Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument)

Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument)

Suitable for:
Active traveller, nature lover, couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:00 o' clock
Cost:
Ok
Suitable for:
Active traveller, nature lover, couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Time needed: 1-2 hours
5 hours
Optimal arrival time:
08:00 o' clock
Cost:
Ok

Profile of the hike

Distance total
5,96 Kilometer
Distance uphill
2,84 Kilometer
Distance downhill
2,84 Kilometer
Altitude meters uphill
388 Meter
Altitude meters downhill
- 388 Meter

Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument) - description

Kealakekua Bay with Captain's Cook Monument is probably one of the most historic sights in Hawaii and is located 19 km south of Kailua-Kona. Here the British navigator was killed by the locals on 14.02.1979. After Cook landed in the bay on Thanksgiving Day in honor of the Hawaiian fertility god "Lono", the Hawaiians initially thought he was Lono. Accordingly, Cook behaved like a god, which the Hawaiians did not like at all. It came more and more to the quarrel, which also led to fisticuffs and finally to the death of some Hawaiians and also to the death of Captain Cook. A white obelisk on the shore of Kealakekua Bay State Historical Park commemorates his death. On the east side of the bay you will also find the Hikiau heiau (sacred temple) dedicated to the Hawaiian god Lono. Today, the bay is known for one of the best snorkeling and diving spots in the Hawaiian Islands. It is even designated as a Marine Life Conservation District and offers the best conditions due to its rocky coastline and preserved corals. Colloquially, it is also called "Dolphin's Bay" because flocks of spinner dolphins rest here during the day from hunting at night.

To visit this bay, there are 3 options:

With a Hike, with a Touri boat or on your own with a Kayak

1. hike

At State Hwy 160 (Napoopoo Rd) in Captain Cook above the Bay, you can park your car and hike down to the Bay. With 6 km and 400 meters of elevation, the hike can be classified as moderate. In good weather, however, it is still very sweaty due to the incline. Once at the bottom, you can rest in the shade of a small forest and do some snorkeling in the clear water. The visibility is bombastic underwater with a few meters and much better than on sandy beaches. In front of the coast there are beautiful coral reefs with lots of tropical fishes, among others rarities like the lizard fish or the butterfly fish.

2. tourist boat

For snorkeling tours around the bay there are numerous providers such as "Fair Wind Cruises", which can be found between Kailua-Kona and Captain Cook. These providers have the advantage that you do not have to worry about anything, but they also have the big disadvantage that the time is limited to 3-4 hours and you have to share the bay with tens of other tourists and the water can get quite crowded. In addition, they are also quite expensive with 70 to 200 $. But often these boats also offer lunch, drinks and interesting facts about the Bay.

3. kayak

The big bay itself can only be reached by a 30-minute paddle with a kayak. For vacationers who want to discover the underwater world of the Big Islands in a simple way without expensive tours, this is the best and cheapest option. Those who come from the water by kayak and want to go ashore at the Cook Monument to visit the monument in more detail, need a Permit for Individualswhich you must request by mail from the state park administration. However, it is also possible without a permit, but then without shore leave. So for snorkeling you have to leave the kayak on the water and also get back in. Sounds impossible at first sight, but is easier than thought. The kayak operators of "Ehu & Kai", which are located in the immediate vicinity on the coast, show you how: While one person lays across the kayak, the other person can get in and out. This is how the balance of the kayak is maintained. If both people are in the water, the kayak is unceremoniously tied to the foot so that one does not lose it. This provider is the cheapest way to reach the Bay from the sea. For 45$ you can rent a kayak here for 5 hours and have enough time to explore the Bay, swim with dolphins in their natural habitat and to do some snorkeling at Cook Monument.

What we say

Florian
This tour is an absolute MUST for all snorkeling enthusiasts. I myself did the tour with a kayak. When you are in the middle of the bay, it is recommended to get out of the kayak and lie quietly and stretched out in the water. You have to be very unlucky not to see dolphins. Most of the time they are out in the morning, resting from the night hunting in the Bay. After a short time in the water you will see the Spinner Dolphins below you. Often in whole flocks and families. They jump out of the water, spin (from the English "to spin"=to spin) and seem to be the best playmates in the world. It is reported that they even jump over the kayaks sometimes. Once you have experienced the friendly laughter of a dolphin under water, you will never forget this moment. This trip is one of my fondest memories ever. After swimming with the Spinner Dolphins, you can continue paddling to Cook's Monument and still snorkel there. It makes perfect sense to look for a place to stay for one night in Captain Cook, in Kailua-Kona or best directly in the small town at the bay, if you want to be on the water early in the morning. Besides, a few hours on the water make you very tired, so you'll be glad if you don't have to drive long distances by car afterwards.
Our checklist & tips:
  • Carry enough liquid (at least 2-3 liters) and a cooler with snacks in the kayak.
  • Do not forget snorkel and possibly fins!
  • Sunscreen and suntan lotion!!!
  • Kayak Rental "Ehu&Kai" (http://www.ehuandkai.com/) Tel: 808-328-8775 Address: 82-6009 Kahauloa Rd., Captain Cook, HI 96704 (Kayak)
  • The earlier the start the better. In the morning there is usually better weather, the dolphins are more likely to be seen in the morning hours and the big tourist boats usually start from 10.00 am. So at 8.00 am you have the underwater paradise to yourself.
  • Start for hike: State Hwy 160 (Napoopoo Rd), Captain Cook, HI 96704 (Geodata: 19.492174247979595, -155.9179718222624)

How did you like Kealakekua Bay (Captain's Cook Monument)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Map and contact data

Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, HI 96704
Longitude: -155.9179718222624
Latitude: 19.492174247979595

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Waimea & Parker Ranch

Waimea is located on the north coast of Big Island and is a real cowboy town. Since Waimea also exists on Oahu and Kauai, it is a...

Onekahakaha Beach Park

The large beach park near the city of Hilo is especially suitable for families, as the sea here is very shallow and...

Kīlauea Iki Trail

Kīlauea Iki is a crater on the rim of the caldera (crater) of Kīlauea volcano located on the Big Island. In the hawaii...

Kalapana Town

If you want to experience a piece of original Hawaii, a visit to the former fishing town of Kalapana is not to be missed.

Waipi'o Valley

Waipio Valley is a significant place for the Hawaiian people. The valley has been inhabited for over 1,000 years and sp...

Kailua-Kona Town

Kailua-Kona has become world famous for several things. First and foremost probably by the triathlon "Ironman", which since 1...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island,
Kauai
Molokai,
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

Kealakekua Bay (Captain´s Cook Monument)

Kealakekua Bay (Captain´s Cook Monument)

Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:00 Uhr
Kosten:
ok
Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
08:00 Uhr
Kosten:
ok

Profil der Wanderung

Distanz Gesamt
5,96 Kilometer
Distanz Bergauf
2,84 Kilometer
Distanz Bergab
2,84 Kilometer
Höhenmeter Bergauf
388 Meter
Höhenmeter Bergab
- 388 Meter

Kealakekua Bay (Captain´s Cook Monument) - Beschreibung

Die Kealakekua Bay mit Captain´s Cook Monument gehört wohl du den historischsten Sehenswürdigkeiten auf Hawaii und befindet sich 19 km südlich von Kailua-Kona. Hier wurde  der britische Seefahrer am 14.02.1979 von den Einheimischen getötet. Nachdem Cook am Erntedankfest zu Ehren des hawaiianischen Fruchtbarkeitsgottes „Lono“ in der Bucht landete, hielten die Hawaiianer ihn zunächst für Lono. Cook führte sich dementsprechend göttlich auf, was den Hawaiianern gar nicht gefiel. Es kam immer mehr zum Streit, welcher auch zu Handgreiflichkeiten und schließlich zum Tode einiger Hawaiianer und auch zum Tode Captain Cook´s führte. Ein weißer Obelisk erinnert am Ufer des Kealakekua Bay State Historical Park an seinen Tod. Auf der Ostseite der Bucht finden Sie außerdem den Hikiau heiau (heiligen Tempel), der dem hawaiianischen Gott Lono gewidmet ist. Heute ist die Bay bekannt für einen der besten Schnorchel- und Tauchplätze auf den hawaiianischen Inseln. Sie ist sogar als Marine Life Conservation District (Meeresschutzgebiet) ausgewiesen und bietet aufgrund der Felsküste und erhaltener Korallen beste Bedingungen. Umgangssprachlich wird sie auch „Dolphin´s Bay“ genannt, weil sich hier Scharen von Spinner Dolphins tagsüber von der nächtlichen Jagd erholen.

Um diese Bucht zu besuchen, gibt es 3 Möglichkeiten:

Mit einer Wanderung, mit einem Touri-Boot oder auf eigene Faust mit einem Kajak

1. Wanderung

Am State Hwy 160 (Napoopoo Rd) in Captain Cook oberhalb der Bay kann man sein Auto parken und zur Bucht hinunter wandern. Mit 6 km und 400 Höhenmetern ist die Wanderung als moderat einzustufen. Bei gutem Wetter ist sie aufgrund der Steigung aber trotzdem sehr schweißtreibend. Unten angekommen, kann man sich im Schatten eines kleinen Wäldchens ausruhen und ein paar Schnorchelgänge im klaren Wasser unternehmen. Die Sicht ist unter Wasser mit einigen Metern bombastisch und viel besser als an Sandstränden. Vor der Küste liegen wunderschöne Korallenriffe in denen sich jede Menge tropische Fische, unter anderem Raritäten wie der Eidechsenfisch oder der Falterfisch, tummeln.

2. Touri-Boot

Für Schnorcheltouren rund um die Bay gibt es zahlreiche Anbieter wie „Fair Wind Cruises“, die zwischen Kailua-Kona und Captain Cook zu finden sind. Diese Anbieter haben den Vorteil, dass man sich um nichts kümmern muss, allerdings haben sie auch den großen Nachteil, dass die Zeit auf 3-4 Stunden beschränkt ist und man sich die Bay mit zig anderen Touristen teilen muss und das Wasser schon mal recht voll werden kann. Außerdem sind sie mit 70 bis 200 $ auch recht teuer. Oft bieten diese Boote aber auch Lunch, Getränke und Wissenswertes über die Bay an.

3. Kajak

In die große Bucht selbst gelangt man nur über eine etwa 30-minütige Paddeltour mit dem Kajak. Für Urlauber, die auf einfache Art und Weise ohne teure Touren, die Unterwasserwelt Big Islands entdecken möchten, ist dies die beste und günstigste Möglichkeit. Wer vom Wasser aus mit dem Kajak kommt und am Cook Monument an Land gehen möchte, um das Monument detaillierter zur besichtigen, benötigt eine Permit for Individuals, die Sie per Mail bei der State Park Verwaltung anfordern müssen. Es geht aber auch ohne Permit, aber dann ohne Landgang. Für Schnorchelgänge muss man also das Kajak auf dem Wasser verlassen und auch wieder einsteigen. Klingt auf den ersten Blick unmöglich, ist aber einfacher als gedacht. Die Kajak-Betreiber von „Ehu & Kai“, die sich in unmittelbarer Nähe an der Küste befinden, zeigen einem wie: Während sich eine Person quer übers Kajak legt, kann die andere Person ein- und aussteigen. So wird die Balance des Kajaks gehalten. Befinden sich beide Personen im Wasser, wird das Kajak kurzerhand an den Fuß gebunden, damit man es nicht verliert. Dieser Anbieter ist die günstigste Möglichkeit, vom Meer aus die Bay zu erreichen. Für 45$ kann man hier ein Kajak für 5 Stunden mieten und hat genug Zeit, die Bay zu erkunden, mit Delfinen im natürlichen Lebensraum zu schwimmen und um einige Schnorchelgänge am Cook Monument zu unternehmen.

Das sagen wir

Florian
Diese Tour ist ein unbedingtes MUSS für alle Schnorchel-Begeisterten. Ich selbst habe die Tour mit einem Kajak gemacht. Wenn man sich in der Mitte der Bay befindet, empfiehlt es sich, aus dem Kajak zu steigen und sich ruhig und ausgestreckt ins Wasser zu legen. Man muss viel Pech haben, dass man keine Delfine sieht. Meistens sind sie morgens unterwegs, um sich vom nächtlichen Jagen in der Bay auszuruhen. Schon nach kurzer Zeit im Wasser wird man die Spinner Dolphins unter sich sehen. Oft in ganzen Scharen und Familien. Sie springen aus dem Wasser, drehen Schrauben (aus dem englischen „to spin“=drehen) und scheinen die besten Spielgenossen der Welt zu sein. Es wird berichtet, dass sie sogar manchmal über die Kajaks springen. Wer einmal unter Wasser das freundliche Lachen eines Delfins erlebt hat, wird diesen Moment nie wieder vergessen. Dieser Ausflug gehört zu meinen schönsten Erinnerungen überhaupt. Nach dem Schwimmen mit den Spinner Dolphins kann man weiter bis zu Cook´s Monument paddeln und dort noch schnorcheln. Es macht durchaus Sinn, sich in Captain Cook, in Kailua-Kona oder am besten direkt im kleinen Ort an der Bay eine Unterkunft für eine Nacht zu suchen, wenn man früh morgens auf dem Wasser sein möchte. Außerdem machen einige Stunden auf dem Wasser sehr müde, so dass man froh ist, wenn man danach keine langen Autostrecken mehr zu fahren hat.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Genug Flüssigkeit (mindestens 2-3 Liter) und eine Kühlbox mit Snacks im Kajak mitführen.
  • Schnorchel und eventuell Flossen nicht vergessen!
  • Sonnenschutz und Sonnenmilch!!!
  • Kajak-Verleih „Ehu&Kai“ (http://www.ehuandkai.com/) Tel: 808-328-8775 Adresse: 82-6009 Kahauloa Rd., Captain Cook, HI 96704 (Kajak)
  • Je früher der Start umso besser. Morgens ist meistens besseres Wetter, die Delfine sind eher in den Morgenstunden zu sehen und die großen Touri-Boote starten meist ab 10.00 Uhr. Um 8.00 Uhr morgens hat man das Unterwasserparadies also für sich alleine.
  • Start für Wanderung: State Hwy 160 (Napoopoo Rd), Captain Cook, HI 96704 (Geodaten: 19.492174247979595, -155.9179718222624)

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Napoopoo Rd, Captain Cook, HI 96704
Longitude: -155.9179718222624
Latitude: 19.492174247979595

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos