Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Mauna Kea

Suitable for:
Everyone, active vacationer, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
4 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
07:00 Clock
Cost:
favorable
Suitable for:
Everyone, active vacationer, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
4 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
07:00 Clock
Cost:
favorable

Mauna Kea - Description

At over 4200 meters, Mauna Kea is one of the highest elevations in the Hawaiian archipelago. When it comes to naming the volcano, the Hawaiians are pragmatic: since the summit is often covered in ice and snow during the winter months, a volcano is simply given the name "white mountain. Measured from the seabed, it even counts as the highest mountain on earth at 10,203 meters. Because of its heavy weight, the base of the volcano has sunk into the seabed and measures a total of 17,000 meters! The bombastic volcano is therefore visible from every point on the island (in clear weather) and watches over the island like a silent observer or "head of state". Mauna Kea is considered a dormant volcano, having been inactive for 4000 years. Quite in contrast to its brother, Mauna Loa ("long mountain"), which last erupted in 1984. Moreover, the mountain is sacred to the Hawaiians (one is supposed to be able to contact deceased ancestors on the summit). Thus, there are always demonstrations against the construction of more roads or telescopes.

From Hilo, the volcano is about 56 km to the west. To do this, one usually drives the well-known Saddle Road, which winds through the middle of Big Island. No matter if you drive to the volcano at sunset or sunrise, you should plan 2 hours to be on the safe side. Passing cactus fields, through green rainforest and vast steppes, you reach the Onizuka Visitors Center at 2900 meters, which offers free guided tours to the summit of Mauna Kea every Saturday and Sunday. Starting point is the Visitor Center at 1 p.m., the tour ends around 4:30 p.m. On the summit you will find the largest observatory in the world, as well as the most powerful telescope on earth. There are even some hiking trails up there. In winter there is snow on the summit. It must be a special experience to ski or snowboard down the pink-lit craters at sunrise.

Actually, you should stop halfway through to acclimatize. However, the view of one of the most beautiful sunrises or sunsets in the world often makes you drive through. Once at the top, the fast ride is immediately noticeable. The air is extremely thin. Elderly and sick people should definitely take a short break.

What we say

Florian
The sunrise above the clouds is bombastic. I have never experienced clearer air. And it's freezing cold. I underestimated that. So you should definitely think about a winter jacket and closed shoes. Whether the sunrise or sunset is a highlight of Big Island? Certainly. But only if you plan enough time on the island. Whether it's from Hilo or Kona, with an estimated drive time of 1.5 hours easy and the time spent up there, you'll need to budget almost a full day. Not to be underestimated is the fact that the high temperature differences (from summery 30 degrees on the beach to partly below 0 degrees on the summit), driving through 11(!) climate zones, as well as over 4000 meters of altitude are a strain for the human body and one then returns relatively tired from the trip.
Tommy
A visit to Mauna Kea is a must on your trip to the Big Island. The view is incredible and there is a unique atmosphere in the air at sunrise and sunset. Simply everyone looks fascinated towards the horizon. Only with small children I recommend you the Mauna Kea rather not, because just the little ones often have problems with the "thin air".
Our checklist & tips:
  • Pack warm clothes! (jacket, closed shoes etc.)
  • The optimal time of arrival is rather according to the sunrise/sunset
  • You should be there at least 30 min. before each event.
  • With small children unfortunately not suitable

How did you like Mauna Kea?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Mauna Kea Access Rd Hilo, HI 96720 United States
Longitude: -155.46805071885427
Latitude: 19.821013666100527

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Honoliʻi Beach Park

Just a few miles north of Hilo is this surf beach popular among locals. Surfing has become very popular on H...

Pohoiki Beach (Isaac Hale Beach Park)

In the Puna District on Big Island, in the Pohoiki Bay, lies the Isaac Hale Beach Park. It is known for its strong ...

Ahalanui Park

Was unfortunately destroyed in 2018 by the then volcanic eruption / lava flow....

Akaka Falls State Park

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. An et...

Pololū Valley Hike

In the north of Big Island there are 7 deeply cut valleys. The only one that can be hiked is the ...

Rainforest to Puʻu ʻŌʻō Trail

Opinions differ about this hiking trail. Is it okay to walk it or not? In the "Ultimate Guidebook of Big Isla...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info
Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Mauna Kea

Mauna Kea

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
07:00 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
4 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
07:00 Uhr
Kosten:
günstig

Mauna Kea - Beschreibung

Mit über 4200 Metern gehört der Mauna Kea zu den höchsten Erhebungen des hawaiianischen Archipels. Bei der Namensvergabe sind die Hawaiianer pragmatisch: Da der Gipfel in den Wintermonaten oft von Eis und Schnee bedeckt ist, bekommt ein Vulkan schlicht den Namen „weisser Berg“. Vom Meeresgrund aus gemessen zählt er mit 10.203 Metern sogar als höchster Berg der Erde. Wegen seinem hohen Gewicht ist der Fuß des Vulkans in den Meeresboden eingesackt und misst insgesamt 17.000 Meter! Der bombastische Vulkan ist daher von jedem Punkt der Insel sichtbar (bei klarem Wetter) und wacht  wie ein stiller Beobachter oder „Staatsoberhaupt“ über die Insel. Der Mauna Kea gilt als schlafender Vulkan, ist er doch seit 4000 Jahren inaktiv. Ganz im Gegensatz zu seinem Bruder, dem Mauna Loa („langer Berg“), der 1984 das letzte Mal ausgebrochen ist. Zudem ist der Berg den Hawaiianern heilig (man soll auf dem Gipfel Kontakt mit verstorbenen Vorfahren aufnehmen können). So gibt es immer wieder Demonstrationen gegen den Bau von weiteren Straßen oder Teleskopen.

Von Hilo aus befindet sich der Vulkan etwa 56 km westlich. Dazu fährt man üblicherweise die bekannte Saddle Road, die sich durch die Mitte von Big Island schlängelt. Egal, ob man zum Sonnenuntergang oder Sonnenaufgang auf den Vulkan fährt, man sollte sicherheitshalber 2 Stunden einplanen. Vorbei an Kakteenfeldern, durch grünen Regenwald und weite Steppen erreicht man auf 2900 Metern das Onizuka Visitors Center, welches jeden Samstag und Sonntag kostenlose Führungen zum Gipfel des Mauna Kea anbietet. Startpunkt ist das Visitor Center um 13 Uhr, die Tour endet gegen 16:30. Auf dem Gipfel findet man die größte Sternwarte der Welt, sowie das leistungsfähigste Teleskop der Erde. Sogar einige Wanderpfade gibt es dort oben. Im Winter liegt Schnee auf dem Gipfel. Ein besonderes Erlebnis muss es sein, zum Sonnenaufgang die rosa angestrahlten Krater mit Ski oder Snowboard hinunterzufahren.

Eigentlich sollte man auf der Hälfte der Strecke halten, um sich zu akklimatisieren. Die Aussicht auf einen der schönsten Sonnenaufgänge oder Sonnenuntergänge der Welt lässt einen allerdings oft durchfahren. Oben angekommen macht sich die schnelle Fahrt direkt bemerkbar. Die Luft ist äußerst dünn. Ältere und kranke Menschen sollten sich auf jeden Fall eine kurze Pause gönnen.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Der Sonnenaufgang über den Wolken ist bombastisch. Klarere Luft habe ich noch nicht erlebt. Und saukalt ist es. Das habe ich unterschätzt. Man sollte also unbedingt an eine Winterjacke und geschlossene Schuhe denken. Ob der Sonnenauf- oder Untergang ein Highlight von Big Island ist? Gewiss. Allerdings nur, wenn man genug Zeit auf der Insel einplant. Egal, ob von Hilo oder Kona, mit einer geschätzten Fahrtzeit von 1,5 Stunden einfach und der Zeit, die man dort oben verbringt, muss man fast einen ganzen Tag veranschlagen. Nicht zu unterschätzen ist die Tatsache, dass die hohen Temperaturunterschiede (von sommerlichen 30 Grad am Strand zu teilweise unter 0 Grad auf dem Gipfel), das Durchfahren von 11(!) Klimazonen, sowie über 4000 Höhenmeter für den menschlichen Körper eine Belastung darstellen und man dann relativ müde vom Ausflug zurückkehrt.
Tommy
Zu deiner Reise nach Big Island gehört unbedingt auch der Besuch auf dem Mauna Kea. Der Ausblick ist unglaublich und es liegt eine einzigartige Stimmung beim Sonnenauf- und Sonnenuntergang in der Luft. Einfach jeder blickt fasziniert Richtung Horizont. Einzig mit Kleinkindern empfehle ich dir den Mauna Kea eher nicht, denn gerade die Kleinen haben häufig Probleme mit der "dünnen Luft".
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Packt warme Kleidung ein! (Jacke, geschlossene Schuhe etc.)
  • Die optimale Ankunftszeit richtet sich eher nach dem Sonnenauf/untergang
  • Ihr solltet mindestens 30 Min. jeweils davor da sein
  • Mit Kleinkindern leider nicht geeignet

Wie gefiel dir Mauna Kea?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Mauna Kea Access Rd Hilo, HI 96720 Vereinigte Staaten
Longitude: -155.46805071885427
Latitude: 19.821013666100527

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Pu’uhonua O Hōnaunau National Historical Park

In der „City of Refuge“, wie der hawaiianische Zungenbrecher auch genannt wird, findet der Besucher eine der authentisch…

Leleiwi Beach Park

Der Leleiwi Beach Park (Wai'uli) an der Kalanianaole Avenue ist ein beliebter, jedoch nicht überlaufener Schnorchelspot,…

Nāpau Crater Trail

Dieser Trail zeigt vielleicht am eindrucksvollsten die Kräfte des Kilauea-Vulkans. Man wird Zeuge der großen Ausbrüche d…

Kailua-Kona Town

Kailua-Kona ist für mehrere Dinge weltbekannt geworden. Allem voran vermutlich durch den Triathlon „Ironman“, der seit 1…

Carlsmith Beach Park

In einer Entfernung von ca. 5 km zum Flughafen Hilo würde man wohl kaum einen so wundervollen Platz erwarten. Der Badesp…

Kīlauea Iki Trail

Der Kīlauea Iki ist ein Krater am Rande der Caldera (Krater) des auf Big Island liegenden Vulkans Kīlauea. In der hawaii…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos
Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden