Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Suitable for:
Everyone, Nature lover, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
16:00 Clock
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Everyone, Nature lover, Families, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
2 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
16:00 Clock
Cost:
free

Details of the beach

Equipment at Kawela Bay (Kahuku)
(Available: )
The beach is popular for:
(Known for: Sunset, Swimming)
Beach material
Sand fine
Sand color
White
Area
11000 sqm
Entry into the sea
flat
Sight in the sea
turbid

Kawela Bay (Kahuku) - Description

Hidden treasure of Oahu - the remote Kawela Bay

Coconut trees, calm waters and fine white sand beach. Kawela Bay is one of Oahu's hidden treasures and one of the beaches that have retained their naturalness. Visitors can enjoy the tranquility to the fullest, spread out the provisions they brought with them on the picnic blanket and, with a little luck, watch sea turtles at the adjacent Turtel Bay.

The round curved Kawela Bay is secluded in the north of Oahu and thanks to its curved shape it is the best protected bay in the north of the island. While at other beaches gigantic waves roll in during the winter months, Kawela Bay offers its visitors calm, shallow waves all year round. On the western edge of the bay, the Turtle Bay Resort was built a few years ago on the eponymous Turtle Bay. Apart from this, there are very few beach houses near the beach.

The entire beach is lined with trees, which provide sufficient shade for visitors. Nevertheless, caution is advised here, in order not to be hit by a falling coconut, the coconuts on the palm trees should be kept in mind. Thanks to the calm waves, swimming here is possible all year round without any problems. Unfortunately, due to the strong surf outside the bay, which stirs up sand, the sea water is rather turbid and you cannot see the seabed. If you go swimming here, you should slowly move forward while walking in the water, because in some places there are rocks on the seabed, which could be sharp. For exactly the same reason, snorkeling is not recommended here. Unfortunately, the murky visibility does not offer spectacular pictures.

For action lovers it is generally possible to surf at Kawela Beach, but the waves break almost outside the bay. There the current is also very strong and only experienced surfers should plunge into the waves here. This does not mean, however, that activities have to be renounced. The calm water invites you to take a round in a kayak or to try stand-up paddling.

Right next to Kawela Beach is Turtel Bay, which makes the beach special. Many years ago the turtles laid their eggs at this place, nowadays the sea turtles only come to the beach to feed. There are not many visitors on this part of the beach, if at all a few hotel guests of the hotel next door. So the sea turtles can be observed during a picnic in peace and quiet. At Turtel Bay there are many rocks as well as reef in the sea and the current can be very strong. Therefore, this place is not recommended to go swimming.

Helpful information

Facilities for visitors:

Kawela Bay shines in its nativeness and accordingly does not offer any facilities to guests. No picnic areas, washrooms and toilets are offered. Likewise, there are no beach attendants on site. Those who engage in water activities should take care of themselves and others.

Directions and parking:

There are only two ways to get to the remote Kawela Bay. One of them, staying at the hotel next door. Alternatively, there is beach access from the Kamehameha Highway, or rather across from the Kahuku Land Farm stand. The path leads through a shady part of the forest, past a huge Banyan Tree, which might look strangely familiar to some. If you don't know where it's from, many well-known movies or series, such as Lost, were filmed here.

Getting there by bus from Waikiki is generally possible, but involves some effort and, depending on the time of day, changing buses two or three times. The better option is to get there by your own car via Kamehameha Highway. Parking from the beach is not available here, though a few parking spaces are provided for the public at Turtle Bay Resort.

What we say

Tommy
On this beach you feel like you have your own private bay. The 10-minute walk here alone is worth it.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Parking at Turtle Bay Resort
  • Calm sea on North Shore
  • No WC's, changing rooms and lifeguards available

How did you like Kawela Bay (Kahuku)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -158.00829428888767
Latitude: 21.697915020022773

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Magic Island Lagoon

A man-made peninsula at the foot of Ala Moana Beach Park offers safe and quiet especially for the little ones....

Chun's Reef

Chun's Reef is a break located approximately in the middle of the 7 miles of surf breaks on Oahu's North Shore. Its name was acquired by...

Laniakea Beach

Green Sea Turtle Habitat - Laniakea Beach at the North Shore White sandy beach, coconut palms, turquoise blue...

Ulehawa Beach Park

Located on Oahu's west coast, just off Farrington Highway, you'll find this quiet, mile-long stretch of beach...

Makapuʻu Beach Park

Hiking, whales and bodyboarding at Makapuu Beach Park Watching bodyboarders in the massive waves, lazing in the warm s...

Ko Olina Lagoons

Lagoon beach paradise with upscale standards Fine white sand beach and calm protected water with a pinch of m...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Kawela Bay (Kahuku)

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
16:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
16:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Details des Strandes

Ausstattung am Kawela Bay (Kahuku)
Der Strand ist beliebt für:
(Bekannt für: Sonnenuntergang, Schwimmen)
Strand Material
Sand fein
Farbe des Sandes
Weiß
Fläche
11000 qm
Einstieg ins Meer
flach
Sicht im Meer
trüb

Kawela Bay (Kahuku) - Beschreibung

Versteckter Schatz Oahu’s – die abgelegene Kawela Bay

Kokospalmen, ruhiges Wasser und feiner weißer Sandstrand. Die Kawela Bay ist einer der verstecken Schätze Oahu’s und einer der Strände, welche ihre Natürlichkeit behalten haben. Besucher können hier die Ruhe in vollen Zügen genießen, den mitgebrachten Proviant auf der Picknickdecke ausbreiten und mit etwas Glück an der nebenanliegenden Turtel Bay Meeresschildkröten beobachten.

Die rund geschwungene Kawela Bay liegt abgeschieden im Norden Oahu’s und ist dank der geschwungenen Ausprägung die am besten geschützte Bucht im Norden der Insel. Während an anderen Stränden in den Wintermonaten gigantische Wellen anrollen, bietet die Kawela Bay ihren Besuchern das ganze Jahr über ruhige, seichte Wellen. Am westlichen Rand der Bucht wurde vor einigen Jahren das Turtle Bay Resort an der gleichnamigen Turtle Bay errichtet. Abgesehen davon stehen nur sehr wenige Strandhäuser in Strandnähe.

Der komplette Strand ist von Bäumen gesäumt, welche Besuchern ausreichend Schatten spenden. Dennoch ist hier Vorsicht geboten, um nicht von einer herabfallenden Kokosnuss getroffen zu werden, sollten die Kokosnüsse an den Palmen im Auge behalten werden. Dank der ruhigen Wellen ist schwimmen hier das ganze Jahr über problemlos möglich. Leider ist das Meerwasser aufgrund der starken Brandung außerhalb der Bucht, welche Sand aufwirbelt, ehr trüb und man kann den Meeresboden nicht einsehen. Wer hier schwimmen geht, sollte sich während dem Laufen im Wasser langsam voran tasten, da an einigen Stellen Felsen auf dem Meeresboden liegen, welche scharfkantig sein könnten. Aus genau demselben Grund ist auch Schnorcheln hier nicht zu empfehlen. Die trübe Sicht bietet leider keine spektakulären Bilder.

Für Action-Freunde ist es generell möglich am Kawela Beach zu surfen, allerdings brechen die Wellen schon fast außerhalb der Bucht. Dort ist auch die Strömung sehr stark und nur erfahrene Surfer sollten sich hier in die Wellen stürzen. Dies heißt aber nicht gleich, dass auf Aktivitäten verzichtet werden muss. Das ruhige Wasser lädt förmlich dazu ein, eine Runde mit dem Kajak zu drehen oder sich im Stand-Up-Paddling zu versuchen.

Direkt neben dem Kawela Beach liegt die Turtel Bay, welche den Strand besonders macht. Vor vielen Jahren haben die Schildkröten an dieser Stelle ihre Eier abgelegt, heutzutage kommen die Meeresschildkröten nur noch zum Fressen an den Strand. An diesem Strandabschnitt tummeln sich nicht viele Besucher, wenn überhaupt ein paar Hotelgäste des nebenanliegenden Hotels. So lassen sich die Meeresschildkröten bei einem Picknick in aller Ruhe beobachten. An der Turtel Bay befinden sich viele Felsen sowie Riff im Meer und die Strömung kann sehr stark sein. Daher ist dieser Ort nicht empfehlenswert um schwimmen zu gehen.

Hilfreiche Informationen

Einrichtungen für Besucher:

Die Kawela Bay strahlt in seiner Ursprünglichkeit und bietet Gästen demnach keinerlei Einrichtungen. Es werden keine Picknickplätze, Waschräume und Toiletten geboten. Ebenso sind keine Strandaufsichten vor Ort. Wer Wasseraktivitäten nachgeht, sollte auf sich selbst und andere achten.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Es gibt nur zwei Wege, um an die abgelegene Kawela Bay zu gelangen. Einer davon, der Aufenthalt im nebenanliegenden Hotel. Alternativ gibt es einen Strandzugang vom Kamehameha Highway, oder besser gesagt gegenüber des Standes der Kahuku Land Farm. Der Pfad führt durch ein schattiges Waldstück, vorbei an einem gewaltigen Banyan Tree, welcher dem ein oder anderem seltsamerweise bekannt vorkommen könnte. Wer nicht auf Anhieb weis woher, viele bekannte Filme oder Serien, etwa Lost, wurden hier gedreht.

Die Anfahrt mit dem Bus von Waikiki ist generell möglich, aber mit etwas Aufwand und je nach Tageszeit mit zwei- bis dreimal Umsteigen verbunden. Die bessere Option ist die Anfahrt mit dem eigenen Auto über den Kamehameha Highway. Parkplätze vom Strand sind hier keine vorhanden, allerdings werden am Turtle Bay Resort einige wenige Parkplätze für die Öffentlichkeit gestellt.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
An diesem Strand fühlt man sich, als hätte man seine private Bucht. Allein der 10-minütige Spaziergang hierher lohnt sich schon.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Parken am Turtle Bay Resort
  • Ruhige See am North Shore
  • Keine WC's, Umkleiden und Rettungsschwimmer vorhanden

Wie gefiel dir Kawela Bay (Kahuku)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -158.00829428888767
Latitude: 21.697915020022773

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Laniakea Beach

Lebensraum der grünen Meeresschildkröte - Laniakea Beach an der North Shore Weißer Sandstrand, Kokospalmen, türkisblaues…

Chun’s Reef

Chun's Reef ist ein Break, ungefähr in der Mitte der 7 Meilen an Surf Breaks am North Shore Oahu's. Seinen Name erlangte…

Duke Kahanamoku Statue

Die Statue von Hawaii´s bekanntestem Surfer, Duke Kahanamoku dem König der Wellen, liegt inmitten von Waikiki, am berühm…

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Eine schillernde Unterwasserwelt, feiner weißer Sandstrand und der beste Schnorchelspot der ganzen Insel wird einem vers…

Bellows Field Beach Park

Dieser Strand fasziniert, ähnlich wie Lanikai Beach, durch den schneeweißen und feinen Sand und die leuchtend blaue Farb…

Sandy Beach Park

Traumstrand für erfahrene Bodyboarder und Surfer Das Surferparadies schlechthin. Sandy Beach ist vor allem für zwei Ding…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos