Guide
Magazine
Itinerary
Sunset Hawaii
Sunset Hawaii

My Hawaii, Manuela reports part 2: Trips from Oahu (North Shore and East Coast)

Content

Points of interest in this article

Before we start, a quick note about this magazine article: If you would like to know more about the sights in detail (tips, contacts, photos, map), click on "Overview". You can return to the article by clicking on "Read article".
Read article
Overview

In part 2 Manuela reports about her excursions to Oahu. Missed part 1? Then quickly back to the Hawaii Blog 🙂


Discover Oahu

Waikiki Beach Hawaii Oʻahu
Waikiki Beach Hawaii

With its skyscrapers, downtown Honolulu looks like any other major American city, Waikiki is Manhattan by the sea but with a fantastic view of the mountains of the hinterland. We stayed in one of the many hotel bunkers but had a room on the 20th floor and could see a tiny piece of the ocean from our balcony. But if you think all of Oahu consists only of skyscrapers, you're wrong. The island is scenically beautiful and worth a stay of several days. Even if you don't travel with a rental car , the bus network is well developed and you can get everywhere easily.

A bit of history

A short visit to the historic center of Honolulu is worthwhile. There you will find the Iolani Palace, the only royal palace that exists in the USA. Just across the street is Alilonai Hall, in front of which stands the imposing statue of King Kamehameha I. The first king of Hawai'i would become famous because of the unification of all the Hawaiian Islands and fought for independence against the colonial powers. King Kamehameha I is beloved by Native Hawaiians and honoured to this day.

Another highlight is, of course, a visit to the historic Pearl Harbour.

It is wonderful that the entrance is free of charge. Bags and backpacks may not be brought onto the grounds but there are lockers of course. There are two very interesting exhibits on the grounds about December 7, 1941, which were disastrous for America. A highlight, of course, is the guided boat tour to the Arizona Memorial. The wreck of the battleship has been lying on the harbour floor since the Japanese attack. When you think about what happened back then and the consequences of it all, it can make you feel quite different. There is still a different atmosphere on the site today.

After that, we decided to do something more cheerful and decided that the next destination is the Ala Moana Center. The shopping center is huge, for the most part even open air and offers everything your heart desires. In addition to the stores, there is also a great food court for refreshment. By the way, from Waikiki you can also easily get to the historic center, Pearl Harbour and Ala Moana by bus. You definitely don't need a rental car and can avoid the heavy traffic.

Up north - surfing Oahu

The next day however, we went on a tour with our rental car. We passed Honolulu and headed north. We drove on Highway 12 through the interior of the island to our first destination, Dole. Who doesn't know them, the cans with the inscription Dole - this is where they come from. We passed the huge pineapple plantations of "Del Monte" and of course "Dole". Wherever you look, pineapples grow on the red earth. There is an information centre with a souvenir store and you can take a little tour. We found the pineapple ice cream very tasty and, funny enough, there is even pineapple wine. I wonder if it tastes good. We didn't buy any.

We continued towards the North Shore to Haleiwa and Waimea.

Sunset Hawaii Oʻahu
Sunsets in Hawaii - simply magical!

Historic Haleiwa is a typical surf town. There are many small shopes, galleries with Hawaiian art, cafés and restaurants that invite you to take a look around. In the numerous surf stores you can stock up on cool swim outfits or even buy a surfboard. I can recommend a snack from one of the numerous snack trucks, the shrimp trucks. Here you can buy the absolutely tastiest and freshest shrimp of the islands - delicious!

Along the coastline, there are many beaches. The wind conditions provide ideal surfing conditions, therefore this coast is considered the Surf Mecca. The best conditions are between November and March, when the waves can reach up to 10 meters. During this time, the big surf competitions take place here. Only for professionals but watching is also fun! The Banzai Pipeline, north of Waimea, is one of the most famous surf spots.

We make a detour to the Waimea Valley Audubon Center from the small town of Waimea. This is a botanical garden with many tropical and exotic plant species from all over the world. The small hiking trail leads past a waterfall to the natural pool of Waihee Fall - swimming allowed! What a nice refreshment in this humid heat.

This tour can be done quite comfortably in one day, there is enough time to stroll and swim. We make our way back to Waikiki, our sundowner is already waiting.

Excursion along the east coast

Today we started early again and our destination is the Kualoa Ranch. Passing Diamond Head, the bizarre mountain landscape and all the great beaches, we want to visit Kualoa Ranch first. Does that mean nothing to you? Famous movies like 50 First Dates, King Kong, Jurassic Park and Pearl Harbor were filmed here. The scenery is of course unique.

At the ranch, tours are offered to the movie locations and film sets. Impressive, if you have the movies in mind.

And afterwards, you can enjoy a delicious meal or a refreshing drink in front of this scenic backdrop.

Dream landscape - dream beaches

East Coast Oahu Oʻahu
The East Coast by rental car!

We left the ranch and drove back in the southern direction. A stop is worthwhile at Kualoa, from there you can see the small Mokolii Island with the nickname Chinaman's Hat. We took some funny pictures here.

The coastal road is just a dream, small towns, the mountains, the sea, you want to stop all the time.

Beaches on Oahu Oʻahu
Very beautiful beaches along the east coast

We passed Lanikai Beach.We dedicated an extra day to this beach and drove past Sea Life Park, Sandy Beach Park to the Hanauma Bay. This bay is located east of Honolulu and is another picture book beach of Oahu. The water is crystal clear and there are hardly any waves in the bay, so it is ideal for swimming and snorkelling. Above the bay, there are a few small stores for drinks and something to eat. If you don't have a rental car, you can also get here from Waikiki by bus. The proximity to Waikiki and the dream scenery cause of course numerous visitors. Which means you are certainly not alone here. It is best to go here first thing in the morning or late afternoon.

Back at the hotel we refreshed ourselves and quickly went to the happy hour. We enjoyed inexpensive cocktails, get 2 - pay 1, a delicious meal and an evening atmosphere in Waikiki.

Did you like the article?

Thank you

Summary of all sights

Lanikai Beach.

Oahu's paradise in the east of the island Turquoise blue water and endless fine white sandy beach, which slopes gently into the sea. Oahu has...

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surfer's paradise and popular bathing beach - the multifaceted beach of Waimea Bay Surfing spot or ideal bathing bay? Waimea Bay captivates its guests...

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

The multi-faceted Ehukai Beach and the famous Banzai Pipeline. In the summer months a beautiful beach, in winter the spot to...

Kualoa Regional Park

Idyllic tranquility away from the city - Kualoa Regional Park A narrow strip full of white sandy beach, lined with a...

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

A dazzling underwater world, fine white sandy beach and the best snorkeling spot on the whole island is promised. The talk is of...

Pearl Harbor

Besides the pure information about the sight on Oahu, we would also like to give you important background information about the attack on Pearl Harbor....

Dole pineapple plantation

Halakahiki, the tropically sweet fruit of Hawaii. Many hundreds of years ago, the globally popular pineapple came to Europe through Christopher Columbus...

Waikiki Beach

Gorgeous long sandy beaches, sparkling turquoise waters and the backdrop of the famous Diamond Head in the background. Equally characterized by Hawaiian kings...

Diamond Head

Hike to Honolulu State Monument Diamond Head offers a sensational view of the capital city of Honolulu and the bustling district...
Even more reading material

My Hawaii, Manuela reports part 3: Maui and the Road to Hana

In part 3 Manuela reports about her trips on Maui. Missed part 1 and 2? Then quickly back to the Hawaii Blog...

From dream to reality: Hawai'i | Travelogue

I will never forget that moment. The moment when I saw the green slopes and black lava rocks during the landing approach....

Big Island, a reunion - My 2nd Hawaii trip

The lava adventure is calling! My wanderlust and also the enthusiasm of my good friend Nico and his girlfriend Fela lead in 2009 to...
Note on advertising links
The links marked with an asterisk (*) are commission links to external offers. If you click on such a link and make a purchase through this link, we receive a commission from the provider. The price does not change.
Comments

One Response

  1. Dear Manuela,
    both your trip (part) reports are very nicely written and informative to boot! We are planning Hawaii in November 2018... Can you recommend the hotel you stayed at? Are there any more trip reports?

    Love greetings
    Marion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
All Hawaii Islands
Overview of all islands & background info

Guide
Magazin
Reiseplan
Sonnenuntergang Hawaii
Sonnenuntergang Hawaii

Mein Hawaii, Manuela berichtet Teil 2: Ausflüge ab Oahu (North Shore und Ostküste)

Inhalt

Sehenswürdigkeiten in diesem Artikel

Bevor es losgeht, ein kurzer Hinweis zu diesem Magazin-Artikel: Möchtest du mehr über die Sehenswürdigkeiten im Einzelnen erfahren (Tipps, Kontakte, Fotos, Karte), klicke auf "Übersicht". Zurück zum Artikel kommst du mit "Artikel lesen".
Artikel lesen
Übersicht

In Teil 2 berichtet Manuela von Ihren Ausflügen auf Oahu. Teil 1 verpasst? Dann schnell zurück zum Hawaii Blog 🙂


Oahu entdecken

Waikiki Beach Hawaii Oʻahu
Waikiki Beach Hawaii

Die Innenstadt Honolulus wirkt mit ihren Wolkenkratzern wie jede andere amerikanische Großstadt, Waikiki ist Manhattan am Meer aber mit fantastischem Blick auf die Berge des Hinterlandes. Wir wohnen in einem der vielen Hotelbunker, haben aber ein Zimmer im 20. Stock und können von unserem Balkon ein winziges Stück vom Meer sehen. Aber wer denkt, ganz Oahu besteht nur aus Hochhäusern, liegt falsch. Die Insel ist landschaftlich wunderschön und lohnt einen mehrtägigen Aufenthalt. Auch wenn Ihr nicht mit einem Mietwagen mobil seid, das Busnetz ist bestens ausgebaut und man kommt gut überall hin.

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Ein kurzer Besuch ins historische Zentrum von Honolulu lohnt. Dort befindet sich der Iolani Palast, der einzige Königspalast, den es in den USA gibt. Genau gegenüber befindet sich die Alilonai Hall, vor der die imposante Statue von King Kamehameha I steht. Der erste König von Hawai’i würde berühmt wegen der Vereinigung aller Hawaiianischen Inseln und kämpfte für die Unabhängigkeit gegenüber den Kolonialmächten. King Kamehameha I ist bei den Hawaiianischen Ureinwohnern beliebt und wird bis heute verehrt.

Ein weiteres Highlight ist natürlich ein Besuch im geschichtsträchtigen Pearl Harbour.

Erfreulich ist, dass der Eintritt kostenlos ist. Taschen und Rucksäcke dürfen nicht auf das Gelände gebracht werden, aber es gibt natürlich Schließfächer. Auf dem Gelände gibt es zwei sehr interessante Ausstellungen über den für Amerika katastrophalen 7. Dezember 1941. Ein Highlight ist natürlich die geführte Bootstour zum Arizona Memorial. Das Wrack des Schlachtschiffes liegt seit dem japanischen Angriff auf dem Hafengrund. Wenn man sich überlegt, was damals passiert ist und welche Konsequenzen das alles hatte, kann einem ganz anders werden. Es herrscht noch heute eine beklemmende Stimmung auf dem Gelände.

Danach wollen wir etwas Fröhlicheres machen und so ist das nächste Ziel das Ala Moana Center. Das Shopping-Center ist riesig, zum Großteil sogar Open Air und bietet alles was das Herz begehrt. Neben den Geschäften gibt es auch einen tollen Food Court zur Stärkung. Übrigens kommt man von Waikiki aus auch bequem mit dem Bus ins historische Zentrum, nach Pearl Harbour und zum Ala Moana. Da könnt Ihr getrost den Mietwagen stehen lassen und müsst Euch nicht durch den starken Verkehr quälen.

Up north – surfing Oahu

Am nächsten Tag machen wir eine Tour mit unserem Mietwagen. Vorbei geht es an Honolulu Richtung Norden. Wir fahren auf dem Highway 12 durch das Inselinnere zu unserem ersten Ziel Dole. Wer kennt sie nicht, die Dosen mit der Aufschrift Dole, hier kommen sie her. Wir passieren die riesigen Ananasplantagen von „Del Monte“ und natürlich “Dole”. Wohin das Auge blickt, überall wächst Ananas auf der roten Erde. Es gibt ein Informationscenter mit Souvenirshop und man kann einen kleinen Rundgang machen. Total lecker fanden wir das Ananas-Eis und kurios, dass es sogar Ananas Wein gibt. Ob der wohl schmeckt? Gekauft haben wir keinen.

Weiter geht es Richtung North Shore nach Haleiwa und Waimea.

Sonnenuntergang Hawaii Oʻahu
Sonnenuntergänge auf Hawaii – einfach magisch!

Das historische Haleiwa ist ein typisches Surferstädtchen. Hier gibt es viele kleine Läden, Galerien mit hawaiianischer Kunst, Cafes und Restaurants, die zum bummeln einladen. In den zahlreichen Surferläden könnt ich Euch mit coolen Badeoutfits eindecken oder gar ein Surfbrett kaufen. Empfehlen kann ich einen Snack von einem der zahlreichen Imbiss-Wagen, den Shrimp Trucks. Hier gibt es die absolut leckersten und frischesten Shrimps der Inseln zu kaufen – köstlich!

An der Küstenlinie gibt es jede Menge Strände. Die Windverhältnisse sorgen für ideale Surf-Bedingungen, daher gilt diese Küste als das Surf Mekka. Beste Bedingungen sind zwischen November und März, dann können die Wellen schon mal bis zu 10 m hoch werden. In dieser Zeit finden hier die großen Surf-Meisterschaften statt. Also nur was für Profis, aber zuschauen macht ja auch Spaß! Die Banzai Pipeline, nördlich von Waimea, ist einer der berühmtesten Surf-Spots.

Vom kleinen Ort Waimea machen wir einen Abstecher zum Waimea Valley Audubon Center. Das ist ein botanischer Garten, mit vielen tropischen und exotischen Pflanzenarten aus der ganzen Welt. Der kleine Wanderweg führt an einem Wasserfall vorbei zum Natur-Pool des Waihee Fall – Baden erlaubt! Was für eine schöne Erfrischung in dieser feuchten Hitze.

Diese Tour kann man ganz gemütlich an einem Tag machen, es bleibt genug Zeit zum bummeln und baden. Wir machen uns auf den Rückweg nach Waikiki, unser Sundowner wartet schon.

Ausflug entlang der Ostküste

Heute geht’s wieder früh los unser Ziel ist die Kualoa Ranch. Vorbei an Diamond Head, der bizarren Berglandschaft und all den tollen Stränden wollen wir zunächst die Kualoa Ranch besuchen. Das sagt Euch nichts? Dach bestimmt! Hier wurden bekannte Filme wie 50 erste Dates, King Kong, Jurassic Park und Pearl Harbor gedreht. Die Kulisse ist natürlich einzigartig.

Auf der Ranch werden natürlich Touren zu den Drehorten und Filmkulissen angeboten. Beeindruckend, wenn man dazu die Filme im Hinterkopf hat.

Und im Anschluss kann man vor dieser landschaftlich wunderschönen Kulisse auch noch lecker essen oder einen erfrischenden Drink zu sich nehmen.

Traumlandschaft – Traumstrände

Ostkueste Oahu Oʻahu
Die Ostküste mit dem Mietwagen!

Wir verlassen die Ranch und fahren wieder in südlicher Richtung zurück. Ein Stopp lohnt bei Kualoa, von dort sieht man die kleine Mokolii Insel mit dem Beinamen Chinaman’s Hat. Hier machen wir ein paar lustige Bilder.

Die Küstenstraße ist einfach ein Traum, kleine Orte, die Berge, das Meer, man möchte dauernd anhalten.

Straende auf Oahu Oʻahu
Sehr schöne Stände entlang der Ostküste

Wir passieren Lanikai Beach, diesem Strand widmen wir einen extra Ausflugstag, und fahren vorbei am Sea Life Park, Sandy Beach Park zur Hanauma Bay. Diese Bucht liegt östlich von Honolulu und ist ein weiterer Bilderbuchstrand Oahus. Das Wasser ist glasklar und in der Bucht gibt es kaum Wellen, daher ist es zum Baden und Schnorcheln absolut ideal. Oberhalb der Bucht gibt es ein paar kleine Geschäfte für Getränke und etwas zum Essen. Wer nicht mit einem Mietwagen mobil ist kommt von Waikiki auch gut mit dem Bus hierher. Die Nähe zu Waikiki und die Traumkulisse sorgen natürlich auch für zahlreiche Besucher. Also allein seid Ihr hier sicher nicht. Am Besten fahrt Ihr gleich morgens oder am späten Nachmittag hierher.

Wieder zurück im Hotel erfrischen wir uns und dann geht es schnell noch zur Happy Hour. Wir genießen günstige Cocktails, 2 erhalten -1 zahlen, ein leckeres Essen und Abendstimmung in Waikiki.

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen?

Danke

Zusammenfassung aller Sehenswürdigkeiten​

Lanikai Beach

Oahu’s Paradies im Osten der Insel Türkisblaues Wasser und endloser feiner weißer Sandstrand, welcher flach ins Meer abfällt. Oahu hat…

Waimea Bay (Beach Park)

Surferparadies und beliebter Badestrand – der facettenreiche Strand der Waimea Bay Surferspot oder ideale Badebucht? Waimea Bay besticht seine Gäste…

Ehukai Beach (Banzai Pipeline)

Der facettenreiche Ehukai Beach und die berühmte Banzai Pipeline In den Sommermonaten ein wunderschöner Strand, im Winter der Spot, um…

Kualoa Regional Park

Idyllische Ruhe abseits der Stadt – der Kualoa Regional Park Ein schmaler Streifen voll mit weißem Sandstrand, gesäumt von einer…

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Eine schillernde Unterwasserwelt, feiner weißer Sandstrand und der beste Schnorchelspot der ganzen Insel wird einem versprochen. Die Rede ist von…

Pearl Harbor

Neben den reinen Informationen zu der Sehenswürdigkeit auf Oahu möchten wir euch auch wichtige Hintergrundinformationen zum Angriff auf Pearl Harbor…

Dole Ananas Plantage

Halakahiki, die tropisch süße Frucht Hawaii’s. Vor vielen hundert Jahren kam die weltweit beliebte Ananas durch Christoph Kolumbus nach Europa…

Waikiki Beach

Traumhafte lange Sandstrände, glänzend türkisfarbenes Wasser und die Kulisse des berühmten Diamond Head im Hintergrund. Gleichermaßen geprägt von hawaiianischen Königen…

Diamond Head

Wanderung zum Staatsdenkmal von Honolulu Der Diamond Head bietet einen sensationellen Ausblick auf die Hauptstadt Honolulu und den quirligen Stadtteil…
Noch mehr Lesestoff

Surfen auf Hawaii – Welche Spots auf welcher Insel?

Hawaii und Surfen – das gehört einfach zusammen. Und das nicht von ungefähr. Die Ureinwohner von Hawaii haben das Surfen…

Die Ukulele – Soundtrack von Hawaii

Den Sound der Ukulele kennt wohl jeder. Ob durch Israel Kamakawiwoʻole´s „Somewhere over the rainbow“ oder durch Stefan Raab´s Rabigramme?…

Mein Hawaii, Manuela berichtet Teil 1: Wie alles begann und mein Ausflug nach Lanikai

Wie alles begann: Ich gebe es zu, ich bin ein Fan der Magnum Serien. Die tolle Landschaft, die in der…
Hinweis zu Werbe-Links
Die mit Sternchen (*) gekennzeichneten Links sind Provisionslinks auf externe Angebote. Wenn du auf einen solchen Link klickst und über diesen Link einen Kauf tätigst, erhalten wir vom Anbieter eine Provision. Der Preis verändert sich hierbei nicht.
Kommentare

Eine Antwort

  1. Liebe Manuela,
    deine beiden Reise(teil)berichte sind sehr nett geschrieben und dazu noch informativ! Wir planen Hawaii im November 2018… Kannst du das Hotel empfehlen, in dem ihr wart? Gibt es noch mehr Reiseberichte?

    Liebe Grüße
    Marion

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Oahu
Maui
Big Island
Kauai
Molokai
Lanai
Alle Hawaii Inseln
Übersicht über alle Inseln & Hintergrund-Infos