Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
1 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and overrun
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
1 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:30 Clock
Cost:
free

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River) - Description

Breathtaking and at the same time easy to reach: The northeast coast of Big Island in Hilo and the Hamakua Coast are home to some of Hawaii's most spectacular waterfalls. The northeast, with its tropical rainforests and botanical gardens, is the greenest part of the island with the most fertile soil. Besides Akaka Falls, Rainbow Falls are also part of a visit to Big Island.

Also called Waiānuenue in Hawaiian, which means "rainbow water". The 25-meter-high Rainbow Falls of the Wailuku River fall into a natural lava pool, the home of goddess "Hina". In the morning around 10, when the sun is at the right position, a rainbow forms below the falls.

Most tourists just take a photo from the lookout, but it can be explored further. From the lookout, you can walk left into a gorgeous rainforest and discover a large banyon tree. Through Fahrne, colorful flowers and lush nature, a barely visible path leads to the flow of the waterfall. In the natural pools, you can climb to the base of the waterfall and sit right on the edge. However, only when it has little water, otherwise the currents are too dangerous.
Rainbow Falls is very touristy, so it is also a popular spot for thieves. Be sure to lock your car. There are also restrooms next to the parking lot. The park opens at sunset and closes at dusk and is free of charge.

Further inland on the Wailuku River are the Peepee Falls, which end in the Boiling Pots. The pots are terraced pools in which the water bubbles as if it were boiling. They are connected by a series of cascades through which the water flows. These formations are created when basalt lava slowly solidifies. As beautiful as these natural spectacles are and as inviting as they are to swim in, one should always keep in mind that it can also be dangerous and that there are no lifeguards available there. Nevertheless, the one or other adventurer jumps from pool to pool into the pools. Otherwise, enjoy the tranquility and beautiful nature that Wailuku River State Park has to offer instead.

What we say

Florian
Like Akaka Falls, I've seen Rainbow Falls on every trip I've taken to Hawaii, since it's right in Hilo. It's no big deal to drive by quickly. The beauty of Hawaii is that nature and conditions are constantly changing. So also here. Sometimes the waterfalls have more water due to heavy rainfall, sometimes less, but the sun shines and there is often a rainbow in the morning. Tropical waterfalls can of course be admired on all Hawaiian Islands with fewer tourists and in the wild, but then mostly on hikes. As with all tourist magnets, the earlier you visit them, the more deserted they are.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Visit in the morning (less people, better weather)
  • Take rain jacket or umbrella
  • Sturdy shoes or water sandals if you want to explore the waterfalls from above
  • Camera tripod for long exposure

How did you like Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Rainbow Dr in Hilo, HI 96720
Longitude: -155.10933633261357
Latitude: 19.719242001535534

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...

Richardson Ocean Park

If you want to snorkel on the east coast of Big Island, you should definitely stop here. The beach, which is characterized by black sand and the f...

Punaluʻu Black Sand Beach

Big Island is especially known for its black lava beaches, which are constantly being rebuilt by years of volcanic ...

Hilo Town

Hilo is the largest city on the Big Island with a population of over 47,000. It is also the capital of Hawaii County and thus...

Carlsmith Beach Park

At a distance of about 5 km from Hilo airport, you would hardly expect such a wonderful place. The bathing p...

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

A small bay south of Kona, which is just for snorkeling and by its so colorful underwater world a popular...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:30 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River) - Beschreibung

Atemberaubend und gleichzeitig leicht zu erreichen: An der Nordostküste von Big Island in Hilo und an der Hamakua Coast befinden sich einige der spektakulärsten Wasserfälle von Hawaii. Der Nordosten mit seinen tropischen Regenwäldern und botanischen Gärten ist der grünste Teil der Insel mit den fruchtbarsten Böden. Neben den Akaka Falls gehören auch die Rainbow Falls zu einem Besuch auf Big Island mit dazu.

Im Hawaiianischen auch Waiānuenue genannt, was soviel bedeutet wie „Regenbogen-Wasser“. Die 25 Meter hohen Rainbow Falls des Wailuku Rivers fallen in einen natürlichen Lavapool, dem Zuhause von Göttin „Hina“. Morgens gegen 10 bildet sich bei richtigem Stand der Sonne unterhalb der Fälle ein Regenbogen.

Die meisten Touristen schießen nur ein Foto von der Aussichtsplattform aus, er lässt sich aber auch weiter erkunden. Vom Lookout aus kannst du links in einen traumhaften Regenwald spazieren und einen großen Banyon-Tree entdecken. Durch Fahrne, bunte Blumen und üppige Natur führt ein kaum sichtbarer Pfad zum Fluss des Wasserfalls. In den natürlichen Wasserbecken kann man bis zum Fuße des Wasserfalls klettern und direkt an der Kante sitzen. Allerdings nur, wenn er wenig Wasser führt, sonst sind die Strömungen zu gefährlich.
Die Rainbow Falls sind sehr touristisch, deswegen ist es auch ein populärer Spot für Diebe. Schließe deswegen unbedingt dein Auto ab. Neben dem Parkplatz gibt es auch Toiletten. Der Park öffnet zum Sonnenuntergang und schließt in der Dämmerung und ist kostenfrei.

Am Wailuku River weiter landeinwärts befinden sich die Peepee Falls, die in den „Boiling Pots“ enden. Die Pots sind terrassenartige Becken, in denen das Wasser brodelt, als würde es kochen. Sie sind über eine Reihe von Kaskaden verbunden, durch die das Wasser fließt. Diese Formationen entstehen, wenn Basaltlava langsam erstarrt. So schön diese Naturschauspiele auch sind und zum Baden einladen, man sollte immer bedenken, dass es auch gefährlich sein kann und dass dort keine Lifeguards zur Verfügung stehen. Der ein oder andere Abenteurer springt aber trotzdem von Becken zu Becken in die Pools. Ansonsten genieße stattdessen die Ruhe und herrliche Natur, die der Wailuku River State Park zu bieten hat.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Wie die Akaka Falls, habe ich die Rainbow Falls auf jeder meiner Hawaii-Reisen gesehen, liegen sie doch direkt in Hilo. Da ist es kein großer Aufwand, schnell vorbeizufahren. Das Schöne an Hawaii ist, dass sich Natur und Gegebenheiten ständig ändern. So auch hier. Mal haben die Wasserfälle mehr Wasser durch starke Regenfälle, mal weniger und es scheint dafür die Sonne und es zeigt sich morgens oft ein Regenbogen. Tropische Wasserfälle kann man natürlich auf allen Hawaii-Inseln auch mit weniger Touristen und in freier Natur bestaunen, dann allerdings meistens auf Wanderungen. Wie bei allen Touristen-Magneten gilt: Je früher man sie besucht, umso menschenleerer sind sie.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Besuch am Morgen (weniger Menschen, besseres Wetter)
  • Regenjacke oder Regenschirm mitnehmen
  • Festes Schuhwerk oder Wassersandalen, falls man die Wasserfälle von oben erkunden möchte
  • Kamerastativ für Langzeitbelichtung

Wie gefiel dir Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Rainbow Dr in Hilo, HI 96720
Longitude: -155.10933633261357
Latitude: 19.719242001535534

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Richardson Ocean Park

Wer an der Ostküste Big Island's schnorcheln will, sollte hier unbedingt Halt machen. Der durch schwarzen Sand und das f…

Kalapana Town

Wer ein Stück ursprüngliches Hawaii erleben möchte, sollte sich einen Besuch des ehemaligen Fischerstädtchen Kalapana ni…

Carlsmith Beach Park

In einer Entfernung von ca. 5 km zum Flughafen Hilo würde man wohl kaum einen so wundervollen Platz erwarten. Der Badesp…

Pohoiki Beach (Isaac Hale Beach Park)

Im Puna Distrikt auf Big Island, in der Pohoiki Bucht, liegt der Isaac Hale Beach Park. Er ist bekannt für seine starke …

Mauna Kea

Mit über 4200 Metern gehört der Mauna Kea zu den höchsten Erhebungen des hawaiianischen Archipels. Bei der Namensvergabe…

Pololū Valley Hike

Im Norden von Big Island befinden sich 7 tief eingeschnittene Täler. Die einzigen, die erwandert werden können, ist das …
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos