Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Hilo Town

Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
06:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
10 hours
Optimal arrival time:
06:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free

Hilo Town - Description

Hilo is the largest city on the Big Island with a population of over 47,000. It is also the capital of Hawaii County and thus of the entire island. Hilo is framed by Hilo Bay, which has often been the victim of a tsunami.

Around 1900, people began to build a protective wall at Hilo Bay, but it proved useless when a 14-meter tsunami destroyed most of the city in April 1946. 159 people lost their lives. The cause of the tsunami was an earthquake off the Aleutian island of Unimak. As a result, the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center was built, which can detect and predict tsunamis at short notice with the help of sensors throughout the Pacific. On May 23, 1960, Hilo was hit by a tsunami again, in which 61 people lost their lives. The main cause of the high death toll was ignoring the warning signals. This tsunami was triggered in Chile and was the strongest quake of the 20th century with a magnitude of 9.5.

The location of the city is responsible for Hilo being one of the rainiest cities in the world. Over 3000 mm of precipitation falls annually. Due to the location on the rainy side of the island, the number of visitors on the "Hilo-Side" (east side) is significantly lower than on the warmer, dry west side. The "Kona-Side" has therefore a larger tourist volume. Nevertheless, almost a million visitors come to this small town every year with its 1950s flair, which even has its own university. Hilo is a popular starting point for visits to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which can be reached quickly via Highway 11. Helicopter flights over the volcanic areas also depart from Hilo airport. Or the famous Saddle Road, which runs from east to west and is unique because of the different vegetation and climate zones.
Nevertheless, or even because of the many rainy days, Hilo can offer some unique highlights. Where there is a lot of rain, there is also a lot of vegetation. As the Hawaiian say so well: "No rain, no rainbow. No rain, no waterfall". Therefore, in Hilo, you will find, among other things, numerous beautiful gardens with exotic plants, a dream for every nature lover.

Once in Hilo, there is something to do for everyone, from culture to shopping to nature adventures. In Hilo, you will find a lot of sights, like the Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (for star lovers), the Pacific Tsunami Museum or the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory. Shop your heart out at the Hilo Farmers Market and then relax at Queen Liliuokalani Gardens. During the Merrie Monarch Hula Festival, which takes place every year in March/April, all accommodations are fully booked. It is recommended to book early.

What we say

Florian
Sun lovers are better off on the Kona side in comparison to the west. But the Hilo side in the east is more attractive. Due to the higher rainfall, there is much more lush vegetation, waterfalls (Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls) and scenic roads leading through beautiful jungles. However, I experienced Hilo mostly in the sunshine. So it is not that bad with the rain. Also, from Hilo, the Volcanoes National Park or the towns of Pahoa and Kalapana can be reached quite quickly within 40 minutes by car. If I had to choose a site (and also the associated airport) due to limited vacation time (2-3 days), I would choose Hilo. However, if you spend a whole week on Big Island, you will manage the whole island. Another tip: For the arrival, I recommend an early flight. First of all, they are much cheaper than during the day and secondly, you will directly see the sunrise in Hilo! Backpackers can stay at the "Hilo Bay Hostel". (101 Waianuenue Avenue, www.hawaiihostel.net). You should not have large expectations here but for 32$, you get a bed in a sea view room and you can be in the city or by the water in a few minutes on foot. If you prefer something closer to nature, you can stay at Arnotts Lodge near Richardson Beach Park.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Richardson Beach Park on the outskirts of Hilo
  • Relaxing in Hilo City Park
  • Choose early flight, so you start the visit to Big Island with a sunrise.

How did you like Hilo Town?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -155.0763513657349
Latitude: 19.716376665087942

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kalapana Town

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana is not to be missed.

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Carlsmith Beach Park

At a distance of about 5 km from Hilo airport, you would hardly expect such a wonderful place. The bathing p...

Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument)

Kealakekua Bay with Captain's Cook Monument is probably one of the most historic sights in Hawaii and is located in the...

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Hilo Town

Hilo Town

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
06:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
10 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
06:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Hilo Town - Beschreibung

Hilo ist mit über 47.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt auf Big Island. Sie ist auch Hauptstadt des Hawaii County und damit der gesamten Insel. Hilo ist eingerahmt von der Hilo Bay, die oft Opfer eines Tsunamis wurde.

Um 1900 fing man an, einen Schutzwall an der Hilo Bay zu bauen, der sich aber als nutzlos herausstellte, als im April 1946 ein 14 Meter hoher Tsunami größte Teile der Stadt zerstörte. 159 Menschen kamen dabei ums Leben. Ursache für die Flutwelle war ein Erdbeben vor der Aleuten-Insel Unimak. Daraufhin wurde das Pacific Tsunami Warning Center erbaut, welches mit Hilfe von Sensoren im gesamten Pazifik Tsunamis kurzfristig erkennen und vorhersagen kann. Am 23. Mai 1960 wurde Hilo erneut von einem Tsunami heimgesucht, bei dem 61 Menschen ihr Leben ließen. Hauptursache für die hohe Anzahl an Todesopfern war das Ignorieren der Warnsignale. Dieser Tsunami wurde in Chile ausgelöst und war mit einer Magnitude von 9,5 das stärkste Beben des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Lage der Stadt ist dafür verantwortlich, dass Hilo eine der regenreichsten Städte der Welt ist. Jährlich fallen über 3000 mm Niederschlag. Aufgrund der Lage auf der Regenseite der Insel sind die Besucherzahlen auf der „Hilo-Side“ (Ostseite) deutlich geringer als an der wärmeren, trockenen Westseite. Die „Kona-Side“ hat deswegen das größere touristische Aufkommen. Trotzdem besuchen jährlich eine knappe Million Besucher das Städtchen mit 50er-Jahre-Flair, das sogar über eine eigene Universität verfügt. Hilo ist ein beliebter Ausgangspunkt für Besuche im Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, der über den Highway 11 schnell zu erreichen ist. Auch Helikopterflüge über die Vulkangebiete starten am Flughafen von Hilo. Oder die bekannte Saddle Road, die von Osten nach Westen verläuft und aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Vegetations- und Klimazonen einzigartig ist.
Dennoch oder sogar gerade aufgrund der vielen Regentage kann Hilo mit einigen einzigartigen Highlights aufwarten. Wo viel Regen ist, ist auch viel Vegetation. Wie sagt der Hawaiianer so schön: „No rain, no rainbow. No rain, no waterfall“. Daher findet man in Hilo unter anderem zahlreiche wunderschöne Gärten mit exotischem Pflanzenbestand, ein Traum für jeden Naturfreund.

In Hilo angekommen, ist von Kultur über Shopping bis hin zu Naturerlebnissen für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei. In Hilo findest du eine Menge Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie das Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawaii (für Sternen-Freunde), das Pacific Tsunami Museum oder die Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory. Auf dem Hilo Farmers Market lässt sich nach Lust und Laune einkaufen und danach im Queen Liliuokalani Gardens entspannen. Beim Merrie Monarch Hula Festival, welches jedes Jahr im März/April stattfindet, sind alle Unterkünfte ausgebucht. Frühzeitiges Reservieren macht also Sinn.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Sonnenanbeter sind an der Kona-Seite im Westen besser aufgehoben. Die Hilo-Seite im Osten ist aber ganz klar die attraktivere. Durch den höheren Niederschlag gibt es hier viel mehr üppige Vegetation, Wasserfälle (Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls) und „Scenic Roads“, die durch bombastische Dschungel führen. Allerdings habe ich Hilo meist bei Sonnenschein erlebt. So schlimm ist es also mit dem Regen nicht. Auch lässt sich von Hilo der Vulkan-Nationalpark oder die Städtchen Pahoa und Kalapana innerhalb von 40 Autominuten recht schnell erreichen. Müsste ich aufgrund begrenzter Urlaubszeit (2-3 Tage) eine Seite wählen (und auch den dazugehörigen Flughafen), so würde ich mich ganz klar für Hilo entscheiden. Wer allerdings eine ganze Woche auf Big Island verbringt, der schafft die ganze Insel. Ein weiterer Tipp: Für die Anreise empfehle ich einen frühen Flug. Erstens sind die viel billiger als tagsüber, zweitens ist man dann direkt zum Sonnenaufgang in Hilo! Backpacker kommen im „Hilo Bay Hostel“ unter. (101 Waianuenue Avenue, www.hawaiihostel.net). Große Ansprüche darf man hier nicht haben, ab 32$ bekommt man dafür aber ein Bett im Meerbett-Zimmer und ist zu Fuß in wenigen Minuten in der Stadt oder am Wasser. Wer es etwas naturnaher mag, übernachtet in Arnotts Lodge in der Nähe des Richardson Beach Parks.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Richardson Beach Park am Rande von Hilo
  • Relaxen im Hilo-Stadtpark
  • Frühen Flug wählen, so startet man den Besuch auf Big Island mit einem Sonnenaufgang.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -155.0763513657349
Latitude: 19.716376665087942

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos