Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
whale-watching-hawaii
whale-watching-hawaii

Whale and dolphin watching in Hawaii

Today I want to talk about the great marine mammals around Hawaii report.

The former whaling decimated the population of marine mammals. Nowadays, fortunately, the whales are protected and are considered "endangered species Act". The whale sanctuary is located around all the main islands of Hawaii from the coast to a depth of 180 meters. Hunting and disturbing the marine mammals is strictly prohibited.
In 1992 the Hawaiian Island Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary was founded. This organization takes care of education, does public relations and has a large research department, all around and for the protection of the largest mammals in the world.

Humpback whale Big Island
A giant in Pacific waters | Image: © Konrad Mosert - shutterstock.com

Most of the whales that can be observed from Hawaii are Humpback whales. They cover about three thousand kilometers from the Gulf of Alaska to Hawaii in four months. These humpback whales come to Hawaii because you also like the warm, shallow water and they can give birth and raise their calves here at pleasant water temperatures. The male whales love to sing, so my tip to you is to prick up your ears, because you can often hear the song up to 19 kilometers away. 🙂

The best time to observe the giants is from December till May. Recommended are Whale watching tourswhich are offered by every island of Hawaii: One goes with a boat on the sea and approaches the whales, but out of respect may approach the animals only on ninety meters. But believe me, that's close enough when you consider that an adult male weighs about 45 tons and is about 12 -16 meters long 😉.

And beware: the fountains he can spray can fill entire 3 - 6 meters high. Madness! But even if you don't feel like boating, you can also make great whale observations from land. From land, however, you should definitely think of binoculars

But also recommended is the Auau Channel, in the west of Maui: Between Lahaina and Kaanapau you can see many humpback whales with their calves, even from the Beach off! Also Lanai and Molokai are ideal for whale watching. If you are not sure, write me - I will be happy to help you!

If you belong rather to the dolphin friends, then I can calm you down. You will find over eight (!) different dolphin species off Hawaii. The two most common species are the Spinner and the Bottle nose dolphins. These species grow to weigh between 200 - 300 kg and can reach a speed of 5 - 11 km/h. However, over a short distance they can also reach up to 45 km/h swim fast.

On O'ahu and also on Big Island you can participate in dolphin tours, where you can watch and visit dolphins. There are even tours on which you can swim with dolphins in the wild. A great experience!

The dolphin is protected and is a "Marine Mammal Protection Act". Also these mammals may not be approached without restriction, the limit is 45 meters in the wild. Please do not swim after them or touch them if you are close to them. As dolphins are very curious it can happen that they like to approach you. So please let the dolphins decide if they want to get close to you or if they prefer to remain undisturbed 🙂

Spinner dolphins cavort off Hawaii
Spinner dolphins cavorting off Hawaii | Image: © Serge Vero - shutterstock.

On O'ahu you can see dolphins in the Sealife Park marvel. There you have the opportunity to swim with them and even hug them. At Kahala Resort and Spa on O'ahu there is the Marine Research and Learning Center Dolphin Quest. Really a great place to learn a lot about dolphins and also go into the water with them. The famous dolphin show takes place every day at 3 pm. Here you have to go and enjoy when the swimming main actors perform their tricks.

To experience dolphins up close I recommend Big Island. The bay to Captain Cook is a popular destination for dolphins. My tip is: Rent a canoe and go after 1 pm - when the tour boats are gone. And if you are lucky, the dolphins will approach you on the way to the bay up to 10 meters.

Do you know any other great spots in Hawaii? Then I look forward to your comment 🙂

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Even more reading material

Made In Hawaii. Domestic products of the islands

The brown gold from Hawaii... is also called the coffee on the island. "Its aroma is dreamlike and better than...

Farmers Market on O'ahu

Lots going on at the Farmers Market at KCC The Farmers Market is held twice a week in Honolulu. Saturdays...

Hawaii for a whole 3 months - my 3rd trip

3 days travel... The disadvantages of a standby ticket In 2010, I'm on the edge of my seat professionally. Stress, bullying and dissatisfaction lead to the fact that...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

One Response

  1. Hello Jessi,
    can you please give us a tip where we can best see humpback whales in Hawaii. I am planning our trip right now.
    Aloha, warm greetings, Beate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Heute möchte ich über die tollen Meeressäuger rund um Hawaii berichten.

Durch den früheren Walfang wurde die Population der Meeressäuger dezimiert. Heutzutage sind die Wale zum Glück geschützt und gelten als “endangered species Act“. Das Schutzgebiet der Wale befindet sich um alle Hauptinseln Hawaiis von der Küste bis in eine Tiefe von 180 Meter. Jagen und Stören der Meeressäuger ist strengstens untersagt.
1992 wurde die Hawaiian Island Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary gegründet. Diese Organisation kümmert sich um Aufklärung, macht Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und hat eine große Forschungsabteilung, alles um und für den Schutz der größten Säugetiere der Welt.

Ein Riese in Pazifischen Gewässern | Bild: © Konrad Mosert – shutterstock.com

Die meisten Wale, die von Hawaii aus beobachtet werden können sind Buckelwale. Sie legen ca. dreitausend Kilometer vom Golf von Alaska bis Hawaii in vier Monaten zurück. Diese Buckelwale kommen nach Hawaii, da auch Ihnen das warme, flache Wasser gut gefällt und sie hier ihre Kälber bei angenehmen Wassertemperaturen zur Welt bringen und aufziehen können. Die Walmännchen singen gerne, daher mein Tipp an euch:  Spitzt die Ohren, denn den Gesang kann man oft bis zu 19 Kilometer weit hören. 🙂

Die beste Zeit zum Beobachten der Riesen ist von Dezember bis Mai. Zu empfehlen sind Walbeobachtungstouren, welche von jeder Insel Hawaiis angeboten werden: Man fährt mit einem Boot aufs Meer und nähert sich den Walen, doch aus Respekt darf sich den Tieren nur auf neunzig Meter nähern. Aber glaubt mir, dass ist Nah genug wenn man bedenkt das ein ausgewachsenes Männchen um die 45 Tonnen auf die Waage bringt und um die 12 -16 Meter lang ist.  😉

Und nehmt euch in Acht: die Fontänen die er spritzen kann, können ganze 3 – 6 Meter hoch sein. Wahnsinn! Doch auch wer keine Lust aufs Bootfahren hat, kann auch von Land aus tolle Wal Beobachtungen machen. Von Land aus solltet ihr jeodoch unbedingt an ein Fernglas denken

Zu empfehlen ist aber auch der Auau Kanal, im Westen von Maui: Zwischen Lahaina und Kaanapau sieht man viele Buckelwale mit ihren Kälbern, sogar vom Strand aus! Auch Lanai und Molokai sind für Walbeobachtungen ideal. Wenn ihr euch nicht sicher seid, schreibt mir  – ich helfe euch gerne weiter!

Gehört ihr eher zu den Delfin Freunde, dann kann ich euch beruhigen. Ihr findet über acht (!) verschiedene Delfinarten vor Hawaii. Die zwei häufigsten vertretenen Arten, sind der Spinner und der Flaschennasen Delfine. Diese Arten werden zwischen 200 – 300 kg schwer und können eine Geschwindigkeit von 5 – 11 km/h aufbringen. Über eine kurze Distanz können sie jedoch auch bis zu 45 km/h schnell schwimmen.

Auf O’ahu und auch auf Big Island kann man an Delfintouren teilnehmen, bei welchen man Delfine beobachten und besichtigen kann. Es gibt sogar Touren auf welchen ihr mit Delfinen in freier Wildbahn schwimmen könnt. Ein tolles Erlebnis!

Der Delfin steht unter Schutz und ist ein “Marine Mammal Protection Act“. Auch diesen Säugern darf man sich nicht uneingeschränkt nähern, die Grenze liegt in freier Wildbahn bei 45 Metern. Bitte auch nicht hinterher schwimmen oder wenn ihr nah am Delfin seid, anfassen. Da Delfine sehr neugierig sind kann es gut passieren, dass sie sich Euch aber gerne nähern. Also lasst bitte die Delfine entscheiden, ob Sie die Nähe zu euch suchen oder lieber ungestört bleiben wollen. 🙂

Spinner Delfine tummeln sich vor Hawaii

Spinner Delfine tummeln sich vor Hawaii | Bild: © Serge Vero – shutterstock.

Auf O’ahu kann man Delfine im Sealife Park bestaunen. Dort hat man die Möglichkeit mit ihnen zu schwimmen und sie sogar zu umarmen. Im Kahala Resort und Spa auf O’ahu gibt es das Meeresforschungs- und Lernzentrum Dolphin Quest. Wirklich ein toller Ort, um viel über Delfine zu lernen und auch mit ihnen ins Wasser gehen. Die bekannte Delfin Show findet jeden Tag um 15 Uhr statt. Hier heißt es hingehen und genießen, wenn die schwimmenden Hauptdarsteller ihre Tricks vorführen.

Um Delfine hautnah zu erleben empfehlen ich euch Big Island. Die Bucht zu Captain Cook ist ein beliebtes Ziel für Delfine. Mein Tipp hierbei ist: Mietet euch ein Kanu und fahrt nach 13 Uhr – wenn die Ausflugsboote weg sind – los. Und wenn ihr Glück habt nähern sich euch die Delfine auf dem Weg zu Bucht auf bis zu 10 Meter.

Ihr kennt noch weitere tolle Spots auf Hawaii? Dann freue ich mich auf euren Kommentar 🙂

One Comment

  • Beate Böer sagt:

    Hallo Susi,
    kannst Du uns bitte einen Tipp geben, wo wir am besten Buckelwale sehen können auf Hawaii. Ich plane gerade unserere Reise.
    Aloha, herzliche Grüße, Beate

Leave a Reply