche Palast heute von tausenden Besuchern jährlich aufgesucht. Er steht inmitten Downtown Honolulu, umgeben von modernsten Wolkenkratzern im Hawaii Capital Historic District und repräsentiert die Unabhängigkeit des Landes.

König David Kalakaua ließ den Palast im Jahr 1847 errichten und erst nach dem Sturz der Monarchie im Jahr 1893 wurde der Palast nicht mehr als Residenz, sondern für Zwecke der hawaiianischen Regierung eingesetzt. Nach dem Angriff auf Pearl Harbor etwa diente der Palast als Hauptquartier der US-Army. Erst 1959 wurden Regierungs- und Staatsbüros verlegt und der erste Gouverneur von Hawaii veranlasste eine Restaurierung des Palastes in Höhe von 7,5 Millionen Dollar.

In der heutigen Zeit ist der Iolani Palast ein bekanntes Museum. Er ist der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und zieht Einheimische, wie auch Besucher von überall auf der Welt an und läd ein, die beiden Etagen voller geschichtlicher Hintergründe zu erkunden und mithilfe von verschiedenen Touren in die Geschehnisse einzutauchen.

Die Geschichte des Iolani Palastes

Genau genommen ist der prächtige Iolani Palast in Downtown nicht der erste königliche Palast. Als König Kamehameha III seine königliche Residenz im Jahr 1845 von Maui nach Oahu (Honolulu) verlegte, wählte er als seinen Palast ein prächtig erbautes Haus in einem Korallenblockgebäude, welches ebenso den Namen Iolani Palast trug.

Der uns bekannte Iolani Palast wurde erst mit der Herrschaft von König David Kalakaua im Jahr 1847 errichtet. Mit der Besteigung des Throns wollte Kalakaua ursprünglich in den bereits erbauten Iolani Palast einziehen, doch auch hier hinterließ die Zeit ihre Spuren: Das Korallenblockgebäude war in einem denkbar schlechten Zustand und veranlasste Kalakaua zu einen Neubau anstelle einer Renovierung.

Er wählte einen Stil, genannt American Florentine, welcher sich durch einzigartige Merkmale der italienischen Renaissance-Architektur auszeichnete. Dabei ließ er Elemente einarbeiten, welche für die hawaiianische Kultur von Bedeutung sind und deren Charakter repräsentieren. Vier prächtige Ecktürme sollte er haben, dazwischen zwei Mitteltürme sowie überdachte Veranden, welche das komplette Gebäude im ersten und zweiten Stock umrundeten.

Auch die Innenausstattung war pompös und für das damalige Zeitalter fortgeschritten. Es gab eine für damalige Zeiten komplexe Installationen wie eine Klospülung und der Palast hatte noch vor anderen Gebäuden, etwa dem Weißen Haus in Washington, Elektrizität. Die Wände, Möbel und Dekorationsartikel waren aufwendig gestaltet und der Empfangsbereich, die Suiten sowie Ess- und Wohnräume strahlten in königlicher Pracht.

Der Sturz des Königreiches Hawaii

König Kalakaua starb nur 2 Jahre nach dem Einzug und Lili’uokalani, seine Schwester war die Erbin und wurde Herrscherin über das hawaiianische Königreich. Sie meisterte ihre königlichen Aufgaben souverän und war der Herrschaft gewachsen. Doch Lili’uokalani hatte Pläne mit denen nicht alle einverstanden waren, sie plante eine im Jahr 1887 verabschiedete Verfassung neu zu ersetzen, welche der Monarchie und den indigenen Völkern beträchtliche Macht und Autorität zurückbringen würde. Diese Pläne über die Änderung der Verfassung brachte sie gleich nach der Verabschiedung eines Tarifgesetzes, welches die hawaiianische Zuckerindustrie lahmlegte, an.

Die Auswirkungen: wirtschaftliche Probleme und Machtverluste, welche auch für die Außenwelt nicht verborgen blieben. Amerikanische und europäische Politiker stellten ernsthafte Überlegungen an, die hawaiianische Monarchie zu stürzen. Ein erster Versuch erfolgte durch eine Gruppe von amerikanischen und europäischen Untertanen im Jahr 1893. Dank der Unterstützung von der US-Regierung und auch der US-Army war der Sturz der hawaiianischen Monarchie erfolgreich und Königin Lili’uokalani musste ihre Autorität zugrunde legen. Somit diente Lili’uokalani als erste und letzte Königin in der Geschichte Hawaiis.

Die Inhaftierung von Königin Lili’uokalani nach dem Sturz der Monarchie

Lili’uokalani ließ den Sturz nicht auf sich sitzen und versuchte in den folgenden Jahren die hawaiianische Monarchie wiederherzustellen. Während dem Umsetzen ihrer Pläne lebte sie in ihrer privaten Residenz, wurde dort daraufhin verhaftet und kehrte für ihren Prozess in den Thronsaal des Iolani Palastes zurück. Sie bestritt alle Vorwürfe der Konterrevolution, wurde trotzdem für schuldig erklärt. Eine Geldstrafe von 5000 Dollar und eine fünfjährige Zwangsarbeit waren das ursprüngliche Urteil. Nach Beratungen der Konterrevolution wurde es allerdings abgeändert und sie wurde für rund acht Monate im Iolani Palast inhaftiert.

Nach dieser Zeit wurde das Gebäude zum Exektuivgebäude ernannt und diente rein regierungsrechtlichen Zwecken. Die Einrichtung und Habseligkeiten waren für Regierungszwecke völlig ungeeignet und wurden an die Öffentlichkeit versteigert. Somit war die Zeit der Könige und Monarchen im Iolani Palast vorüber.

Der Palast wurde als Hauptquartier der provisorisch ernannten Regierung in den Jahren 1893 und 1894 genutzt, diente für Zwecke des Territoriums von Hawaii in den Jahren von 1898 bis 1959. Ebenso diente er als Hauptquartier der US-Army in Zeiten nach dem Angriff auf Pearl Harbor. Nach diesen Jahren war der Palast sowohl für private als auch für Zwecke der Regierung nicht mehr von Interesse. Das Gebäude verfiel mit den Jahren.

Erst im Jahr 1959 wurden Staatsbüros durch den ersten Gouverneur von Hawaii verlegt und Renovierungsarbeiten wurden veranlasst. Der Palast erlangte seinen alten Glanz zurück, wird zum Museum der geschichtlichen Ereignisse Hawaiis und empfängt seit 1978 Besucher.

Iolani Palast – Museum der hawaiianischen Geschichte

Seit 1978 und auch im heutigen modernen Zeitalter dient der Iolani Palast als Museum, ist der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und Besucher können auf den Fußspuren der hawaiianischen Geschichte wandeln.

Gäste betreten die Empfangshalle, den Speisesaal und auch die Große Halle im ersten Stock. In der großen Halle befindet sich eine pompöse Treppe welche aus dem Holz des Koa Baums gefertigt wurde. Zu bestaunen gibt es hier ebenso zehn Porträts der hawaiianischen Könige.

Das Highlight der ersten Etage: der Thronsaal. Die königliche Familie nutzten diesen Saal in der Geschichte Hawaiis für diplomatische und formelle Angelegenheiten. Ebenso ist dies der Saal, in dem der Prozess gegen Königin Lili’uokalani geführt wurde. Über die Koa Treppe wandeln Besucher in die zweite Etage und bestaunen die prunkvollen Suiten des Königs und der Königin sowie das Musikzimmer und auch das Zimmer, in welchem Königin Lili’uokalani acht Monate inhaftiert war.

Eines der weiteren Highlights: der Zugang zur Kellergalerie. Hier finden Besucher eine Ausstellung von historischen Fotografien und Artefakten, etwas königliche hawaiianische Juwelen. Ebenso wird Besuchern ein Blick auf die Restaurationsunterlagen ermöglicht.

Geist oder Geschichte

Diese Frage darf jeder für sich selbst beantworten. Über die vielen Jahre der geschichtlichen Geschehnisse war der Iolani Palast immer von Sicherheitskräften bewacht und wurde nicht aus den Augen gelassen.

Laut Aussagen der Security spielen sich täglich in den frühen Morgenstunden schauerhafte Ereignisse am Palast ab. Einige Wachen berichten Umrisse einer Person an den Fenstern des Zimmers der inhaftierten Lili’uokalani gesehen zu haben, andere wiederum berichten während der Morgenstunden zarte Klänge des Klaviers aus dem “Blauen Raum” zu vernehmen.

Einheimische, welche im Laufe der Geschichte weit entfernte Verwandte zu König Kalākaua oder Königen Kapi’olani waren, berichten von Stimmen, Gesang oder hawaiianischer Musik, sobald sie das Zimmer der inhaftierten Lili’uokalani betreten.

Im Jahr 2006 nahmen an einem Sonntagabend einige Urlauber Hawaiis an einer geführten Tour teil. Diese Tour führte an das Denkmal des Königs Kamehameha, welches direkt gegenüber dem Iolani Palast liegt. Einige der Teilnehmer erzählten im Nachhinein eine Silhouette im Fenster von Lili’uokalani’s gesehen zu haben.

Besucher, die den mysteriösen Geschehnissen auf den Grund gehen möchten, können den Palast jederzeit in den frühen Morgenstunden aufsuchen und sich von Illusion oder Realität sowie Wahrheit und Geschichte überzeugen.

Touren im Museum

Das Museum bietet Besuchern verschiedene Touren, um möglichst authentisch in die längst vergangenen Geschehnisse einzutauchen. Von Audio Touren über geführte Touren bis hin zu Touren, die Zugang zu abgesperrten Bereichen oder tiefere Einblicke in die Geschichte geben. Die Eintrittspreise variieren je nach Tour. Kinder unter 5 Jahren bekommen (aktuell) kostenfreien Zugang. Bitte informiert euch vor Reiseantritt und reserviert im Vorfeld eine Tour.

Von Dozenten geführte Tour

Während dieser Tour bekommen Besucher tiefe Einblicke in die Geschichte und die ehemaligen Bewohner des Palastes. Die Tour umfasst alle Ebenen des Gebäudes und schließt mit einer selbst geführten Tour durch die Kellergalerien ab.

Preise:

  • Erwachsene: 27 Dollar
  • Kinder im Alter von 5 bis 12 Jahren: 6 Dollar

Audio Tour

Besucher, welche Audio Touren bevorzugen, haben mittwochs von 13:30 Uhr bis 14:30 Uhr und Freitags sowie Samstags von 09:00 Uhr bis 15:00 Uhr die Möglichkeit, die Räumlichkeiten auf eigene Faust zu erkunden.

Kosten hierfür liegen bei:

  • Erwachsene: 20 Dollar
  • Kinder: 6 Dollar

Chamberlains Tour

Die neuste und exklusivste der Touren im Iolani Palast. Die Chamberlain Tour gewährt Besuchern donnerstags und freitags um 15:00 Uhr für eine Stunde Einblicke hinter verschlossene Türen und öffnet neue Perspektiven und Hintergründe des Lebens im Iolani Palast.

In kleinen Gruppen von bis zu vier Personen wird es beispielsweise ermöglicht, Räumlichkeiten wie etwa die Bürosuite des Kammerherrn im Untergeschoss zu besichtigen. Besucher erleben hier die spannenden Geschichten der ehemaligen Monarchen des Iolani Palastes. Ebenso wird Einblick in die Königsbibliothek und auch die Palastgalerien gewährt.

Eintritt:

  • Erwachsene: 49,95 Dollar
  • Kinder: 24,95 Dollar

Spezialtour – die königlichen Verbindungen zu Japan

Wer mehr über die tiefen geschichtlichen Hintergründe und politischen Beziehungen Hawaiis erfahren möchte, ist hier absolut richtig. Die 45 minütige Spezialtour ist begrenzt auf vier Teilnehmer, führt Besucher durch Sperrbereiche des gesamten Palastes und lüftet die Verbindungen zur asiatischen Nation.

Tickets:

  • Erwachsene: 49,95 Dollar
  • Kinder: 24,95 Dollar

Royal Legacy Tour

Besucher lernen das historische Gebäude auf einer 90 minütigen Privattour aus ganz neuen Perspektiven kennen. Der Gästedirektor des Iolani Palastes begrüßt seine Gäste persönlich, bevor die Privattour Einblicke über Geschehnisse und zahlreiche politische und private Hintergründe offenlegt.

Die Königsbibliothek, der Thronsaal oder der königliche Speisesaal sind nur wenige der Räumlichkeiten, welche besichtigt werden. Ihren Abschluss findet die Tour in der Palastgalerie. Dort können die bezaubernden Kronjuwelen und weitere Schätze aus vergangenen Tagen besichtigt werden.

Achtung: Termine hierfür gibt es nur nach vereinbarter Reservierung.

Ticket:

  • 550 Dollar

Gut zu Wissen – wichtige Informationen für Besucher

Kleidung:

Badeshorts und Strandkleidung sind hier fehl am Platz. Besucher werden aufgefordert, sich moderat und angemessen zu kleiden. Wer sich nicht daran hält, dem wird im Zweifel der Zutritt verwehrt.

Fotografieren:

Es spricht nichts dagegen, die spannenden Erlebnisse zu den geschichtlichen Geschehnissen festzuhalten. Fotos, Selfies sowohl im Innen- als auch Außenbereich sind gestattet. Ein paar Richtlinien und Verbote gilt es trotzdem zu beachten.

  • keine Fotos mit Blitz
  • keine Audioaufzeichnungen
  • keine Selfiesticks

Persönliche Gegenstände:

Der Sicherheit wegen sind persönliche Gegenstände, etwa große Taschen, Rucksäcke oder Essen und Getränke im Iolani Palast nicht gestattet.

Anfahrt:

Der Palast in Honolulus Downtown ist mit dem Mietwagen von Waikiki aus einfach und bequem über den Kapiolani Boulevard zu erreichen. Für die eigene Anfahrt haben wir euch weiter unten auch die Adresse und die GEO-Daten aufgeführt.

Ein paar wenige Parkplätze sind auf dem Grundstück des Iolani Palastes vorhanden, alternativ kann auf umliegende Parkhäuser ausgewichen werden.

Wer den Bus bevorzugt, kann mit Bus Nummer 2 oder 13 von der Kuhio Ave + Walina Street quasi bis vor die Türen des Palastes fahren. Ausstiegshaltestelle ist S Hotel Street + Alakea Street.

Das sagen wir

Jessi
Wer einmal in Hawaiis Geschichte eintauchen will, findet beim Besuch im ʻIolani-Palast genau was er sucht. Doch vergesst nicht vorab zu reservieren! Weiter unten findet ihr dazu die passende Email-Adresse.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Teilweise Touren nur mit Reservierung, also am besten vorab buchen
  • Taschen, Rücksäcke sowie Lebensmittel und Getränke sind nicht erlaubt
  • Auf dem Gelände sind limitierte Parkplätze vorhanden
  • Öffnungszeiten: 09:30 Uhr bis 16:00 Uhr

Wie gefiel dir Iolani Palace (Honolulu)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Iolani Palace 364 South King Street Honolulu, Hawaii
Longitude: -157.85873751612877
Latitude: 21.306807163352634
Telefon: +1 (808) 522-0832

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Chun’s Reef

Chun's Reef ist ein Break, ungefähr in der Mitte der 7 Meilen an Surf Breaks am North Shore Oahu's. Seinen Name erlangte…

Keawaʻula Beach

Die lange Autofahrt von Honolulu bis zum Keawa'ula Beach, dem letzten Strand ans der Nordostküste Oahu's, lohnt jeden Ki…

Dole Ananas Plantage

Halakahiki, die tropisch süße Frucht Hawaii's. Vor vielen hundert Jahren kam die weltweit beliebte Ananas durch Christop…

Sandy Beach Park

Traumstrand für erfahrene Bodyboarder und Surfer Das Surferparadies schlechthin. Sandy Beach ist vor allem für zwei Ding…

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Hiking, Wale und Bodyboarden im Makapuu Beach Park Bodyboarder in den gewaltigen Wellen beobachten, faul in der warmen S…

Popoiʻa Island (Flat Island)

Nur ca. 400 m von der Küste des Kailua Beach entfernt, liegt diese winzige Insel, die auch unter dem Namen Flat Island b…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos