Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Sunset Beach Park

Suitable for:
Everyone, active traveller, nature lover, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
1.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
16:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, active traveller, nature lover, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed:
1.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
16:00 o' clock
Cost:
Free

Details of the beach

Ausstattung am Sunset Beach Park
(Available: Showers, Toilets)
The beach is popular for:
Picnics, Sunsets, Relaxing, Swimming, Snorkelling, surfing)
Beach material
Fine sand
Sand colour:
Yellow/Gold
Area
75000 sqm
Entry into the sea
Mixed
Sight in the sea
Very clear

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 16. December 2022, 02:55:04
Weather
79° Fahrenheit
Partly Cloudy
Wind: South at 8.1 MPH (7 KT)
Surf Conditions
5-7 feet
Nearshore: high
Offshore: extreme

Sunset Beach Park - Beschreibung

Surfing, snorkeling and relaxing at Sunset Beach

A breathtaking beach of Oahu, a paradise for surfers in winter and a dream beach with calm, gentle waves in summer. Underwater snorkelling adventures and spectacular sunsets in vibrant colours are included.

In the north of the island of Oahu on Highway 83 lies Sunset Beach, which is about 3 kilometres long. The beach got its name due to the breathtaking sunsets. Every day, the setting sun bathes the ocean and surrounding landscape in deep orange-red colours and slowly disappears as a glowing ball of fire on the horizon. The vibrant colours are reflected in the ocean, creating a breathtaking image. There are few places in the world where you can see such a fascinating sunset. Besides Waimea Bay and Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline), which is right next door, Sunset Beach is another widely known surf spot in Hawaii. The beach is one of the beaches where the Triple Crown Surfing Contest, one of the most famous surfing competitions, is held annually. Five to ten meter high waves roll in the roaring ocean and challenge surfers to conquer the gigantic waves. Unlike other beaches in Hawaii, the waves do not break close to the beach, but far out in the ocean. To see the surf pros from Sunset Beach in action, it is recommended to have binoculars at hand. As the winter months pass and summer begins, the gigantic waves also flatten out and the rough ocean at Sunset Beach turns into a swimming and snorkeling paradise. The long sandy beach makes it easy to relax and enjoy the sunshine in the warm fine sand. In the water, you can not only find the necessary cooling but also heaps of colorful fish and sea creatures. Sunset Beach is a popular spot for snorkeling and exploring the underwater world during the summer months. Important: If you want to snorkel here, you should not forget to pack your own equipment.

Good to know

Facilities at Sunset Beach:

At Sunset Beach in the north of Oahu, the hustle and bustle on the beach is monitored during the day by lifeguards and beach supervisors. In addition to the safety of the swimmers, the lifeguards are of enormous importance, especially for the many surfers.

Attention: One of the less beautiful or negative sides of Sunset Beach. Unfortunately, this area is known for burglaries or thefts. However, this should not be an obstacle to visiting the beach. You should simply enjoy the beach visit with a reasonable amount of caution. Those who leave their cars in the parking lot should refrain from leaving valuables inside and even on the towel on the beach, you should not leave your valuables unattended.

Directions and parking:

Those who want to visit Sunset Beach have several possibilities to get there. If you travel by car, you will reach Sunset Beach via Kamehameha Highway. When approaching the beach, there are also signs which make it much easier to find. For those arriving by car, parking is available at the beach, which can be used for free. Alternatively, there is the possibility to use the public bus. From Waikiki, there are several options to get to the beach, depending on the time of day. Those who take the bus have to change buses two or three times to get to the northern beaches, such as Sunset Beach.

What we say

Tommy
This beach lives up to its name, the sunset here is a must!
Our checklist & tips:
  • You have to enjoy the sunset here
  • One of the most popular surf spots on the island in winter
  • Free parking
  • Be careful with the valuables

Wie gefiel dir Sunset Beach Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -158.041000366210
Latitude: 21.674299240112

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Kailua Beach

A wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and spend a quiet beach day. The sea and the ...

Bellows Field Beach Park

This beach, similar to Lanikai Beach, fascinates with the snow-white and fine sand and the bright blue color...

Popoiʻa Island (Flat Island)

Located only about 400 meters from the coast of Kailua Beach, this tiny island, also known as Flat Island, is a...

Ka'au Crater Trail

The Ka'au Crater Trail is about 8 kilometers long hiking trail with 560 meters of altitude. It doesn't sound too strenuous...

Haleʻiwa Beach Park

Sporty on the way - water sports paradise at Hale'iwa Beach Hale'iwa Beach Park makes the hearts of water sports lovers...

Keawaʻula Beach

The long drive from Honolulu to Keawa'ula Beach, the last beach on Oahu's northeastern coast, is worth every trip.
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Sunset Beach Park

Sunset Beach Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
16:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
16:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 3. Dezember 2021, 02:43:59
Wetter
79° Fahrenheit
Partly Cloudy
Wind: Southwest at 8.1 MPH (7 KT)
Surf-Conditions
9-12 feet
Nearshore: extreme
Offshore: extreme

Sunset Beach Park - Beschreibung

Surfen, schnorcheln und faulenzen am Sunset Beach

Ein atemberaubender Strand Oahus, ein Paradies für Surfer im Winter und ein Traumstrand mit ruhigen, sanften Wellen im Sommer. Unterwasserabenteuer beim Schnorcheln und spektakuläre Sonnenuntergänge in kräftigen Farben gibt es inklusive.

Im Norden der Insel Oahu, am Highway 83, liegt der etwa 3 Kilometer lange Sunset Beach. Dank der atemberaubenden Sonnenuntergänge kam der Beach zu seinem Namen. Tagtäglich taucht die untergehende Sonne den Ozean und die umliegende Landschaft in tiefe orangerote Farben und verschwindet langsam als glühender Feuerball am Horizont. Die kräftigen Farben spiegeln sich im Ozean wieder und bieten ein atemberaubendes Bild. Es gibt nur wenige Orte auf der Welt, an welchen man einen so faszinierenden Sonnenuntergang sehen kann. Neben der Weimea Bay und dem Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline), welcher direkt nebenan liegt, ist der Sunset Beach ein weiterer weitbekannter Surferspot auf Hawaii. Der Beach, ist einer der Strände, an welchen jährlich der Triple Crown Surfing Contest, einer der berühmtesten Surfwettbewerbe, abgehalten wird. Fünf bis zehn Meter hohe Wellen rollen im tosenden Ozean heran und fordern Surfer nahezu auf, die gigantischen Wellen zu bezwingen. Anders als an anderen Stränden Hawaii’s brechen die Wellen nicht in Strandnähe, sondern weit draußen im Ozean. Um die Surfprofis vom Sunset Beach in Action sehen zu können, ist es empfehlenswert, ein Fernglas parat zu haben. Während die Wintermonate vorübergehen und der Sommer beginnt, flachen auch die gigantischen Wellen ab und der raue Ozean am Sunset Beach verwandelt sich in ein Bade- und Schnorchelparadies. Der lange Sandstrand macht es einem nicht schwer, die Seele baumeln zu lassen und im warmen feinen Sand die Sonnenstrahlen zu genießen. Im kühlen Nass gibt es nicht nur die nötige Abkühlung, sondern auch haufenweise bunte Fische und Meeresbewohner zu sehen. Der Sunset Beach ist in den Sommermonaten ein beliebter Spot zum Schnorcheln und Erkunden der Unterwasserwelt. Achtung: Wer hier schnorcheln möchte, sollte nicht vergessen, seine eigene Ausrüstung einzupacken.

Gut zu Wissen

Einrichtungen am Sunset Beach:

Am Sunset Beach im Norden Oahu’s wird das Treiben am Strand tagsüber von Rettungsschwimmern und Strandaufsichten überwacht. Neben der Sicherheit der Badegäste sind die Rettungsschwimmer vor allem für die vielen Surfer von enormer Wichtigkeit.

Achtung: Eine der weniger schönen oder negativen Seiten am Sunset Beach. Leider ist diese Gegend bekannt für Einbrüche oder Diebstähle. Dies sollte aber kein Hindernis des Strandbesuches sein. Man sollte den Strandbesuch einfach mit einer vernünftigen Portion Vorsicht genießen. Wer sein Auto am Parkplatz abstellt, sollte davon absehen, Wertsachen im Inneren liegen zu lassen und auch auf dem Handtuch am Strand sollte man seine Wertsache nicht unbeaufsichtigt lassen.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Wer den Sunset Beach besuchen möchte, hat mehrere Möglichkeiten, dort hinzugelangen. Wer mit dem Auto anreist, kommt über Kamehameha Highway an den Sunset Beach. Nähert man sich dem Strand, sind auch Wegweiser mit Sunset Beach State Park ausgeschildert, welche das Auffinden enorm erleichtern. Für alle, die mit dem Auto ankommen, stehen am Beach Parkplätze zur Verfügung, welche kostenfrei genutzt werden können. Alternativ besteht die Möglichkeit, den öffentlichen Bus zu nutzen. Von Waikiki aus gibt es, abhängig von der Uhrzeit, verschiedene Optionen an den Strand zu gelangen. Wer mit dem Bus fährt, muss zwei- oder dreimal umsteigen, um an die Nordstrände, etwa den Sunset Beach zu gelangen.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Dieser Strand macht seinem Namen alle Ehre, der Sonnenuntergang hier ist es Muss!
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Unbedingt den Sonnenuntergang hier genießen
  • Im Winter einer der beliebtesten Surf-Spots der Insel
  • Kostenlose Parkplätze
  • Vorsichtig mit den Wertsachen sein

Wie gefiel dir Sunset Beach Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -158.041000366210
Latitude: 21.674299240112

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Sans Souci Beach (Kaimana Beach)

Dieser Strandabschnitt von Honolulu ist gerade bei Familien beliebt, weil das Meer hier sehr flach ist und die Strömung …

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's Paradies im Osten der Insel Türkisblaues Wasser und endloser feiner weißer Sandstrand, welcher flach ins Meer abf…

Ka’au Crater Trail

Der Ka'au Crater Trail ist ein etwa 8 Kilometer langer Wanderweg mit 560 Höhenmetern. Klingt nicht wahnsinnig anstrengen…

Ulehawa Beach Park

An Oahu's Westküste gelegen, direkt neben dem Farrington Highway, findet sich dieser ruhige, kilometerlange Strandabschn…

King Kamehameha I. Statue

Es gibt zahlreiche Statuen zu Ehren Kamehameha I. Ihr findet weiter unten dazu alles Wichtige (nutzt gerne das Inhaltsve…

Duke Kahanamoku Statue

Die Statue von Hawaii´s bekanntestem Surfer, Duke Kahanamoku dem König der Wellen, liegt inmitten von Waikiki, am berühm…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island