Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Suitable for:
Everyone, active travellers, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
10:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, active travellers, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
2.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
10:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 24. November 2022, 02:55:03
weather
82° Fahrenheit
Partly Cloudy
Wind: North at 8.1 MPH (7 KT)
Surf Conditions
20-25 feet
Nearshore: extreme
Offshore: extreme

Waimea Bay (Beach Park) - description

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay

Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Waimea Bay captivates its guests with many facets, which depend on the season. In winter, the bay is legendary and known worldwide for surfing competitions. In summer, on the other hand, the monstrous water masses of the bay turn into gentle waves and the perfect bathing paradise is created.

Waimea Bay and the adjacent Waimea Bay Beach Park on the north coast of Oahu are famous and known worldwide. The beautiful long sandy beach is located at the mouth of the Waimea Valley and stretches about 300 meters across the entire bay. Already since 1950, the bay is the perfect surf spot in Hawaii during the winter months, contests are organized and numerous enthusiastic surfers are attracted. In addition to the many surf competitions, when the swell is particularly strong, the Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau held. Eddie Aikau was a former Waimea Bay beachcomber and a gifted surfer himself. He plunged into monstrous waves and surfed them. The special thing, this competition only takes place if the waves are worthy of Eddie. That is, from a head height of nine meters. The winter waves of Waimea Bay rarely reach this enormous height and the Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau competition took place only eight times in the last 25 years.

Besides the ideal surfing conditions, Waimea Bay Beach is a popular beach among locals as well as vacationers to lazily lay in the sun and throw everyday worries overboard. Especially during the summer months when the waves are calm, the beach is popular for relaxing, picnicking or beach activities. Vacationers can relax in the sun for hours and refresh themselves in the cool waves in between. Even though the sea is much safer in summer, visitors should take care when swimming. Since there is no offshore reef or rocks here, the sand in the sea drops deep after a few meters and you are up to your neck in water quickly.

Locals love risk and like to meet at the cliff of Waimea Bay for cliff jumping. Even when the sea is calm in the summer months, jumping off the cliff is extremely dangerous. Likewise, there is a -No jumping- warning sign on the cliff, which vacationers should definitely heed.

Good to know

Facilities for visitors:

Waimea Bay Beach Park is popular among vacationers for its many facilities. Washrooms and toilets are provided. It is also possible to spread out snacks as well as delicacies that you have brought with you and eat them at the picnic tables provided. For the safety of the surfers and also all other visitors, there is a supervisor, as well as lifeguards on the beach every day from 9 am to 5:30 pm. Anyone who is unsure or has questions about the current conditions for swimming can contact the supervisor at any time. Flags are posted daily to show visitors the severity of the swell and current.

Directions and parking:

The beach is located a few kilometres north of Hale'iwa on Highway 83. Depending on the direction from which you arrive, you have to follow Highway 83 north or south. Parking is provided right next to the beach and is free of charge. The disadvantage is that there is only a limited number available and it is not uncommon to have to wait. Alternatively, you can drive back to the main road and turn right along the road to get a roadside parking space. Parking in prohibited areas is discouraged, every day these areas are checked by officials and unnecessary costs for vacationers occur quickly. If you want to be on the safe side, you can also park on the other side of the bridge in the Wailua Falls parking lot.

What we say

Tommy
It's worth getting there early to get one of the free parking spaces. In summer, the sea is quite calm and the waves moderate, in winter the beach turns into a surfing paradise.
Our checklist & tips:
  • With a little patience, a parking space is always available
  • A little further north at Sharks Cove, a selection of delicacies from a wide variety of food trucks is available
  • Toilets, showers & picnic tables available
  • If you like bouldering, you can work out on a rock in the south of the beach

How did you like Waimea Bay (Beach Park)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -158.063808676600
Latitude: 21.640026305500

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kailua Beach

A wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and spend a quiet beach day. The sea and the ...

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot of the whole island will make you vers...

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

The multi-faceted Ehukai Beach and the famous Banzai Pipeline. In the summer months a beautiful beach, in the winter...

Sans Souci Beach (Kaimana Beach)

This stretch of Honolulu beach is especially popular with families because the sea here is very shallow and the current ...

North Shore Hike

The hike leads through the wild forests of the Pūpūkea Paumalū Forest Reserve. To get there, one drives the st...

Chun's Reef

Chun's Reef is a break located approximately in the middle of the 7 miles of surf breaks on Oahu's North Shore. Its name was acquired by...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
10:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
2.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
10:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 20. September 2021, 02:44:53
Wetter
86° Fahrenheit
A Few Clouds
Wind: from the Northeast at 19.6 gusting to 27.6 MPH (17 gusting to 24 KT)
Surf-Conditions
1-3 feet
Nearshore: low
Offshore: low

Waimea Bay (Beach Park) - Beschreibung

Surferparadies und beliebter Badestrand – der facettenreiche Strand der Waimea Bay

Surferspot oder ideale Badebucht? Waimea Bay besticht seine Gäste mit vielen Facetten, welche von der Jahreszeit abhängig sind. Im Winter ist die Bucht legendär und weltweit bekannt für Surfwettbewerbe. Im Sommer hingegen verwandeln sich die monströsen Wassermassen der Bucht in sanfte Wellen und das perfekte Badeparadies ist geschaffen.

Berühmt und weltweit bekannt ist die atemberaubende Waimea Bay und der angrenzende Waimea Bay Beach Park an der Nordküste Oahu’s. Der wunderschöne lange Sandstrand liegt an der Mündung des Waimeatals und erstreckt sich ca. 300 Meter über die komplette Bucht. Bereits seit 1950 ist die Bucht in den Wintermonaten der perfekte Surferspot auf Hawaii, es werden Contests veranstaltet und zahlreiche begeisterte Surfer angezogen. Neben den vielen Surfwettbewerben findet bei besonders starkem Wellengang der Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau statt. Eddie Aikau war eine ehemalige Strandaufsicht der Waimea Bay und selbst begnadeter Surfer. Er stürzte sich in monströse Wellen und surfte auf ihnen. Das Besondere, dieser Wettbewerb findet nur statt, wenn die Wellen Eddie würdig sind. Sprich ab einer Kopfhöhe von neun Metern. Die Winterwellen der Waimea Bay erreichen nur selten diese enorme Höhe und der Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau Wettbewerb fand in den letzten 25 Jahren nur acht Mal statt.

Neben den idealen Surfbedingungen ist der Strand der Waimea Bay ein beleibter Strand unter Einheimischen sowie Urlaubern, um sich faul in die Sonne zu legen und die Alltagssorgen über Bord zu werfen. Vor allem in den Sommermonaten, wenn die Wellen ruhig sind, wird der Strand gerne zum Entspannen, Picknicken oder für Strandaktivitäten genutzt. Urlauber können stundenlange faul in der Sonne liegen und sich zwischendurch in den kühlen Wellen erfrischen. Auch wenn das Meer im Sommer wesentlich sicherer ist, sollten Besucher beim Baden auf sich achten. Da es hier kein vorgelagertes Riff oder Felsen gibt, fällt der Sand im Meer nach wenigen Meter tief ab und schnell steht man bis zum Hals im Wasser.

Einheimische lieben das Risiko und treffen sich gerne am Felsen der Waimea Bay zum Klippenspringen. Selbst wenn das Meer in den Sommermonaten ruhig ist, ist das Springen von der Klippe äußerst gefährlich. Ebenso steht ein -No jumping- Warnschild am Felsen, welches Urlauber auf jeden Fall beachten sollten.

Gut zu wissen

Einrichtungen für Besucher:

Der Waimea Bay Beach Park ist unter Urlaubern beliebt für seine vielen Einrichtungen. Es werden Waschräumen sowie Toiletten geboten. Ebenso ist es möglich, mitgebrachte Snacks sowie Köstlichkeiten auszubreiten und an gestellten Picknicktischen zu verspeisen. Zur Sicherheit der Surfer und auch allen anderen Besuchern ist täglich von 9 Uhr am Morgen bis 17:30 Uhr am Abend eine Aufsicht sowie Rettungsschwimmer am Strand. Wer unsicher ist oder Fragen zu den aktuellen Bedingungen zum Schwimmen hat, kann sich jederzeit an die Aufsicht wenden. Es werden täglich Fahnen aufgestellt, welche den Besuchern die Schwere des Wellengangs und der Strömung zeigen.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Der Beach liegt ein paar Kilometer nördlich von Hale’iwa am Highway 83. Je nachdem von welcher Richtung man anreist, gilt es dem Highway 83 nach Norden oder Süden zu folgen. Parkplätze werden unmittelbar neben dem Strand gestellt und sind kostenfrei. Der Nachteil, es ist nur eine limitierte Anzahl verfügbar und nicht selten kann es zu Wartezeiten kommen. Alternativ kann man zur Hauptstraße zurückfahren und rechts die Straße entlang fahren, um einen Parkplatz am Straßenrand zu ergattern. Vom Parken in verbotenen Bereichen wird abgeraten, täglich werden diese Bereiche von Beamten kontrolliert und schnell entstehen unnötige Kosten für Urlauber. Wer auf Nummer sicher gehen möchte, kann auch auf der anderen Brückenseite auf dem Parkplatz der Wailua Falls parken.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Früh hinfahren lohnt sich hier, um einen der kostenlosen Parkplätze zu ergattern. Im Sommer ist das Meer recht ruhig und die Wellen moderat, im Winter wandelt sich der Strand in ein Surfparadies.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Mit ein wenig Geduld wird immer wieder ein Parkplatz frei
  • Etwas weiter nördlich bei Sharks Cove ist die Auswahl an Köstlichkeiten unterschiedlichster Foodtrucks groß
  • WC's, Duschen & Picknicktische vorhanden
  • Wer Bouldern mag, kann sich im Süden des Strandes an einem Felsen auspowern

Wie gefiel dir Waimea Bay (Beach Park)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -158.063808676600
Latitude: 21.640026305500

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Laniakea Beach

Lebensraum der grünen Meeresschildkröte - Laniakea Beach an der North Shore Weißer Sandstrand, Kokospalmen, türkisblaues…

Pearl Harbor

Neben den reinen Informationen zu der Sehenswürdigkeit auf Oahu möchten wir euch auch wichtige Hintergrundinformationen …

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

Der facettenreiche Ehukai Beach und die berühmte Banzai Pipeline In den Sommermonaten ein wunderschöner Strand, im Winte…

Chun’s Reef

Chun's Reef ist ein Break, ungefähr in der Mitte der 7 Meilen an Surf Breaks am North Shore Oahu's. Seinen Name erlangte…

Dole Ananas Plantage

Halakahiki, die tropisch süße Frucht Hawaii's. Vor vielen hundert Jahren kam die weltweit beliebte Ananas durch Christop…

King Kamehameha I. Statue

Es gibt zahlreiche Statuen zu Ehren Kamehameha I. Ihr findet weiter unten dazu alles Wichtige (nutzt gerne das Inhaltsve…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos