Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
stairway-to-heaven-haiku-stairs-hawaii
stairway-to-heaven-haiku-stairs-hawaii

The most popular hikes on Oahu

Points of interest in this article

Before we start, a quick note about this magazine article: If you would like to know more about the sights in detail (tips, contacts, photos, map), click on "Overview". You can return to the article by clicking on "Read article".
Read article
Overview

There are many Hiking trails and Hikes in Hawaii. Whether you're a super athlete or a non-athletic beach relaxer, Hawaii offers hikes for everyone. Quite easy hiking trails, through State Parks, where you can see Waterfalls or even hikes, where it is possible to camp, can be done on the Hawaiian islands. Today, I would like to share the most beautiful hiking tours on Oahu with you.

Lanikai Pillboxes (Kaiwa Ridge)

Address: Kaelepulu Drive, Kailua, HI 96734 USA

  • The ascent takes about 2 hours with both pillboxes
  • Difficulty level: Medium
  • Be sure to bring sunscreen and a cap. There is no shade there!

    The start of the Pillbox Hike
    The start of the Pillbox Hike

You will reach Kaelepulu Driveby car and you should see the Mid Pacific Country Golf Club sehen. Hier bitte nicht parken, da es hier sein kann, dass euer Auto abgeschleppt wird. Die Golfer sehen es hier nicht gerne, wenn die Touristen hier ihr Auto abstellen, um sich zu sonnen oder zu wandern 🙂 Ihr könnt an der Straße in den anliegenden Wohngegenden parken, einfach an die Seite stellen. Bitte Einfahrten freilassen! Hier parkt man übrigens am besten auch, wenn man zum Lanikai Beach. There are such great houses to admire here, take a look around.

A colourful sign saying Pillbox Hike shows you that you are at the right place. The climb is short but very steep from the beginning. After about 10 minutes, you arrive at a beautiful viewpoint already, where you can take great photos of the Mokulua Islands. It continues uphill steeply and sometimes you have to hold on to a bush or a stone. After 30 minutes, you reach the first pillbox. The pillboxes are still from the second world war. They were used to seeing incoming ships or shooting at them directly from above. You can also climb inside the pillboxes for more great photo shots and ideas.

The Moke Islands at Lanikai Beach
The Moke Islands at Lanikai Beach

The view at Lanikai Beach with the Moke Islands and on the other side fields, meadows and mountains are simply priceless. A beautiful 360-degree view, wow! You can already see the second pillbox from here and reach it in another 15 minutes.

On the way down it is a bit slippery sometimes because it is so steep. It is best to walk sideways and hold on to a tuft here and there 🙂 It is necessarily to cool down at the Lanikai beach afterwards.

Diamond Head Trail

Address: Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave, Honolulu, Oahu HI 96815

  • The ascent takes about 1-1.5 hours
  • Difficulty level: Medium
  • leave early because of the sun. Many tourists hike here, it can be crowded.

    Waikiki Beach from above
    Waikiki Beach from above

You start your hike from the parking lot of the Diamond Head State Monumentwhere a 5 Dollar Park Fee bezahlen müsst. Der Weg geht über den Parkplatz zum richtigen Offroad Wanderweg. Nach ca. fünfzehn Minuten erreicht ihr den ersten Aussichtspunkt, an dem ihr nochmal kurz pausieren könnt.

A perfect view in all directions
A perfect view in all directions

You have a great view of the east side of Oahu from here. If you continue and you will reach the first stairs, 74 in total before it gets dark. A tunnel that dates back to World War II leads you to the next 99 steps. When you reach the top, it's only a short walk up a spiral staircase to the top of the volcano crater rim. Finally, you are at the top 🙂 You have a beautiful view over the volcano from here. Waikiki Beach with its skyscrapers, forests, mountains and beaches. You can also see the lighthouse.

Koko Head Crater Trail

Hawaii Koko Head
The Koko Head in Hawaii

Address: 7802 Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu HI 96825

  • The ascent takes about 1-2 hours
  • Difficulty: Medium - has it all 🙂
  • wobbly bridge must be crossed

Koko Head is located opposite Hanauma Bay, a paradise for colorful fish and a top spot for snorkelers aus aller Welt, an der  Südküste Oahus. 1048 Stufen bringen euch hoch zum Gipfel des Kraters. Es sind jedoch keine Treppenstufen, die ihr steigen müsst, sondern alte Bahngleise über die ihr lauft. Der Koko Head Trail wurde vor 60 Jahren gebaut, um Lebensmittel und Waffen mit Munition zum military bunker at the top. After 500 steps, approximately, at the halfway point, you will arrive at a bridge that you will have to cross. The view down from the bridge is quite a thrill! 🙂

Koko Head Trail tracks
The Koko Head Trail runs over old railroad tracks.

For the steps of the old railroad sleepers, you must try to find a rhythm while walking because they do not all have the same distance. This is a bit exhausting. But once you reach the top, you'll be rewarded with an incredible view of almost all of Oahu. See Hanauma Bay from above, Sandy Beach with its high waves, Diamond Head and Waikiki.

Which hikes have you already done in Hawaii? Which one is your favourite? Let me know and I'll report about it in my blog.

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Summary of all sights

Lanikai Beach

Oahu's paradise in the east of the island Turquoise blue water and endless fine white sandy beach, which slopes gently into the sea. Oahu has...

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot on the whole island is promised. The talk is of...

Waikiki Beach

Gorgeous long sandy beaches, sparkling turquoise waters and the backdrop of the famous Diamond Head in the background. Equally characterized by Hawaiian kings...

Koko Head Crater Hike

Over railroad tracks to the top of Koko Head Craters Climb over 1000 steps, balance on World War II railroad tracks and...

Diamond Head

Hike to Honolulu State Monument Diamond Head offers a sensational view of the capital city of Honolulu and the bustling district...

Lanikai Pillbox Hike (Kaiwa Ridge)

The Pillbox Hike (also called the Kaiwa Ridge Trail) is a 2.9-kilometer, heavily trafficked hiking trail near...
Even more reading material

My Hawaii, Manuela reports part 2: Trips from Oahu (North Shore and East Coast)

In part 2 Manuela reports about her excursions on Oahu. Missed part 1? Then quickly back to the Hawaii Blog 🙂 Oahu...

From dream to reality: Hawai'i | Travelogue

I will never forget that moment. The moment when I saw the green slopes and black lava rocks during the landing approach....

Hawaii? Yes, if it's on the way - World Trip Report

Once around the world. That was our dream after graduation or between two jobs, which we decided to...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Auf Hawaii gibt es sehr viele Wanderwege und Hikes. Ganz gleich, ob ihr der Supersportler oder eher der unsportliche Beach-Gänger seid, auf Hawaii finden sich Hikes für Jedermann. Ganz leichte Wanderwege, durch State Parks, bei denen man Wasserfälle sehen kann oder auch Hikes, bei denen es sich anbietet zu campen, findet man auf den hawaiianischen Inseln. Heute möchte ich euch die schönsten Wandertouren auf Oahu vorstellen.

Lanikai Pillboxes (Kaiwa Ridge)

Adresse: Kaelepulu Drive, Kailua, HI 96734 USA

  • Der Aufstieg dauert ca. 2 Stunden mit beiden Pillboxes
  • Schwierigkeitsstufe: Mittel
  • Unbedingt an Sonnencreme und Kopfbedeckung denken. Dort gibt es keinen Schatten!
    Der Start zum Pillbox Hike

    Der Start zum Pillbox Hike

Mit dem Auto erreicht ihr Kaelepulu Drive, ihr müsstet nun den Mid Pacific Country Golf Club sehen. Hier bitte nicht parken, da es hier sein kann, dass euer Auto abgeschleppt wird. Die Golfer sehen es hier nicht gerne, wenn die Touristen hier ihr Auto abstellen, um sich zu sonnen oder zu wandern 🙂 Ihr könnt an der Strasse in den anliegenden Wohngegenden parken, einfach an die Seite stellen. Bitte Einfahrten freilassen! Hier parkt man übrigens am besten auch, wenn man zum Lanikai Strand möchte. Hier gibt es so tolle Häuser zu bestaunen, schaut euch mal um.

Ein farbenprächtiges Schild mit der Aufschrift Pillbox Hike zeigt euch, dass ihr richtig seid. Der Aufstieg ist von Anfang an kurz, aber sehr steil. Nach ca. 10 Minuten kommt man schon an einem wunderschönen Aussichtspunkt an, wo man tolle Fotos der Mokulua Inseln machen kann. Es geht weiter steil nach oben und man muss sich manchmal an einem Strauch oder Stein festhalten. Nach 30 Minuten erreicht man die erste Pillbox. Die Pillboxes stammen noch aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg. Sie wurden genutzt, um ankommende Schiffe zu sichten oder sie direkt von oben unter Beschuss zu nehmen. Man kann auch in die Pillboxes hinein steigen und erhält so noch weitere, tolle Fotoeinstellungen und Ideen.

Die Moke Islands am Lanikai Beach

Die Moke Islands am Lanikai Beach

Der Ausblick auf Lanikai Beach mit den Moke Islands und auf der anderen Seite Felder, Wiesen und Berge ist einfach unbezahlbar. Was eine 360 Grad Sicht, wow! Die zweite Pillbox sieht man schon von hier und erreicht diese in weiteren 15 Minuten.

Beim Abstieg ist es teilweise etwas rutschig, da es echt steil ist. Am besten seitwärts gehen und hier und da mal an einem Büschel festhalten. 🙂 Nach dem Abstieg unbedingt noch am Lanikai Strand abkühlen gehen.

Diamond Head Trail

Adresse: Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Honolulu, Oahu HI 96815

  • Der Aufstieg dauert ca. 1-1,5 Stunden
  • Schwierigkeitsstufe: Mittel
  • früher losgehen wegen der Sonne. Viele Touristen wandern hier, kann voll werden.
    Waikiki Beach von oben

    Waikiki Beach von oben

Ihr startet eure Wanderung am Parkplatz vom Diamond Head State Monument, wo ihr 5 Dollar Park Gebühr bezahlen müsst. Der Weg geht über den Parkplatz zum richtigen Offroad Wanderweg. Nach ca. fünfzehn Minutenerreicht ihr den ersten Aussichtspunkt, an dem ihr nochmal kurz pausieren könnt.

Eine perfekte Sicht in alle Richtungen

Eine perfekte Sicht in alle Richtungen

Hier habt ihr eine gute Sicht auf die Ostseite Oahus. Weiter gehts und ihr gelangt zu den ersten Stufen, 74 an der Zahl, bevor es dunkel wird. Ein Tunnel, der noch aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg stammt führt euch zu den nächsten 99 Treppenstufen. Wenn ihr oben ankommt, ist es nur noch ein kurzer Weg über eine Spindeltreppe ganz nach oben auf den Vulkan Krater Rand. Geschafft, endlich seid ihr oben 🙂 Von hier habt ihr eine Sicht über Waikiki Beach mit seinen Wolkenkratzern, Wäldern, Berge und Strände. Auch den Leuchtturm könnt ihr sehen.

 

 

 

 

Koko Head Krater Trail

Hawaii Koko Head

Der Koko Head auf Hawaii

Adresse: 7802 Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu HI 96825

  • Der Aufstieg dauert ca. 1-2 Stunden
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: Mittel – hat´s schon in sich 🙂
  • wackelige Brücke muss überquert werden

Der Koko Head befindet sich gegenüber von Hanauma Bay, einem Paradies für bunte Fische und Top Spot für Schnorchler aus aller Welt, an der  Südküste Oahus. 1048 Stufen bringen euch hoch zum Gipfel des Kraters. Es sind jedoch keine Treppenstufen, die ihr steigen müsst, sondern alte Bahngleise über die ihr lauft. Der Koko Head Trail wurde vor 60 Jahren gebaut, um Lebensmittel und Waffen mit Munition zum Militär Bunker an der Spitze zu bringen. Nach 500 Stufen, der Hälfte ungefähr, kommt eine Brücke, die ihr überqueren müsst. Der Blick von der Brücke aus nach unten ist schon ein ziemlicher Nervenkitzel 🙂

Gleise des Koko Head Trails

Der Koko Head Trail führt über alte Gleise.

Bei den Stufen aus alten Bahnschwellen müsst ihr unbedingt versuchen, einen Rhythmus beim gehen zu finden, da sie nicht alle den selben Abstand haben. Das ist etwas anstrengend. Oben angekommen werdet ihr dafür aber mit einem unbeschreiblichen Ausblick auf fast ganz Oahu belohnt. Seht Hanauma Bay von oben, Sandy Beach mit seinen hohen Wellen, Diamond Head und Waikiki.

Welche Hikes habt ihr schon auf Hawaii gemacht? Welcher ist euer Favorit? Lasst es mich wissen und ich berichte drüber in meinem Blog.

Leave a Reply