Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Suitable for:
Active vacationer
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Active vacationer
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free

Details of the beach

Ausstattung am Makapuʻu Beach Park
(Available: Showers, Toilets, Picnic tables, Lifeguard)
The beach is popular for:
(Known for: Sunrise, Bodyboarding)
Beach material
Sand fine
Sand color
Yellow/Gold
Area
92000 sqm
Entry into the sea
mixed
Sight in the sea
Very clear

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 4. July 2022, 02:43:46
Weather
79° Fahrenheit
Overcast
Wind: Northeast at 11.5 MPH (10 KT)
Surf Conditions
4-6 feet
Nearshore: high
Offshore: high

Makapuʻu Beach Park - Description

Hiking, whales and bodyboarding at Makapuu Beach Park

Watch bodyboarders in the massive waves, lie lazily in the warm sun or hike to the Makapuu Lighthouse lookout. Hidden by black lava cliffs and surrounded by Hawaii's green nature, Makapuu Beach Park in east Oahu is a popular destination.

Lined by black cliffs, Makapu Beach Park is located at the foot of the cliffs in the east of the island. Even from the highway, the view is breathtaking and it is not for nothing that the route is one of the most beautiful highway sections on all of Oahu. The highway was carved into the massive stone of the black lava rock mountains, winds along the cliffs and offers a unique view of the picturesque Makapuu Beach, the sparkling turquoise blue water as well as the two offshore islands Rabbit Island and Kaohikaipu Island. The beach of Makapuu Beach Park is a popular destination especially for bodyboarders.

For professionals here are the ideal conditions for bodyboarding. But beware, beginners and those who are insecure should rather keep their hands off bodyboarding here. The waves at Makapuu beach are full of violence and very dangerous. Even near the beach and for good swimmers, the waves are much too powerful and whirl everyone who is in the water around with full force. Unfortunately, many accidents have happened on this beach and this is also the reason why the red flag is hoisted almost all year round. Those who shy away from the cool water anyway and visit beaches for sunbathing can spend relaxing days at Makapuu Beach. Here you can lie lazily in the sun all day, stretch your toes in the warmed sand and watch the adventurous surfers.

The Makapuu Beach Park offers another highlight. If you can't stand lying in the blazing sun for hours, you can take a 2-kilometer hike from the beach to the Makapuu Lighthouse. The paved path there winds through the green nature of Hawaii, past the steep cliffs of the coast to the Lighthouse. The lighthouse offers a breathtaking panoramic view of the neighboring Rabbit Island and Kaohikaipu Island. On the way to the lighthouse there is a built lookout point and with a little luck whales can be observed, which pass this point from December to March on their journey.

Directions and parking:

Makapuu Beach Park is about 25 minutes away from Waikiki and easy to reach from there. Via Highway 72, past the famous Hanauma Bay, the parking lot of the beach park is shortly after on the right side. The beach is just as easy to reach by bus. Just take bus number 22 from the beach in Waikiki, get off at Sea World and walk to the opposite beach.

What we say

Tommy
Adventurers and adrenaline junkies get their money's worth when bodyboarding on this beach. But also watching the breathtaking maneuvers of the surfers in the gigantic waves is a highlight for visitors.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Whale watching from December to March
  • Bodyboaders Paradise
  • Strong waves, too dangerous for swimming
  • Visit the lighthouse and enjoy the view
  • Free parking

How did you like Makapuʻu Beach Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -157.659906329200
Latitude: 21.310951850300

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Bellows Field Beach Park

This beach, similar to Lanikai Beach, fascinates with the snow-white and fine sand and the bright blue color...

Ka'au Crater Trail

The Ka'au Crater Trail is about 8 kilometers long hiking trail with 560 meters of altitude. It doesn't sound too strenuous...

Keawaʻula Beach

The long drive from Honolulu to Keawa'ula Beach, the last beach on Oahu's northeastern coast, is worth every trip.

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Wai...

Iolani Palace (Honolulu)

On the trail of Hawaii's past Once the official residence of Hawaii's monarch, the royal pa...

Sharks Cove

The dazzling underwater world of the famous Sharks Cove. In winter the surfer's paradise par excellence, in summer a popular...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 19. September 2021, 02:44:53
Wetter
81° Fahrenheit
Partly Cloudy
Wind: from the East at 16.1 gusting to 21.9 MPH (14 gusting to 19 KT)
Surf-Conditions
4-6 feet
Nearshore: high
Offshore: high

Makapuʻu Beach Park - Beschreibung

Hiking, Wale und Bodyboarden im Makapuu Beach Park

Bodyboarder in den gewaltigen Wellen beobachten, faul in der warmen Sonne liegen oder zum Makapuu Lighthouse Aussichtspunkt hiken. Verborgen von schwarzen Lavaklippen und umgeben von der grünen Natur Hawaii’s ist der Makapuu Beach Park im Osten Oahu’s ein beliebtes Ziel.

Gesäumt von schwarzen Klippen liegt an deren Fuß im Osten der Insel der Makapu Beach Park. Schon vom Highway aus bietet sich eine atemberaubende Sicht und nicht umsonst gehört die Strecke zu den schönsten Highway Abschnitten auf ganz Oahu. Der Highway wurde in den massiven Stein des schwarzen Lavasteingebirges gehauen, schlängelt sich an den Klippen entlang und bietet eine einmalige Sicht auf den malerischen Makapuu Beach, das strahlende türkisblaue Wasser sowie die beiden vorgelagerten Inseln Rabbit Island und Kaohikaipu Island. Der Strand des Makapuu Beach Parks ist besonders bei Bodyboardern ein beliebtes Anlaufziel.

Für Profis herrschen hier die idealen Bedingungen zum Bodyboarden. Aber Achtung, Anfänger und wer unsicher ist, sollte hier lieber die Finger vom Bodyboarden lassen. Die Wellen am Makapuu Strand sind voller Gewalt und sehr gefährlich. Selbst in Strandnähe und für gute Schwimmer sind die Wellen viel zu kraftvoll und wirbeln jeden, der im Wasser ist, mit voller Wucht herum. Leider sind an diesem Strand schon viele Unfälle passiert und dies ist auch der Grund, weswegen fast das ganze Jahr über die rote Flagge gehisst ist. Wer das kühle Nass ohnehin scheut und Strände zum Sonnenanbeten aufsucht, kann am Makapuu Beach entspannte Tage verbringen. Hier kann man den ganzen Tag faul in der Sonne liegen, die Zehen in den aufgewärmten Sand strecken und die abenteuerlustigen Surfer beobachten.

Der Makapuu Beach Park bietet ein weiteres Highlight. Wer es nicht aushält, stundenlang in der prallen Sonne zu liegen, kann vom Beach einen ca. 2 Kilometer langen Hike zum Makapuu Lighthouse unternehmen. Der befestigte Weg dorthin schlängelt sich durch die grüne Natur Hawaii’s, vorbei an den steilen Klippen der Küste bis hin zum Lighthouse. Vom Leuchtturm wird einen atemberaubenden Panoramablick über die benachbarten Inseln Rabbit Island sowie Kaohikaipu Island geboten. Auf dem Weg zum Leuchtturm gibt es einen errichteten Aussichtspunkt und mit etwas Glück lassen sich Wale beobachten, welche diesen Punkt von Dezember bis März auf ihrer Reise passieren.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Makapuu Beach Park ist ca. 25 Minuten von Waikiki entfernt und von dort aus denkbar einfach zu erreichen. Über den Highway 72, vorbei an der bekannten Hanauma Bay, kommt kurz darauf der Parkplatz des Beach Parks auf der rechten Seite. Ebenso einfach ist der Strand mit dem Bus zu erreichen. Hierfür einfach Bus Nummer 22 vom Strand in Waikiki nehmen, am Sea World aussteigen und zum gegenüberliegenden Strand laufen.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Abenteurer und Adrenalinjunkies kommen beim Bodyboarden an diesem Strand voll auf ihre Kosten. Aber auch das Zuschauen der atemberaubenden Manöver der Surfer in den gigantischen Wellen ist für Besucher ein Highlight.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Von Dezember bis März Wale beobachten
  • Bodyboaders Paradise
  • Starke Wellen, zum Schwimmen zu gefährlich
  • Den Leuchtturm besichtigen und die Aussicht genießen
  • Kostenlose Parkplätze

Wie gefiel dir Makapuʻu Beach Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -157.659906329200
Latitude: 21.310951850300

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Waikiki Beach

Traumhafte lange Sandstrände, glänzend türkisfarbenes Wasser und die Kulisse des berühmten Diamond Head im Hintergrund. …

Waimanalo Beach

Etwa eine halbe Autostunde entfernt vom Trubel des Waikiki Beach, liegt dieser wunderschöne, langläufige, breite und dur…

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Eine schillernde Unterwasserwelt, feiner weißer Sandstrand und der beste Schnorchelspot der ganzen Insel wird einem vers…

Koko Head Crater Hike

Über Eisenbahnschienen auf den Gipfel des Koko Head Craters Über 1000 Treppenstufen erklimmen, auf Eisenbahnschienen …

Ka’au Crater Trail

Der Ka'au Crater Trail ist ein etwa 8 Kilometer langer Wanderweg mit 560 Höhenmetern. Klingt nicht wahnsinnig anstrengen…

Sunset Beach Park

Surfen, schnorcheln und faulenzen am Sunset Beach Ein atemberaubender Strand Oahus, ein Paradies für Surfer im Winter un…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos