Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

King Kamehameha I statue

Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
0.5 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Known and much going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
0.5 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
no matter
Cost:
free

King Kamehameha I Statue - Description

There are numerous statues in honor of Kamehameha I. You'll find everything you need to know below (feel free to use the table of contents). But we also want to provide you with background information so that you are armed with the cultural knowledge when you visit these statues.

Throughout history - the poignant life of King Kamehameha

Almost every visitor to Hawaii has heard of King Kamehameha or seen the pompous statue in downtown Honolulu. King Kamehameha led a violent and brutal life, was one of the great fighters of his time, and a diplomatic leader of the Hawaiian Islands. The records of his successful battles and conquests of Big Island, Maui and also Oahu still exist today. He took on many wars and battles and because of these deeds was able to unite all of the islands under the Hawaiian Kingdom and his rule. His deeds, experiences and his stories provide fascinating insights into Hawaii's bygone days and take listeners back to days long gone.

The beginning of the history of Hawaii - the birth of King Paiea

King Kamehameha was born under the name Paiea, which means crab with a hard shell. He lived up to this name throughout history. He was born from an early age into one of the former ruling families, and the reigning ruler of Kona District was his grandfather.

Even before the birth of the king, he was predicted a life full of power, danger and adventure. According to historians and mystic priests, Paiea's birth was foretold by looking at the Kokoiki star. The star conveyed that a powerful and great leader would be born, who would rule over all the Hawaiian islands and win all the contested battles.

From the day of his birth, Kamehameha's life was full of dangers and stories of survival. Because not everyone wanted to see the young king Kamehameha alive. Some of the ruling rulers were afraid of the prophecy coming true and wanted the child to die. The young king was kidnapped before he was born, cut out of his mother's womb and taken to the mountains of Hawaii. There he was kept hidden from war and domination for years. Some may know King Kamehameha by the name -.The Very Lonely One-, the name is due to the kidnapping in babyhood.

Old enough to understand what was going on, the Kamehameha returned to his family, was taught all the arts of combat by his uncle, and gained tremendous strength. Over the years, he built up his fighting skills and progressed to become a general in the Kalani'opu'u army on Big Island.

This was when Kamehameha first encountered the world-famous James Cook. Cook had just departed from Kahului, was headed for Maui, and was trading with locals to replenish his supplies. Arriving in Kahului, Cook's ships were greeted by royal double-hulled canoes and their entire crews were invited aboard by Cook. Among the crew members at that time was General Kamehameha. He stayed aboard the ship all night and learned in detail about technologies and the armor of the Europeans. He was fascinated by the battle strategies and admired the weapons from the western country.

In 1782, Kamehameha's uncle died and, contrary to expectations, did not leave the rule of Big Island to his own son, but to Kamehameha. In a very short time, he fought with various districts and island chains, first conquering the island of Maui in 1970. Thanks to Western allies, such as Isaac Davis, Kamehameha possessed weapons that his opponents did not have. When the then ruler of the island of Maui, Kahekilis, was on Oahu to form political alliances, Kamehameha attacked and secured victory over Kahekilis' forces and Maui with the new Western weapons.

The Battle of Oahu and the Unification of Hawaii

Lahaina was named the first capital of Hawaii by Kamehameha and was the center of Hawaiian government for over fifty years. Kamehameha gathered all his warriors on the shores of the capital to plan and prepare for the invasion of Oahu.

Four ships with over eight thousand warriors made their way to Oahu. It was stormed, fought, and developed into an imposing and formidable battle on the summit of Nuʻuanu Pali. Thousands of Kalanikūpules warriors were pushed down the steep cliffs and the battle went down in history as the Battle of Nuʻuanu. When the then ruler of Oahu, Kalanikūpule, admitted defeat, he took refuge in the surrounding mountains and hid for several months until he was found by warriors. He was sacrificed to the gods and his death was the end of his rule over the kingdom of Maui.

Now only Kauais remains to be conquered. But the ruler of the time, Ka'umu'ali'i, proposed a deal to avoid an impending war. Thus, in 1810, Kamehameha was the first king over the entire Hawaiian island kingdom.

The unification of all the Hawaiian islands was an important point in Hawaii's history. Had it not been for Kamehameha, the islands would likely have been torn apart under separate rulers and would never have developed as we know them today.

Life away from battles and war

Throughout his reign, the king lived strictly by the kapu system, despite Western connections and friendships. A Hawaiian prescribed set of rules, which defines exactly which actions are allowed or forbidden. It referred, for example, to political matters or the religions of the population. Also the distribution of tasks of the different sexes in the community are strictly defined by the Kapu system.

King Kamehameha is estimated to have had about 30 wives and a total of 35 children by 18 of the wives. He did not father any children with the remaining 12 wives. The holiest of his wives was Keopuolani. The joint children and grandchildren continued the ruling career of the Kamehameha family for several years after the king's death.

Statues in honor of the King Kamehameha

To ensure that Kamehemeha's deeds and great actions for the Hawaiian Kingdom are not forgotten, four commissioned statues stand in Hawaii and America to honor and celebrate him even after his death.

Oahu (Honolulu)

The most famous of the statues stands in front of the Justice Building in downtown Honolulu. Directly opposite the world-famous Iolani Palace and only a stone's throw away from cafes, restaurants or art galleries. Officially, the statue was requested from Europe and transported to Honolulu by ship. For inexplicable reasons, this ship was lost on the ocean and a second statue was made, which was inaugurated in 1883.

Address: 447 S King St, Honolulu, HI 96813

Big Island (Kohala)

Years after the disappearance of the first statue, the ship was mysteriously recovered and the statue was transported to Kohala. Since 1912, it has stood near the birthplace of Kamehameha in Kapaau (not far from Kohala). Thus, the actual original is not on Oahu, but Big Island to admire 🙂

Address: Akoni Pule Hwy / kapauu rd intersection, Kapaau, HI 96755.

Washington DC

The third of the Kamehameha statues can be admired by visitors since 1969 in the National Statuary Hall of the United States of America in Washington DC. There are statues of important historical figures from all states of the USA. In total, there are 50 statues to admire.

Big Island (Hilo)

In Hilo, visitors will find the largest of the Kamehameha statues in Wailoa State Park. Hilo was the site of the king's first seat of government and, since 1997, one of the popular statues.

Address: 774 Kamehameha Ave, Hilo, HI 96720

Celebrations and events in honor of King Kamehameha

Since the earliest events, June 11 has been a Hawaiian holiday and celebratory events are held in honor of Kamehemaha. Large celebrations with lavish selections of food and drink are planned in extensive preparations. On this day, the aloha of Hawaii is lived more than on any other day in Hawaii. Hospitality and exuberant get-togethers are at the top of the agenda.

But only with festivals, culinary delicacies and drinks it is far from being done. Since the earliest records, horse races, sporting events, parades and even festivals are said to have taken place on King Kamehameha's Day. Thus, each of the Hawaiian islands celebrates the holiday in its own way.

Oahu (Honolulu)

The parade on Oahu is the most outlandish and extravagant parade of all. Thousands of residents and even vacationers join the happy crowds and line the streets of Honolulu's downtown. Around 9 a.m., the statue of King Kamehameha is decorated with lei (flower necklaces) and the parade wanders in a boisterous mood from the statue to Iolani Palace and all the way to the base of Diamond Head in Queen Kapi'olani Park in Waikiki.

Maui (Lahaina)

There is something special and extravagant about the parade in Lahaina. It is not just any parade, it includes a Pa'u parade. Wahine (women), who are dressed in stunning robes and adorned with flower necklaces, form part of the parade and ride down the spectator-lined streets on the backs of proud horses. In some years, the celebrations are combined with a Ho'olaule'a, a Hawaiian music festival, and the city becomes one big celebration over several days.

Maui (Kahului)

A beautiful procession along Kaahumanu Avenue in Kahului commemorates King Kamehameha. Surrounded by the imposing Maui Mountains and the Iao Valley, this makes a fascinating backdrop for such a holiday.

What we say

Our checklist & tips:
  • On Oahu (Honolulu) is -actually- the second statue, because the first one was thought to be lost after a shipwreck.
  • The original is located in Hilo (address: intersection of Akoni Pule Hwy / kapauu rd, Kapaau, HI 96755).

How did you like King Kamehameha I statue?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

447 S King St Honolulu, HI 96813
Longitude: -157.859613
Latitude: 21.306037

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Paradise Cove Beach

Hidden paradise on the west coast of Oahu Powder sugar white sand, green coconut palms and turquoise blue sea. The paradi...

Aliʻi Beach Park (Haleʻiwa)

A few minutes' walk from Hale'iwa Town is Ali'i Beach Park, a lawn park with narrow...

Kualoa Regional Park

Idyllic peace away from the city - Kualoa Regional Park A narrow strip full of white sandy beach, lined by...

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Wai...

Nānākuli Beach Park

Nānākuli Beach is one of the top beaches on the west coast of Oahu. The sea is turquoise blue and crystal clear, the sand soft and...

Diamond Head

Hike to Honolulu State Monument Diamond Head offers a sensational view of the capital Hon...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

King Kamehameha I. Statue

King Kamehameha I. Statue

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
0.5
Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt und viel los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
0.5
Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

King Kamehameha I. Statue - Beschreibung

Es gibt zahlreiche Statuen zu Ehren Kamehameha I. Ihr findet weiter unten dazu alles Wichtige (nutzt gerne das Inhaltsverzeichnis). Doch möchten wir euch auch Hintergrundinformationen liefern, so dass ihr mit dem kulturellen Wissen gewappnet seid, wenn ihr diese Statuen besucht.

Im Wandel der Geschichte – das ergreifende Leben von König Kamehameha

Fast jeder Besucher Hawaiis hat schon von König Kamehameha gehört oder die pompöse Statue in Downtown Honolulu besichtigt. König Kamehameha führte ein gewalttätiges und brutales Leben, war einer der großen Kämpfer seiner Zeit und ein diplomatischer Führer der hawaiianischen Inseln. Noch heute existieren die Aufzeichnungen seiner erfolgreichen Schlachten und Eroberungen von Big Island, Maui und auch Oahu. Er nahm viele Kriege und Schlachten auf sich und war aufgrund dieser Taten in der Lage, alle der Inseln unter dem hawaiianischen Königreich und seiner Herrschaft zu vereinen. Seine Taten, Erlebnisse und seine Geschichten geben faszinierende Einblicke in vergangenen Zeiten Hawaiis und entführen Zuhörer zurück in längst vergangene Tage.

Der Beginn der Geschichte Hawaiis – die Geburt des Königs Paiea

Geboren wurde König Kamehameha unter dem Namen Paiea, was zu Deutsch so viel wie Krabbe mit harter Schale bedeutet. Diesem Namen machte er im Laufe der Geschichte alle Ehre. Er wurde von klein auf in eine der früher herrschenden Familien geboren und der regierende Herrscher des Kona-Distriktes war sein Großvater.

Schon vor der Geburt des Königs wurde ihm ein Leben voller Macht, Gefahr und Abenteuern vorausgesagt. Laut Aussagen von Historikern und mystischen Priestern war die Geburt Paieas mit dem Betrachten des Kokoiki Sterns hervorsehbar. Der Stern vermittelte, dass ein mächtiger und großer Anführer zur Welt kommt, welcher die Herrschaft über alle hawaiianischen Inseln übernimmt und alle angetretenen Schlachten gewinnen wird.

Ab dem Tag seiner Geburt war Kamehameha’s Leben voller Gefahren und Überlebensgeschichten. Denn nicht jeder wollte den jungen König Kamehameha am Leben sehen. Einige der regierenden Herrscher hatten Angst vor dem Eintreten sowie Bewahrheiten der Prophezeiung und wollten den Tod des Kindes. Der junge König wurde noch vor der Geburt entführt, aus dem Leib der Mutter herausgeschnitten und in die Berge Hawaiis verschleppt. Dort wurde er jahrelang vor Krieg und Herrschaft verborgen gehalten. Manch einer kennt König Kamehameha vielleicht unter dem Namen –The Very Lonely One-, der Name ist auf die Entführung im Babyalter zurückzuführen.

Alt genug zu verstehen, was vor sich ging, kehrte der Kamehameha zu seiner Familie zurück, wurde von seinem Onkel in sämtlichen Künsten des Kampfes unterrichtet und erlangte enorme Stärke. Über die Jahre baute er seine Kampffähigkeiten aus und entwickelte sich weiter bis hin zum General in der Kalani’opu’u-Armee auf Big Island.

Dies war der Zeitpunkt, als Kamehameha zum ersten Mal auf den weltbekannten James Cook traf. Cook hatte gerade in Kahului abgelegt, war in Richtung Maui unterwegs und handelte mit Einheimischen, um seine Vorräte aufzufüllen. In Kahului angekommen, wurden die Schiffe von Cook durch königliche Doppelhüllenkanus begrüßt und deren gesamte Besatzung wurde von Cook an Bord eingeladen. Unter den Besatzungsmitgliedern war damals auch der General Kamehameha. Er blieb die ganze Nacht an Bord des Schiffes und informierte sich eingehend über Technologien und die Rüstungen der Europäer. Er war fasziniert von den Kampfstrategien und bewunderte die Waffen aus dem westlichen Land.

Im Jahr 1782 starb der Onkel von Kamehameha und hinterließ, anders als erwartet, nicht seinem eigenen Sohn, sondern Kamehameha die Herrschaft über Big Island. In kürzester Zeit kämpfte er mit verschiedenen Distrikten und Inselketten und eroberte 1970 als Erstes die Insel Maui. Dank westlicher Verbündeter, etwa Isaac Davis, besaß Kamehameha Waffen, welche seine Gegner nicht hatten. Als der damalige Herrscher der Insel Maui, Kahekilis, gerade auf Oahu war, um politische Allianzen zu bilden, griff Kamehameha an und sicherte sich mit den neuen westlichen Waffen den Sieg über Kahekilis Streitkräfte und Maui.

Die Schlacht von Oahu und die Vereinigung Hawaiis

Lahaina wurde durch Kamehameha zur ersten Hauptstadt Hawaiis ernannt und war über fünfzig Jahre der Mittelpunkt der hawaiianischen Regierung. Kamehameha versammelte all seine Krieger an den Ufern der Hauptstadt, um die Invasion Oahus zu planen und vorzubereiten.

Vier Schiffe mit über achttausend Kriegern machten sich auf den Weg nach Oahu. Es wurde gestürmt, gekämpft und entwickelte sich zu einer imposanten und gewaltigen Schlacht auf dem Gipfel des Nuʻuanu Pali. Tausende von Kalanikūpules Kriegern wurden die steilen Klippen hinuntergestoßen und die Schlacht ging als Schlacht von Nuʻuanu in die Geschichte ein. Als der damalige Herrscher von Oahu, Kalanikūpule, seine Niederlage eingestand, flüchtete er sich in die umliegenden Berge und versteckte sich einige Monate, bis er von Kriegern gefunden wurde. Er wurde den Göttern geopfert und sein Tod war das Ende seiner Herrschaft über das Königreich Maui.

Nun bleibt nur noch Kauais über, welche es zu erobern gilt. Doch der damalige Herrscher Ka’umu’ali’i schlug einen Handel vor, um einen bevorstehenden Krieg zu vermeiden. So war Kamehameha im Jahr 1810 erster König über das gesamte hawaiianische Inselreich.

Die Vereinigung aller hawaiianischen Inseln war ein wichtiger Punkt in der Geschichte Hawaiis. Wäre Kamehameha nicht gewesen, wären die Inseln unter separaten Herrschern wahrscheinlich auseinandergerissen worden und hätten sich nie so entwickelt, wie sie uns heutzutage bekannt sind.

Das Leben abseits von Schlachten und Krieg

Während der gesamten Regierungszeit lebte der König trotz westlicher Verbindungen und Freundschaften strikt nach dem Kapu-System. Ein hawaiianisches vorgeschriebenes Regelwerk, welches genau definiert, welche Handlungen erlaubt oder untersagt sind. Es bezog sich etwa auf politische Angelegenheiten oder die Religionen der Bevölkerung. Auch die Aufgabenverteilung der verschiedenen Geschlechter in der Gemeinschaft werden vom Kapu-System strikt definiert.

König Kamehameha hatte nach Schätzungen zufolge etwa 30 Ehefrauen und insgesamt 35 Kinder von 18 der Frauen. Mit den restlichen 12 Frauen hat er keine Kinder gezeugt. Die heiligste seiner Frauen war Keopuolani. Die gemeinsamen Kinder und Enkelkinder setzen die herrschende Laufbahn der Kamehameha-Familie noch etliche Jahre nach dem Tod vom König fort.

Statuen zu Ehren des Königs Kamehameha

Um die Taten und großartigen Handlungen Kamehemehas für das hawaiianische Königreich nicht in Vergessenheit geraten zu lassen, stehen auf Hawaii und in Amerika vier in Auftrag gegebenen Statuen, um ihn auch nach seinem Tod zu ehren und zu feiern.

Oahu (Honolulu)

Die bekanntest der Statuen steht vor dem Justizgebäude in Honolulus Downtown. Direkt gegenüber dem weltbekannten Iolani Palast und nur einen Katzensprung von Cafés, Restaurants oder Kunstgalerien entfernt. Offiziell wurde die Statue aus Europa angefordert und per Schiff nach Honolulu transportiert. Aus unerklärlichen Gründen ging dieses Schiff auf dem Ozean verloren und es wurde eine zweite Statue angefertigt, welche im Jahr 1883 eingeweiht wurde.

Adresse: 447 S King St, Honolulu, HI 96813

Big Island (Kohala)

Jahre nach dem Verschwinden der ersten Statue wurde das Schiff auf mysteriöse Art und Weise geborgen und die Statue nach Kohala transportiert. Seit 1912 steht sie nahe dem Geburtsort von Kamehameha in Kapaau (unweit Kohala). Somit ist das eigentliche Original nicht auf Oahu, sondern Big Island zu bewundern 🙂

Adresse: Kreuzung Akoni Pule Hwy / kapauu rd, Kapaau, HI 96755

Washington DC

Die dritte der Kamehameha Statuen können Besucher seit dem Jahr 1969 in der National Statuary Hall der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika in Washington DC bestaunen. Dort stehen Statuen von bedeutenden historischen Persönlichkeiten aus allen Bundesstaaten der USA. In Summe gibt es somit 50 Statuen zu bestaunen.

Big Island (Hilo)

In Hilo finden Besucher die größte der Kamehameha-Statuen im Wailoa State Park. In Hilo befand sich der erste Regierungssitz des Königs und seit 1997 auch eine der beliebten Statuen.

Adresse: 774 Kamehameha Ave, Hilo, HI 96720

Feiern und Events zu Ehren des Königs Kamehameha

Seit den frühsten Ereignissen ist der 11. Juni ein hawaiianischer Feiertag und zu Ehren Kamehemaha’s werden feierliche Events abgehalten. Große Feste mit üppiger Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken werden in umfangreichen Vorbereitungen geplant. An diesem Tag wird das Aloha des Hawaiis mehr als an jedem anderen Tag auf Hawaii gelebt. Gastfreundschaft und ausgelassenes Beisammensein steht ganz oben auf dem Programm.

Doch nur mit Festen, kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten und Getränken ist es noch lange nicht getan. Seit frühsten Aufzeichnungen sollen am Tag des König Kamehameha’s Pferderennen, Sportevents, Paraden und auch Festspiele stattgefunden haben. So feiert jede der hawaiianischen Inseln auf ihre Art und Weise den Feiertag.

Oahu (Honolulu)

Die Parade auf Oahu ist die ausgefallenste und extravaganteste Parade von allen. Tausende von Bewohnern und auch Urlauber reihen sich in die fröhlichen Menschenmengen ein und säumen die Straßen von Honolulus Downtown. Gegen 9 Uhr morgens wird die Statue des Königs Kamehameha mit Lei (Blumenketten) geschmückt und die Parade wandert in ausgelassener Stimmung von der Statue zum Iolani Palast und bis hin zum Fuß des Diamond Heads in den Queen Kapi’olani Park in Waikiki.

Maui (Lahaina)

Die Parade in Lahaina hat etwas Besonderes und Extravagantes. Es ist nicht irgendeine Parade, sie beinhaltet eine Pa’u-Parade. Wahine (Frauen), welche in atemberaubenden Gewändern gekleidet sind und mit Blumenketten geschmückt sind, bilden einen Teil der Parade und reiten auf den Rücken von stolzen Pferden die Zuschauer gesäumten Straßen entlang. In manchen Jahren wird die Feiern mit einem Ho’olaule’a, einem hawaiianischen Musikfestival verbunden und die Stadt wird über mehrere Tage zu einer einzigen großen Feier.

Maui (Kahului)

Eine wunderschöne Prozession entlang der Kaahumanu Avenue in Kahului erinnert an König Kamehameha. Umgeben von den imposanten Maui Mountains und dem Iao Valley bildet dies eine faszinierende Kulisse für einen solchen Feiertag.

Das sagen wir

Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Auf Oahu (Honolulu) befindet sich -eigentlich- die zweite Statue, da man die Erste nach einem Schiffsbruch für nicht mehr Auffindbar vermutete
  • Das ursprüngliche Original befindet sich in Hilo (Adresse: Kreuzung Akoni Pule Hwy / kapauu rd, Kapaau, HI 96755)

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

447 S King St Honolulu, HI 96813
Longitude:
-157.859613
Latitude:
21.306037

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!