Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
lanikai-beach
lanikai-beach

The most beautiful dream beaches in Hawaii

You know them: white dream beaches in advertisements, posters, postcards or on television. In Hawaii, they become reality. On Big Island, you can find the famous Hapuna Beach State Park.

hapuna beach state park big island Big Island
Just take a break from everyday life | Image: © Anna Abramskaya - shutterstock.com

Every year, it is chosen as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and it is located at the Cohalo Coast. However, with a length of one kilometre and a width of sixty meters, the popular beach is never crowded. It offers the best conditions for snorkelling or swimming all year round. An absolute postcard idyll, the white sand, the green nature and the black rock in the background - simply dreamlike. Many parking lots are available and lifeguards watch over the beach and waves. Another beach on Big Island, which I can recommend to you, is probably the most spectacular: The Punalu'u Black Sand Beach has black sand. Through years of erosion of the lava that flowed into the sea, the sand got a black colour, madness!

A unique beach | Image: © Mike Brake - shutterstock.com
A unique beach | Image: © Mike Brake - shutterstock.com

The beach is located on the south coast, south of the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. Quite often you can meet turtles sunbathing in the black sand. The water is wide and calm, perfect for snorkelling.

On O'ahu, there is the Lanikai beach.It is located in the east of the island. You can see two small islands from Lanikai Beach, the Mokulua Islands (Moku Nui and Moku Iki).

This is a perfect camera motif, which has already been chosen for many calendars, postcards and posters. So definitely think of the camera! The sand here is white and very fine, the sea calm and flowing, a great beach especially if you are travelling with children. "Lanikai" translated means "heavenly sea" and I can only confirm that 😉

Lanikai can be reached via small beach paths along the main road and parking is available at the million-dollar villas along the street. With a kayak, which can be rented on the beach, you can paddle to the Mokulua Islands. Waimanalo Bay Beach is also located in the east of the island. This is the longest beach on the island and it stretches for 5 miles (wow, that's about 8km!). The water is turquoise and the sand is very white. Waimanalo Bay Beach is not overcrowded, like in Waikiki for example. From the beach, you have an excellent view of the Koolau Mountains and can simply relax during a nice walk on the beach. There are restrooms with showers on the beach and a large parking lot is also available. Buses take you directly from Waikiki to Waimanalo Bay Beach, the ride takes about 45 minutes. This beach is great for swimmers because there are hardly any currents.

Paradise begins here | Image: © norinori303 - shutterstock.com
Paradise begins here | Image: © norinori303 - shutterstock.com

Let's continue with Kauai. Here are two of the most beautiful dream beaches in the world. Poipu Beach is one of "Americas best beaches" and Hanalei Beach has the "Dr. Beach" recommendation. Dr. Beach is known worldwide as the beach luminary. He visits, evaluates and describes beaches all over the world and has written several books.

One of Americas best beaches | Image: © Nina B - shutterstock.com
One of Americas best beaches | Image: © Nina B - shutterstock.com

Poipu Beach is located south of Kauai and is very famous. I advise you to leave early because the famous beach is very crowded in the afternoon. However, due to the three small bays, the visitors are well distributed. There are toilets and showers at the beach. A perfect beach for snorkelers because you can observe many fish species within the rocks. However, at high tide, the current can be very strong. The bay is sun-safe and therefore great for family trips. Turtles and also the Hawaiian Monk Seals like to sunbathe on Poipu Beach.

Hanalei Beach is not the typical sandy beach, it is more about the scenery here. The contrast between the sea and the mountains of the north coast is beautiful and the drive to Hanalei Beach feels like a drive through a large garden. The beach is surrounded by two rivers, the Hanalei River and the Waipa River. There are lifeguards, showers and toilets. In winter, this is a popular surf spot due to the high waves. My tip for you: Be sure to check out the Hanalei Pier walk. You think you are walking on the open sea!

On Molokai, there is the One Ali'i Beach.A perfect beach for children because the water is very shallow here. Therefore, it is not necessarily suitable for swimming. However, One Ali'i Beach convinces with a beautiful park, with toilet facilities, showers, pavilions and even barbecues that you can use. The beach invites you to have a picnic and relax. My tip for you: You can also camp here. (You can get the camp permit at the Park Department). Popohaku Beach is located at the West End on Molokai and is also called the Three Mile Beach With a length of 4.8 km, it is one of the longest white beaches. From here you can see all the way to O'ahu.

Hello Oahu! | Image: © Malgorzata Litkowska - shutterstock.com
Hello Oahu! | Image: © Malgorzata Litkowska - shutterstock.com

There are picnic tables in the enclosed park under trees as well as toilets and if you are lucky, you get to see a small gecko. There is also a campground here.

My recommendation for you on Maui is the most famous beach on the island, the Kaanapali Beach,.

kaanapali beach Big Island
Fancy a stroll? | Image: © Jeff White - shutterstock.com

It is located in the west of the island, scores with crystal clear water and a 4.8km long sandy beach. My tip for you: At dusk, something great takes place on this beach. A cliff jumper lights torches that have been set up on the cliff. Little by little, more and more cliff jumpers jump down the Black Rock. It is a recreation of the feat of the king King Kahekili of Maui. What I like about D.T. Fleming Beach Park is that the beach itself borders on a park. You can sunbathe and then barbecue in the park. On this natural beach, you can see tourists and locals, relaxing on the beach, watching turtles or enjoying a sausage in the shade at the great picnic tables in the park.

Natural, simply beautiful | Image: © Photo Image - shutterstock.com
Natural, simply beautiful | Image: © Photo Image - shutterstock.com

My conclusion: A great beach where the waves are calm in summer and huge in winter, but where safety is guaranteed by a lifeguard and there are clean toilets.

Lanai offers a gorgeous beach that was named the best beach in America in 1997. And indeed the Hulupoe Beachhas great sand, is very well maintained, there are restrooms, picnic facilities and the sea is perfect for snorkelling. The beach is located on the Manele Bay,

Hulopoe offers postcard panorama | Image: © Joe West - shutterstock.com
Hulopoe offers postcard panorama | Image: © Joe West - shutterstock.com

directly by the Marina. Here you can see large boats and ferries docked during a walk. On the east side of the bay, there is a Tidal Basin which fills with the tide and dries up at low tide. At this basin you can see seahorses, crabs and the Hawaiian Opihi (A limpet) can be observed too. Southeast of the tide pool you can see the Puu Puu and the Sweet Rock,which is the landmark of Lanai. According to the legend, at that time a warrior threw himself 25 m down the rock after the death of his beloved. Contact us for more great tips about dream beaches on your dream island, we'll be happy to show you more.

Welcome to the most beautiful bay. | Image: © Filipe Frazao - shutterstock.com
Welcome to the most beautiful bay. | Image: © Filipe Frazao - shutterstock.com

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Even more reading material

Made In Hawaii. Domestic products of the islands

The brown gold from Hawaii... is also called the coffee on the island. "Its aroma is dreamlike and better than...

Alone as a woman in Hawaii

Hi, I'm Evy and I'd like to tell you about my trip to Hawaii to give you the opportunity to...

From dream to reality: Hawai'i | Travelogue

I will never forget that moment. The moment when I saw the green slopes and black lava rocks during the landing approach....
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Hier beginnt das Paradies | Bild: © norinori303 - shutterstock.com
Jessi

Jessi

Die schönsten Traumstrände auf Hawaii

Man kennt sie: weiße Traumstrände in Werbungen, auf Plakaten, Postkarten oder aus dem Fernsehen. Auf Hawaii werden sie Realität. Auf Big Island findet man zum einen den Hapuna Beach State Park.

Einfach mal die Seele baumeln lassen | Bild: ©  Anna Abramskaya – shutterstock.com

Er wird jährlich zu einem der schönsten Strände der Welt gekürt und befindet sich an der Cohalo Küste. Mit einer Länge von einem Kilometer und einer Breite von sechzig Metern ist der beliebte Strand jedoch nie überfüllt. Der Strand bietet das ganze Jahr über beste Konditionen, um zu schnorcheln oder schwimmen. Ein absolutes Postkartenidyll, der weiße Sand, die grüne Natur und der schwarze Fels im Hintergrund, einfach traumhaft. Viele Parkplätze sind vorhanden und Lifeguards bewachen Strand und Wellen. Ein anderer Strand auf Big Island, den ich euch empfehlen kann, ist wohl der Spektakulärste: Der Punalu’u Black Sand Beach hat schwarzen Sand. Durch jahrelanges abtragen der Lava, die ins Meer floss, erhielt der Sand die schwarze Farbe, Wahnsinn!

Ein einzigartiger Strand | Bild: © Mike Brake - shutterstock.com
Ein einzigartiger Strand | Bild: © Mike Brake – shutterstock.com

Der Strand befindet sich an der Südküste, südlich des Hawai’i Vulcanoes Nationalpark. Ganz oft trifft man hier Schildkröten an, die sich im schwarzen Sand sonnen. Das Wasser ist weit und ruhig, perfekt für Schnorchler.

Auf O’ahu gibt es den Lanikai Strand, er liegt im Osten der Insel. Von Lanikai Beach schaut man auf zwei kleine Inseln, die Mokulua Inseln (Moku Nui und Moku Iki).

Diese sind ein perfektes Kamera Motiv, welches schon auf vielen Kalendern, Postkarten und Postern abgebildet wurde. Also unbedingt an den Fotoapparat denken! Der Sand hier ist weiß und sehr fein, das Meer ruhig und fließend, ein super Strand auch wenn man mit Kindern unterwegs ist. Übersetzt bedeutet Lanikai „himmlisches Meer“und das kann ich nur bestätigen 😉

Lanikai erreicht man über kleine Strandwege an der Hauptstraße und parken kann man bei den millionenschweren Villen an der Straße. Mit einem Kajak, die man am Strand mieten kann, darf man zu den Mokulua Inseln paddeln. Waimanalo Bay Beach befindet sich auch im Osten der Insel. Der Strand ist der längste der Insel und zieht sich über 5 Meilen (Wow, das sind ca 8km!). Das Wasser ist türkis und der Sand sehr weiß. Waimanalo Bay Beach ist nicht überlaufen, wie beispielsweise Waikiki. Vom Strand aus hat man einen hervorragenden Blick auf die Koolau Mountains und kann bei einem schönen Strandspaziergang einfach mal abschalten. Es gibt am Strand Toiletten mit Duschen und einen großen Parkplatz. Busse fahren euch direkt von Waikiki nach Waimanalo Bay Beach, die Fahrt dauert ca. 45  Minuten. Dieser Strand ist für Schwimmer toll, da kaum Strömungen entstehen.

Hier beginnt das Paradies | Bild: © norinori303 - shutterstock.com
Hier beginnt das Paradies | Bild: © norinori303 – shutterstock.com

Kommen wir nun zur Insel Kauai. Dort befinden sich zwei der schönsten Traumstrände der Welt. Poipu Beach ist einer von „Americas best beaches“ und Hanalei Beach hat die „Dr.Beach“ Empfehlung. Dr.Beach ist Weltweit bekannt als die Strand Koryphäe. Er besucht, bewertet und beschreibt Strände auf der ganzen Welt und hat auch schon mehrere Bücher geschrieben.

Einer von Americas best beaches | Bild: © Nina B - shutterstock.com
Einer von Americas best beaches | Bild: © Nina B – shutterstock.com

Poipu Beach ist südlich von Kauai gelegen und sehr bekannt. Ich rate euch früh los zu fahren, denn der berühmte Strand ist am Nachmittag sehr voll. Durch die drei kleinen Buchten verteilen sich aber die Besucher gut. Am Strand gibt es Toiletten und Duschen. Für Schnorchler ein perfekter Strand, denn durch die Felsen kann man tolle Fischarten beobachten. Bei Flut kann die Strömung jedoch sehr stark werden. Die Bucht ist Brandungs und Sonnensicher und somit toll geeignet für den Familienausflug. Schildkröten und auch die Monk Seals sonnen sich gerne am Poipu Strand.

Hanalei Beach ist nicht der typische Sandstrand, hier geht es eher um die Kulisse. Der Kontrast zwischen Meer und Gebirge der Nordküste ist wunderschön und die Fahrt zum Hanalei Beach fühlt sich an, wie eine Fahrt durch einen großen Garten. Der Strand ist umgeben von zwei Flüssen, dem Hanalei River und dem Waipa River. Es gibt Lifeguards und Duschen mit WC. Im Winter ist dies ein echter Surf Spot wegen den hohen Wellen. Mein Tipp für euch: Unbedingt über den Hanalei Pier spazieren. Man denkt man geht auf das offene Meer!

Auf Molokai gibt es den One Ali’i Beach, ein perfekter Strand für Kinder, da das Wasser hier ist sehr flach ist. Eignet sich zum Schwimmen daher nicht unbedingt. One Ali’i Beach überzeugt jedoch mit einem schönen Park, mit Toilettenanlagen, Duschen, Pavillions und sogar Grills die man benutzen kann. Der Strand läd zum picknicken und relaxen ein. Mein Tipp für euch: Hier kann man auch campen. (Die Camp Genehmigung  erhält man beim Park Department.) Popohaku Beach befindet sich am West End auf Molokai und wird auch der Three Mile Beach genannt. Mit einer Länge von 4,8 km ist er einer der längsten, weißen Strände. Von hier kann man bis auf  O’ahu sehen.

Hallo Oahu! | Bild: © Malgorzata Litkowska - shutterstock.com
Hallo Oahu! | Bild: © Malgorzata Litkowska – shutterstock.com

Im beiliegenden Park gibt es Picknick Tische unter Bäumen, Toiletten und wenn man Glück hat einen kleinen Gecko zu sehen. Hier gibt es auch einen Campingplatz.

Meine Empfehlung für euch auf Maui ist der berühmteste Strand der Insel, der Kaanapali Beach.

Ein Spaziergang gefällig? | Bild: © Jeff White – shutterstock.com

Er liegt im Westen der Insel und punktet mit kristallklarem Wasser und 4,8km langem Sandstrand. Mein Tipp für euch : Bei Dämmerung findet an diesem Strand etwas tolles statt. Ein Klippenspringer zündet Fackeln an, die an der Klippe aufgestellt wurden. Nach und nach springen immer mehr Klippenspringer den Black Rock hinunter. Es ist eine Nachstellung der Heldentat des Königs King Kahekili von Maui. Beim D.T. Fleming Beach Park finde ich toll, dass der Strand selber an einen Park grenzt. Man kann sonnenbaden und danach ein bisschen im Park grillen. An diesem Naturbelassenen Strand sieht man Touristen und Locals, die am Strand relaxen, Schildkröten beobachten oder im Park an den tollen Picknicktischen im Schatten ein Würstchen geniessen.

Naturbelassen, einfach schön | Bild: © Photo Image - shutterstock.com
Naturbelassen, einfach schön | Bild: © Photo Image – shutterstock.com

Mein Fazit: Ein toller Strand, an dem die Wellen im Sommer ruhig und im Winter riesig werden, wo aber die Sicherheit durch einen Lifeguard garantiert wird und es saubere Toiletten gibt.

Lanai bietet einen traumhaften Strand der 1997 zum besten Strand Amerikas gekürt wurde. Und tatsächlich der Hulupoe Beachhat tollen Sand, ist sehr gepflegt, es gibt Toiletten, Picknickmöglichkeiten  und das Meer ist perfekt zum schnorcheln. Der Strand liegt am Manele Bay,

Hulopoe bietet Postkarten Panorama | Bild: © Joe West - shutterstock.com
Hulopoe bietet Postkarten Panorama | Bild: © Joe West – shutterstock.com

direkt beim Yachthafen. Hier kann man bei einem Spaziergang große Boote und Fähren anlegen sehen. An der Ostseite der Bucht gibt es ein Gezeitenbecken, welches sich durch die Flut füllt und bei Ebbe trocken fällt. An diesem Becken kann man Seepferdchen, Krebse und die hawaiianische Opihi (Eine Napfschnecke) beobachten. Südöstlich des Gezeitenbeckens sieht man den Puu Puu, den Sweet Rock Felsen, das ist das Wahrzeichen von Lanai. Der Legende nach, stürzte sich damals ein Krieger nach dem Tod seiner Liebsten den Felsen hinunter und das ganze 25m. Für noch mehr tolle Tipps zu Traumstränden auf eurer Trauminsel, schreibt uns einfach, wir zeigen euch gerne noch mehr.

Willkommen an der schönsten Bucht. | Bild: © Filipe Frazao - shutterstock.com
Willkommen an der schönsten Bucht. | Bild: © Filipe Frazao – shutterstock.com

Hier gehts weiter:

Hawaii mit Kindern – Hawaii bietet euch unzählige Möglichkeiten

Wir bekommen viele Anfragen, von Eltern und Familien, die sich um das Thema Reisen mit Kindern oder Urlaub auf Hawaii mi ...
Malia
Malia

Ahi Poke – Ein hawaiianischer Gaumenschmaus

[caption id="attachment_2110" align="alignright" width="229"] Ahi Poke einfach erfrischend und regional[/caption] Heute ...
Tommy
Tommy

Sommerliche Ahi Tuna Poke Bowl – Unser Original-Rezept

Der Sommer naht und daher möchten wir euch heute eine sommerlich, erfrischende Version der Ahi Poke Bowl präsentiere ...
Tommy
Tommy

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.