Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
marry-hawaii-beach
marry-hawaii-beach

Getting married in Hawaii - off to your dream wedding!

hau'oli male 'ana eia ho'iola loa - happy wedding and a long life

This is how you congratulate someone after a marriage on Hawaii . Numerous couples in love from all over the world come to Hawaii every year to get married. The mild climate, fascinating landscape, breathtaking beaches, the friendliness of the people and the Aloha Spirit make a wedding in Hawaii unforgettable.

Many couples who have said "I do" in Hawaii, often return to renew their vows, celebrate their anniversary or simply enjoy being together. Super romantic! 🙂 People get married on all Hawaiian islands and there are extraordinary places, possibilities and specialities to make a wedding the most beautiful day of their lives. We are happy to help you if you have any questions!

beach wedding hawaii

To get married in Hawaii, you must be at least eighteen years old. This must be proven with a passport and birth certificate. At the age of sixteen, you can marry with the written consent of the parents, guardian or custodian. Same-sex marriages have also been possible in Hawaii since Dec. 2, 2013. To be able to marry, someone needs a marriage licenseMarriage Licensewhich can be applied for in the office in Honolulu for example.

  • The address is: Marriage License Bureau in Honolulu, State Department of Health, 1250 Punchbowl Street, Room 101 Honolulu, Hawaii 9681, Tel: (808) 586-454.

However, the marriage license is not only available on O'ahu, but you can apply for it on all islands at the "Marriage license Bureau". The wedding license is valid for 30 days and costs 60 US dollars, and now you can get married anywhere in Hawaii 🙂 However, the authorities recommend that you already apply for the wedding license from Germany via the Internet.

  • You can do that at https://marriage.ehawaii.gov.  Go to "couples" and then click "apply license".

Now you can get married, on the spot at the authority or anywhere else, in the presence of an authorized person and two witnesses. These can be friends, relatives or even a photographer or wedding planner, all this is up to you. It is important for you to know: With regards to the recognition of the marriage certificate by German authorities, it may occasionally come to delays - but the marriage in Hawaii is valid in Germany! 🙂

The marriage certificate is not a civil marriage certificate, which is delivered 60-120 days after the marriage only. An internal agreement between Germany and states that a certified copy of the marriage certificate,q a "Apostille" (certification of a US office) is required. This is issued by the Lieutenant Governor's office and costs $1 US.

My tip for you: The best time to get married in Hawaii is spring or autumn. During this time, the climate is particularly mild and the flora is colourful. June is vacation time and the beaches and streets are packed with vacationers. To get married in summer, plan a year of planning time and book the place of the wedding ceremony in time because summertime is wedding time and the Americans from the mainland want to celebrate the most beautiful day of their life in Hawaii. Of course, we are happy to help you here as well!

Now you simply need to decide how to get married... On the beach, a garden wedding, in a luxurious hotelA wedding at sea, a Stand Up Paddle wedding, a church wedding, on one of the numerous golf courses or should it be the typical traditional Polynesian wedding? In Hawaii, everything is possible and you are spoiled with choices.

Wedding Beach
Dream wedding on the beach | Image: © EpicStockMedia - shutterstock.com

There are many offers to make your wedding simply unique. There are limousine services, musicians who play the ukulele, photographers, you can have a music video made of your wedding, broadcast a live stream of your wedding on the Internet, get married with flower leis or orchids in your hair and and and....

Write us! We would be happy to plan the most beautiful day of your life together with you!

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Even more reading material

Diving in Hawaii - the best underwater spots

In the crystal clear water you can observe tropical fish. Turtles but also rays and sharks can be encountered here. In the...

Yoga in Hawaii - definitely different & intense!

Wer jemals auf Hawaii war, weiß genau wovon ich spreche, wenn ich behaupte, dass auf Hawaii eine ganz besondere Energie…

From dream to reality: Hawai'i | Travelogue

I will never forget that moment. The moment when I saw the green slopes and black lava rocks during the landing approach....
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Heiraten auf Hawaii - auf zu eurer Traumhochzeit!

Heiraten in Flip Flops | Bild: ©Mark Skalny – shutterstock.com

hau’oli male ‘ana eia ho’iola loa – glückliche Hochzeit und ein langes Leben

So wird auf Hawaii nach einer Eheschließung gratuliert. Zahlreiche verliebte Pärchen von überall auf der Welt kommen jedes Jahr nach Hawaii um zu heiraten. Das milde Klima, die faszinierende Landschaft, die atemberaubenden Strände, die Freundlichkeit der Menschen und der Aloha Spirit machen eine Hochzeit auf Hawaii unvergesslich.

Viele Paare, die sich auf Hawaii das JA-Wort gegeben haben, kehren oft nach Hawaii zurück um ihren Eheschwur zu erneuern, ihren Jahrestag zu zelebrieren oder einfach ihre Zweisamkeit zu genießen. Super romantisch! 🙂 Dabei wird auf allen hawaiianischen Inseln geheiratet und auf allen Inseln gibt es außergewöhnliche Plätze, Möglichkeiten und Besonderheiten, um ihre Hochzeit zum schönsten Tag ihres Lebens zu machen. Wir helfen euch da gerne weiter, wenn ihr Fragen habt!

Um eine Ehe in Hawaii zu schließen, muss man mindestens achtzehn Jahre alt sein. Dies ist mit dem Reisepass und der Geburtsurkunde nachzuweisen. Mit sechzehn Jahren kann man mit schriftlicher Einwilligung der Eltern, des Vormundes oder der Vormundschaft heiraten. Auch gleichgeschlechtliche Ehen sind seit dem 2.12.2013 auf Hawaii möglich. Um heiraten zu können, benötigt man die Heiratsgenehmigung (Marriage License), die man z.B.im Büro in Honolulu beantragen kann

  • Die Adresse lautet: Marriage License Bureau in Honolulu: State Department of Health, 1250 Punchbowl Street, Raum 101 Honolulu, Hawaii 9681, Tel.: (808) 586-454.

Die Hochzeitsgenehmigung gibt es aber nicht nur auf O’ahu, sondern man kann sie natürlich auf allen Inseln im “Marriage license Bureau” beantragen. Ein Aufgebot ist nicht erforderlich. Die Hochzeitslizenz ist 30 Tage gültig und kostet 60 US Dollar und damit kann nun überall auf Hawaii geheiratet werden. 🙂 Die Behörden empfehlen euch jedoch, schon von Deutschland aus über das Internet den Antrag für die Hochzeitslizenz zu beantragen.

  • Das könnt ihr unter https://marriage.ehawaii.gov  Und hier erst unter “couples” und dann unter “apply license” klicken.

Nun kann geheiratet werden, vor Ort bei der Behörde oder überall anders, im Beisein eines befugten Geistlichen und zwei Zeugen. Dies können Freunde, Verwandte oder auch mal Fotograf oder Weddingplaner sein, all das ist euch überlassen. Dabei ist es wichtig für euch zu wissen: Bei Anerkennung der Heiratsurkunde, durch deutsche Stellen, kann es gelegentlich zwar zu Verzögerungen kommen – doch die Eheschließung auf Hawaii ist in Deutschland gültig! 🙂

Die Heiratsbescheinigung ist keine standesamtliche Heiratsurkunde, diese wird erst 60-120 Tage nach der Eheschließung zugestellt. Durch ein internes Übereinkommen, dem Deutschland und die USA beigetreten sind, wird auf der beglaubigten Kopie der Heiratsurkunde eine “Apostille” (Beglaubigung einer US Stelle) benötigt. Diese wird vom Büro des Lieutenant Governor ausgestellt und kostet 1 US Dollar. +

Mein Tipp an euch: Die beste Zeit zum Heiraten auf Hawaii ist Frühjahr oder Herbst. In dieser Zeit ist das Klima besonders mild und die Flora farbenprächtig. Im Juni ist Ferienzeit und die Strände und Straßen sind voll mit Urlaubern. Um im Sommer zu heiraten, plant euch ein Jahr Planungszeit ein und bucht rechtzeitig den Platz der Trauung, denn Sommerzeit ist Hochzeitszeit und auch die Amerikaner vom Festland wollen den schönsten Tag ihres Lebens auf Hawaii zelebrieren. Auch hier helfen wir euch natürlich gerne!

Nun müsst ihr euch nur noch entscheiden, wie geheiratet werden soll…Am Strand, eine Gartenhochzeit, in einem luxuriösen Hotel, auf See, Stand Up Paddel Hochzeit, eine kirchliche Trauung, auf einem der zahlreichen Golfplätze oder soll es doch die typisch traditionelle polynesische Hochzeit werden? Auf Hawaii ist alles Möglich und ihr habt die Qual der Wahl…

Traumhochzeit am Strand | Bild: ©      EpicStockMedia – shutterstock.com

Es gibt zahlreiche Angebote, um eure Hochzeit  einfach einzigartig zu machen. Es gibt Limousinen Service, Musiker, die beispielsweise Ukulele spielen, Fotografen, ihr könnt ein Musik Video von eurer Hochzeit anfertigen lassen, einen Livestream eurer Hochzeit ins Internet übertragen, mit Blumenleis oder Orchidee im Haar heiraten und und und…

Schreibt uns! Wir würden uns freuen, den schönsten Tag eures Lebens gemeinsam mit euch zu planen!

Schlagwörter: , , ,

KONTAKT