Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Kualoa Regional Park

Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
1.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free
Suitable for:
Everyone, nature lover, families
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Well known, but not overcrowded
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
1.5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
Does not matter
Cost:
Free

Current weather and surf conditions

Stand from: 24. November 2022, 02:55:03
weather
83° Fahrenheit
Overcast
Wind: East at 9.2 MPH (8 KT)
Surf Conditions
3-5 feet
Nearshore: low
Offshore: low

Kualoa Regional Park - Description

Idyllic tranquility away from the city - Kualoa Regional Park

A narrow strip full of white sandy beach, lined with a green area on one side and the turquoise sea water on the other, invites visitors to throw everyday worries overboard. The highlight of the beach, the nearby island of Mokoli'i.

Kualoa Regional Park is located at the northern end of Kane'oho Bay. It is located almost directly on the Kamehameha Highway. But visitors to the beach don't notice the noisy highway. The park has a large grassy area and the distance literally swallows the noise of the road. Visitors are welcomed here by the idyllic quiet beach life and it is not difficult to get away from everyday stress. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, it is now time to spread out a blanket, put on sunglasses and bury your toes in the warm sand. To some, the Kualoa Mountains in the background and the lush green nature in the surrounding area certainly look strangely familiar. No wonder, the scenery is world famous and served as the location of many famous movies, such as Jurassic Park.

Many visitors to the beach, both locals and vacationers like to come here to engage in sports activities. Few beaches have such a large lawn, which is perfect for throwing Frisbee or playing ball. There is also a lot to discover for the water rats among us. The highlight of the beach is the offshore island Mokoli'i or Chinaman's Hat, as it is colloquially called. Only about 600 meters from the sandy beach, it offers an ideal destination to start a canoe trip or paddle across on a surfboard. Some of the visitors get the idea to swim across at low tide, however, this is not a good idea. After all, you have to swim through the open sea for this, without any protection. Even when the tide is low, the water is very shallow and the distance is only a few hundred meters, there can be strong currents in the open sea at any time. Those who want to swim have ideal conditions directly on the beach. Shallow sandy bottom provides a perfect entrance into the cool water. In some places the seabed is rocky and swimming is difficult, but at the southern end of the beach there is a natural rock barrier in the sea. The water here is higher and equally calm. The perfect place for swimming and splashing.

Interesting information for visitors

Facilities at Kualoa Regional Park:

Visitors who are traveling with their own camper and want to spend the night at the beach, are here at the right place. The park has about 30 sites and welcomes visitors. In addition to the sites, both campers and guests of the beach are offered a variety of picnic facilities including BBQ opportunities. Showers and restrooms are also accessible at the beach park. To ensure the safety of guests, lifeguards can be found on the beach daily.

Directions and parking:

The easiest and fastest way to get to Kualoa Regional Park is by car. From Waikiki, you can easily reach the other side of the island by taking Highway 61 north and then turning west onto Highway 83. Ample free parking is available at the Regional Park.
Travel by public bus is also possible, but depending on the time of day and the route chosen, expect a one-way travel time of around 2 hours and two to three changes.

What we say

Tommy
Fantastic scenery, many picnic tables that invite you to linger.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Free parking available
  • A 2 hour quad tour can be booked here
  • Possibility to rent a kayak and paddle to the island (Chinaman`s Hat)

How did you like Kualoa Regional Park?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -157.836000000000
Latitude: 21.510800000000

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot of the whole island will make you vers...

King Kamehameha I statue

There are numerous statues in honor of Kamehameha I. You will find everything important below (feel free to use the content ve...

Keawaʻula Beach

The long drive from Honolulu to Keawa'ula Beach, the last beach on Oahu's northeastern coast, is worth every trip.

Makaha Beach

On Oahu's west coast, Makaha Beach is one of the most popular, yet uncrowded beaches with great waves for su...

Sans Souci Beach (Kaimana Beach)

This stretch of Honolulu beach is especially popular with families because the sea here is very shallow and the current ...

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's Paradise in the East of the Island Turquoise waters and endless fine white sandy beach, which slopes gently into the sea....
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Kualoa Regional Park

Kualoa Regional Park

Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Jedermann, Naturliebhaber*in, Familien
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Bekannt, jedoch nicht überlaufen
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
1.5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
egal
Kosten:
kostenlos

Aktuelles Wetter und Surf-Conditions

Stand von: 26. Oktober 2021, 02:43:38
Wetter
79° Fahrenheit
Mostly Cloudy
Wind: Northeast at 9.2 MPH (8 KT)
Surf-Conditions
2-4 feet
Nearshore: low
Offshore: low

Kualoa Regional Park - Beschreibung

Idyllische Ruhe abseits der Stadt – der Kualoa Regional Park

Ein schmaler Streifen voll mit weißem Sandstrand, gesäumt von einer Grünfläche auf der einen und dem türkisen Meerwasser auf der anderen Seite, lädt Besucher ein, die Alltagssorgen über Bord zu werfen. Das Highlight des Strandes, die nahe gelegene Insel Mokoli’i.

Am nördlichen Ende der Kane’oho Bay befindet sich der Kualoa Regional Park. Er liegt fast unmittelbar am Kamehameha Highway. Doch von der lärmenden Autobahn bekommen Besucher des Strandes nichts mit. Der Park verfügt über eine große Rasenfläche und die Distanz verschluckt den Lärm der Straße im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Besucher werden hier vom idyllischen ruhigen Strandleben empfangen und es fällt nicht schwer, vom Alltagsstress abzuschalten. Abseits vom Trubel der Stadt heißt es nun Decke ausbreiten, Sonnenbrille aufsetzen und die Zehen im warmen Sand vergraben. Manch einem kommen die Kualoa Mountains im Hintergrund und die satte grüne Natur in der Umgebung sicherlich seltsam bekannt vor. Kein Wunder, die Kulisse ist weltberühmt und diente als Drehort von vielen bekannten Filmen, etwa Jurassic Park.

Viele Besucher des Strandes, sowohl Einheimische als auch Urlauber kommen gerne hierher, um sportlichen Aktivitäten nachzugehen. Nur wenige Strände verfügen über eine so große Rasenfläche, welche sich perfekt zum Frisbee werfen oder Ball spielen anbietet. Auch für die Wasserratten unter uns gibt es hier einiges zu entdecken. Das Highlight des Beaches ist die vorgelagerte Insel Mokoli’i oder Chinaman’s Hat, wie sie umgangssprachlich genannt wird. Nur ca. 600 Meter vom Sandstrand entfernt bietet sie ein ideales Ziel, um eine Kanutour zu starten oder auf dem Surfbrett hinüber zu paddeln. Einige der Besucher kommen auf die Idee, bei Ebbe hinüber zu schwimmen, dies ist allerdings kein guter Gedanke. Immerhin muss man hierfür durch das offene Meer schwimmen, ohne jeglichen Schutz. Selbst wenn Ebbe herrscht, das Wasser sehr flach ist und die Entfernung nur wenige hundert Meter beträgt, können im offenen Meer jederzeit starke Strömungen entstehen. Wer schwimmen möchte, hat unmittelbar am Strand ideale Bedingungen. Flach abfallender Sandboden sorgt für einen perfekten Einstieg in das kühle Nass. An einigen Stellen ist der Meeresboden felsig und schwimmen gestaltet sich als schwierig, am südlichen Ende des Strandes befindet sich allerdings eine natürliche Felsbarriere im Meer. Das Wasser ist hier höher und gleichermaßen ruhig. Der perfekte Ort zum Schwimmen und Planschen.

Interessante Informationen für Besucher

Einrichtungen im Kualoa Regional Park:

Besucher, welche mit dem eigenen Camper unterwegs sind und am Beach nächtigen möchten, sind hier an der richtigen Stelle. Der Park verfügt über ca. 30 Stellplätze und heißt Besucher herzlich willkommen. Neben den Stellplätzen bekommen sowohl Camper als auch Gäste des Strandes eine Vielzahl an Picknickmöglichkeiten inklusive BBQ Gelegenheiten geboten. Auch Duschen und Toiletten sind im Beach Park zugänglich. Um die Sicherheit der Gäste zu gewährleisten, sind täglich Rettungsschwimmer am Strand anzutreffen.

Anfahrt und Parken:

Die Anfahrt zum Kualoa Regional Park gestaltet sich am einfachsten und schnellsten mit dem Auto. Von Waikiki aus erreicht man die andere Seite der Insel einfach über den Highway 61 Richtung Norden und anschließen biegt man auf den Highway 83 Richtung Westen ab. Parkplätze stehen am Regional Park ausreichend kostenfrei zur Verfügung.
Die Anreise per öffentlichen Bus ist ebenfalls möglich, allerdings ist je nach Tageszeit und gewählter Strecke mit einer einfachen Fahrtzeit von rund 2 Stunden und zwei bis drei Umstiegen zu rechnen.

Das sagen wir

Tommy
Fantastische Landschaft, viele Picknicktische, die zum Verweilen einladen.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Kostenfreie Parkplätze vorhanden
  • Eine 2-stündige Quad-Tour kann hier gebucht werden
  • Möglichkeit ein Kayak auszuleihen und zur Insel (Chinaman`s Hat) zu paddeln

Wie gefiel dir Kualoa Regional Park?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -157.836000000000
Latitude: 21.510800000000

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Chun’s Reef

Chun's Reef ist ein Break, ungefähr in der Mitte der 7 Meilen an Surf Breaks am North Shore Oahu's. Seinen Name erlangte…

Kailua Beach

Ein wunderbarer Platz, um dem Treiben Waikikis zu entkommen und einen ruhigen Strandtag zu verbringen. Das Meer und der …

Sans Souci Beach (Kaimana Beach)

Dieser Strandabschnitt von Honolulu ist gerade bei Familien beliebt, weil das Meer hier sehr flach ist und die Strömung …

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

Der facettenreiche Ehukai Beach und die berühmte Banzai Pipeline In den Sommermonaten ein wunderschöner Strand, im Winte…

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Eine schillernde Unterwasserwelt, feiner weißer Sandstrand und der beste Schnorchelspot der ganzen Insel wird einem vers…

Diamond Head

Wanderung zum Staatsdenkmal von Honolulu Der Diamond Head bietet einen sensationellen Ausblick auf die Hauptstadt Hon…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos