Guide
Magazine
Itinerary

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)

Suitable for:
Active vacationer, Nature lover, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
5 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
09:00 Clock
Cost:
free
Suitable for:
Active vacationer, Nature lover, Couples
Insider tip or tourist spot?
Rather unknown and little going on
TouriSpot
Insider Tip
Allow time:
5 Hours
Optimal arrival time:
09:00 Clock
Cost:
free

Details of the beach

Facilities at South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)
(Available: )
The beach is popular for:
(Known for: Bodyboarding)
Beach material
Sand coarse
Sand color
Green
Area
850000 sqm
Entry into the sea
mixed
Sight in the sea
Very clear

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea) - Description

First of all: These destinations are only worthwhile if you are on the island for a longer time and drive from the east side to the west side (or the other way around). South Point is too long for a day trip. If you're only vacationing in Kona, it can be worth the drive if you leave early. If you are on a tour of the west coast Big Islands and have already explored Kealakekua Bay and Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park, you should drive south a bit on Highway 11, because then you won't be missing much at all until you arrive at the southernmost point of the entire USA. From Kona, the turnoff to South Point is between mile markers 69 and 70. From there, South Point Road takes you to the southernmost point in the U.S. After about 20 kilometers of driving along ancient lava landscapes, you'll head straight to Ka Lae (Hawaiian for "the tip"). Near Puʻu Nanaia, there is a lookout point on the highway that offers a view of the cape and the nearby wind farm.
About a kilometer east of the cape, Kaulana Ramp provides access to the sea.
It is quite incredible to think that there is nothing between South Point and Antarctica but the blue ocean.

In all likelihood, South Point is the site of the oldest Polynesian settlement in the entire archipelago, as it is closest to the Polynesian area of origin for this ethnic group - the Marquesas or Society Islands. Between 400 and 800 AD, the Polynesians set foot on Hawaiian soil. Remains of a heiau (Hawaiian temple) and other religious buildings have been found over the years, dated to 124 by the Bishop Museum in Honolulu. The ocean currents and winds are particularly strong here. In order to still be able to go fishing, the inhabitants were creative: for example, you can find metal rings hammered into the lava rock to which the canoes were tied for fishing hundreds of years ago. Nowadays, fishermen use so-called "Toy Boats" to lower their nets into the deep water. The exact southern tip is a short walk away, near the black and white lighthouse.

Watch the cliff divers shimmy back to land via rusty ladders on the rocks. If you are an adventurer, you can even dare to jump 10 meters from the cliffs into the crystal clear water. The jumps into the deep blue are allowed, but you do it at your own risk. Therefore, you should carefully watch the swell and jump only when the sea is calm. There is also a natural lava hole, like in a small cave, where you can jump in and then swim out after a few meters. At the metal ladder you have to climb back up. There is no other way. So there can be some discomfort...

On the way back we recommend a detour to Green Sand Beach. On South Point Road at the fork at Milemarker 10 take the right turn and drive past the Visitor Center to the very end of the road. There you can park for free. From here, there is about a 3.5 kilometer hike to the beach, which can be very strenuous and sweaty in good weather, as there is no shade. The path is unpaved and sometimes splits into several stretches. You can't go wrong, though, because all sections lead to Green Sand Beach. A small path leads down. Here you will find a green-black sandy beach of about 1300 square meters, which exists only once in the entire archipelago. The green color of the beach is due to a mineral called olivine, which was finely washed into this bay by the tides as a result of volcanic activity. When the sun shines, you lie here on a gemstone beach that sparkles greenish in the sun. A very special experience! You should also swim here only in calm seas.

Attention: Both South Point and Green Sand Beach are free of charge. Often locals claim that a toll has to be paid. Don't get confused and insist on free access if necessary!
Or you can rent a jeep, so that you can save yourself the tedious walk. You can use it well on Big Island (among other things for the ascent to Mauna Kea, Waipio Valley and here). Without a jeep you have no chance at these 3 sights and risk a broken axle!

What we say

Florian
Those who take the potholed road to South Point should combine the trip with the natural wonder of Green Sand Beach. South Point alone is not worth the trip! I've jumped off the cliffs and into the lava tube myself. It is a great pleasure, but should definitely be done only in calm seas. Afterwards I recommend a visit to the green beach. Overall, you should plan enough time, because you still have the arduous and long return trip to the next accommodation (in Kona on the west side or Volcano/Hilo on the east side).
Our checklist & tips:
  • By Jeep to Green Sand Beach
  • Lunch or dinner at Hana Hou Restaurant
  • South Point: 18.910945416180798, -155.68082555424408
  • Green Sand Beach: 18.93611485296975, -155.64657911021948
  • If you hike to the beach, be sure to bring enough water and possibly headgear/sunscreen, as there is no shade there.
  • Allow enough time

How did you like South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)?

You have been there before? Did you like it?

Thank you

  • Hidden
  • Thank you for your review.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Map and contact data

Longitude: -155.68082555424408
Latitude: 18.910945416180798

Your questions answered by us

You still have questions?

We answer them for you!

Other interesting sights

Ahalanui Park

Was unfortunately destroyed in 2018 by the then volcanic eruption / lava flow....

Carlsmith Beach Park

At a distance of about 5 km from Hilo airport, you would hardly expect such a wonderful place. The bathing p...

Nāpau Crater Trail

This trail is perhaps the most impressive demonstration of the forces of Kilauea volcano. You will witness the great eruptions d...

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Breathtaking and at the same time easy to reach: On the northeast coast of Big Island in Hilo and on the Hamakua Coast ...

Akaka Falls State Park

In the northeast of the island, the Hamakua Coast stretches between the capital Hilo and the village of Kukuihaele. An et...

Honoliʻi Beach Park

Just a few miles north of Hilo is this surf beach popular among locals. Surfing has become very popular on H...
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)

Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
09:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos
Geeignet für:
Aktivurlauber*in, Naturliebhaber*in, Paare
InsiderTipp oder TouriSpot?
Eher unbekannt und wenig los
TouriSpot
Insider Tipp
Zeit einplanen:
5 Stunden
Optimale Ankunftszeit:
09:00 Uhr
Kosten:
kostenlos

Details des Strandes

Ausstattung am South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)
Der Strand ist beliebt für:
(Bekannt für: Bodyboarden)
Strand Material
Sand grob
Farbe des Sandes
Grün
Fläche
850000 qm
Einstieg ins Meer
gemischt
Sicht im Meer
sehr klar

South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea) - Beschreibung

Vorab: Diese Ausflugsziele lohnen sich eigentlich nur, wenn man länger auf der Insel ist und von der Ostseite zur Westseite fährt (oder anders herum). Für einen Tagesausflug ist South Point zu lang. Wenn man nur in Kona Urlaub macht, kann die Fahrt sich lohnen, wenn man früh aufbricht. Wenn du dich auf einer Tour an der Westküste Big Islands befinden und die Kealakekua Bay sowie den Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park schon erkundet haben, solltest du auf dem Highway 11 noch ein Stückchen Richtung Süden fahren, denn dann fehlt gar nicht mehr viel, bist du am südlichsten Punkt der gesamten USA ankommen. Von Kona befindet sich die Abfahrt zum South Point zwischen Milemarker 69 und 70. Von dort führt die South Point Road zum südlichsten Punkt der USA, die du nach etwa 20 Kilometern Strecke entlang alter Lavalandschaften direkt zum Ka Lae (hawaiianisch für „die Spitze“) führt. Nahe dem Puʻu Nanaia befindet sich am Highway ein Aussichtspunkt, der einen Ausblick auf das Kap und den nahe gelegenen Windpark bietet.
Etwa einen Kilometer östlich des Kaps bietet die Kaulana Ramp einen Zugang zum Meer.
Es ist schon unglaublich, wenn man bedenkt, dass zwischen South Point und der Antarktis nichts weiter liegt als der blaue Ozean.

Mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit ist South Point der Ort der ältesten polynesischen Siedlung auf der gesamten Inselgruppe, da es dem polynesischen Ursprungsgebiet dieser Volksgruppe – den Marquesas- oder den Gesellschaftsinseln – am nächsten gelegen ist. Zwischen 400 und 800 n. Chr. setzten die Polynesier ihren Fuß auf hawaiianischen Boden. Man fand über die Jahre Überreste eines Heiau (hawaiianischer Tempel) und weitere religiöse Gebäude, die vom Bishop Museum in Honolulu auf das Jahr 124 datiert wurden. Die Meeresströmungen und Winde sind hier besonders stark. Um trotzdem Fischen gehen zu können, waren die Bewohner kreativ: Beispielsweise finden sich Metallringe, die in das Lavagestein gehämmert worden sind, an denen vor Hunderten von Jahren die Kanus für den Fischfang angebunden wurden. Heutzutage setzen die Fischer sogenannte „Toy Boats“ (Spielzeugboote) ein, um ihre Netze ins tiefe Wasser zu lassen. Die exakte Südspitze liegt einen kurzen Fußmarsch entfernt, in der Nähe des schwarz-weißen Leuchtturms.

Beobachte die Klippenspringer, die sich über rostige Leitern an den Felsen wieder zurück an Land hangeln. Wenn du Abenteurer bist, wagst du sogar selbst den 10 Meter hohen Sprung von den Klippen ins glasklare Wasser. Die Sprünge ins tiefe Blau sind erlaubt, erfolgen aber auf eigene Gefahr. Man sollte daher genau den Wellengang beobachten und nur bei ruhiger See springen. Außerdem befindet sich dort ein natürliches Lavaloch, wie in einer kleinen Höhle, in das man springen kann, um dann nach wenigen Metern nach draußen zu schwimmen. An der Metallleiter muss man wieder nach oben klettern. Einen anderen Weg gibt es nicht. Es kann sich also durchaus Unbehagen breit machen…

Auf dem Rückweg empfiehlt sich ein Abstecher zum Green Sand Beach. Auf der South Point Road an der Gabelung bei Milemarker 10 nehme die rechte Abzweigung und fahren vorbei am Visitor Center bis ganz zum Ende der Straße. Dort kannst du kostenlos parken. Von hier führt ein etwa 3,5 Kilometer langer Wanderweg bis zum Strand, der bei gutem Wetter sehr anstrengend und schweißtreibend werden kann, denn es gibt keinen Schatten. Der Weg ist unbefestigt und teilt sich teilweise in mehrere Strecken auf. Du kannst aber nichts falsch machen, denn alle Teilstücke führen zum Green Sand Beach. Ein kleiner Pfad führt nach unten. Hier erwartet dich ein ca. 1300 qm großer, grün-schwarzer Sandstrand, den es so nur einmal auf dem kompletten Archipel gibt. Die grüne Farbe erhält der Strand durch ein Mineral namens Olivin, das durch vulkanische Aktivitäten in diese Bucht durch die Gezeiten fein gewaschen wurde. Wenn die Sonne scheint, liegt man hier auf einem Edelstein-Strand, der grünlich in der Sonne funkelt. Ein Erlebnis der ganz besonderen Art! Schwimmen sollte man hier auch nur bei ruhiger See.

Achtung: Sowohl South Point als auch Green Sand Beach sind kostenlos. Oft behaupten Einheimische, dass ein Wegezoll zu bezahlen ist. Lasse dich nicht verunsichern und bestehe notfalls auf kostenlose Zufahrt!
Oder aber man mietet sich einen Jeep, damit man sich den mühsamen Fußweg sparen kann. Den kann man auf Big Island gut gebrauchen (u.a. für die Auffahrt auf den Mauna Kea, ins Waipio Valley und eben hier). Ohne Jeep hat man bei diesen 3 Sehenswürdigkeiten keine Chance und riskiert einen Achsenbruch!

Das sagen wir

Florian
Wer die schlagloch-gesähte Straße bis zum South Point auf sich nimmt, der sollte den Ausflug mit dem Naturwunder des Green Sand Beach verbinden. Nur South Point alleine lohnt die Anreise nicht! Ich bin selbst von den Klippen und in den Lavatunnel gesprungen. Es ist ein großes Vergnügen, sollte aber unbedingt nur bei ruhiger See erfolgen. Danach empfehle ich einen Besuch des grünen Strandes. Insgesamt sollte man genug Zeit einplanen, weil einem noch die beschwerliche und lange Rückfahrt zur nächsten Unterkunft (in Kona an der Westseite oder Volcano/Hilo an der Ostseite) bevorsteht.
Unsere Checkliste & Tipps:
  • Mit dem Jeep zum Green Sand Beach
  • Mittag- oder Abendessen im Hana Hou Restaurant
  • South Point: 18.910945416180798, -155.68082555424408
  • Green Sand Beach: 18.93611485296975, -155.64657911021948
  • Falls ihr zum Beach wandert, unbedingt genügend Wasser mitnehmen und eventuell eine Kopfbedeckung/Sonnenschutz, da dort kein Schatten ist
  • Genügend Zeit einplanen

Wie gefiel dir South Point & Green Sand Beach (Papakōlea)?

Du bist schon einmal dort gewesen? Hat es dir gefallen?

Danke

  • Hidden
  • Danke für deine Bewertung.

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.

Karte und Kontakt-Daten

Longitude: -155.68082555424408
Latitude: 18.910945416180798

Eure Fragen von uns beantwortet

Du hast noch Fragen?

Wir beantworten sie dir!

Weitere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten

Kahaluʻu Beach Park

Eine kleine Bucht südlich von Kona, die gerade zum Schnorcheln und durch ihre so bunte Unterwasserwelt zu einem beliebte…

Rainbow Falls (Wailuku River)

Atemberaubend und gleichzeitig leicht zu erreichen: An der Nordostküste von Big Island in Hilo und an der Hamakua Coast …

Waipi’o Valley

Waipio Valley ist ein bedeutender Ort für die hawaiianischen Bewohner. Das Tal ist seit über 1.000 Jahren bewohnt und sp…

Halemaʻumaʻu Crater

Der Halemaumau-Krater ist das Herzstück von Big Island und ein MUSS bei einem Besuch auf der größten der Hawaii-Inseln. …

Richardson Ocean Park

Wer an der Ostküste Big Island's schnorcheln will, sollte hier unbedingt Halt machen. Der durch schwarzen Sand und das f…

Spencer Beach Park

Eine halbe Stunde Autofahrt Richtung Norden vom Kona International Airport entfernt, befindet sich der Spencer Beach Par…
Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos